We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a Short Break :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Algarb

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Algarb to your Saves list
Hotel Algarb
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Adequate for a Short Break :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here over the Easter period - just a few minutes from the airport and we were in reception. Checking in took a while there was 6 others in the queue and only one member of staff working ! Got a room on the 5th floor which was fine (decent size, large wardrobe, decent bathroom, balcony, double-glazing, TV with one English channel and air-con). Unfortunately no kettle and the air-con didn't work but we didn't need it. Our room faced North so didn't get any afternoon/evening sun on the balcony so we asked for a different room - they moved us straight away to a room overlooking the pool which was great. The beds were very creaky and the walls very thin. Let's just say we could hear "everything" that was going on upstairs :) There were problems with the water supply - day one we had no hot water - day two no water whatsoever (until after breakfast) and the same on day three - seems like you have to shower "off-peak" :) The tiny tiny walk to the beach was great - that was the best bit - it's like this hotel has actually been built on the beach it couldn't get any closer ! And the food was great - we only went half board but there was a huge selection of pretty much everything and there's even a "show cooking" area where food is cooked fresh on-demand. The drawback was the bar - forget it - no queuing system and no limits on the amount of alcohol served at once to the all-inclusive people. I heard people walking out saying "we will go somehere else it's ridiculous waiting an hour for a drink". Glad we never went all inclusive We went over the road to the supermarket and bought bottles of San Miguel instead for 1.50 a litre (shhh don't tell anyone !!). Not much going on locally so we took a bus to town for 1.50 euro which was good value. Entertainment in the hotel was almost non-existent and when it did happen you couldn't see anyway (too many people not enough seats) even though the lounge was very large. All in all we had a good time but that was owing to the glorious weather. The hotel was average and most of the staff were ok. Would definately go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    435
    270
    110
    75
See reviews for
121
413
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel could be miles better with a few minor changes but we still had a great time.

Bad points;
All inclusive drinks ( bar those with meal) were served in a very small plastic cup- meaning big queues at the bar as they also add ice to this cup( but will leave ice if requested)

The staff tend to prioritise none all inclusive paying cash customers before the all inclusive guests- this was when there was no queing system at the bar but as we left people had began queing so this may have already improved.

The staff would appear rude at times but i think this is more down them being overworked, they worked none stop for looong hours and lets face it everyone gets tired.

The furniture of the hotel is dated but it is servicable and clean.

The walls are very thin and when other less considerate guests have been clubbing it can disturb a good nights sleep several times- but again is this the hotels fault if we didnt tell them?

Other guests had been sick in public toilet after drinking too much but was cleaned immediately after reception was informed.

Good points;

The hotel was clean, the rooms, communal areas and pool side were cleaned everyday, several times a day or whenever required.

The food was very good- lots to choose from, made fresh every meal. The meal times were 8am to 10.30am breakfast and you could get in at 10.25am and still have a great selection although not the best of. Lunch was 1-3.30pm and dinner was 7-9.30pm. Wrapped sandwiches, ice cream, pizza and coissants were available throughout the day from approx 11am to 6pm, and you can request a picnic to be made for any trips your planning for the next day.

Very close to the beach, very nice and clear.

Has entertainment through the day and night, some of the activitites we experianced were Yoga, bingo, salsa, volleyball, table tennis, darts, love story night show and various others.

Has wifi available and computers to use including playstation. If guests take their own notebook wifi tickets can be purchased for €2 for 1 and a half hours.

It is a very short taxi ride to the airport and it cost us €9 each way, and there was a taxi rank across the road from the hotel and outside airport.

Ibiza town was a 15min bus ride away and the bus stops outside the hotel it was approx €4.50 for 3 people.

They have a kids mini disco each night- repetative at times but the kids seemed to love it.

I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

hotel was great, cheap and lovely position, just a shame about the bar service, was the worst ive seen, if they couldve organised a que it wouldve been so much better, not so good if ur female and have manners!!!! and a smile wouldve helped never saw a member of the bar staff smile, all in all was pleasant stay and the food was good,

Room Tip: lovely view of the beach fom balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The saying says it all for 4 days, 3 nights we paid around £185, all inclusive. I travelled with friends for the nightlife. With the all inclusive we believed we could drink at the hotel and then go out to the nightlife. Not so the staff were very slow and would only serve two party sized cups at a time. If you did have cups left on the table they would not serve you. We were a large group so the table would be full of other peoples drink, so you could not get your own until they had finished. This would cause a queue which could take upto an half an hour at a time. Many of the groups we spoke to had exactly the same problems with the staff. This was made to be infuriating when spanish holidaymakers would walk up and be given a jug of beer. It was to the point were we left the hotel and bought back beer from various stores around the hotel.
The hotel apart from the staff was exactly what we wanted. A place to put your head at night, a great pool, although the lifeguard disliked people swimming in it. The enormous reception was great to chill out before going out.
Dinner was basic, there was a slight selection as well as food being cooked while you waited. You could get fresh pasta as well. For fussy eaters chips were always available. Lunch was very similar to dinner. Breakfast was great always lots of bacon or sausages as well as the usual toast, cereal and various breakfast pastries.
The hotel could learn something from their maids as they were excellent. The rooms were spotless. They mopped everyday as well as fresh sheets and towels.
For clubbers, Bora-Bora is just a stones throw down the beach, pacha was a 10 euro taxi ride away. (30 euros even without the big named djs). It was April so not many bars were open local so we would get a taxi to Plaza de Parkin. Not sure on the spelling but literally translated it was car park.
The hotel is also on the flight route into the airport. It was every 30 minutes but in season this could be a lot more often.
Excellent location, good price, great pool, rooms were big and clean, staff were horrendous!
It has been said before but this resort is not for families. It is defiantly not quite at anytime and this was in April. Great for young clubbers!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirano, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel ticks all the boxes for the price paid - about 26 Euros per person per night half board. We've just spent two nights there and are satisfied with what we got for such a reasonable price. The rooms were simple, clean and with seaview balcony. The hotel has an enormous lounge, a bar and an outside pool. The pool area was quite nice with lots of palm trees in the garden leading directly onto the beach. There's table-tennis and a few games around the pool too. The restaurant is on a buffet basis for all meals and, while not being particularly adventurous, is certainly adequate and offers a reasonable choice of hot and cold dishes at each meal. There was some entertainment in the hotel in the evening and, as we only went there for a break, it didn't matter that there was nothing to do in the resort. Families should note that this resort is basically for young folk who want to spend all night at the disco and who often come back in the early hours in a sorry state. The hotel staff did their best to keep the place clean and tidy and are to be praised. A sad note is that the popular "all inclusive" deal that also provides drinks for a good part of the day, goes a long way to explaining why you can already see (and hear!) groups of very merry (drunken) young men and women as early as three o'clock in the afternoon!
The hotel is very close to the airport - about ten minutes by taxi and we paid about 12 Euros. There are shops and restaurants in the vicinity and the bus to Ibiza town is just outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

nice quick location from airport,hotel on the beach which was nice as pool area quite busy. Food was good,even on the day spain was on strike we had full service. Only downside was decor which was a bit dated.Drinks were in plastic cups at night and it was slow service.
Hotel in nice posistion for shops,discos and boat trips to Ibiza Town which were very cheap.You are far enough away ftrom the night life not to be woken up by loud music. Our room looked down the main street and it was funny watching all those who had been partying trying to get back to their accomadation. For what we paid for All Inclusive it was well worth the money.Just needs sprucing up a bit.

Room Tip: Most rooms you can see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my friend were on half board for 7 days and didn't get a single bad memory. The food was always hot and well cooked, rooms cleaned every day, pool and beach tidy and well kept. On top of that it has great location within walking distance to Space, Bora bora and a bus stop just outside if reception.
The only drawback is plane route right over hotel, but Playa den Bossa is so small, its almost inevitable..
To those who complain about lack of entertainment stuff for themselves or kids I have just one thing to say - Ibiza is not a family resort, but a nonstop PARTY island! Some people should at least google their destination before booking a hotel..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Algarb

Address: Avenida Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Algarb 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Algarb is the perfect setting for an unforgettable family vacation on the Mediterranean Sea. Situated on the popular D'en Bossa beach, guests will find a wide variety of activities for the whole family to enjoy. The Hotel Algarb offers 408 totally refurbished rooms each with a fully-equipped bathroom, air-conditioning, and a terrace (most with sea views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Algarb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.