We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Quiet but full of Elderly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SBH Costa Calma Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SBH Costa Calma Palace to your Saves list
SBH Costa Calma Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet but full of Elderly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel, we were meant to stay at the Costa Calma Beach Resort but on arrival we were told they had no room and sent us to this Hotel ( Thanks to Travel Republic). We were a family group of 7 aged from 19-74.

Good/Great Things

1) The beach is beautiful - sea three colours of blue right on your door step edged by Palm Trees could almost be in Barbados - Note however as it is Fureventura it can be very windy and you have to pay to use loungers on the beach!

2) The Hotel Grounds and Building were very impressive with two bars - internet access and well presented dining room.

3) 2 large pools one heated with Jacuzzis ( I cant agree with Chlorine comment we loved the pools)

4) Bar and Service Staff were very helpful and fun more entertaining then most evening entertainment

5) Food was great lots of choice but lots of fried items pool bar food was by far the nicest

Bad
1) The area (Costa Calma) is not just quiet there is nothing there at all! We found one supermarket and one tiny late night bar so very very dull in evenings and day .There is no town.

2) Apart from sunbathing and swimming there is nothing to do ie no scuba lessons/ day time activities. Evening Entertainment was mostly awful with the exception of African Footprints which were fun. Bars closed at 11!

3) Full of Elderly German people even my 74 grand mother was bored!!!!

4) Rooms were a great dissapointment although clean enough lacked all luxury expected of a 4 star Hotel only saving grace was its large size,balcony and sea view - tv had mainly German channels except sky news and one music channel.

Conclusion

If you are looking for a beautiful beach and pool - Friendly service and nice food and do not mind being basically in the middle of no where and going to bed early this could be just what you are looking for - for our family though it was just toooo quiet !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    84
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
178
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

For the last 2 days of our fuerteventura holiday, we booked this hotel, Our main puspore was to kitesurf so we did not search a lot for the hotels, it is very close to Rene Egli Kite Surf Center and we basically choose this hotel since it is #1 in trip advisor. Trip advisor reviews mislead us for the first time. The hotel has not been reviewed since 80'e I guess. We have booked the hotel via hotels4you and went to hotel to check in at 2pm, they could not find our room and we had to wait another 30 minutes to check in. They gave us vouchers for the welcome drink but also added that the bar is closed until 7pm, hellooo you say wellcome drink :)
We finally managed to get our room. The room was the worst I have seen in several years, it was clean but with a 2* hotel comfort. The worst part is they did forget to clean the toilet!!! We asked the guy in the reception to send someone to clean our toilet since it was unusuable but he did not even bother to write down our room number and we had to clean the toilet!!!!
As I said before the hotel is from 80's with a lot of German tourists with age 60-70. The pool was very old looking as well but the worst part was the chlorine smell of the pool. I know that there must be certain level of chlorine in every pool but this is way too much, the smell was so strong so I decided not to use the pool since I am pregrant. But the nightmare continued in the bathroom, the tap water also had the strong smell of chlorine, which made us use bottle water for brushing our teeth.
The service was very good, the manager of the hotel visited every guest during dinner time and the service staff was very good.
The dinner was also very good but there are two different time slots for the dinner and you have to choose a slot at the first night and continue to have it at that time during the holiday, which we found interesting and did not like it.
Overall we were dissapointed by the hotel and confused about the reviews in tripadvisor for the first time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I simply very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Nice and very helpful staff, good service. Beautiful, cozy and classy hotel, spacious rooms. Great ocean view, very nice and well maintained garden. The food was good.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Please see previous reports and have a look at the hotel site.

Acres of space with wonderful grounds and impressive internal varied architecture. Huge range of choices about where to be. Even when it's busy you may have to work at spotting another guest! Stupenous beach frontage which is dotted infrequently at intervals by the chain's and other hotels.Large rooms with reasonably private balconies.

Good pools, sunbathing areas, golf green, patios, verandas, shady palm trees, four massive atrium floors with comfortable facilities and sea views, etc. Small hotel shop and boutique. In-house entertainment most nights in staged auditorium.

The hotel should consider an in-house film video (pay) service linked to the room TV's. Internet available at cost but there are several WiFi cafes about for free if you take a gizmo.

Multiple choice cuisine with variety to suit most tastes. Splendidly presented and cooked. Expect to gain a kilo a week without trying. The allocated 2 tier restaurant sitting remains in force (1800-1930 and 2000- 21.30) although there appears to be sufficient tables and staff to cope with a continual flow - which surely would permit individual choice (in what after all is a 4* plus hotel) rather than this imposed regimentation. .........Hmmm!

Airy, spacious and quiet with a dignified mostly elderly clientel. Also worth considering if you have a baby/ infant up to about 4 years old as it will have about three hundred "grandparents" doting on it! Professional baby sitting can be arranged if required. Not really ideal for most adolescents/teenagers who might wish a bit of a more robust ambience. On the other hand should be considered by romantic/shoneymooners who seek much privacy.

Neatly run by the inestimable director Senor Payeras and his excellent staff who score highly in all departments and services. Friendly, efficient, attentive and unobtrusive. The building, location, staff and patrons all compliment each other in a highly harmonious relationship. It's a well-oiled relaxing machine populated by polite folk.

Slightly worn fabric and superficial fittings now in places but there were signs of advances in refurbishment but this must not be allowed to deteriorate if that "plus" is to be retained.

Take a kettle. Try reading the Complete Works of Jane Austin in Norwegian which has lain untouched on the exchange library shelves for at least three years! No muzak (hurrah!). Bar pianist of an evening in central bar. No annoying animacion gang.

Several local shops, restaurants and cafes. Couple of bars. Think quiet, warm, orderly,a little windy,compact, refined and safe. My wife rates this hotel/area as one of the few where she would feel entirely comfortable on her own. Area is building up slightly but still remains an oasis of dignified calm. Effectively polite, quiet, well-mannered and predominantly german influenced. English widely spoken nevertheless.

I should imagine we'll be returning (yet) again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed in the Costa Calma Palace for a week and from arriving to going home had a great time. Ok we were in the minority ( as most of the guests were German ) but we had no problems with them. Yes a few need to learn a few basic manners but we didn't let them ruin our stay!!!!!! We had a fantastic view from our balcony on the 6th floor but you need to be careful if they offer you the fourth. ( many people on here have said this) The only view you will get will be of the block facing you so it's definately a no no to the fourth. All the staff in the hotel were really helpful and friendly and Josita you really made our night at the Beatles night whenever you danced across the floor while serving the drinks!!! It's pretty quiet in Costa Calma, but great for a relaxing break which was what we were after. The hotel is geared more for couples and adults as there wasn't much for the kids to do but they were able to use the sister hotels down the beach. We had a great time at the Palace, room spacious, great food and service. It's a pity Thomas Cook / Airtours aren't doing it next year....... maybe it's because not many from the Uk book it. Would definately recommend this hotel and would go again. Day trip to Lanzarote was really good and Oasis Park was well worth the money. All in all we had a great time.

  • Liked — Rooms very spacious, food great and staff very friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fuerteventura
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 06 when my partner was training for the windsurfing world championships. The hotel was nice, the rooms were clean and adequate, nothing special. The evening buffet was large, but even after our three nights i began to notice it wasn´t very varied, so i´m not sure about staying for a long time! The dining room was quite noisy and not very relaxing, obviously we were there in peak season, so lots of kids. The main problem was the wind around the pool, I am used to the wind I live on Fuerteventura and my partner is a windsurfer, but I actually had to leave the pool area for a couple of hours each lunch time because my ears were ringing!!! No problems finding sunbeds when you needed them, they do need to erect some kind of windbreak round the pool area to stop the gales!! Just fyi the windsurfing World Cup is held each year end of July, beginning of august, so be prepared for lots of wind then!!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

Costa Calma Palace - Costa Calma



Resort Rating: Good

Accommodation Rating: Excellent

My/Our Holiday Opinion:

We have visited the Costa Calma Palace on many occasions and it is truly a fabulous hotel. The rooms are spacious and the food is excellent. Fresh fish always on the menu and at least 3 selections of freshly cooked meat to choose from and always freshly cooked vegetables in fact in a nutshell superb! The cleanliness is outstanding in all areas and they seem to have a mini cleaning army. Plenty of sunbeds to choose from even though Brits as well as our european cousins 'booked them in advance'Meals at the beach bar are very reasonable and you can eat a good size pizza for around 5 euro and I would recommend the garlic prawns (7 euros) yummy! also a small beer very reasonable.

What you need to be mindful of is the floor your room is situated on. Avoid the 4th floor as you will not have a good view of the sea you will only see the the horizon and the back of the 3rd and 2nd floors. When you are booked in you will be given a complimentary cocktail whilst they arrange your room and if they say 4xx say there and then no I would like a room on another floor preferably overlooking the gardens and make yourself plain and stick to your guns even though it may mean moving the next day as they may charge you 50 euros to change rooms later.
I have noticed they seem to put all the Brits on this floor unless you make a stand. Also try the Thalasso in the Spa this is free and fabulous, you feel invigorated aand pleasantly pummeled with water jets!

Outside the hotel there is very little on offer in the way of entertainment and inside the Hotel is about the same! But I must be honest and say I don't go there for that reason. A car hire is essential if you want to go to the beautiful beaches tnat Fuerte is famous for. I have found the best deal is with Cicar, new cars and great service from the lady who works there. You will find them to the left of the hotel entrance and through the wrought iron gate at the top and next to the SPAR. The Sotavento beach is amazing( aprrox 10 mins car ride) and you can really feel liberated where a couple of hundred people can go and you wont really see them it is so vast. Along the end of the beach where the lava rock cliff is there are loads of chipmunks so if you go takes some dried fruit and nuts to feed them they love it and will eat from your hand.The sea around this area is so blue it will be etched on your brain forever and the sand dunes are remarkable.

If you want go further down the island to Morro Jable (Jandia) there are more shops to look around but I was not impressed with the beach in that area the sand is quite dark and volcanic and I prefer white sand.If you can take a trip north of the island to a place called El Cotillo to the lagoons I would say this favourable to some parts of the carribean but don't go on Sunday the locals go there but do have lunch in the Fish restaurant in the old harbour. Well I hope this is helpful to you if you are going to visit Fuereteventura and the Costa Calma Palace and I will no doubt be returning again to either Riu Tres Islas in the North or the CCP in the south. There is a great site Fuerteventura.com for loads of info on the island so go and enjoy and I may see you there one day
xx

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH Costa Calma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Palace

Address: Avda. Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Palace)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH Costa Calma Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Palace Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH Costa Calma Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.