We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing First Choice Kids Club.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Zocos Club Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Zocos Club Resort to your Saves list
Los Zocos Club Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Islas Canarias 15, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing First Choice Kids Club.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited Los Zocos from 11th -21st October 2012. 8 children under 6 and 11 adults. Had a lovely time. The hotel is a 3 star not 5 star and if you go with this in mind you will have a great time. I have been to better hotels but paid alot more money.

Food - good plenty of choice, never a problem getting a table in the restaurant.

Pools - very nice always clean. Preferred the quiet pool as kids pool bigger - only problem was no drinks available, so you had to go to the pool bar/noisy pool. This isn't a major distance but with the 2 drinks 1 icecream rule if you are a family or a group several trips required. Hotel really need to review opening a bar that side.

Rooms - Ok not the best cleaned rooms. We stayed in the Fish block (block 3) if you can request block 1 or 2 they are better.

What made this holiday was the First Choice Kids club - AMAZING!!!! They have started doing flexi sessions which is sessions 10-2 or 2-6 and you can drop off and pick up your children at anytime during this time. There was no age group split - so my children could go together rather than seperate. Sessions every day (not sun and thurs) they also do evening sessions for 2 hours 7.30-9.30 a couple of nights a week. My kids loved these sessions - chocolate party (very messy lol) There is a small cost for the night sessions 5 Euros, worth it!!! A massive thank you to all the ladies in the kids club. My children loved the sessions and cried on the last day.

I would go back to this hotel because of the first choice kids club and the flexi sessions.I have been to better hotels, but the kids loved the kids club and the hotel.... so happy days. I hope that first choice start doing flexi sessions in all of the kids club hotels.

Please do not read all the bad reviews it is a 3 star hotel, grounds clean and tidy, rooms need a bit more cleaning. Food good. Pay more and go through first choice for the kids club. Hotel do run a kids club just think first choice kids club looked better and supervised better - just my opinon. Hotel needs to provide pool bar around quiet pool or look at allowing families more that 2 drinks at one time. Hotel Bar staff and waiting staff great really friendly. Night entertainment poor but kids loved it.

had a good holiday at Los Zocos, kids loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosZocos, Guest Relations Manager at Los Zocos Club Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your holiday review to this web site.
I have taken note of all your comments and I will pass on your opinion and comments to the First Choice team here in Lanzarote regarding their new Flexi Sessions.
Our hotel kids club is very popular with guests of all nationalities; they do offer all different activities for all ages.
Once again thank you for your comments and I am glad you all had a good holiday here in Los Zocos and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Kim Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    893
    558
    202
    128
See reviews for
1,304
518
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just come back from our wonderful 1st family holiday abroad. Stayed in Los Zocos from Sat 13th - Sat 20th with our 17 month old daughter. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (which I recommend) very spacious, clean and equipped with everything you need ie microwave, kettle, fridge etc. The hotel staff were very friendly, all areas were clean, the food was lovely and plenty of choice. I cannot say a bad word about this hotel, we loved and will definitely go back there!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosZocos, Guest Relations Manager at Los Zocos Club Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for you lovely review.
I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
We welcome your comments about our food choices and the acknowledgement of the work and efforts our team do to satisfy all of our guests needs. This motivates us to continue working in the same direction.
Once again thank you very much and we would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kim Talbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at Los ZOCOS from the 8th OCT for 1 week. Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews but from the moment we arrived we had a wonderful time. We requested high floor,pool view in block 2 and that is exactly what we got.Room was big,clean and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the quiet pool.Room was cleaned daily apart from their day off.Our toaster was broke and on our way out at night for our meal we stopped at reception to tell them and when we returned later that night there was a brand new toaster waiting for us.The pools were fantastic,just what you needed in the 34degree heat,and always well maintained.We stayed at the quiet pool and never had to be down early,although we usually went down at 9.00 because we wanted a sunshade.Most days you could get a blue sunbed at 10.30 but I think it was different at the noisy pool. As for rubbish ,it was mainly caused by the lazy individuals who couldn,t be bothered to put it in the bins provided,which there were plenty of all around the complex.Could not comment on food because we went self catering and ate in resort,LAS TERRAZZAS,PRADO VERDE,and the CHINESE across the road for all you can eat buffet for under 6 euros all went down a treat and would highly recommend.Would not recommend the cocktails at POPEYES as they were rubbish,better to go down to the square and get some lovely ones there, a little bit more expensive but well worth it. Try the mojitos at the bar where you can watch him making them all night long. The markets on Wed. and Fri. are worth a look if you are into handcrafted items,in the same square.All in all we had a fantastic holiday and could not find any faults with LOS ZOCOS,from the reception staff,maids;grounds people and maintenance staff.Would highly recommend going self catering as we had a wonderful time and gives you plenty of freedom to go and explore all the lovely eateries Costa Teguise has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosZocos, Guest Relations Manager at Los Zocos Club Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is with pleasure that I read you kind review about your recent holiday.
I am glad you got out and about to visit some of Costa Teguise, s fantastic bars and restaurants.
I am glad you enjoyed the craft market on Wednesdays and Fridays, I agree it is well worth a visit.
I will pass on all your comments to our staff in all departments as we are always working to give all of our guests the best holiday experience possible.
Thank you for your comments and we would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts again in the future.
Kind Regards

Kim Talbot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed from 6th of October until 15th. Third time staying here. Three adults and three kids. Two bed apt. Self catering. Apt very clean upon arrival and cleaned on all but two days. Never saw a cockroach. Staff very hard working and always courteous. Five minute walk from the beach. Self catering guests can, as previously, visit the boulevard restaurant at a discounted rate. The price is cheaper than when we last visited eighteen months ago. The dining experience however reflects this. There used to be plenty of dining options including a great Chinese now there is just one long canteen type area. Food very bland. We always visited the restaurant three or four times whilst on our holidays. Just the once this time. Local restaurants very good value. The slow boat Chinese near jablillo beach is great value and very tasty. It's a bit of a walk though from hotel. Have also to mention restaurant called el pescador which is on the square. Lovely food. Excellent staff.
The weather was super all week. Great holiday. Already looking forward to returning to Los Zocos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosZocos, Guest Relations Manager at Los Zocos Club Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our restaurant as much as last time. We do now have the different theme nights and also serve the Chinese section in the El Mirador Restaurant.
I am glad the weather was good for you and that you had a great holiday
Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything you need for your next visit.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards

Kim Talbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've just come back after spending 7 days (6th-13th October) in Los Zocos Club Resort.
We stayed in block 1 room (1-110) on the bottom floor with 2 Infants (6months & 17months). This was ideal for us as the sun was on the terrace from about 12noon until gone 7pm, so we could stay in our room all day with the children if we wanted. We were supplied with 2 cots and plenty of sheets! Our room had a microwave and kettle which made it easy for me to steralise and make bottles up for the little one. We enjoyed this room as we could hear the music from the pool bar which went on until 8pm every day except Sunday. With 2 children it was ideal as we were close to the food hall and pool bar where they also served food and ice cream in pots.
There is a supermarket and shop just outside the hotel doors, so getting water and baby formula was easy. Please note that if you do bring a baby who needs formula milk that the formula milk out there is quite 'bitty'. My child was very fussy about it, but thankfully i took some with me and only needed extra for the last day.
All of the staff were really friendly and helpful, from the reception staff to the cleaning ladies which was lovely to see. I actually felt for them as they always made an effort to smile and say hello, but sometimes they were ignored by guests (there is no wonder they are so miserable in other resorts).
The resort was really clean and there was always staff about doing something / cleaning the pool in the morning/ gardeners cutting the hedges / sweeping up / cleaners about / maitenence men cleaning. They obviously work very hard there to keep the place in tip top shape.
The cleaning ladies come and do your room every day except for Friday and Monday, and they are very good.
You have a tv in your room, but have to pay 3 euros a day if you want to watch it. You also have a safe that is free. No air-con, just a fan above the bed.
There were plenty of sun loungers there for this time of year, but maybe they could invest in more of the blue (canvas) ones as the other ones are quite uncomfortable.
Our 17 month old got quite bored by the pool so it was great to take him to the resorts play area where he loved playing in the sand. There is also a public park available opposite the resort which is worth a look at.
We went All Inclusive and its the same where every you go. The food ok and wine horrible ha ha. They did make an effort to have a variety of food on the menu with their 'theme' nights, but it is always the same kind of things you get. Ranged from fruit, salads and hot food (Mexican, English, Spanish). You had chips there every night for the little ones if they didn't fancy anything else. Maybe they could invest in a few more baby chairs. We didn't have a problem, but in high season maybe there wouldn't be enough.
Overall, we had a wonderful holiday and we will be returning to Los Zocos Club Resort.

Room Tip: We thought that our room was ideal for our needs. Block 1, bottom floor. If you are travelling wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Came here to Los Zocos because it read quite well on Trip Advisor as a whole. We came as a large family holiday (Group of 11) to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. Everything was going well until we were allocated our rooms. 3 couples rooms and 1 large family room. The 3 couples room upon the first floor of the complex were adequate and clean. Unfortunately, our room, the family one, on the ground floor seemed a little less clean and airy. To top it off, as soon as we opened the door, we were greeted by more than a handful of cockroaches of all varying sizes. We obviously alerted the reception to the problem, but we were told that the room couldnt be fumigated until the following day when everybody was out. This is because we hade arrived rather late (9pm). Seeing the cockroaches did not fill us with excitement for what we might have found lurking around the restaurant, as we were in time for the evening buffet. Credit where credit is due, the food and the buffets were good. Wide choice of food every meal time and the restaurants were clean and well attended.
Getting back to our room tho.. yes, the following day, our room was 'fumigated' and for 24-36 hours after, there were no signs of and roaches. However, they returned, and we had to have the room fumigated again. Its worth noting that at no point was a change of room offered as we were told that there was a new special gel that could be used to kill of the infestation. We believed that they would use this special gel.
By Thursday evening, (we arrived on the previous Saturday), the roaches were back AGAIN!!
Finally, a room change was mentioned, as was, again, the special gel. As we were due to pack up and leave on the Saturday morning (just over 24 hours later), we decided that it would be far too much trouble to move rooms! The children (we have 3 young girls), were constantly upset and scared at night because they thought cockroaches would be sleeping with them..we knew they wouldnt, but try telling a little 6 year old with a vivid imagination!! So other than the countless sleepless nights, the overall experience was poor. No mention of compensation, and it was the talk of the whole holiday. You come away with family to celebrate a big 60th birthday, and instead are constantly on guard and discussing how many cockroaches will be in our room when we get back!!
Los Zocos, sorry, but your management of this situation was extremely poor, and to have no offer earlier for a room change, even after requesting one and being promised that the special gel would work, TWICE!!, we felt badly let down and felt it spoilt our holiday and birthday celebrations, to top it off, it was also my wifes birthday too while we were away, but she didnt feel like celebrating too much for being too tired with sleepless nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3107 - avoid this room or neighbouring rooms incase the cockroach problem has not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for a week all inclusive . I think people forget this a budget kind of place at 3* and bearing that in mind I was pleasantly surprised .

Negatives : Maybe in scope of hotel.

A bar at the 'quiet pool' would be a great addition.

Hefty ceiling fans as there is no aircon something more substantial l would be ideal, although no big deal.

FREE WIFI , come on owners , almost all places have this now .

FREE safe , thought 18 euro was a bit steep for a week , again most place free.

More seating outside of the bars on the evening .

Evening entertainment could do with a little upgrade and aimed more at adults (perhaps later) .

Negatives, not in scope of hotel (maybe... :-) ??

Sorry but we found music in restaurants dreadful , depressing and not appropriate for background music. I like classical music but this was just a little heavy I felt .

Removal of (mainly British !embarrassed ...) noxious brats and their couldn't give a toss parents would be superb , sadly not viable, the staff have an amazing tolerance to these horrors.

A reminder the 'quiet pool is supposed to be quiet, again just selfish people. Possible with a baton ?

Positives:

Excellent , friendly staff.

Food was good for all inclusive , good choice and generally good quality (remember this not a 5* Michelin awarded hotel , so moaners come on get real!)

Galleon bar very nice and generally good throughout the hotel

A very clean place , always cleaning those staff!

Overall a pleasant stay , would return .

a thank you to all the hardworking staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room overlooking quiet pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Zocos Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Zocos Club Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias 15, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Zocos Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Zocos Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Zocos Costa Teguise
Los Zocos Lanzarote
Lanzarote Los Zocos
Los Zocos Club Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Zocos Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.