We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Banger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel R2 Pajara Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel R2 Pajara Beach to your Saves list
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Belfast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“British Banger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Spectacular! This is the immediate impression upon entering the Pajara Hotel. This is as good a holiday hotel as I’ve ever stayed at, certainly on architecture it wins hands down, not many other hotels could match its brilliant entrance, foyer & atrium with that huge glazed waterfall. Beyond and through the hotel the water features continue with more waterfalls, pools and fountains, illuminated of course in the evening to good effect. The grounds are impeccably maintained and it all feels like you are in a hotel from a Bond movie. The majority of the staff are friendly and helpful, Martina at the daytime tea/coffee bar on the 3rd floor deserving of special mention. The hotel floor numbering is upside-down, but you will be familiar with it in a few days. The room we were allocated upon arrival was on the very ground floor. The 9th floor, at a set of side fire doors, the terrace being a virtual thoroughfare. We were moved in a couple of hours without much fuss. Full marks to reception for that. Reception also has free wi-fi access for anyone with a device, and also pay-as-you-go for those without a laptop. Its been said the Germans get the best rooms, there may be some truth to this, but only as they are the largest national group at the hotel and by law of averages they probably will get a higher portion of the better rooms. Our room got sunshine on the balcony until noon, maybe the German guests got rooms that had sunshine all day? There was always plenty of good food, try the prawns, excellent. Try the dates wrapped in bacon, delightful. Paella, 1st class. Overall, no problem with the food, just one gripe. As the hotel mostly caters for Germans not a British banger to be seen. Not a Cumberland or Lincolnshire sausage to be had for breakfast, shame it would have been perfect otherwise. Evening entertainment is pretty much what you would expect at a holiday hotel, locals who are trying hard but have more bad notes than the Bank of England. Don’t expect x factor, rather the rejects from the ‘Z’ factor and you’ll probably have a good laugh, cringe-able but a laugh. I never noticed any problem with over-crowding at the pool or a shortage of sun-loungers. There are a few frayed ends to some of the occasional furniture at the lobby and yes there are a few chipped plates, but I expect they will be replaced at the end of the season. Select an un-chipped plate and you’ll be fine. Some things to be aware of. It’s a short walk from the beach back to the hotel but it’s all uphill. The lifts inside the hotel are not a convenience, they are essential! I guess the lobby drops about 100 – 200 feet to sea level. Its pretty windy at the beach which is great for windsurfing but hopeless if you want to do any kind of swimming or snorkelling, its just to windy to be comfortable. But far and away the big annoyance for me was the naturist beach. It’s not mentioned in the brochure and it ought to be. This is not a few girls topless for an ‘all-over’ tan, this was elderly, wrinkled and over-weight Germans strutting about with apparently no dignity or decency. The term ‘morally bankrupt’ springs to mind. However, this is a review about the hotel and on that front it scores well. Cracking hotel in a quiet resort. Our next hotel will find it hard to measure up to the Pajara but cant recommend it due to the beach issue.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    344
    119
    49
    11
See reviews for
233
426
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

when i read reviews on the hotel i was a little unsure as i was used to 4 and 5 star hotel in egypt, morrocco and mainland spain however i give it the benifit of the doubt as i always travel with thomas cook and they have always been exceptional and i was not disappointed this time. me and my husband arrived to late for the evening meal but we still recieved a cold buffet which was more than satisfying that time of night. we where given a low floor room which is not what we really wanted but we changed 2 days later to floor 2 which was a beautiful room all organised by the rep. As an apology for the inconvenience we also recieved a bottle of champagne.
on our first day we went around the pool for a walk and noticed all of the beds had been taken we thought this may have been the start to our troubles but no around 10:30 we ventured down to the pool to see the lifeguard taking towels off reserved sun loungers. i thought this was an excellent idea as some of the collected towels were left all day with no-one collecting them. so we did not need to worry in a morning as we do not like getting up at 6am everyday to reserve beds this is not our idea of a holiday.
We went to the welcome meeting the day after our arrival to be met by our rep Jodie she has been the best rep we had in a oong time taking time to chat to us in the halls if she seen us and even around the swimming pool. She made sure the hotel were aware it was our wedding anniversary and she sent a card aswell as a bottle of champagne and some beautiful local flowers this was just a small touch but made our day.
The one thing though that did ruin our holiday was seeing a scottish couple going around the hotel making issues for everyone, and picking up on the smallest of things this you could see was unsettling a lot of the guests around the swimming pool, but each have their own oppinion, but from what i could see they were the only people complaining.
My main worry about the hotel was the facet everyone comments on the amount of Germans and the fact they get treated superior to us but that was not the case, i found a lot of them a lot nicer to talk to than the british people in the hotel.
All in all this was a fantastic way for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary and would 100% return and reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We have stayed at the Pajara Beach several times and thought we had found the perfect hotel for us but we will never book it again. It has gone downhill rapidly in the 6 months since Easter. I just don't know where to start, I was so appauled at the change in the place.

Their new pool rule of not reserving sun loungers is awful. Our towels were taken off at least 10 times in the week. One day we only went to the bar for a drink and came back and all our personal belongings were put on a table and our towels taken away. For a hotel that accommodates over 1000 guests there are only 309 sun loungers, counted by a German guest who had 9 in their party and only 4 loungers. The ratio apparently quoted by the rep is 60%. The hotel is running at 30% for sun loungers, half of what Thomas Cook recommend. We couldn't go for lunch or even to the toilet without our towels going missing. We took it turns to go for something to eat or our belongings were moved again. One German couple came and took our towels one lunch time as they said we stole their loungers. We felt violated every time our belongings were moved. That shouldn't happen in a 4* hotel. In previous years there were hundreds of loungers and no rule about reserving them. You could leave your belongings ie book, sun cream, bag and go for lunch but not now. Some people were even taking their breakfast down so they could get a lounger for the day and others were sending their kids down to sit on them while they had breakfast and they brought the kids breakfast down to the lounger. Apparently kids are not allowed a lounger. It was a terrible state of affairs and everyone we spoke to was off the same opinion and looking forward to going home. They all stated too they would never come back.

The crockery was all chipped and cracked. A definate health hazard. The food was not nearly as good as in previous years and the meat was anything but tender. It did improve the day of the rep's visit.

The rooms were not clean and there were blood stains on my duvet cover. There were also drips on the tiles in the corridor outside our room that had been there for the whole week. The toilet had a definate smell of stale urine and needed a good clean. It was never like that in previous visits.

Worst of all, during the week we saw 5 cockroaches in the hotel. Two at separate times in the bar, one in the restaurant at lunch time, which the rep witnessed and 2 in the ladies toilet. That is the first time we have ever seen a cockroach in this hotel. I believe that if they are out during the day then there's a heavy infestation of them.

We made our feelings known to the Manageress who said that the management were not interested. The Rep was not interested either and she was useless at her job. Well, all I can say is if the management don't start listening to the guests and making some changes, you won't be in business for much longer.

They have certainly lost us as a regular guest. We will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Pajara Beach. This is an excellent 4 star hotel. Wherever one ventured in the hotel it was very clean. The facicities were excellent. The bedrooms which were on the ground floor (9th floor) were very comfortable and spacious. The restaurant was extremely clean and the food choices were very varied, something to suit anyones tastes. The gardens were very pleasant and well kept. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
There were one or two issues we would like to mentions for consideration. In the bedrooms a box a tissues would be very useful and for female guests a shower cap in the bathroom. As regards hot drinks, more choices could be made available other than tea or coffee, e.g. cappucino, latte or hot chocolate. Around the pool area the towel rule could be more stringently enforced.
Overall my sister and I enjoyed our stay at the Pajara Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Recently returned from Pajara beach, Costa Calma, Fuerteventura & im very sad to say that my friend & I was slightly disapppointed with the hotel.

The sun bed are definitely in need to replacing & more supplying, as the ones that are available are very grubby & broken! The toilets that are provided by the pool were disgusting, they were blocked and very very smelly! When we booked our holiday, we booked a seaview room, which slept between 3-4 people, but when we got there we had a balcony view of a wall & tree, but they did move us to a seaview room after complaining to our Thomas Cook rep, the beds were hard & the pillows were very lumpy & the toilet kept filling up during the night keeping us awake!! The room was definately more 3 star than 4 and there was a big smudge of blood of the back of one of our curtains - not nice!

One afternoon my friends necklace had gone missing out of the bathroom, which she reporting and around 15mins later it was returned to say that they had "found" it outside our room, when my friend had specifically left it by the sink. WARNING!! Use the safe within your room.

The pool, bar, public toilets & lobby areas were quite modern & kept to a clean standard. There was a mixture of polite & rude members of hotel staff and the priority of service definately went to the German nationals staying in the hotel, which was around 90% of the customer there.

The beaches surrounding the hotel were nice, but BEWARE when going on the beaches as nudists do just wander around with no notices as to expect them! We even had a couple around by the pool, which was rather off putting to say the least!

One of the perks we thought we had was that we was given two complimentary tickets for the use of the Spa, which would normally cost 10Euros per visit. The spa was nice, but out of the three rooms that were available, two of them were out of use, which we wasnt informed about, so really we just had the use of the indoor spa pool. I had a massage within the Spa, which cost 33Euros, which i believe was definately worth the price - one of the good things about this holiday!

There is two restaurents, one serving buffet food for breakfast, lunch & dinner and the other serving a'la carte, but you are only allowed in this restaurent once a week and the day is set on which ever travel company you are with & you have to go when they have available. The food wasnt too bad really, but not alot of selection for someone who suffers with a food intolerance. Again, the food & service was given priority to the German visitors in the hotel.

I really dont know how they have rated the hotel a 4 star status, as the hotel looks a bit tired & need of a bit of a revamp, it is more like a 3 star status and the reviews on Thomas cook/Direct hols website are exagerrated in my opinion.

For the money we paid, I expected a better quality room/service/food!

I would certainly go back to Fuerteventura, but would not make a visit again to the Pajara Beach.

I hope this review will help you when booking your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just returned from Pajara beach, and sad to say I did have a few issues with it. The sun bed issue definitely needs addressing, as there is a shortage and those there are grubby and/or broken. The poolside toilets were disgusting, and my room was more 3 star than 4. The toilet kept filling with water all night, and kept me awake! The room we were given had a terrible view of a wall from the balcony, so we did swap to a nicer view.

The pool, bar and lobby areas were quite pretty and clean, some staff were polite and some quite rude. Food was okay, just standard buffet really. Beware when going on the beaches as nudists do just wander around with no notices as to expect them!

I dont agree with the 4 star status, the hotel looks a bit tired and the reviews on Thomas cook/Direct hols website are exagerrated in my opinion. For the money I paid, I expected a better quality room/service/food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I am still on holiday at Pajara Beach until Sayurday. It is my fifth time here and last. This hotel has gone from a wonderful 4 star to a t star. There is a severe sun lounger problem and you cannot move off your lounger between 9 to 10 am in the morning or the pool attendant removes all you belongings and when you get your towel back it could be any stinky towel. I like to walk between 9 and 11 everyday and leave my book and towel on my lounger but I can´t do that any longer as it is seen as reserving a lounger. If there were enough longers this situation would not arise.

The pool toilets were smelly and dirty and all the crockery in the restaurant is chipped and could result an accident.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel R2 Pajara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel R2 Pajara Beach

Address: C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel R2 Pajara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel R2 Pajara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajara Beach Costa Calma
Pajara Beach Hotel
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel R2 Pajara Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.