We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Time Lucky?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Galeon Playa to your Saves list
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Sale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“5th Time Lucky?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

No luck to this at all. Once again the Galeon gave us everything we needed for our week away. 3rd time in 2013, 5th visit overall.
Once more we opted for a Sea view room.
Staff were excellent again. No issue too small to deal with promptly and effectively.
This is a great and affordable option for those seeking good service, clean living and a happy holiday in a perfect location at any time of the year.
No complaints and highly recommended. Already looking for next time around.
Only worry about recommending is the thought of affecting availability for our next visit!

This review is posted quite late as we visited in May and Trip Advisor policy dictates we could not post this immediately as it was within 3 months of previous review. Which I find ridiculous.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must. If you are booking the very cheap to Airport private transfer at recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear JohnandMon,

Thank you very much from all the Galeon PLaya staff for such a nice and good comments about us and our complex!
it´s very encouraging for us to see that customers appreciate our daily effors tomake their holidays special!!!

We are happy to have you back with us again!!!!!

Thank you again for your nice rewiews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    433
    197
    67
    39
See reviews for
310
426
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a 1 week stay here. There was 3 of us in one room and 3 in the other. Here are the PRO's and CON's:

PRO's: Cheap, Excellent location, Clean, Friendly staff, Did the job

CON's: 2 doors in my room were getting stuck (needed sanded), 1 door wouldn't close, Not very spacious in the bathroom, Had to wait 2 nights for a fan, My sister's room didn't have a toaster, Only had two mugs even though there was 3 of us in a room and when requested we never received one, I had a single settee bed, my sister had a double one (Even though our rooms were the same)

On the whole, it was average. It did the job, and I suppose for the price it is fair enough. If you will be in your room quite often then I would not recommend this hotel as it was a pain for all 3 of us to be squashed around one fan. Apart from the negatives, I enjoyed my stay there, wouldn't go back but that is just my opinion.

PS: The location is terrific. Plenty of restaurants & pubs near, an arcade for the kids and also 2 very nice beaches.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear Tom C

We appreciate your comments about our complex.

We don´t have air cond in the rooms because most of the year the weather is very nice in Lanzarote and if we open the windows a nice breeze comes and refresh the apartments .
However some times of the year .it´s hot..

Appart from this inconvenience we are glad you have a good holidays with us

Greetings from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks at the hotel,cant fault it,staff very friendly especially Erica in the bar,she was superb,rooms very spacious,could do with a bit of sprucing up but nothing major,every where was clean and tidy,asked for extra pillows and they were there within fifteen minutes,cant comment on restaurant as we were self catering but never heard any complaints from those who ate there,superb location.We have stayed in several hotels in Costa Tequise but this was far the best .Will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Block 7 235,was a little sun trap,got the sun all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear 909vet,


Thank you for your nice and accurate comments concerning our complex!

We are sure that you are helping with your comments many other people to have a very clear idea of Galeon Playa , it´s facilities and the surounding area!

We hope to have you back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just got back from a 7-day stay at Galeon Playa. I was a bit apprehensive when I made the booking as it was only £140.72 for a one bedroom apartment. I asked for a sea view and got one at no extra cost. The apartment was basic but roomy and clean and represented great VFM. The only drawback was the absence of air conditioning but what do you expect at this price! The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The staff is extremely well located being close to the beach, bars, restaurants and shops.Recommended for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear BazandShaz2010,

We appreciate your good and nice comments concerning the complex and our staff!

It´s always very rewarding to know that our guests feel like at home with us

We hope to have you back again!!!!!

Hugs from all our staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived on the 26th Sept to a mucky room with wall sockets hanging off and wanted a Seaview which was paid for .we were allocated another room which the door wouldn't open so went back to get another. Given another and the patio doors wouldn't lock didn't think it had a Seaview as I thought blocks 6 to 10 were rooms with a seaview as on the leaflet I was given, so went back to reception were the women was rolling her eyes at us which was not helping, she seemed to be arguing with the maintenance guy to mend it . We tried to get in another hotel which was full and it was now 10pm so we decided to give the room a go which was clean but rough . Im far from a snob but no care seemed to be taken over rooms, paint from when the walls were done was over the curtains door frames and even on a new tv which was coming off the wall.Overall this spoilt our holiday and we won't be returning to these appartments , but teguise is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. We have taken note of the problems you had to solve them for the next customers.
Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just got back from our 3rd stay at the Galeon Playa. I asked for a sea view & got exactly what I asked for. Yes it did cost me extra but it was worth every €! Apartment was quite large & spotless. I did forget my hair dryer & the only downside is that there isn't one in the bathroom, so I got ripped off at one of the electrical shops! The apartment was cleaned nearly everyday, bedding changed 6 times during the 2 weeks we were there as was the towels. We didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on that but we did eat at the poolside bar which was lovely & so were the ladies that worked there. The gardens were lovely. The pool area was cleaned everyday, the pool itself was 'cleaned' but could've been done a bit better, one morning we found a cockroach literally doing the back crawl but it was soon removed. There are a few late bars nearby that do play loud music until well into the early hours but didn't bother us too much. A few other residents complained about ants & cockroaches but we didn't have anything & we did figure out these people weren't happy unless they were moaning! Staff on reception were so helpful & friendly.

We ate out every night. Local Chinese buffets €4.50-€5.75, a 3 course meal at the Galeon was €10 & breakfast prices vary (we had breakfast at Eriks). Snacks at La Toscana are reasonable & tasty. Our favourite restaurant for our evening meal was El Meastro, beautiful! La Perdela is another favourite.

We had cocktails galore but our favourite bar is CHISPAS in the square. Ellie & Simon serve the strongest drinks & are just lovely.

If you like the beach the Punta Jabillo opposite the Galeon is lovely. Take some bread & feed the fish, they will eat it from your hand. Snorkelling is great here too.

I can't wait for my next trip to Costa Teguise!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear Hellipoppins

We feel very happy to read your nice reviews concerning our complex and your stay at Galeon Playa..

We hope to have you back soon with us again!!

Big hug for you and your family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Returned from here yesterday. Rooms spacious and very clean. Cleaners regular and good; towels and sheets changed each time. Location excellent - under 5 mins from beach, restaurants, bars and gift shops. Supermarket just outside. Reception staff very helpful and they sort out problems straight away. When I accidentally locked us out, someone was already sent there to help before I'd even walked back to the apartment (tip - do not leave your key inside in the door! It can blow shut and then they have to take the lock off - ahem...). Pool nice but rather cold. No problem getting a lounger at this time of year. People still hang around pool at 9am, put their towels down and disappear though lol. Only problem with our apartment was a smell from the bathroom drainage - I couldn't get rid of with bleach etc but thought it would go, so didn't mention it, but it didn't and was awful the last couple of nights, so I should have asked to change maybe. The loo desperately needed replacing and broke altogether at one point, but they fixed it straight away. The age range of people this time of year was mostly over-55s. Quite a few people with mobility problems who had ground-floor apartments they seemed happy with. They seem to get a lot of repeat custom. If you have a drink in most nearby bars they will give you a password for their wifi if you ask (although they change it daily!); the Galeon Playa has 2 internet screens in the foyer but it cost 6 euros an hour, so we didn't use that. The entertainment was good fun - no school age kids this time of year, so for example only about 10 people at the 'Show de Reptiles' which only had birds of prey in it but was actually very good with them flying across the bar lounge. We didn't suffer the same sleep problems as others, as we emailed about mattresses beforehand, got an answer straight away and got 2 nice new ones which were very comfortable. Little bit of noise from street (kids' climbing frame thing) but didn't bother us at all. When we booked earlier in the year the apartment was quite cheap, so very good value all in all. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, as there are loads of places to eat in Costa Teguise to suit most budgets. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello dear Maz 923


Thank you for your comments about our complex and your stay!

We sorry for the problem of the smell of sewage in the toilet..it happens sometimes when the weather is bad or there is a lot of wind.

We are studing the way of stopping this ...

We are glad that , dispite this inconvenient with the apartment you and your family enjoyed your stay!

We hope to have you back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, between the white sands of beach of beaches Jablillo and Las Cucharas, fully equipped with terrace or balcony and built in the traditional style of Lanzarote. 175 Apartments with a modern decor inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Galeon Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.