We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference to your Saves list
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Had a weeks holiday with my wife to the R2 hotel in Costa Calma from 26th March 2014 t0 the 2nd of April 2006.
Hotel was probably one of the best I have ever stayed in, it was very clean and the view from our room was stunning. The hotel grounds are amazing with a swimming pool that seems to go on for ever although cold at 1st. Food catered for all tastes and although i am not very good at the buffet thing there was loads of choice. The price of drink is expensive and I think that is down to the location which is very isolated. You have at least a 20 minute walk to the town. Guys in the cocktail bar are very friendly, Some of the staff in the restaurant can be a bit Abrupt. entertainment was pretty poor.

On a whole had a great week and if you were looking for a quite hotel for this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Think our room was very good and a higher floor probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    281
    87
    30
    22
See reviews for
158
342
25
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here from 21st march for a week, nice looking hotel but it's all top show. Food was terrible, not what I expected for a 4 star hotel. Room was big but walls paper thin, baby crying and chairs being dragged so not much sleep. Reception staff unhelpful and rude, apart from one German lady who was lovely (Sandra I think) Entertainment was a joke, it was embarrassing to even be in the same room, unbelievable rubbish! Thankfully we found a bar in the town that was lively and good fun. As for the German film crew, that was the cherry on the cake, spoilt our holiday completely, rude obnoxious we are fabulous idiots. They did not care that they were intruding on peoples holidays one bit. I'm so angry with the way we were treated that I've now put a complaint in to our travel company for compensation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I've just come back from a very relaxing week at this hotel.
The grounds are as lovely and as well maintained as many 5* hotels I have stayed at around the world - the disappointment is with the rooms - they are tired/dated. An update with modern furniture and clean unchintzy soft furnishings would make the world of difference. I also expected a bathrobe in a 4* hotel. The food was, on the whole, good. If some of it had been plated up and served to you in a restaurant, you would be looking at a hefty bill - for instance the grilled sole, the prawns and the mussels were all excellent and plentiful. Contrary to other reviews, I found the majority of the staff very friendly and helpful. I do agree with others about the evening entertainment - that needs improvement. The hotel is isolated which suited me - but I spoke to other guests who were disappointed that there was nowhere really to walk to of interest.
In summary, for me, this hotel was good for a week chilling in the sun in beautiful surroundings - if they update the rooms, I'd go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments which help us to improve..We have taken note of your comments.We hope see you soon.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We've recently returned from a week at the R2 Rio Calma Hotel, 19th - 26th March, after a bit of a nightmare holiday. We initially booked it at the last minute, to give ourselves a much needed restful break away from the stresses of home. It looked an ideally situated hotel, in large grounds and lots of amenities, and good reviews. However, it proved to be far from restful!
Firstly, a bit about the hotel itself. It's situated about a 20 minute walk away from any other hotels and shops in Costa Calma, so it's a bit isolated. The reception area is huge, almost a Gothic like feel, stretching up 4 floors high, with a lot of cold concrete around. The main cocktail bar was also in this area, which was usually quite a cool area, and not very cosy at all, for an evening drink. The restaurant served a very varied selection of food, but only average quality. In fact one day, my wife had some chicken pieces from the 'live' cooking area, and when she cut into it, it was still pink in the middle. Not good. The table cloths weren't changed properly, often given a shake and put back on the other way up! One table we sat at one evening, and then again the following breakfast time, we noticed the cloth hadn't even been changed, as there was still the wine stain on it from the previous night! There was always a queue at the 2 coffee machines at breakfast time. The waiters didn't seem to want to bother offering tea or coffee at the table, unless you were returning visitors, and not English.
Our bedroom was a good one, room 7226, high up with a large balcony and excellent views. We had to ask for some more coat hangers for the cupboard, but that was the only real gripe about the room.
The outside grounds were really very well landscaped, with waterfalls, and lots of space. There was a pool bar and a-la-carte restaurant near the 3 interconnecting pools near the hotel, and a man-made lagoon and beach down near the sea shore, with a small bar area. This was the best area if you wanted a quieter spot. Well, that would have been the case if it wasn't for the following turn of events.
On our first full day there, the 20th, a major German TV station had started to take over the place, installing staging, cabling, lighting, cameras, sound equipment, the lot. They occupied the pool bar and a-la-carte restaurant, effectively closing it to the general public, also almost the whole of the 3 main pools, and 75% of the areas around them, closing pathways and access to other areas on the complex, which meant walking much further than you wanted to, to get somewhere. We weren't told anything about this by the management when we checked in on the 19th. I can see why now. We probably would have asked to be moved to another hotel.
After a day or two, we eventually noticed some small notices posted around the hotel, explaining what was happening, and that the TV company would be there filming a well known German program, and that they would be on site from the 19th to the 29th of March, and if you wanted to take part being in the audience, you could. Yeah right!
Sound checks, repeated rehearsals (nauseating to say the least), and then live recordings, took place from Saturday through to end of Monday. That was the first part!! They then cleared that area, and moved down to the lagoon area, and completely took over that for the rest of the week. We found ourselves trying to relax on sunbeds, with guys laying cables and speakers next to us!
Needless to say, on the Sunday, we, and many other couples complained strongly to our rep about the problem, and she did actually handle the very heated situation extremely well, but seemed to know nothing of the TV company's presence. Also, the hotel management were not very helpful at all.
Fortunately, we were only staying for a week, 'til the Wednesday. A good job as well. What a nightmare.
This was far from the restful break that we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my partner from the 28th March to the 4th April.
We very much enjoyed our stay, it was lovely and relaxing, they made some excellent drinks here even tho a little over priced! I however found it much nicer to sit in the cocktail bar due to the entertainment being the same, a lot of the time it was a lady and man singing the same songs!! Other nights there was bingo, a parrot show and some dancers but not the best could be improved! The rooms were nice, clean, mini bar, flat screen (only 3 english channels) but had USB port if you wanted to bring movies.
The spa was lovely, really relaxing after a day in the sun, would recommend going around 6/7ish so its not as packed.
Didn't go to the disco so can't comment!
The food was really nice the first few days, but after 3 days it got very repetitive and there was a lot of fish! Fish in everything! Desserts the same every night, breakfast was nice lots to choose from and juice, or hot drinks sometimes champagne!
The pools were lush, infinity one however was freezing i would go in the other one! Didn't really try the lagoon but looked nice down there!
Mini golf is fun to play, there is a hard and easy course its €6 to play the man comes round at some point to collect money!
We took a bus ride to Morro Jable 2 days we were there mainly for the beach, its massive and a real nice day out at this town!
The beach in costa calma is nice too just a little small. costa calma itself is a bit small, but can have a drink and look around a few small shops but not much!
The staff were always very helpful and really friendly!

All in all i would go back. But this time would defiantly hire a car :)!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments which help us to improve..We have taken note of your comments.We hope see you soon.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

So it has actually been almost a year since we stayed here keep meaning to join trip advisor as we have used it so often ourselves when searching and deciding on different holidays and wanted to add our own review.

We had a wonderful week here.....

Hotel: Beautifully kept, Clean, Stunning Stain Glass Window
Food: Very Tasty, Plenty of Choice, Not overly repeated as it can be, We Sat outside for both Breakfast and Dinner. Waiters/Waitress really friendly and attentive.
Room: Spacious, Clean, Nice Balcony - Fantastic View
Staff: Always Very Friendly
WiFi: Available in Reception but we sat near our room one floor up (open plan - so you can see and hear piano being played in reception/evening area (WiFi worked great)

Pools: We are not really "pool" people although they all looked lovely, we opted for the "lagoon" at the bottom of quite a few steps a man made small beach area (You have to pay for the beds here - but for us worth it) There is a bar and loo's down there too.

Costa Calma
We got a taxi down had a walk around and then walk along the beach back to the hotel enjoyed the walk but as far as Costa Calma goes There is nothing there!!

At the same time we went for the local market - Glorified car boot lots of haggling and the same stalls over and over belts, bags, shirts, rubbish holiday nicknaks (Held in the top end of a dusty/uneven car park)

We didn't use the spa so no comments for that

We stayed on Half Board Basis: Drinks as you can imagine quite costly

Room Tip: Upper Floor for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r2pajarabeach, ASISTENTE DE DIRECCION at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your words and choosing R2 Hotels!.We hope see you soon.KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week 1st March-8th March 14.
This is a great hotel for a relaxing break.
Out room was spacious, cleaned daily, and towel changed daily. We booked a sea view (on 7th floor) and it was well worth it with the panoramic views over the ocean. Room itself has minibar/ flat screen TV (with usb socket if you want to bring films etc. on a memory stick), safe (16 euros a week).
We went for a chill-out week and that is what we got. Entertainment was definitely low-key. The resident duo - on every 2nd night are totally hopeless..As hotel is isolated - entertainment should be a priority. Went to the disco one night and we were the only 2 people in it!
The hotel grounds are beautiful to have a wander round. Front entrance with lovely stained glass window and reception are on the 6th floor – go down to the 3rd floor and on exiting to the terrace a large fountain greets you – go down the stairs to the next level to the pool area – well laid out -- left hand side best for sun, other side gets to shady after lunchtime (towel brigade on the go from 7.30am) – also at this level you with find the snack bar, do a great Sangria cava.
Next level down you will find a 36 hole crazy golf, the down again to the horseshoe shaped lagoon. Only complaint is that there are no umbrellas for shade at the lagoon – you will also find a small snack bar.
There is a Spa but is gets very crowded.
We went full board plus with Thomas Cook- this is buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner with a drink at lunch & dinner.
The hotel is at the top of a hill about 10/15 walk to nearest shop/ bar. I would say that this hotel is unsuitable for anybody with mobility problems.
We were going to hire a car – in hotel lobby there is an Avis car rental desk. Opening hours are 9-11am Mon thru to Fri. Went twice to book car but queue always about 6 deep-waited about 20 minutes and girl was still on first customer – just left it as I didn’t want to waste 2 hours queuing. On last day of holiday went into shop in lobby and walked through to back door the into corridor and there was another car hire firm with no queue – too late for me but give it a try.
For a nice quiet break this hotel is ideal, but a little bit of entertainment would be welcome.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r2pajarabeach, Asistente Direccion at R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your words and choosing R2 Hotels! we hope see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.