We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, in lovely hotel, excellent staff & service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort to your Saves list
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Holiday, in lovely hotel, excellent staff & service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a week all inclusive from 9 May 2013.
We arrived late in the evening. An efficient check in by Alexandro, who advised us to drop off our bags in the room and return to reception where he had arranged some plated cold food for us as we had missed dinner. Very thoughtful.

Our room was fairly large with side view of the sea. Unfortunately we found it a bit noisy due to the mechanics of the lift. My friend went to reception and was advised that they would see about giving us a change the next day. Again efficiently at around 9 o'clock the next morning, a phonecall from reception saying we could have a look at another room and decide if we wanted to move. We decided to move, so no more lift noise for the rest of the holiday.

We booked all inclusive - the food was fine and with plenty of choice. Nice touches of having Cava at breakfast and one night each of Italian and Spanish themed dinner menus. Pool bar also had snacks e.g. chips, pizza during the day and ice cream & cakes in the afternoon. The staff in the food areas were efficient, polite and friendly, without being intrusive.
Drinks - good choice of cocktails, spirits and Cava at the bars. The staff were cheerful, worked hard and we never had to wait long to be served.
Entertainment - not to our taste. The Animation team's cabaret was terrible & it was tedious going through their presentation of certificates for the activity winners each night before the main act. Hotel should look at hiring in more professional entertainment and forget the Animation team for evening entertainment.
There were few British guests at the hotel when we were there, the majority were German but reception, bar and restaurant staff all spoke good English.
There was plenty space around all the pools, loads of sunbeds and there was never any problem finding one at any time of the day.
One negative is the hotel charges a lot for Wifi. We found 2 cafes beside the main shopping area where it was free.
Costa Calma is quiet. There is not a varied nightlife but we had a lovely relaxing holiday with some great fun evenings in the hotel. The hotel staff were great, all cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    333
    143
    88
    43
See reviews for
255
334
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

just returned from this hotel and had a fantastic time, hotel very clean and staff superb.
thank you Betty,Fabio,santiago and of course Barbara not forgetting Mel all members of the animation team.
as a solo traveller you are never alone, lot of Germans but all very friendly.
Food very good if you cannot find something you like then you should stay at home !!
thanks to all the people that made this active 70 year old feel great
Malc

Room Tip: Stayed on the fifth floor and had a very good view and room 5047
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Only booked this hotel one week before our trip for a last minute Easter break. On arrival I was slightly disappointed with the appearance of the hotel foyer as the furntiture looks dated. However, the reception staff were very cheerful, friendly and helpful. On checking into our room I then discovered the toilet wasn't flushing. Impressively, the maintenance guy was on the scene in less than 10 minutes and had it flushing in no time. Once we ventured out onto the pool terraces I started to really warm to this hotel. It has a very nice outside aspect with views over the pool down to the sea. The hotel is positioned at the end of the bay where the beach is a little rockier but makes for a nice walk to the other end of the bay - takes about 1 hour and you can feed the chipmonks which live in the rocks along the way. The hotel daytime entertainment is quite good and varied but they could announce the activities better so you don't lose track of time. Night time entertainment isn't so good - mainly it's the reps putting on a show but even the outside acts aren't up to much. The food is OK, there is a lot of variety at each meal but there was a lot of repitition from day to day. The all inclusive package includes Cava which went down rather nicely with our small group (myself, husabnd and 20 year old son). All in all a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Worth paying £35 extra for a side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a two week holiday and felt compelled to write some comments.
We are relatively well travelled particularly on package inclusive breaks. The overarching comment to make is that everything is geared up for Germans and probably around 85% occupancy for the weeks we were there.. this included all written communications around the hotel and any 'public' communications eg entertainment.
We specifically chose this hotel and Fuerteventura for the weather, location and its facilities eg kids club and entertainment. Unfortunatly our 4 year old was the only English speaking child for most of his sessions at kids club.. and it should be pointed out that the one member of staff who accommodated this was not qualified for this role and ALONE however many children were in her session, albiet she was very ameniable... this is no reflection her personally but the lack of resources. This was one of her many duties at the hotel including fitness classes and unfortunately meant that she often arrived 30 mins late or not at all. The resources overall were very stretched in the Animation Team. There was a distinct lack of external professional entertainment for kids and adults and in comparison to other 4/5 star hotels we have stayed at was very amateur.

The positives were that the hotel was nice, staff friendly and clean although in need of some updating.

The restaurant and bar staff were faultless, the food excellent with lots of choice even for the fussiest of eaters.

Thebeach location was lovely, the water was very clean and the beach mainly sandy with some black rock. The resort of Costa Calma was nice but not very established, and a bit quiet for our own taste.

Room Tip: Pool rooms get more of the sun all day the side rooms are quite shaded.. but generally all well posi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after tenth year in a row we love the space and chilled out atmosphere of this hotel loads of subbeds 3 big pools and its own beach can't understand any one moaning about it except it is. Bit isolated but soo relaxing

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Had a great time, pleasant happy to assist staff,had a slight issue which was really speedily rectified although some people will moan at the slightest thing.good choice at meal times all areas very clean and well maintained .very nice setting ,
I believe the staff make or break a hotel,and the staff here were excellent well done to you all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Where to start so much was wrong ? The hotel lost one womens passport and then claimed she never handed it in at check in like everybody does or they dont give you your all inclusive band , we ourselfs saw her hand it in, she spent the entire week trying to get her passport replaced spending hundreds and hundreds of euros on taxi`s and phone calls . On her last day she went off early from the hotel to collect her temp passport to get home and a women from reception came over to us and said the new passport had arrived at the hotel and where was she ? Well this new passport turned out to be the one they had clearly lost as it had her baggage ticket fixed to it , after telling us it was deliverd there she finaly admitted to us that she found it in a folder, we phoned the poor women who then tryed to call the hotel for them to hang up on her twice ! The manager refused to admitt they were at fought and refund any of her out of pocket expense and were extremly rude to her and anybody else who tryed sticking up for her.

The buffet was geared to its German clients and i personaly struggled and went hungry at most breakfast times , there was not even Tea available just coffee. More than once i jumped up to stamp on cockroachs in the buffet to appaluse of BRAVO from the germans who were not impressed with cockroachs either, Some of the food including the chicken and pork was not cooked and raw in the middle, i pointed out to one of the staff carving up spare pork ribs that theer was blood coming out of the ribs and had soaked the woodern carving board in blood , he then soaked up the blood with a cloth and carried on serving from the woodern board. One night we were treated to prawns but you would have thought being a spanish island you might see a pealla on the menu but no.

The barman in the downstairs lobby constantley hit on my girlfriend even after it was pointed out that she was with me , she felt shocked and did not want to drink in the evernings because he was always there , only one choice of beer and cocktails were ready mix from a bottle like you buy in the super markets.

The hotel room was very clean and the maid made some lovely towel art but never put clean sheets on after the 4th day, maybe because we backed up the women with the missing passport ?

Everything cost extra, no free wifi like other 4 star hotels its 25 euro for the week, check out at 12 and they cut the wrist bands off , not fair really as we never arrived in time for lunch on the first day and our coach pick up for the airport was not until 5.55pm !

The thomas cook rep was useless and does not speak any spanish, great help for the poor women who`s passport went missing

We holiday one week every month and would never ever consider booking again with the SBH chain of hotels they need to train there staff and mangers to have some sort of clue how to treat there paying guests if working in the hospitality trade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Address: Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort is a 4-star rated modern complex, active and with a lot of space. If you do not want to care about food an drinks, sorts and entertainment: selct our "all inclusive" program. Beach, sunshine and our excellent service brings you your well-deserved recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort
Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.