We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday- sunbed nightmare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ficus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ficus to your Saves list
Ficus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hervideros S/N, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good holiday- sunbed nightmare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

having just returned a couple of days ago we agree overall the hotel was ok. The food was ok and sometimes varied although chips are served at all meals except breakfast (which was nice). Shops are 5 minute walk away and bars, if you wanted to take a walk to the beach area and shops/restaurants it took you about 15 minutes, and there is a small market on Friday evening surrounded by restaurants in a square, (Mexican steak-house is there and very good) and a good atmosphere all round. Our only gripe is the sunbeds, people were leaving their towels and folding down the decent sunbed down so you didn't see they had anything on and they did this sneakily from midnight onwards.If ALL the beds were folding and soft you would not have this problem (I felt like throwing them in the pool at night as someone did) We seem to become Germans. Our only other gripe is the lack of toilets around the pool(only 2 each) unless you used the room, causing waiting on an evening if you were busting, all in all a good clean cheap holiday and recommended for A.I.

Room Tip: we had room 2307 but it was on the top floor. We guess any room would be ok ,cos its quiet anyway. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AingeruG, Manager at Ficus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Customer.
Thank you very much for your comments, they are very helpful.
We take note of your suggestion
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    476
    276
    111
    71
See reviews for
439
458
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Second time at the Ficus. It is a lovely little place ideal for a peaceful holiday. Was there 15 to 27 June 2014. Very warm. Hotel rooms have recently been revamped and are nice and fresh looking. As has been said a nice and flat five minute walk to shops and beach. Along the beach and up to the town centre there are innumerable restaurants and bars, amazingly all full and buzzing with life. Making a good atmosphere when walking around the shops at night time. I found it to be a friendly and relaxed place.

Back to the ficus - FOOD, breakfast good, lunch not so bad, dinner a hit or a miss. I did not have kids with me but there did not seem to be much that I thought my lot would eat. Hotdog sausages every night, i think they were the same ones because i did not see anybody eating them. One evening there was burgers with nice soft rolls on offer and everyone could not get enough of them, I suppose a treat but this kind of thing could be on two or three times a week (instead of rabbit - yuck). There were lots of things on offer that were delicious but they seemed to put these things all on together on the one night - I suppose that is my take. The coffee was not very good very watery. They should ask the customers in a survey because one thing for sure the staff all work very hard to try and please. The restaurant is open until three in the afternoon so you can go and help yourself to coffee, tea, juice, beer and sandwiches.
POOL - saw it being cleaned every single morning.
TOWELS and SUNBEDS - we were appalled to see that people were putting their towels on the beds from early evening or even leaving them on for the duration. Not on. This must have annoyed someone because one night all the towels were thrown in the pool It was hilarious, all the culprits were running like rats down a drainpipe in the morning to retrieve their towels whilst everyone was laughing at them from their balconies. Shame on you all. That night and each night after they still did it but the pool attendant removed them all and put them on the wall. There are plenty beds for everyone. A good idea would be to put beds on the balconies as we lay there most days.
SITTING AREAS - I feel that the Ficus could make a big difference by creating a comfortable sitting area outside the restaurant for those happy to sit and play cards, read a book, use ipads, or just to generally chat to others. They have three or four plastic tables and chairs that are okay and we liked to sit there at night after a stroll up the town but they put the lights out once the restaurant has been cleaned making it dark and dismal.
ENTERTAINMENT - the team do a good job and make a pleasant atmosphere around the pool during the day (sometimes the choice of music was awful - personal choice). We did not partake in the evening entertainment preferring to go for a walk but it sounded good and everyone seemed to enjoy it.

All in all a lovely place and good friendly hotel. Will be returning later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well placed although I do not know about block one which does not have a pool v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AingeruG, Manager at Ficus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Customer. Thank you very much indeed for your comments, They are very helpful to improve to provide better service.
We hope see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at these apartments on an AI basis November 2013.
The apartment they we stayed in was one of the refurbished as this is what we asked for whilst checking-in. The apartment it's self was clean and spacious for our requirements. The food was not as good as we had hoped as it was very repetitive. We would return to the apartments but to stay on a SC basis

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I wanted to take my stepmother and younger sister away for a week break during the April school half term week for a short well earned break in the sunshine. Given that prices are already hiked during the school holidays we were looking for somewhere near the beach but not at an extortionate price, and came across this place using an online travel agent. We always read Tripadvisor reviews before booking, and as the reviews were mixed at best we were in two minds whether to book. I'm glad we did! For a cheap and cheerful break this was absolutely perfect. Staff were polite and friendly from the moment we walked in to check in.

In terms of improvement areas, the only one for me was the food. In all fairness the rest of our party seemed to think that it was reasonable to good, but I admit that towards the end of the week it became a bit too repetitive for me. There is a nice little restaurant/bar at the end of the road in walking distance called Cactus Jack's where we ate a couple of nights.

We would definitely recommend for families but this is not an ideal location for party animals, as the centre is a little too far away. We'd return again without question!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Returned last week from an 11 night stay at the ficus...absolutely lovely food was great with wide variety something for even the fussiest eater...hotel rooms,resteraunt and pool were absolutely spotless....entertainments team Kimberley,Liam and Jordan made the holiday, best team I've ever came across in all the years of holidays I've had...only negative is issue over sunbeds and no parasols round the pool....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Best: Wonderful staff - always smiling and could not have done enough for you
Best: Rooms were very clean, looks new
Best: Food would feel repetitive as we eat 3 ready meals a day (spoilt) we eat because we have paid for it but we want different meals but its our own boredom that makes us feel like that.....Food was good, not much for vegetarians.
Best: Location, 15 min walk to the beach, nice beach, not too busy
Best: Pool was clean, Pool Bar and evening entertainment was great (big thanks to Kimberley, Liam & Jordan, Great work Team Thomas Cook)
Worst: people hogging sunbeds!!!!! should not be allowed, people left there towels from night before..... no rude and the hotel should remove towels once people leave.

Room Tip: 2311 - not overlooking the pool but noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were open minded about this place because of the reviews but were pleasantly surprised.

AlThough going all inclusive you did get an apartment which meant you have a lounge as well as a bedroom and a bathroom but you didn't get any equipment to cook with apart from two glasses and a cup and saucer. You can hire a kettle from reception. I don't know why you should bother because you can get hot drinks from the bars and restaurant all day long.

The room was clean and was serviced on most days with an exchange of towels twice a week. If there is any problem the staff on duty sorted it out at once.

Food in the dining room was more than adequate. If you want chips and something fried such as burger and sausage, then you can have it but if you want something better then it is there. Every day there was a roast such as lamb, turkey or veal with a selection of vegetables, potatoes, rice or pasta. There was also a good variety of fresh salads, bread and fruit. Drinks in the restaurant included soft drinks, wine,beer, water and hot beverages.

It was difficult to get a comfortable lounger by the pool because people got up early and put their towels on them. If they did so the night before, the pool staff collected them up and dumped them in a heap. There were plenty of other sunbeds stacked up.

The entertainment was not to my liking but it appealed to many people. Bingo is a huge favourite and is played at least three times a day: lunchtime and afternoon by the pool and in the evening before the main entertainment. Noise is a key feature: yeah, let's hear you pump it up and yeah wooah wooah! And again everybody.

But you don't have to join in. The beautiful beach is a ten minute walk away and there is no music or shouting there. Excellent for families and others with lifeguards patrolling regularly. Then there are many bars, shops and restaurants. If you want sports bars with footsie they have got them. Fancy restaurants: they've got them. Fish and chips: they've got them. They have excellent facilities for the disabled. All pavements are well-maintained: there are disable facilities for toilets and showers at the side of the beach.

I was very impressed with all the facilities at this particular hotel and resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficus

Address: Hervideros S/N, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ficus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.