We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Algarb

Save Saved
You added Hotel Algarb to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Algarb
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had to wait over an hour in a que to check in .
Staff are rude.
Room was clean to be fair.
Food is average.
Had my mobile phone stolen so my experience was ruined only to find out they also dont have CCTV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    377
    251
    100
    71
See reviews for
106
337
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have got to say I thought this hotel was good value for your money we stayed 8-12 April,
Hotel was clean and tidy, food is ok could have been a bit warmer though. The pool was cleaned everyday and plenty of sunbeds. Only problem with the hotel was that they needed more staff behind the bar also maybe a coffee machine in the reception area so when you are all inclusive you can go and get a coffee or tea first thing in the morning as I was awake at 7am and the restaraunt does not open until 8 (too much vodka the night before probably doesnt help. This hotel does not have any major faults. Not sure if I would take my children there in the Summer though as the walls are paper thin so if there are party goers in the hotel then you may not get much sleep. Last day was manic as 100s (no kidding) of American Students turned up and they were wrecking the place before we left got to say I was feeling sorry for the people that were still there and the hotel staff. Don't think the hotel staff were impressed either.
Surrounding area: Very quiet this time of year not a lot open about 20-30 minutes walk to Ibiza Town still not a lot there really to do, walk along the coast to get there very nice view but watch out for the Dog Mess they don't seem to have the same laws as us so very messy (hopefully they do in the height of the summer).

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

On arrival my boyfriend and I were really impressed. The room was spotlessly clean but basic and the proximity to the beach couldn't be better! In the restaurant there was something for everyone, breakfast, lunch and dinner and the ‘create your own pasta dish’ service was brilliant. You can choose your own ingredients, types of pasta and sauces and the lady cooks it right there in front of you. There was a variety of local drinks available on the all inclusive, and the spirit measures are generous! But there need to be more staff on the bar especially in the evening. By the pool there were plenty of sun loungers and the pool itself was very clean, as the beach is right by the pool there is room for everyone to do their own thing. As it was out of season the local area was very quiet and only a couple of bars and shops were open. For the price I couldn't have asked for more, but the hotel in general needs a refurbishment (paint job, new seating...). However as a base to eat and sleep it was great, you don’t spend your holiday in your room! The beach is beautiful, the sea is clear and I would definitely recommend it to young groups and couples. I would happily go again at this time of year as it was hot enough to go in the sea and sunbathe.

Room Tip: Higher floor, with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from the 7th - 11th April. The hotel was spotless. The rooms were big.. The entertainment was also great. One thing I loved about the pool was that there was a green non slip path around the pool so there was no kids falling all over the place. I traveled with my Son who is Coeliac and the hotel staff could not have done more. I spoke to the Manager who offered to buy in the Gluten Free food and cook it for us but I had brought a lot of stuff with me so there was no need. I would definately stay there again. I would recomend this hotel to anyone from Families to Couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We got a very good deal on hotel/flight for 5 days (6-11th Apr) to get some sun and get away from the long winter we've had so far. The hotel is very basic, so much so that they don't even have a KETTLE! We got a twin room, the beds weren't very comfortable and because they are so light, they kept moving and were very noisy. My partner and I continuously had to push them back together again! The TV is very basic, with only 1 English channel (not that it matters, you don't come here to watch telly). The walls are very thin, you can hear everything your neighbor is doing, ours had their alarm go off very early which kept waking us up. The decor was very dated and the entire place needed a face lift.

Aside from the bad points the room was very clean and we had our sheets/towels changed daily. The view from the balcony was also beautiful (see the picture attached), we could see the sea and palms trees in the distance. The sea is literally right outside the hotel so you don't have to go far to take a dip. We had an en-suite which was clean, bath/shower and hot water when needed.

The staff was were very friendly and happy to help, in fact I found all the locals friendly and talkative.

The breakfast was basic, I'm vegetarian so mainly had a roll with egg or tomatoes/beans and mushrooms. We didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel. Because we went out of season there wasn't a lot to do in Playa d'en Bossa, it was pretty much a ghost town. We spent most of our time in the main city Eivissa which is an hour walk away or you can get one of the hourly buses which stops right outside the hotel. In hindsight we would have been better off staying at a hotel nearer the town, although the walk in wasn't unpleasant as you can walk along the beach.

This hotel seems to be more aimed at families as there were a lot of kids running about, which is understandable as it was the Easter Holidays.

In all we had a great holiday, the sun and sea was exactly what we came for and the hotel is in the ideal location for both. I wouldn't come back in future as I would prefer a hotel nearer the town and one with at least a kettle and slightly thicker walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I agree with Tessie O's review. The hotel is out of date but very clean. The bedrooms are very basic. Walls are so thin you can hear the people in the next room talking and doing eveything!!!. Very very noisy. The TV is so old with no English channels (but you don't go on holiday to watch tv). The hotel charge to use the safe in the room is 4 Euro per night. Food - Very disappointng. It was cold. Lots of it but not very appealing. If your veggie you will struggle. I purchased a piece of cheese and lived on french stick. The snacks behind the bar are all meat based. Drinks - We were in a large group. Lots of alcohol was drank!!! My husband and I didn't touch the sprits as previous reviews state it smelt like meths!! The beer was fine. It was out of season and people were still queuing at the bar. I would not like to stay here in peak session. The bar staff didn't stop. On many occasions there was only one working. This really should be addressed. The all inclusive bar closed at 11. My husband purchsed a branded Gin and Tonic and was charged 7.2 Euro. If your paying for your drinks they serve them in a glass. Victor the entertainer was brilliant. Worked really hard and helped people to have alot of laughs! There is a lovely bar across the road in which we spend many hrs!!! They couldn't do enough for you. Little tapas given for free. Many people were buying their own drinks from the supermarket and drinking it in the hotel. A lovey Rioja for only 4 Euro. The supermarket would take the cork out for you. Location - Brilliant. Right on the beach. Lovely walking to Ibiza town. Passing many little bars and restaurants on the way. I could sit there all day and people watch. Pacha is open throughout the winter on Fridays and Saturdays. 30 Euro entrance fee (this does include a free drink with your entrance ticket). A taxi from the hotel to Pacha is 7 Euro. We had a brilliant night. The weather was lovely. Ibiza in April is fab. We had a late flight home. Asked reception how much to keep the room until later. 50 Euro!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was up until 6pm (only 7hrs).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 7-11 April, weather poor first day but great for next two.

Room - shabby but mostly clean, needs a full refurb and very nosiy, I could hear lady next door asking for her hairbrush whilst she was using the hairdryer (5th floor). Nothing in room except TV and There were no English channels (we checked at desk). Blanket needed at this time of year but smelt awful and only one pillow, more provided at reception.

Location - 10 mins and 12 euro from airport in taxi, beach 30 seconds from bar in hotel and lovely, can walk along it to Ibiza Town in under an hour. Out of doors and left for 30 secs is no.14 bus to Ibiza Centre, one every hour from 7.50-22.50 and 1.90 each way (ticket on bus). Wtakes 15 mins and needed as not much in this area. In season apears to he a KFC, Burger King and Pizza Hut opposite hotel and some bars but shut at this time of year.

Food - first day disappointed but All Inc. Picked up from then on, standard Spanish breakfast, sausages went from mini chorizo to hotdogs and fried eggs often underdone but you can find something, it is very cheap after all. Lunch lovely salads, fresh cooking station where we had paella, pork, salmon etc and there is a pasta station but was too bland for me. Dinner same as lunch and bar in restaurant so you can order drinks or collect water jugs. Choc ice cream quite nice and often melon and pineapple fresh for dessert. Snacks from11-6 were sandwiches, salad boxes and ice cream (mini pots).

Drinks - out of season still queues at bar, half pint plastic cups, one to two staff and two drink maximum. Isoft drinks sprite, fanta orange and lemon, coke, diet coke, orange juice (not fresh more cOrdial) and water. Spirits are local and were not nice although husband said vodka and tia maria managable brandy was like meths. Beer in half pints is Estrella, a little frothy but okay.

Things to do - out of season not a lot, when you get bus to Ibiza town the last stop (same one to get bus back) drops you on the high st, if you walk up 2/3 mins you will see the bus station on the right, you need to get tickets from here for other buses, no. 3 to San Antonio takes about 30 mins ajd drops you at bus station terminus, you follow signs to port. Out of season San An was dead, literally shut down and will have posters for all club closing nights in October of the orevious year. Pretty port and a walk around but after an hour we got bus back.

Ibiza town more open with shops, nice bars ooen by the port and shops such as Pacha, Morgan etc open but nothing original. Hippy Market does not open until May so did not get bus there. Alt Vila (old tiwn) was a nice walk to top of fort, beautiful views and interesting church and maze of roads but again over in 1-2 hours. Nice bars at the bottom around square to watch people go by and have some lunch.

Overall if you want to sit, eat and drink Ibiza in April is great but we found it boring, clubs are main attraction and was very much like Majorca/Menorca out of season. I would not return to the hotel due to the noise, but the staff were lovely and location is good.

Room Tip: High floor as air conditioning unit could be heard outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Algarb

Address: Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Algarb 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Algarb is the perfect setting for an unforgettable family vacation on the Mediterranean Sea. Situated on the popular D'en Bossa beach, guests will find a wide variety of activities for the whole family to enjoy. The Hotel Algarb offers 408 totally refurbished rooms each with a fully-equipped bathroom, air-conditioning, and a terrace (most with sea views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Algarb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.