We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda del Mar 19, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from the Santa Rosa after spending the 1st week of the Easter hols there. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are a little tired and lack some of the mod cons used to back home but they are perfectly adequate and offer great value for money. We stayed in a 2 bed bungalow (1055) which had sunshine most of the day and wasn't too far from the pool.
I think the best feature of this hotel is that it's so child-friendly - indoor bowling alley, soft play area,bouncy castle, park). Rosemary, the kids entertainer, is fantastic and works so hard with the kids.
We stayed B&B and thought the breakfasts were good with lots of choice (toast, cereal, pancakes to order, yoghurt, bacon, eggs etc). We tried one evening meal and that was nice also (lovely paella!) and apparently they do different theme nights regularly. Was only 9 Euro for an adult and half price kids including a drink, as they had an offer on for March.
Immediately outside the apartments, there are a few bars and restaurants. Particularly liked the Wok Chinese buffet restaurant. Chinese starters,crispy duck, mains,sushi, plus fresh meat and fish/shellfish that you hand to the chef to cook while you wait. So clean and fresh. Not cheap (about 12 Euro for adults and 6 for kids I think) but a step up quality-wise from the cheap buffets being offered in town. Also enjoyed the small Italian place next door called IB for lovely fresh Pizza and Pasta.
Costa Teguise itself was lovely - recommend cutting through to the promenade and having a nice stroll towards town, stopping for a drink at Villa Toledo overlooking the sea. Nice park by the prom also for the kids if they get bored.
Only slight annoyance was the amount of looky looky men trying to flog sunglasses watches, glasses etc whlst you are having a snack or drink in a bar. A polite 'No thanks' is usually all that's needed though and some of their banter is quite funny. Overall, great time and would definetly recommend.

Room Tip: 1055 - sun all day, quiet, but close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    476
    136
    26
    14
See reviews for
430
562
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned yesterday from the Santa Rosa, and myself and my family had a really good time there. I travelled with my two daughters, who are age 10 and 13. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, and I had, on booking requested a room by the pool. Sure enough we were given an apartment right next to the pool, which was great for my youngest daughter who loves swimming. The apartment was basic but contained a fridge, kettle, tv and a microwave so you had pretty much all the essentials. This was our first trip to Costa Teguise, and we absolutely loved the resort. The beaches were good, plenty of bars and restaurants and lots of places where you could book surfing and windsurfing lessons. There is also a very nice walkway along the sea near the hotel. The food was good and plentiful, and even my fussy teenager found food she could eat every night. The rooms were cleaned regularly and towels changed frequently. On one morning my daughter left her jumper tucked under her pillow, and unfortunately the maid picked it up with the bedsheets. We told the receptionist and next morning the jumper was put back in our room. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all I would say it was excellent value for money, good accommodation and facilities, and we will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a room right next to the pool, and thats exactley what we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have written almost 30 reviews on this website now and only bother when I think I have something to add. Given that my partner and I stayed here for eleven nights in 2 different apartments I think it's worth giving our perspective:

The first thing I would say is that if you are reading this and still deciding I would recommend it thoroughly. It's not 5 star and if you are double fussy I would suggest you look elsewhere and pay 5 star prices. The only things I would say from the outset is that you should email ahead to ask for your choice of apartment type and also be aware that the apartments don't have drawers or much storage space, plus they could do with a little updating but at the price we paid I'm not complaining.

The apartments were cleaned on 9 of the 11 nights we were there. The shower is better than ours at home and hot water was never an issue. The apartments have the main English channnels for free (good for Match of the Day!) but I would also recommend taking an extra 5 hangers per person. Beds are singles but firm and very comfy.

The pool area is lovely and spacious and there was never an issue over sunbeds. The Pool bar has an excellent happy hour between 4 and 6 p.m (less than a quid for a large cold beer!) and also offers free wi-fi which can be accessed outside the other bar if the connection fails (ask the bar staff as it's a different password in the other bar and bowling alley).

If you are self catering I would recommend Casa Luisa for breakfast with Steptoes also pretty good. We liked the Fisherman's Inn for the evening meal (even though service could be a little slow it was worth it for the lovely food) although Nina's was also nice if a tad more expensive. If you go into the centre (a 15 minute walk) I would recommend Casa Blanca, El Pescador and 21st Asian (for a cheep and cheerful Chinese) plus a drink in Magma in the central square (1.5 Euros for a large beer).

I would also recommend getitng out and about. We had been to Timanfaya, the Cactus Garden and Arrecife on a previous visit but this time we went back to Cesar Manrique's house plus the Green Caves, Mirador del Rio and Jameos del Agua and this gave us the opportunity to eat in places like Arrietta and Teguise. In fact we returned to Teguise 3 times as it was so nice and we had hired a car for the week .

We had asked for a top level apartment based on comments on this website but ended up overlooking the car park and being very near a fairly noisy road so asked for a bungalow for the last 4 days and this was worth it (all the staff were very friendly and Olga was really helpful in this matter as she moved us within 24 hours). The bungalows are smaller but more modern and if you ask for a south facing one away from the pool it will be quieter, although if you have kids you may want to face the pool. We were moved to 1057 and that block was lovely and quiet whislt getting the sun all day.

I struggled to decide bwtween 4 and 5 stars for this review, because as others have pointed out it's not perfect (hobs/freezers not working effectively, stairwells a bit scruffy,lack of storage space) but felt that we got excellent value overall and would not begrudge the Santa Rosa it's number one spot at the time of writing this review. If you haven't booked it just do it and if you have I doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: South facing bungalow if you want sun all day and don't have kids. Maybe facing pool if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 1 week stay in the Santa Rosa. Fantastic complex for kids, plenty for them to do. Rosemary the kids entertainer was excellent and is a credit to the hotel.
Still no sign of the indoor pool but the kids pool was lovely and warm. The main pool still a touch cold but lots of people in swimming.
I went half board and glad I did as not much choice outside the door. The meals provided were good and had a chef cooking something different every night especially at breakfast time when they cooked pancakes and omelettes to order.
Supermarket round the corner so very handy and well priced.
Friends we met got a taxi into Costa Teguise which was only €4, if you wanted a bigger selection of restaurants.
Yes the apartments do need updating but not to the extent that I would give this
a bad rating.
Would return again and at Easter, weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We travelled to the Santa Rosa apartments as a party of 5 in March this year - my fiancé, his parents and our 14 month old baby girl. Overall we had a great time, here's our best and worst of the apartments...

THE BEST

- It's only a 15 min transfer from the airport which is great when you're travelling with young children. We flew from Glasgow and were in the resort with most of the unpacking done, our swimsuits on and sitting by the pool by about 2pm.

- There's a huge (new?) soft play area inside the apartment complex which was free to use so our wee one had some fun in there each day after spending most of the afternoon in the pool.

- The baby pool is great as it graduates from about ankle to knee deep and is really big. It was also pretty warm despite the weather being a little overcast when we were there.

- There are also tennis courts, crazy golf and 10 pin bowling all in the resort which are pretty reasonable - only €1.50 for a game of bowling.

- There is a supermarket are a couple of nice pubs right outside the hotel - the pubs were good for breakfast in the morning - bacon sandwich for only about €2.

- The rooms had a nice patio area outside which caught the sun all day and had a couple of sun loungers so it meant I didn't need to miss out on the sunshine while the baby napped!

- The room had all you would need for basic self-catering and unusually for this type of apartment they even had a toaster and kettle in the kitchen.

- There was a washing machine on site which although cost €5 to use meant that we went home with practically a case full of clean clothes which is a bonus when you come home to a snowy welcome!

THE NOT-SO GREAT

- It may seem like a minor niggle but we really struggled with the lack of storage in the rooms. There was one wardrobe (and only 5 coat hangers) with no drawers to be had in the whole apartment. No storage at all in the bathroom - not even a shelf to sit toiletries on.

- The rooms were cleaned only 4 times over our 7 night stay which although wasn't an issue in terms of keeping the room tidy, I really like to have fresh towels each day - especially with a baby.

- This was the first apartment / hotel I have been to for years that didn't have a hair dryer in it.

- The pavements around the apartments and into the town aren't really 'stroller friendly' as they have difficult kerbs to go up and down - so much so that we buckled the frame of our McLaren stroller so be careful!

OUR TIPS

- Take some clothes hangers and a hair dryer

- Take some pegs if you are going to wash any clothes - the wind is fierce so you may return to find your clothes airer empty!

Overall we had a great time and would return - especially off season as it was lovely and quiet at the resort at this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I visited for the first time this year hotel Santa Rosa in Costa Teguise and not only that it was our first and certainly not our last visit to Lanzarote itself. Staff at the hotel from the receptionists, waiting on staff, entertainment staff and maid service were lovely, very helpful indeed and making recommendations of places to visit. We took the bus to Teguise the old capital on a day when the market was not on. It was so peaceful. We visited the castle which was a long uphill climb but we thoroughly enjoyed the panaromic views from the top of the castle. We toured the cat,e which had a gave a good history of Lanzarote. We went to fire mountain on a tour which was great and the tour guide was very informative. We walked to the golf course and had lunch. We also walked at least twice a day on the prom as we needed to after calling into the Blue Hotel for coffee and cake for € 1.80 each and it was lovely. We visited Peurto Del Carmen by bus which was only a few euros and the beach was lovely and a promenade to walk along. We visited a lovely bar and watched the golf and had coffee and cake. We went to Lanzarote for 3 weeks, but next year we will be going for longer.

Room Tip: We were given a bungalow which had its own patio. We are booking 1181 next time which is next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked the Santa Rosa on recommendations and well............... Very basic to say the least. I had pre-requested a quiet room on the top floor and got a ground floor appartment in the worst position on site - 25 yards from road and overlooking car park/rubbish tip/builders yard. Having said that, our bedroom was on other side and we had no noise at night so we did not ask for room change.
The appartment was one bedroomed and very large but it was poorly furnished and there were a lot of minor items that were issues - towels changed regularly but in some cases were little better than rags, sheets were so thin that one had actually worn to holes, no chopping/bread board, no sink plug, only one socket in kitchen so could not use toaster,microwave,kettle together,TV was tiny and terrible sound quality,lipstick on a glass, dirt in corners,dust everywhere apart from main surfaces and worst of all a dirty toilet brush!
The complex was good and pool area excellent with big pool and plenty of sun loungers but there were a lot of broken/loose tiles on footpaths and steps around site.Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Whilst there were a lot of minor issues we did have a great holiday .
Would we go back again? Well, there are better complexes at the same (and even less) costs in Teguise but it is in a great location. They do need to spend a little money on what are pretty basic faults.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.