We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite Ibiza hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mare Nostrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mare Nostrum to your Saves list
Hotel Mare Nostrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Pedro Matutes Noguera | s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not my favourite Ibiza hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my sixth visit to the island of Ibiza and I had booked this trip pretty much last minute. The hotel is clean and tidy. The location isn't ideal though. If you know playa, it is almost heading towards Ibiza town direction. Expect a 30 minute walk to the likes of Space. It is a great location if you want to go to Ibiza town but a bit away from the main drag if you want to club close to bora bora. I went to the beach most days during the trip as the pool was often busy. I enjoyed my stay here but I did find it very noisy. I know you can expect this in Ibiza but the walls between rooms were paper thin and people partying all night stopped me from sleeping. That is my only real complaints and probably why I said it is not my favourite Ibiza hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear showsbiztacey. Thanks for your review on our hotel. We will here your comments to try to improve. The opinions of the guests are very important for us. We hope in your next visit you can say we are your favourite hotel. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    318
    219
    95
    108
See reviews for
70
257
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spend there a nice Beach Vacation Week and can recommend this good middle Class Hotel to others. They have good Average. When we made booking, we did not expect anything special, but during the time in the Hotel, we really saw, that they doing there a very friendly Service to the Guests. also the Food - Breakfast Buffet and Dinner - was fresh and nice decorated. Swimmingpool was very clean there. We had a Standard Room and we found that it was in a good average and top clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear gregorisenas.Thats what we offer to our guests: nice rooms equipped with air conditioning, television, rental safety boxes, bathroom, rental wi-fi connection and private terrace. A magnificient swimming pool in a landscaped area with wide space to relax under the sun with hammocks and parasols available, a variety packages including the All Inclusive, that covers all three meals, appetizers and drinks and many other services like rent a car, excursions .. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend and couple of friends august for 5 nights. Nice hotel really good location in bossa about 10-15 mins walk from the main strip where ushuia&space are located so away from really loud noise. Literally 5min walk across road to beach which you can walk along to reach bora bOra or stay at the quieter end if prefered.
Rooms are good size, aircon is powerful and are cleaned well! At first we were given a room on thr ground floor which was a little dingy and nothing to look at from the balcony but once we complained we were relocated the next day to the floor of our choice with a much brighter room. Our balcony door did not have a lock but the room felt safe enough. Beds were comfy! Few memory foam matresses between our group aswel!
Hotel guests are 90% italian. Not sure why but hey was kind of nice not to b surrounded by idiots your used to at home all the time!
Pools is good size! If u want a lounger you better get up early we just resorted to a lilo for the rest of the week! Drinks from pool bar are really reasonably priced didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on this.
Would stay here again.
There is a small cafe literally across the road to the right that does an amazing cheese&ham toastie when you cannot face much else!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear xrachx, thank you very much for writting your opinión about the hotel. We are glad that you really enjoyed your stay. To get the satisfaction of the clients its our first motivation to keep improving. Thanks again and we hope you will choose us again in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is not a luxurious hotel, not even close! it’s a basic hotel, rooms are average! Beds are not very comfortable but OK. Our friend's room was dirty as soon as they arrived but the staff immediately apologized and gave them a better room! Hotel is for someone looking to keep their luggage somewhere and go to their room to sleep (or not) for a few hours! Its Ibiza! Also, you can't expect your neighbors to be quite! you hear people partying all the time with loud music! This is not a place to relax and unwind. Internet is not free and SUPER slow. Their pool however is big and nice! And staff were sweet! The price we paid was good for high-season and for what we got!
Location is OK, it’s a 10 min walk from the popular Playa d'en Bossa!

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at the Mare Nostrum at the end of July 2013. Group of friends, boys and girls aged between 27-34. For what we needed it for (a base to sleep and wash) it was ideal.

Everything is clean and in good order and the location is pretty good, about 10 minutes from Space and Bora Bora etc.The bar is super cheap, and although we didn't eat at the hotel, other guests said it wasn't bad. The maid comes every day and the reception was really helpful. Taxi's pull up outside all the time too.

I've stayed all over Playa Den Bossa and although it isn't my favorite hotel I have stayed in, I would stay again if I wanted a cheap base whilst in Ibiza. Don't take your kids and don't expect a relaxing break.... It's Playa Den Bossa!

Room Tip: Not by the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Sarah946. Thanks for your review on our hotel. The satisfaction of our clients its our first goal. We hear all the comments to keep improving. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are coming to Ibiza then do not expect high end luxurious hotels unless if you are planning to stay in Ushuaia and spend a fortune.
This hotel is very decent and safe with friendly staff especially Alessandro at the reception. It also has a very pleasant big outdoor pool to lay down in the afternoon after a long night/day of partying. It's also a very good value for the amount of money you are paying comparing to other horrible hotels nearby.
Yet, you won't find a fridge or a mini bar in the room. Beds are small and basic, plus walls are super extra thin where you can hear everything that's happening next to you
Location of this hotel is great (Walking distance from Bora Bora beach, Ushuaia and Space clubs)
At the end of the day, you would only need the hotel in Ibiza to nap or to bring someone with you to the room :) And in both cases Mare Nostrum would work just fine....

Room Tip: Take a room on the 4th floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel Mare Nostrum is an enigma that's in walking distance from Playa d'en Bossa. The hotel is old but not classic and the facilities themselves are run down in some areas but well kept in others. An example of this are the pool tables in the outdoor pool area - they are quite worn and are there for guests to kill some time near the pool. Go inside to the bar and there is a perfectly usable pool table that seems more maintained and playable.

If you're unfortunate enough to get a room that ends in -71 be prepared to get awaken by the constant buzz of people using the stairwell and elevators right outside of you door. If you can get over that, be prepared for the onslaught of chirping birds that have decided to roost in the block work in the stairwell.

The hotel staff were hit and miss as well. Some are quite happy to accommodate you whereas others won't give you the time of day.

No free wifi - It's 2013 and purchasing a 30 minute wifi voucher didn't work because I still couldn't connect to wifi in the lobby. (You're better off going across the street to the tiny cafe, having a breakfast Mahou and using their wifi).

This hotel provides the bare basics. You'll get a clean room near playa d'en Bossa but that's about it. If you're under 25, you'll probably love the drunken stupor atmosphere that the pool provides. If you're older, feel free to look elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Nostrum

Address: Avda Pedro Matutes Noguera | s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mare Nostrum 2*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mare Nostrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.