We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming to British people” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming to British people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you have already booked with this hotel, don't read on. It will only upset you.

I will keep this as brief as I can :-

There was nothing that one could really complain about directly. Moan perhaps, but to complain and go elsewhere? No reason for that. It just left a dull, uninspiring and boring holiday at the end of our two weeks. I'm talking this resort of course because Ibiza is AMAZING and we had great adventures once we left this resort!!

One thing that is straight up, I expect NOT to have to carry anything around with me on an AI holiday. The fact that they give you a wrist band AND a swipe card and you have to use both at the bar together is cumbersome and tying. Not to mention annoying when you have to go back to your room to retrieve it!!

There are two board types too... so at the snack bar, those that pay for food get a better level of service. They get cutlery and plates... the AI residents have to eat with their fingers like dogs or use plastic forks and they have to get the food from the bar themselves. They get coffee in a cup we got coffee on a polystyrene cup. This made us feel very special!! LOL

The air con is tired and ineffectual and the rooms are not insulated from annoying neighbours and external sounds. The loo leaked all the time and was never fixed.The WI-Fi is 35 euros a week!! What a joke and even when you paid for it it was a slower connection than all computers were back in 1994. Joke!! The gym is FREE but the Steam room and Sauna isn't!?? Weird.

The staff in the restaurant are lovely but the bar staff and the snack bar staff were the rudest people I have ever encountered. Reception make you feel like morons for asking simple questions and seem to just expect you to know everything. Utterly miserable.

Poolside was rarely cleaned and often there were spent cups floating about with cigarettes in them. Disgusting. The sun-loungers gave me and my partner cramp. Impossible to get comfortable on those at all and the music they played during the day? Come on this is Ibiza! We walked onto the beach, once, but never returned... used condoms and broken glass is not what you would expect to have to dodge with bare feet. Horrendous.

Food was decent enough if you took your own hot sauce, as I did but we did find raw meat on TWO occasions. The evening entertainment was an embarrassment and as British holiday makers we were make to feel very unwelcome as it is all geared up for Italians exclusively. They even offered out Cava on entry to the restaurant but ignored us when they realised we were English, saying "we don't speak English" as he grave my drink to someone else.

That about sums this up. I could go on but I've had my holiday and I want to move on. Just don't book here. Its awful and its complacent, its un-aesthetic and it lets Ibiza down.

Room Tip: Request pool facing if you must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgoleta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting the Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa and for taking the time to share your point of view in Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize if we could not meet your expectations in any services or areas; the facts you are describing were reported to the hotel management.


The bracelet and card use for our all inclusive customers is an internal standard at the Sirenis Hotels and we regret that this method might cause you some discomfort.

We serve all our customers plastic tableware at the snack-bar; it is located in the pool area, where most people walk barefoot and thus for safety reasons, and crockery at the lobby-bar, as long as customers do not go to the pool; it is further away from the swimming area and we have more space and facilities to provide this service.


There was probably some misunderstanding on your arrival at the restaurant, as all members of our animation team speak English; they usually help to serve the Cava and attend all customers, regardless of their nationality; this clearly was not your impression, and our animation manager was accordingly informed about this issue.

It’s a shame that you did not communicate this and other matters described during your stay, as we would have had a chance to fix them.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    88
    46
    20
    12
See reviews for
26
67
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in the month of august, the hotel was great although at first we had to wait a while to get into our room. The rooms are big and have everything you need, fridge was small and aircon wasn't as powerful as other hotels I've stayed in but it did the job ok. All the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good english. We were b+b but it was cheap to upgrade if you wanted to go all inclusive or half board when your there, which we did for a few days as drinks at pool bar were quite expensive. The food was a basic buffet selection, quality was good but there could have been more selection. The only bad thing I could say about this hotel was that the shower leaked slighly making the tiled floors outside slippy if you didn't clean it up straight away and the walls are very thin. I could hear our neighbours cough! All in all hotel was good value and we had an excellent stay, everywhere was clean and well presented and pool areas were nice and there were always sunbeds in the sun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgoleta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting the Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa and for taking the time to share your experiences in Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you had a pleasant holiday at the hotel and we would like to thank you for your comments about how friendly and helpful our staff was.

The management was informed about some things you describe, to take care about it.

We learn from all your comments and next time will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was with some panic and trepidation we booked this hotel, what a lucky find though. We were a group of 3 males aged between 35 and 50 years looking for somewhere quiet but close to Playa d'en Bossa, a tricky ask. The hotel is right on the edge of Playa d'en Bossa towards Ibiza town and is actually very quiet comparatively speaking (this is Ibiza not the English lake district). We had a triple room on the first floor, clean and recently refurbished. The large hotel pool is immediately adjacent to the sea front and a small but pleasant beach accessible via a small secure gate. To give you an idea there are only 5 parasols on this small beach but even mid August we were able to get beds on beach (€5 per bed). This again is quiet and the heady centre of Playa d'en Bossa is visible but about a mile down the beach. Breakfast was included and was a standard hotel buffet but easily on a par with any 4 star London hotel I have stayed in.
The big concern for us was noise and rowdiness, I have to say contrary to other reports it was perfect, within easy reach (20 to 30 min walk) of Space and Ushuaia but at night this seemed an oasis of calm and tranquility, we had 3 nights good undisturbed sleep.
A little niggle nothing to do with the hotel was the lack of taxis around 7pm to 9pm, taxis were impossible to find in the middle of August, several people could be seen every night outside the hotel waiting for ages for a taxi. It is a good 45 min+ walk to Ibiza town by the way.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to most ... families, couples and groups and will almost certainly return.
Thank you to all the management and staff at Sirenis Hotel Goleta for ... a great stay.

Room Tip: they all seem clean and recently refurbished, some overlook the sea directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Staff - awful
More like a hostel
Drugs in the hotel
Food - terrible
Gangs hanging around drinking booze
Main road on one side, party boats and aircraft on the other
THOMSON 4 STAR HOTEL - This place is a dump and THOMSON should be totally ashamed trying to pass this off as a 4 star hotel
Service ducts in the bathrooms so you are woken every time someone uses the toilet
No entertainment unless you count the club 18-30 boats playing boom and tizz all day moored on the beach

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgoleta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting the Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa and for sharing your point of view with other travellers in Tripadvisor.

The Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa is an international Hotel, situated in the Playa d’en Bossa area, one of the most popular tourist resorts on the island, whose rooms have been recently refurbished.

We regret that some services did not meet your expectations and the hotel manager knew already your opinion by the questionnaire filled at the hotel. We have already taken some notes about some issues you describe to take care about it, and hope to be able to have another chance to reach and exceed your expectations.


Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel and wasnt sure what to expect from reading some of the reviews on here! Can honestly say some people are crazy! have nothing but praise for this hotel!! staff, food, cleanliness was great! food was great all round, you could always get a bed round the pool! you could hire a towel at the pool which was handy! Rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday! what more can you ask for for £600 all inc. peak time in ibiza! lovely thanks x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Thought the hotel was very spacious and clean, we had a lovely room on the top floor which was stylish with an amazing view. But no drawers! Housekeeping staff kept it spotless, and the room was always made up whatever time of the morning (or afternoon!) we rolled out of bed! The choice of food was always good and varied, with lots of nice salads and fresh fruit. Pool area was very clean and spacious, you could get a sunbed whatever time you went out, which was great. Hotel staff in general were helpful and polite, a few words in Spanish never go amiss, I find. All in all, we were most impressed with the hotel. Oh, a word of warning... the cocktails in the pool bar are LETHAL!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral lady
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are expecting relaxation and the opportunity to unwind forget it. Partying in rooms, corridors smelling of marijuana, youths allowed to bring liquor by pools in evening to drink heavily. Security reactive and staff unhelpful - oh god its that woman complaining again!!. We averaged 2-3 hours sleep each night if lucky and constanty had to complain to recepion & Thomson 24/7 to get anything done. Foodwise lots of it and fine if you like your food very bland and lukewarm - had sickness and diarhorrea to cap it all off. Complaining to try to get a full refund as came home more stressed and dog-tired than when left to go - shame 0 gorgeous setting and clean hotel. Close to airport - yes on flight path/landing strip!!!

Room Tip: If you are not into sleep then any will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgoleta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting the Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa and for your rating on the rooms and cleaning.

We would like to apologize if we could not reach your expectations in any of our services; we are very sorry to read that you could not rest sufficiently during your stay with us.

The hotel provides a security service in public areas, and in case that a room complains of noise, a guard is immediately being sent by the reception.

Regarding our restaurant, there is an external kitchens and meals service control (APPCC), and our hotel always get a high test score; between 800 and 900 meals are each day served at our restaurant.

The hotel manager and its team are at your disposal for any issue.

Best regards,
Sirenis Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa

Address: Avda. Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Playa d’en Bossa area, you will love the Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa**** with its spectacular views of the Mediterranean.You will also be able to discover the beauty of Dalt Vila, the old town of Ibiza, declared World Heritage by the UNESCO.The Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa****, proud bearer of the “Q” for quality, awarded by the Tourism Quality Institute, offers its customers an international, select and cosmopolitan atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Hotel Goleta And Spa
Sirenis Hotel Goleta Playa d`En Bossa
Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Hotel Goleta & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.