We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerteventura Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerteventura Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jahn Reisen 1 | Urb Canada del Rio, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Too many Germans who didn't mix. Hotel very dated no service whatsoever. Food poor and cold. Resort full of elderly people with walking difficulties. Rooms very noisy didn't feel safe patio door wouldn't lock. Security poor anyone walked in. Not many staff pool area never kept tidy cups left lying about. Night time entertainment area depressing and full of strange people dancing. Felt like the hotel that had been left behind in time. Stay away far nicer places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFuerteventura, Community Manager at Hotel Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us.We regret that you have not enjoyed all the services we offer. The Fuerteventura Playa Hotel is located near the sea and offer all the services to make the stay of our guests nice.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    183
    166
    74
    81
See reviews for
121
263
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I think that at this time I will write a review by specifying different points:

01) SECURITY: to be EXTREMELY improved;
thieves entered to the ground floor rooms;
people from other hotel get into the facility w/o control acting and behaving as a customer....!!!!
02) Animation: missing and unpleasant guys;
03) Food: variety could improve and more Spanish rather than German food would be highly appreciated;
04) Waiters: In my opinion the "chief" would better need t be more pleasant with customer;
05) Eating time: I would at least postpone a little bit the dinner time; at 8:55 p.m. the doors are closed, with no possibility to have dinner;
06) Some renovations are needed;
07) Beach Lounge Chair: to be paid to another facility the ones available on the beach, otherwise there is the possibility to use the ones just behind the fence (but always on a sandy ground) or the ones nearby the pools;
08) Beach Towel: to be paid;
09) Safe: to be paid;
10) Not indicated for young people.

Room Tip: do not choose the room having a view on the outside of the hotel - thieves came in and no insurance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an amazing week here over New Year. The staff are very thorough and thoughtful. The rooms are super clean and the communal areas are great. The pool was lovely and we managed a daily swim in December - couldn't believe it! The food in general was good, especially on New Year's Eve when we were pleasantly surprised by the effort the hotel staff had gone to to make it a special occasion. The only time we didn't enjoy ourselves as much was in the main restaurant in the evenings - it is very brightly lit and not so good for a couple's dinner, but great if you have kids. The tapas restaurant which we went to twice for dinner was much cosier! There are some nice cafes and shops in the streets around the hotel - the location is great. However, there aren't many places to go to in the evening.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from holiday here and have a lovely time; staff were very courteous and friendly and spoke English, not that I would have been bothered if they didn't as I didn't speak Spanish! Room, view and food were all very good. All in all we have had a lovely time and would not hesitate in going back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFuerteventura, Community Manager at Hotel Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Fuerteventura Playa Hotel, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Fuerteventura, as well as for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to know that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel because client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment

We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page to know our offers and news.
We hope to see you back soon in Fuerteventura. Please, remember that we are at your complete disposal.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay, I find it hard to believe that so many people had bad things to say, we had a great time, yes there was a lot of Germans, Itailans and French but never the less it didn't ruin our stay, all the staff were really nice and friendly and the food was great too..... All in all a fab time had.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from a one week all inclusive stay here, i couldn't wait to get home, the hotel itself is ok, seems fairly clean although dated. We checked in easily and was appointed a nice room with a partial sea view, the room was spacious and clean. However it was one hell of a long walk from the main reception. The TV had one english speaking channel which was CNN no british channels at all. The dining room was awful, the food was monotonous, barely warm, they regularly ran out of crockery, tables were not relaid once the first people left, we had to go and bring our own cutlery and serviettes to the table. The pool was freezing and salt water, the one occasion i went in which was on the Sunday i fell ill with sickness and diarrhoea the after effects i am still suffering with on my return home. The entertainment was geared to the German guests, which i suppose was to be expected as there were only 6 other brits in the hotel that week, the guy who did the entertainment was a lovely young man who always had time to stop and speak. There is nothing whatsoever out side the hotel in the form of entertainment, dining etc. This is my fourth visit to the island and it will be the last.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Just come back from one week half board at the hotel. Transfer time was one hour from the airport but we waited nearly one hour for our pick up coach to arrive at the airport (travelled with Thomas Cook with transfer included). The reception lady at the hotel who dealt with us was lovely and spoke excellent English. Our room was clean and a good size but not as large of well appointed as other 4* star hotels we have stayed in. The ocean view was between buildings and limited and for me disappointing. The room safe was 2 Euros per night. Restaurant - what a disappointment. You were lucky if you went at 8 pm or later to find any tables laid (after 9 am in the morning for breakfast) and if you tried to sit in quiet areas you were told to move. There did not seem to be enough cutlery or plates at these times. The cheapest bottle of red wine was 19 Euros. We were never offered a drink list so stuck with water - we saw the prices on the last night on a wine list on another table. The staff were in the main useless at both clearing tables and setting tables. One morning, after setting our own table, we went to get hot food and the table had been cleared of all cutlery, glasses of juice and full cups of coffee when we got back. I relaid the table and just got a shrug. I definitely saw a cockroach (pointed out by a German lady) on one of the counters.

The hotel is isolated and there is no promenade though the resort. The beach was down a steep incline (we saw several elderly people turn back when they say the descent) and there was absolutely nothing on the beach except some nude sunbathers.

Overall, beautiful building and gardens, average rooms and poor food/restaurant. We have stayed in many 4* hotels in the Canaries and this was most definitely not 4*, never mind 4* superior.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerteventura Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerteventura Playa

Address: C/ Jahn Reisen 1 | Urb Canada del Rio, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerteventura Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerteventura Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Playa Hotel
Fuerteventura Playa Costa Calma
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa Costa Calma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerteventura Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.