We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent the last week in Santa Rosa. We were given room 1007 - a two bed bungalow. It was clean and adequate - the beds were very comfortable. We were half board - breakfast was ok but dinner was nothing special. There was always something to eat but nothing that was moreish! The biggest criticism I would have of Santa Rosa is that it is difficult to find out when and where things are on. The entertainment moved from the bowling area to Bar Luna without any mention.

The pool is not heated and with the current winds it was too cold to venture in most days. Rose Marie who does the kids club is lovely - as is the guy in the Luna Bar but the rest of the staff leave a lot to be desired especially the chef!

There is happy hour at the pool bar from 4 to 6 and there is a bouncy castle there. There is supposed to be a happy hour between 9 and 10pm in the bowling area but it seems to only be on local beer.

I would go back but only on b & b or self catering basis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    523
    149
    28
    17
See reviews for
465
601
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a week here in December 2012. Even though the price per apartment is low, the standard is also low. This is a place for low class English beer drinkers looking for a cheap holiday in the sun. As you walk through the estate you see people with tatoos and often using bad language. Some practical comments:

They don't clean the kitchen at all (they don't tell you), one day we found a cockroach running from the living room to the bed room. My wife eventually killed it.

They only provide bathroom soap on the first day. Which is fine, but they don't tell you.

No cleaning at all on Wednesdays and Fridays. Again they don't tell you.

They hardly ever remembered to empty the garbage.

The food provided in the hotel is terrible. Essentially eggs and bacon with other unhealthy garbage to satisfy the beer drinking tummies.

The fridge froze all our fruit and vegetables.

Even though they claim wifi is available it hardly ever worked. If you're lucky you'll get 0.1 mbit downstream in the pool area.

Even though the staff do their best to help they appear to have no training in customer service and no professional experience in hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from spending a week over Christmas at Santa Rosa. We had a 2 bedroomed bungalow, this was a little dated in style but very comfortable and clean. The staff were really helpful and freindly. The weather was beautiful (hot) but still the pool was only for the very brave! Santa Rosa a a pleasant 15 minute stroll along the sea front promanade to the main resort, but there are nice local bars and shops if you don't want to walk. We had a lovely holiday and I would happily recommend Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroomed bungalow overlooking the gardens, would recommend as is quiet, private & ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from a family christmas in Santa Rosa. Food was amazing even the picky ones found something they could eat but beware do not come here if you are on a diet!! It really was that good. Kids club every day, 2 hours to yourself, what more could you ask for. There were a few nice bars just outside but we only ate out once at the steak bar accross the road Cafe Hollywood where they do a great steak. Apartments were clean and well kept all staff very friendly if you needed anything extra you just had to ask. Kids entertainer Rosmary did her best and we had a good few evenings however if you want something a bit livelier the town is only a fifteen minute walk or 3euro for a taxi. If you are looking for a great family holiday this is definitely the place to come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The apartment itself was really spacious and had a great big balcony which caught the sun for most of the day, the resort is good, with enough sunbeds, etc available. The gym I wouldn't say is a selling point, and isn't really what I would constitute as a gym...it had about 4 pieces of equipment, and on three occasions of visiting I could never get to use them as it was always busy. The gym just across the main road is really good and has a daily rate of 8 euros.
The location itself was not the best, it was about 15-20 minute walk into the Pueblo Marinero square which is probably where the best restaurants and bars are, which isn't too bad if it is a nice summers night, but bearing in mind we were there mid December, I probably wouldn't return at that time of the year again.

Rooms were cleaned every day we were there.

All in all the apartments are definetely worth the rate, and if I had any direct criticism it would be that the reception staff at the resort could work on their customer service skills, as none of them were really eager to please.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent the last week of November 2012 in a one bedroom apartment on a half board basis.
The accommodation was clean and provided good space for two of us. The apartment was cleaned five times during the week, as promised.
Check-in was very quick and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
The food was good value for what we paid, but you are not going to get five star food at the price we paid. Most nights there was a different theme, e.g. Mexican and Chinese nights, to give variety.
The apartments were in blocks of four (I think) and there was good spacing around the site.
The grounds were kept clean, but some of the tiles had worked loose and wobbled when you walked on them.
We booked a package but declined the transfer from the airport to the apartments as we hired a car from the airport at less than 90 euro for a week.
Not many car parking spaces at the entrance to the site, but when they were full spaces were to found close by on the road.
There are a few bars and shops near the apartments, but it's some distance from the centre of Costa Teguise.
The location was good for driving around the island.
Overall it was very good value for a half board holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed with the bf for 10 days at santa rosa was very pleasantly surprised! We wer self catering so wer in the apartments which were alot bigger than we thought they would be which was nice.. Lovely big balcony in the sun till tea time. 10-15 min walk from the little town or can walk along the path down the back by the beach about 25-30 min walk but very nice. Id reccomend tex mex mexican and tex mex steak grill.. Lovely food brill service but theres plenty of choice. Few pubs and place to eat 2 mins from hotel and 2 supermarkets. Already talking about returning next year. Loved it :)))

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.