We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference to your Saves list
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel is immaculate, our room had a balcony view over the sea. We went in February half term and it was cloudy every day, managed to sunbathe for about 2 hours in a week! The Thomas Cook rep said it was windy than normal, cool in the day and cold at night. This hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. There is a supermarket a ten minute walk and 1 bar/1 italian 15/20 minute walk. There is a market on sundays and wednesdays i think it was but when we walked there it was closed due to wind! The rep says get the local bus No1 or 5 down to Morro Jable/Jandia and get off at the Lighthouse. We actually waited for bus for 45 mins and gave up. The 1 came but he said he wasn't going there. The 45 minute bus ride (we were told) that goes to morro jable has about a mile of shops. We know as we rented a car for 1 day for 30 euros (that is the lowest band car) which was a chevrolet. Lots of cigarette and perfume shops, lots of souveniour shops and bars.

There was a hairdryer in our room and iron/ironing board. The TV had 3 english channels - CBS Drama, True Movies 2 and BBC news. Fresh towels every day and bed change. There is free wifi in reception only, but it is very slow. There are a range of english, german, dutch and french guests. The night entertainment whilst we were there was a duo singer act a few times, a parrot show and bingo. This hotel has a lot of older couples.

The thomas cook rep told us of the excursions, we went to the zoo which was a good day out, you can get real close to the animals and feed the giraffes/elephants. The jeep safari and water park looked good but it was too cold to do either of those. They also offer you a free excursions which is a tour of a third of the island. You stop of in three towns, one of which is a 45 minute bed sales talk. Although the hotel overlooks the beach, it is to rocky to go down to you have to walk way to get to the sandy beach.

The food was nice, and 3 days a week they do free champagne with breakfast.
Full english, croissants, mini muffins, fruits, juices coffees etc. The let downs are the desserts but good if you like ice-cream!

Overall if you want to go away and do nothing and are happy to stay in your hotel most of the time relaxing this is good, but its not for those that like a dance or party atmosphere!

We also got 4 free passes to the spa each for the week we were there, think this is standard for most. Heated beds, sauna, steam, jacuzzi not warm enough though! Option to pay for massages etc. Bathrobes can be hired for £20 refundable for the week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    319
    95
    38
    22
See reviews for
178
395
30
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maidstone kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just spent fortnight at this hotel.very good facilitys ie squash court ,crazy golf , spa, swimming pool ,gym, etc. The food was good ,but needs to cater for continentals has well as Brits be careful of the block paving at the rear of the hotel.can be uneven, has I found out, cutting my right knee. We were in room 7117 on level 7, very quiet. Entertainment every evening . Costa calma is a good 20 mins walk, but only about six shops there. Better to get a bus to morro janba for shops 9 km away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Me and my wife booked this hotel for two weeks over Christmas based on the reviews and location. We knew from reading on here that it was slightly isolated so we hired a car for ten days so to the people that complained of it's isolation do your homework before booking in future.

We found the hotel to be modern and clean with lovely gardens and pools, no beach close by but the man made one was lovely until they put a stage in it. It then got over crowded nearer to Christmas so expect the same in summer and you may be charged for the pleasure, sardines come to mind.

Booking full board plus was a good move as we had three decent meals a day and all we could drink included which was mainly premium soft drinks for us but we did like sangrea with our evening meal.The buffet was good and got better towards Christmas but not excellent as in top hotels in Egypt of all places, on a negative the deserts were pathetic with the same cake and a different coloured topping every day, then there was a custard type YUK consisting mainly of different coloured stuff what we called GLOOP. The staff were very good but sometimes forgetful and it was hit or miss if they spoke English but that was no problem. Reception spoke good English.

Our room was clean and modern with a good size flat TV with mainly foreign channels, fortunately I'd taken my USB memory stick so we were able to watch an episode of Game of Thrones most nights.

What we didn't like was that some days the hotel was over run by company guests that came by the coach load and spoiled the holiday atmosphere turning it into a business convention.
Also when walking out along the prom into town there was dog mess in abundance.

Overall a good decent hotel but we won't be going back, during our ride outs around the island we thought the north was better. Some good beaches can be reached by car, local shopping is not great with many shops being duplicated.

Don't bother to take traveller's checks, they are impossible to change.

Highlight of the holiday........ Feeding the wild chipmunks.

So overall great winter sun but we prefer Lanzarote.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

we stayed at the Rio Calma for the first week in February 2014. First impressions were of a beautiful and high class hotel. We arrived at 20.30 and although we had quite a wait to check in the reception staff were very helpful and gave each person the time they needed. The room we were allocated was lovely and clean and had a wonderful view of the hotel grounds and the sea. How ever the dining experience was a great disappointment as I am a vegetarian. I did get a little exited when I saw the vegetarian corner but found this was where the vegetables were.There was a good selection of meat dishes but my husband said they were not warm and cooked badly. The waiting on staff had no understanding of basic English and the female staff in particular were rude ie we always have a bottle of wine with our meal which is kept for the following night but we couldn't make them understand this on the second day they just kept shouting at us and eventually brought us a new bottle of wine! The weather had a cool start and end but the daytime temp was usually about 23deg which is usual so take something warmer for the evening. The dress code appeared very casual in the restaurant and the hotel attracted mainly Europeans mainly from Germany, very few English. The hotel is a little isolated but the bus service is reliable and easily accessible. We did however have a lovely relaxing week away from the terrible English weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a week away in the Rio Calma, Costa Calma. I cannot fault the weather,hotel, buffet food and beautifully kept gardens and pool areas, with 2 infinity pools! My only comment would be the restaurant where you can choose to go, for a cover charge and eat the 'menu of the day' or 'al a Carte' The waiter service was a nice change, but the food was not to our taste.
We walked into Costa Calma a couple of times, and caught a local bus Nos1 or 5 down to Morro Jable, we got off at the Lighthouse, and walked along the amazing beach to the small town. We also went up to Corralejo passing through some magnificent dunes that went into the sea. We would probably go back next year to the Rio Calma or a hotel in MorroJable.

Room Tip: I think all have sea views. We had a balcony and were 2 levels above the nightclub/disco, but were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Visited on 01/02/14-08/02/14 with my wife and what a fabulous time we both had the service at the hotel is excellent although we felt check in was a bit on the cool side however the staff in the restaurant are absolutely fabulous very helpful and service spot on. The room was of a good standard and brilliant view of the sea. The only major problem we found was that it is a little isolated and on top of a hill not so good for people with breathing or health problems but a great visit overall and would definitely go back and recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadoxhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the R2 with my wife and 2 friends for a weeks break away from the rain and gales in England. We weren't disappointed as both the hotel and the weather were excellent . We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis which was ideal as we hired a car for the week and were out all day and back for dinner. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the extensive grounds were kept in tip top condition. The food was via a buffet service which offered a big variety of hot and cold dishes with a 'theme' meal each day. My wife is restricted to food she can eat (no dairy, wheat, or anything from a pig) and she had no problem as the food was very varied and there was always something for her. All of the food was of a really good standard which was shown by the extra pounds I put on over the week!

On the down side (and there wasn't much to complain about) the evening entertainment centred around the bar in the reception area which lacked atmosphere and had a limited number of seats and tables. The pianists were excellent but in the main the area was suited to senior types with little evening entertainment for younger guests. There was a separate large entertainment area with bar but with so few people attending, it was totally devoid of atmosphere and you could only feel sorry for the entertainers. The hotel is on the edge of Costa Calma so away from access to local bars and entertainment.

All in all the hotel was great for people who wanted to relax and be away from the resort centre. The stunning grounds with beautiful pools kept many people at the hotel for the duration of their holiday.

We would certainly go back and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the 7th floor. The room was large and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.