We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Algarb

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Algarb to your Saves list
Hotel Algarb
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

well we were put here after leaving the minging san remo hotel san antonio,and what a god send lovley hotel nice clean and a great atmosphere we were put in a small family room it was ok only needed to sleep ther ,hotel is right on the beach and to be honest water was warmer than the pool which was cold to say the least didnt stop my 8 year old from being in it each day and once in you got use to it we were half board what a great range of food all fresh and very tastey aswell even stayed for lunch the last three days entertainment each night not bad considering it was end of season and a big shout out to the bar staff good laugh over all was v ery good hotel some slight decor issues but sure that will be taken care of over the closed season would go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    419
    265
    109
    74
See reviews for
117
397
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we were a group of 10 girls (hen party) we wre visiting just towards the end of off peak season! we were picked up from the airport only a 10 minute journey arrived at the hotel! check in went smoothly went up to our rooms one was a triple which was on the small side as it was a double with a camp style bed just put in! but was clean and all the other rooms were fine! nice sea view ,no tea coffee making facities in the room there wouldnt have been any space! nice clean bathroom! we were all inclusive breakfast was good we hyad fresh pancakes made for us for breakfast and fresh pasta for lunch or dinner as well as the food already laid out which was a good amount, however if your a vegetarian your best option would be to have the chef make you a pasta with your chosen ingredients as sometimes there were almost no vege options!we were on the beach! the hotel pool i would avoid as almost everyday the water would look more then a little murky! not alot of decent clubs near the hotel,but taxi stand 2 min walk! decent amount of shops!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

generous food but often cold
hotel and room clean and nice, but need paint and maintenance
kind staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Close to airport, £11 euros and 10 mins in a taxi, in Oct 2012.
On the beach literally. Which because of rough sea and wind was covered in seaweed by the time we left on 20th Oct.
Very cheap deal with Travel Republic-see separate review.
The hotel needs redecorating. For example the plaster in the hallways is falling off the walls, leaving white piles on the carpet that never seem to be hoovered up.
Beware of the leaking aircon units in the dining hall. There are lots of yellow signs and sheets covering water from units on the floor but still hot dripped on at the coffee machine!
The queues in the evening at the bar are stupid. Two people serving tiny plastic glasses that take two sips to finish! Would hate to be there in peak season.
Arrive early for meals or everything is cold. Best to go to counter where they are carving/cooking as you wait. Having said that, I had pasta one evening prepared for me- tasteless!
SEAWATER-in the shower, basin and even the drinking water tastes salty so take your own bottled water to dining hall they don't mind.
Cleaners could be more thorough-condom wrapper from previous occupant under bed and pubic hairs on bathroom floor.
That was all the negatives.
Positives are that is was a very cheap deal and 3* so wasn't expecting much.
BUT staff were wonderful everywhere.
Reception organised maintenance immediately when I told them that sink was blocked in bathroom.
They provided HUGE packed lunch on 2 days when we went out for the day.
They rang for taxis for us without any problem.
We had 6th Floor room for 3 adults. We left the window open at night to listen to the waves crashing on the beach!
The beds were comfortable and Im fussy!
Unfortunately our neighbour left aircon on all night so it sounded as though we were in a tumble dryer!
Walls are thin but a quick bang on the wall shut up the excitable teenagers next door at 12am from shouting and jumping around.
The swimming pool was clean and warm enough to swim in as was the sea before the seaweed took over. The sunbeds are plentiful and comfortable and not all worn out as some people have stated.
It's in town so you can walk to loads of bars / cafes in the summer.
BEWARE if you go mid Oct like we did-EVERYWHERE near the hotel is closed. Only shops selling gifts/supermarkets are open. San Antonio only had Cafe Mambo and Del Mar open. Pacha stays open but only on Fri/Sat in winter. Ibiza town is open still.
If you need to hire a car there is a lovely man who only charged £80 euros for 2 days Jimny hire including everything. His place is: right out of the hotel, cross the road and go down the side road next to the traffic lights. It's called Ibacar.
All in all the hotel is great for 3* in a fantastic location. Ibiza has some of the most fantastic beaches/scenery. Would recommend most definately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our 2nd time at Algarb and as before, you can't fault the location as the front of the hotel is on the beach (you can wander between hotel pool and beach) and the main entrance is on the main street of Playa D'en Bossa. This was a visit at the end of the season (18th - 23rd October) but the entertainment programme was still in full flow during the daytime and at night. The only problem was outside the hotel where most bars seemed to have closed down for the winter as had some of the other hotels and so the resort was very quiet. The hotel, though, was very busy considering the time of year and we found it to be excellend value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view as the hotel sits end on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the hotel. Great location right on the beach. Good selection of food just not enough veggies for me. Good choice of meats and some cooked for you while you wait. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds comfy. The hotel is looking a bit tired but i suppose that's to be expected after a busy season. Barbara from the animacion team is exceptional making everyone feel welcome and not pushy. We werent originally booked to stay at this hotel and were a bit concerned but over all pleasantly surprised. Wouldnt think twice about returning. Had a great holiday pam w manchester

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from a week A/I break from this hotel. I shall start with the positives. We managed to book a return flight from Bournemouth to this hotel for a week A/I for £ 175 each. Very very good value. Even though it is mid October, temperatures still got upto mid 20's which was lovely. After a 10 min transfer to the hotel, we were warmly greeted and allocated our 6th floor room very efficiently. The twin room was more than adequate in size. Nice bath/shower. Everything very clean. Wonderful view of the sea and beach. After un-packing, we headed for the restraunt for something to eat. From start to finish, the food was varied and there were always plenty of choices. Wonderfull ham and cheese selections (even a stilton). Breakfast was usual affair for Spain... sausage, streaky bacon, beans various egg choices, mushrooms. Cereals, croissants, juices tea and coffee. Lunch indoors was very good.... salads, pasta, snacks, pizza etc. Evening meals always had 2 different freshly cooked choices to accompany the main buffet menu.
The entertainment staff were always friendly. There seemed to be a kids club, but due to the lack of children, not much was happening.
The drinks on offer were of good quality, recommend the local Malibu. Yes, the drinks are served in small plastic cups, but during the day there was hardly no queing. Lots of local shops for shopping. English run sports cafe just across the road. Tabaconist a LOT CHEAPER than airport duty free.
Lovely clean beach. Bus stop right outside hotel entrance.

Negatives. Due to all the clubs closing Oct 6th, not a lot to do in the area. Hardly anywhere open apart from burger King, KFC, Pizza Hut. Which meant a taxi to Ibiza town for nightlife. We did not bother, so cannot comment.
The hotel entertainment was very poor.... but I dont know if this is because of the time of year. In the room, our tv had 20 channels. 19 of which were Spannish. The only English speaking channel was the American Stocks/shares/financial channel.... very dull.
No kettle in room. Restraunt will only allow you to take out tea/coffee in plastic cups.

Overall..... for the price we paid, The Algarb is a fantastic hotel and would make an ideal base for those wishing to use the clubs when they are open. If you want a cheap QUIET break with some sunshine it is perfect. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor available for best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Algarb

Address: Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Algarb 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Algarb is the perfect setting for an unforgettable family vacation on the Mediterranean Sea. Situated on the popular D'en Bossa beach, guests will find a wide variety of activities for the whole family to enjoy. The Hotel Algarb offers 408 totally refurbished rooms each with a fully-equipped bathroom, air-conditioning, and a terrace (most with sea views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Algarb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.