We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort to your Saves list
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a week here at the end of March 2012 and had a wonderful, relaxing week.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and pleasantly decorated. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and we felt very safe. We were in room 5048 and had a lovely side sea view looking south along the coast,

In terms of the food, it was varied but mostly Spanish with plenty of fresh fish and paella which suited us well but I'd imagine some children would struggle to find something they'd enjoy at every meal. The croissants at breakfast were delicious and with good timing and observation it was possible to get them fresh and warm.

The pool areas were beautiful, plenty of sunbeds and space to suit everyone however the pools were freezing cold.

The staff were all absolutely excellent and worked hard to ensure everything was perfect. They all spoke great English despite the hotel being predominantly German. Despite feeling a little alienated on the first evening we soon got used to this and it didn't bother us at all.

The hotel is excellently located at the end of the beach which provided us with hours of walks along the coastline. Costa Calma is small and quiet, perfect for relaxing but not ideal if you're looking for nightlife. We were all inclusive so we didn't look hard, but i'd imagine that you'd struggle to find restaurants if you chose to travel self catering or B&B.

We avoided the hotel entertainment so i can't comment but by looking at the advertisements around the hotel it seemed they catered well for English guests with the likes of 'Blues brothers' and 'Mo-town'.

We hired a car for 1 day and had a lovely drive around the Island. I'd definitely recommend this as it only cost us 50euro (including 15euro fuel which got us around the whole Island). There's some beautiful villages to see in the mountains and plenty of scenic roads to explore. The beaches just south of Costa Calma are idyllic and shouldn't be missed however we got more than we bargained for when we stumbled across a nudist spot..

Would highly recommend this hotel and resort for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    333
    143
    88
    43
See reviews for
255
334
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed a week at the Costa Calma beach resort in March 2012 but as I was having a resort reviewing day, thought I'd give my advice on this one. Firstly we booked with Thomas Cook and flew from Cardiff - have to say very painless and straightforward - a real pleasure compared to Thomsons and Gatwick!! The trip did not costa package I have to admit, so our expectations were low - and on that basis they were exceeded. Our room was good and nearby most things, with a slight beach view. The all inc package was really all inc, no tricks of the trade, so you can relax and enjoy - I didnt see my wallet for a few days as it was not needed for anything once inside the resort. A note for the wifi crowd....dont bother - im an iphone man and it was a frustratingly sporadic wifi service - and expensive at that - we paid a creditcard local phone service instead and that was better connection and better value - use that instead.

One thing I really did enjoy was the food - aside of the 'whacky races' experience of getting around the buffet (it is busy most of the time!) some of the food really shone for me. Yes not all dishes, but the 'mojo sauce' and the little salty potatoes are really worth trying - local dishes prepared by locals - I really enjoyed...the little lady wasn't a fan of me having mojo sauce every mealtime mind you! Its spicey, creamy, yet delicious...but your partner will know you have eaten it! Mojo breath is not to be sniffed at lol.

Yes there are lots of germans...get over it! They have holidays too, and as a rule there's more of them so don't be surprised if your in a minority. As such the hotel was geared to them, and so be it, it didnt effect us - as I had a polite grasp of spanish I found it helped to converse that way with staff and it truly paid dividends as I felt we were looked after when I requested anything from waitresses or reception or bar staff. Although most spoke english if need be. The entertainment was naturally in german - truthfully if it had been in english i wouldnt have been overly fussed on it, its the generic week of singing and acts that are always an after thought at such places - go eat, drink and entertain yourselves with friends and family would be my advice.

We hired a car for two days and got out of Costa Calma. Right bit of advice here, go find a car hire place a bit cheaper than your 'in resort agent recommended' one, as you dont get a better deal - shop around a little - it pays. Go out of the hotel and head up a little to the shops, theres a few places. Also, if you need a car more than 2 days then get one of those James Bond submersible ones so you can go somewhere else, as after 2 days there is nothing else to see or do really - the island is small, you can drive all the way round it in about 4-5 hours - its worth a trip away to see some amazing sights, volcanic lands which look alien at times, and some lovely vistas will open up, but the island itself is very underdeveloped so there isnt a lot to see and do - save water and windsports - excellent for both if thats your boat floater. We found a nice restaurant in El Cotillo, north of the isand, there are a few there, I regret I can't recall the name - but its worth getting off the beaten path and trying places out of town - theres some nice meals to be had and certainly different to the buffet food you may get back at the resort.

Morro Jable has a longer beach, some more shops, than Costa Calma, but otherwise its all very samey - if you like your wind mills then you will notice lots of them as you drive around - likewise most of the landscape is barren, unearthly almost and hard to make a living off I'd suggest so most of the island is sparsely populated, and kinda of clusters round the resorts, which are all pretty similar in terms of offerings shop wise.

Our hotel itself was situated on the end of the crescent beach, there are some nice walks to be had along the beach at times it really is a picture, especially at night. In terms of value for money it was a fantastic trip - it certainly isn't a 4 star resort as we might consider a 4 star hotel in the UK, but honestly you couldn't eat/drink 24-7, swim in the pool, get your room cleaned everyday in sunny 30+ temperatures for £300 for a week in the UK - I've paid more for one nights lodge alone in a 5 star hotel in the UK, and you have to accept when you book it won't be a luxury resort, but it is incredible value and on that basis I can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the center - unless of course you like the noise of Germans laughing till 1am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Very very clean. Very relaxing and so beautiful. 3 pools, one that is heated. Lovely beach, beautiful scenery! Very friendly and welcoming. Felt very safe here! Very quiet and for people who just want to relax! Best for couples and the elderly, those seeking nightlife and fun this is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Thankfully we only stayed a week but made the best of it. The hotel is well situated, very clean, well laid out but could be so much better. On arrival it all looks very good, quick check-in, rooms are clean but basic, ours didn't have any drawers! Long trousers are compulsory for men at dinner and you will be turned away, even though it is only a buffet! The food was very poor, not hot and choices not great at all meal servings. The self service buffet seems set out wrong, with people wandering around, crossing over each other, trying to get food on their plates from different areas. Getting refreshments during the day can be awkward as these are only available certain bars at certain times. The pool areas are very clean with plenty of sunbeds and cushions and plenty of space between beds. The staff were mainly friendly especially the female staff but speaking to you in german seemed standard, until they realised you were English. A quiet resort but not much around, thankfully a few restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed just a week, had a great time. Food lovely, staff great and very friendly. Our only complaint is that they are to many cats round the bar near the beach. Good size rooms a little tired but clean and comfortable. Great week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Fuerteventura and the winter sun was lovely. The hotel is large and very clean. It would appear it is two hotels joined into one. We actually stayed in the older part which suited us as it was very quiet. It is predominently Germans who visit this part of the island but we found them to be polite,courteous and friendly. The food in the hotel is varied and well cooked and presented. Everywhere is very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of sunbeds by the pool and no need to reserve them. Lots of the guests return year in year out for long periods. If you are looking for lots to do this is not the place for you as it is quite remote and if the weather was bad it would be quite boring. All in all a good holiday. Thomas Cook need to look at the leg room on their flights as I can assure you we will not be travelling with them again. This was the only downside of the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and yet again we have had a perfect holiday. All inclusive is good value for money and the food was of a high standard. All of the staff are truely excellent and work so hard to make sure that everything runs well. The pools are fantastic and there is loads of space and sunbeds available. The bedrooms are spacious and clean. Whilst the scenery is not picturesque we walked for a couple of hours every morning, for the most part on lovely sandy beaches. This is a quiet hotel (which is why we like it) however there is some limited entertainment throughout the day, and some in the evenings. This is not the hotel to go to if you want discos etc, however for peace and quiet - perfect!
We particularly enjoyed the themed nignts in the restaurant - Italian one night and Spanish another. There was a variety of meats, fish and vegetarian options every meal. The omlettes freshly cooked for you at breakfast were particulary good.
We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Pool views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Address: Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort is a 4-star rated modern complex, active and with a lot of space. If you do not want to care about food an drinks, sorts and entertainment: selct our "all inclusive" program. Beach, sunshine and our excellent service brings you your well-deserved recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort
Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.