We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing chilled out holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel R2 Pajara Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel R2 Pajara Beach to your Saves list
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“relaxing chilled out holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Back today after a weeks stay at Pajara Hotel. We emailed the hotel 2 weeks before arrival requesting a room between levels 1-4 (level 1 being the top floor and level 9 the bottom floor), the hotel acknowledged our request. On arrival we were given a room on the ground floor (level 9), we returned back to reception and asked if any other rooms available as I was not happy being on the ground floor, the receptionist politely gave us another room on level 7. Was confusing to start with due to the layout of the hotel, the reception is on level 3, so we had to get the lift from level 3 to level 6, walk round to another lift and go to level 7, it takes a couple of days to get used to the layout of the hotel.
We had no complaints about the hotel, the food was excellent with plenty of choices which suited me as I am a fussy eater, the waiters come round asking if you would like drinks (I asked for a white wine and he brought me a bottle). The staff in all the bars/restaurant were all courteous and hard working, the bar staff even remembered what we drank. We liked the choice of areas within the hotel, we would go to the cocktail lounge before evening meal, then chill outside for a couple of hours and then go up to the cabaret room to watch the entertainment.
We didn't go around the pool as we prefer the beach and the beaches are stunning, just be prepared that most of the beaches are frequented by nudists but you get used to them. Only one beach bar on the beach which does drinks and food. We made sandwiches in the hotel at breakfast and took them to the beach with us.
As part of the all inclusive you get 2 passes to the Spa. We enjoyed the Spa especially on the last day before we came home as the sauna really cleanses your skin.
Will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1745 which is on the 7th floor (3rd floor to us British), rather that have to get the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    366
    131
    50
    16
See reviews for
257
447
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

2 nights in to our stay here and really disappointed - hotel lovely but absolutely no atmosphere - some staff are lovely but quite a few needs to go on a customer relations course -- hopefully May get better so will finish review at end of holiday - not a patch on h10 or magic life hotels

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just came back from pajara hotel, costa calma, hotel was lovely room was nice but asked for a high room with sea views was put on the 2 floor at the side of the hotel which wasnt great. The food was superb with plenty of choice and staff worked tirelessly. 2 moans sun bed policy not working 9.30 in the morning every sun bed has towels on them no staff to remove them as told by reception and rep. location could be better . pool area superb 3 lovely pools surrounded by palm trees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the pajara beach hotel. Flight from manchester was on time. Mix up at fueteventura airport with everyone's luggage being sent to different carousels. Sat on coach for a good 3/4 hour before the hour long journey to hotel, check in at hotel reception ok ( you take your suitcases to room) a late buffet meal was laid on for late arrivals which was a nice) I had requested a room with sea view but recieved a room with a view of two great big palm trees.( but the room was very nice and quite ) A bottle of champagne and a plate of assorted fruits for our silver wedding anniversary were in the fridge along with two small bottles of water.
Breakfast was always very nice ( good selection) lunch and dinner very good ( plenty of choices) the waiter take drink orders or you can get your own, full bottle of wine was put on your table with each meal . Seats outside on the resteraunt terrace were always full as the weather was that nice .( only once that we did not manage to get one )
Pool area very nice lots of space but not enough sun loungers. pool bar nice with good views.The beaches around hotel are the nicest I have seen in the canaries. ( but loads of nudist but you get used to that)
I really liked this hotel but there's a lot that it could do to make it even better, (1) order more sun loungers ( better quality ones)
(2) pool bar needs to have a better choice for snacks so that you don't need to go up to main resteraunt at lunch time.
(3) have the al carte resteraunt near pool bar open has a buffet lunch resterant during the day.
(4) have the cafe bar on 3rd floor open in the evenings so that you can have a drink whilst using Internet instead of having to go down 3 floors to get a coffee.
(5) reopen the bar and terrace and toilets down near the seafront . ( not all inclusive) so passers by can stop for drinks.
(6) make more use of floors in between 3 and 6 . As entertainment room was too small.
The area of costa calma is very quite with not a lot to do. But if you want a relaxing holiday with lovely beaches you will like it.

Room Tip: If you get one without large palm tree in front the view will be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spent a week in this hotel in September with my elderly Father and Sister. We arrived late on a Saturday evening and were told that the hotel was over-booked and were placed in one room between the 3 of us, despite paying for 2 separate rooms. The service of the reception staff leaves a lot to be desired - I found them rude, unapologetic of the situation and not in the least bit interested in their customers. They didn't even take our luggage to our room, not the usual standards of a 4* hotel.
We were unable to unpack our clothes and really start our holiday until we were moved to separate rooms the following day. The rooms did have fridges, but not once were they replenished, not even with water.
There is only a la carte restaurant in the hotel and whilst this is usually open 2 nights a week, it was open for only 1 night the week that we were there - we were told this was due to cleaning, but why couldn't this be done on one of the other 5 nights?! The main restaurant food was of a good standard and was always hot - however, I found a small stone in my muesli one morning and then a hair in my food on one of the evenings. I reported this to our holiday rep, but he did nothing. In addition, the cutlery was often not clean and trying to get a drink was a regular challenge, as there are simply not enough waiters in the restaurant. This goes for all of the bars too, where there was often only 1 person serving. The choice of alcoholic drinks is limited, particularly the cocktails, which come out of a machine and those that are worth drinking, you have to pay for at €3.
The hotel has a strict policy of not reserving sunbeds - on our first day, there was not one single free sun-bed to be found - most of them were reserved. One day (and only once), we saw the Lifeguard removing towels from the beds, folding them up and placing them on the table in between the beds - this was totally pointless, as no-one would want to occupy those beds, knowing that they would have to confront those who had originally reserved them, when they returned for their towels. You have to be up early if you want a sun-bed and as there are no beds on the beach, there isn't much of an alternative.
The only positive thing I can say is that the entertainment staff were great - very friendly, always had a chat with you, even if you didn't want to join in.
This holiday cost us £2000 - it was absolutely not worth the money, in fact nowhere near.
I would urge you to find a different hotel if you want to travel to this part of the world.

Room Tip: The floors are effectively upside down, so the lower the number, the higher the floor. Even the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is 2nd visit to the hotel- stayed Sept 2011- enjoyed so much that we came back. Hotel needs a bit TLC to smarten itself up even though cleaned to perfection on a daily basis.Views, walks, sun & sea, food all excellent. 1st visit had a lot more going for it though. Toto Bar just off reception was usually in use with live music in the lounge then. This was closed for our visit this year and despite one less bar to staff,there were still long queues at the rest with only 1 serving most of the time. Night entertainment was run of the mill with the exception of 2 decent sets in 11 days. A-la -carte restaurant rather a disappointment and if you go after 7.30- 8pm take a torch to see what you're eating! Despite these niggles, we still enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a balcony/terrace with better views and no shrubs to harbour creey crawlies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

An excellent, spacious and very clean hotel. Language was always a problem because very few of their staff have a working knowledge of English. Food was excellent and plentiful, but their knives are so blunt is was difficult to cut lamb chops!

Room Tip: We had an easily accessible room on the 9th floor - their ground floor. Great for by the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel R2 Pajara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel R2 Pajara Beach

Address: C/Punta del Roquito, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel R2 Pajara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel R2 Pajara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajara Beach Costa Calma
Pajara Beach Hotel
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel R2 Pajara Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.