We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ficus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ficus to your Saves list
Ficus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hervideros S/N, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Went here in October for 10 days all inclusive food not great but drinks serviced to midnight and the entertainment was lively and good fun. Rooms are a little tired but the overall hotel was very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    430
    258
    103
    68
See reviews for
415
403
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 week stay in the ficus hotel, costa teguise. After reading quite a few bad reviews before staying at this hotel i was slightly worried about the comments i read. However all the people writing bad reviews clearly do not understand the value of hotel star ratings, this hotel is a 3* hotel and never claims to be anything more, if you are wanting a 'palace' book a 5* hotel instead! we were lucky enough to be given a refurbished room as this is what we requested on booking, the room was spotless and the maid service was fine, yes your towels werwnt changes every day but they were changed enough throughout the week. you do need to pay for extras like kettles and tvs, but it is litrually just a small amount and who goes on holiday to watch british tv anyway? we did need to hire a fan as there was no air con but you could easily get away with not using one usually, but we was there in the middle of a heatwave so it seemed like the best idea.
No complaints at all about the food in the restraunts there was plenty to choose from and at least 3 different dishes per night, snacks were available during the day inbetween all meals and ice cream was always available from the pool bar. The alchol was fine, yes limited cocktails but who cares there free and you could have as many as you liked deffo recommend the sex on the beach. The reception staff, restraint staff and bar staff were very helpful, pleasant and always available. The poolside is clean and plenty of sunbeda available however there isnt any umberellas, but plenty of seatig areas in the shade if it gets too hot. The pool is cold when you first get in it but lovely and refreshing after a hot day, why anyone complains about the pool being cold is beyond me. As it is a outdoor swimmig pool not a sauna! We never stayed in the hotel at night as we found a local bar that dis quizzes and cheap drinks however the entertainment team worked really hard day and night and the enternaiment provided was excellent for kids and everyone was able to join in. All in all we had a great holiday and would deffo return to costa teguise as it is a great resort with plenty to do and we would not think twice about return to the ficus either :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This year was our fourth time at the Ficus but we will never be returning as standards have majorly slipped.

Rooms basic but decent. However no sign of any maid service during our 7 day stay. Bin was overflowing, we were never given clean towels etc. Spoke to a couple staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms and they asked to be moved twice due to cockroaches.

Food was quite good but not the greatest variety, I lived on chips for a week. Beer and soft drinks were available all day however, as were a decent amount of snacks. Very pleasant and helpful dining staff and bar staff.

Ecening entertainment was a joke, we had two good nights out of seven. You were often left sitting around listening to terrible music as the reps seemed to just start things whenever they could be bothered. We were not impressed by the reps, Ainslie and Lindsay. They only bothered talking to people they knew well and hardly ever circulated among the other guests. Daytime entertainment around the pool was average, not an awful lot for kids. Not many general activities, was often pool or darts, so if you couldn't play those games you couldn't take part.

Another complaint was the sunbeds around the pool, they were flat and didn't prop up at all, making them very uncomfortable to lie on. Many also broken in the middle. Also unhappy with the lack of parasols, which I feel is unsafe. I had to try and take shade under a hedge instead.

Overall it was quite a disappointing holiday and we will never be returning to the Ficus again unless the whole place gets a major clean and facelift.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading previous trip advisors, i thought maybe people were being overly fussy and we decided to book an all inclusive week in June ( 6th-13th).
Worst weeks holiday ever.
On arrival, we waited for 10 minutes for someone to help us at recpetion ( this happened on every occassion we required assistance from reception). After checking in we were then instructed to wheel our suitcases throgh the pool area to our room (it was like the walk of shame)
The rooms, granted are a nice size and are kept clean, however we had a rusty bath, the toilet came away from the floor and continued to make a noise throughout each evening whilst trying to sleep. the shower curtain had stains all over it.
Our curtains were not long enough to cover the window so we had to hang a extra blanket over the window to block out the light, what shame we couldnt use something to block the noise coming from the building ( we had a skip behind our room which builders proceeded to fill at stupid o'clock)
kitchen is provided in each room, but no pots,pans, cutlery so what is the point?
We booked all inclusive to save money whilst on our trip, however the food was disgusting - chicken goujons were chicken paste not real chicken, pasta EVERY night covered in watered down tomato sauce. I lived on chip butties all week ( with rock solid bread) on the last night i gave in and went to a mexican restaurant up the road which was amazing and only 13 euros each for a main. Quite frankly i can cook better than the staff at this hotel.
The all inclusive bar which on booking stated cocktails were included was pretty appalling, cocktails were actually slush puppies with vodka in, beer was available, along with soft drinks and wine however this was all for everyone ( not just what was inlcuded in your package) pretty limited if you ask me.
Every toilet in the resort has writing/grafetti on each door, comments such as "THIS HOTEL IS DIAR LEAVE NOW" says it all and to be honest is spot on.
Entertainers belong in benidorm, i wouldnt have wanted to join in with "making the biggest splash" in the pool or kareoke but they didnt make any attempt to ask if we were interested in getting involved. They glued themselves to people they had met and were not interested in recruiting new people and making any attempt at Good Customer Service

All in all this hotel truly ruined our holiday with the building work that was supposed to be finished in March still on going and no where near finished, the customer service, the absolutely APPALLING FOOD and the entertainment. We would return to Costa teguise as a gorgeous area, however for an extra £50.00 per week i would definately book a higher standard hotel. This is not a 3* hotel, i would say 2* if that, and looking at another recent review where someone changed hotels two days later, think its says it all.

p.s dont count your lucky stars that your thomas cook rep will be there throughout the week, or even travel to or from your hotel with you. They leave you to your own devices throughout ( other than the welcome meeting).

Room Tip: dont stay here, pay a little extra for better quality would NEVER return
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we went here from 19th june to 1st july,
the hotel its self is fine we were in an old room and there was nothing wrong with it,i liked the fact we had a bath as i was told the new refurbed rooms only had showers,
the hotel staff were lovely,
entertainment staff were very friendly but the entertain wasnt amazing we only stayed out at night cause my children wanted to play outside with the friends they had made,
the pool is very cold when you 1st get in but once in it gets abit better i never stayed in more than 10mins,
there was building work going on but it wasnt a problem you sometimes heard a drill but that was about it,

the main problem i had is the fact i had paid for all inclusive(so my kids could eat when they wanted) but we only got food at meal times the only snacks we could get between meals was ice creams,
am not sure if the reason for this was the hotel only had 50% of the rooms in use due to the refurb going on but when you pay for al and are told you can get snacks through out the day thats what you expect,
i have complained to the company i booked with,

i would go back here again no problem as my kids did have a great time but i would only go back if i was promised 100% that al ment al and i could get snacks through out the day

Room Tip: try and get block 4 you get sun from around dinner time till late and a great view of the pool,its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 4th July 2013 with my boyfriend after booking with Thomas cook.the rep didn't even get on the coach to the hotel with us which shows how bad standards were.on arrival we were checked in very quickly and given the key to our room on the 2nd floor and had to lug all our cases up the flights of stairs.when we got to our room we couldn't even unlock the door without my boyfriend shouldering it open.the floors were filthy and dirt was all over the walls.our room wasn't one of the refurbished ones we had been shown in the brochure.the bathroom door wouldn't shut and when we opened the wardrobe there was a hole in the back showing exposed breeze blocks.the cupboards were full of brown mould and the bath had 2 holes in as well as grime around the shower and sink.the only clean thing was the bedding and the fridge.we went to complain at reception who offered us a newly refurbished room.however,on viewing it we realised that the front door wouldn't shut and the view was of a building site at the back of the hotel.we then complained again and were asked to speak to the Thomas cook rep who arranged for us to stay at the sister hotel el trebol after 2 nights.we met a lovely family next door who were having the same problem and were moved with us.there was no atmosphere whatsoever around the pool,no music playing etc.overall the pool area was clean and never lacked sun beds however there were no umbrellas for shade.the food was fine,standard hotel food and the all inclusive drinks were ok.the entertainment was laughable,just a game of bingo followed by the entertainment team singing.the hotel is a good location for accessing shops and bars etc.we didn't even unpack our suitcases.also,everything had to be paid for eg kettle,tv,fan (there is no air con) which we had never had before with all inclusive.we understand that it is a 3* hotel but have had much better stays at other 3 star hotels elsewhere.the reception were helpful and paid for our taxi to the sister hotel which is much much nicer.would never return to the ficus.it needs knocking down and starting again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Firstly, the property is currently being re-done. We were unfortunate enough to be given a room next door to the block that was having work done, so throughout the day were disrupted with drilling noises etc. Standard rooms are just that: standard, no particular complaints with the room except that the television wasn't included in the AI option.
No experience of the newly renovated rooms although if given the option would have definitely opted for them!
Staff were pleasant overall, Alejandro (receptionist) was very helpful and friendly. No complaints with staff.
Food was basic, different food every night but it wasn't to the best quality. Me and my partner are food lovers and ended up on "chip butties", the food speaks for itself when the highligh of the buffet is the day they bring out hot dogs.
Drinks were very poor, cocktails although certain ones (SOTB and Strawberry Daiquri) were refreshing and tasteful throughout the day seemed to have v.little to no alcohol content with most holiday makers requesting for more vodka to be added. Wine was appalling, and my partner failed to find any satisfying drink throughout the 7 day stay.
Entertainment was something else. Throughout the day there was basic entertainment for children and adults and then evening entertainment every night, Thursday was considered to be a day of rest which meant no entertainment for children throughout the day, and absolutely no poolside music, complete loss of any atmosphere.
Bar area and stage was very poor, stage can barely even be called a stage it's a differently patterned tiled floor.
No complaints however, about the pool itself and poolside and staff in general.

Room Tip: Please ask for a newly refurbished room, the standard ones are unimpressive. Also there are no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficus

Address: Hervideros S/N, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ficus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.