We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Galeon Playa to your Saves list
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peninsula del Jablillo s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
warrington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great basic apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

These apartments are in the perfect spot in Costa Teguise, complex is spotless all staff are very friendly and helpful. Apartments are very spacious and have everything you need, beds are a little hard but you get used to them we had 2 balconies which was great. Pools are very cold but this was very welcome the 11 nights we stayed as weather was scorching. Overall we would not hesitate to stay in these apartments again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello dear Lazylips,

Thank you for your nice comments about us and our complex, it makes us work harder everyday !

We hope to have you back soon!!!

Kind regards from all the Galeon Playa staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    396
    178
    65
    39
See reviews for
279
389
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are just back after spending 15 days at the Galeon Playa, from start to finish it was brilliant, we asked for a first floor pool view room, got it. The reception staff were always friendly and although some of the cleaning staff don,t speak english you always got a smile an a good morning. Our apartment was cleaning 9 times while we were there and the beds changed 3 times excellent. Never ate in the restaurant so cannot comment on this but the hotel bar was full every night with entertainment. We usually go to Lanzarote twice a year, so when we head back in Ocyober this is where we will definately be staying.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Good afternoon Dear Gary M.

Thank you for your nice comments about our complex!!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to having you back again!!

Greeting form all the Galeon Playa Staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great apartments, stayed in quite a few apartments in Costa Teguise, but up to now these are the best !! Had a room for disabled which was fantastic size, wet room and very accessible for a mobility scooter,which we hired in resort !! Apartments very central for restaurants and bars. Favourite restaurant , Dona Lolas . Good bar( near the police station) for coffees and you can get a full english for 2 euros, La Esquina,Steve & Alana very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello dear Bubblyanne 52 ,

Thank you for your good comments concerning the ressort! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Galeon Playa.

Best regards from all our staff and we hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Me,my fiance and my 1 year old daughter stayed in galeon playa from 21st april 2013 to 1st may. It was fantastic the rooms were clean, staff were friendly and the location was perfect. We went self catering but didnt really use the kitchen much because there was so many places to eat within a short walk. The beach was close by dont let the pictures deceive u its not as close as it looks but about 100 metre from the hotel. The staff were lovely receptionists spoke perfect english and were very helpful. I did request a cot in the room but when igot there i dint have one so i went down to rec and they gave me a travel cots which was good. The lady in the bar next to the pool didnt speak alot of english but she understood and was lovely. The bed were a little hard but not too bad the sofa was better than the bed lol. Bathroom was clean with fresh towels every other day. We kept over filling the bin and had to use l plastic bags so the cleaners kept goving us extra which we didnt have to ask for the one downfall was the stray cats at night time people obviously kept feeding them so at 4 in the morning their meows would echo through the rooms bit of a pain but we sleep ththrough anything lol there is a shop opposite but its a bit expensive theres a spar roud the corner we went there and it was alot cheaper though i found that the spar in the square was cheaper than the one close to us which was weird.there is also wi fi in the pool bar which was handy but overall i would recommend this place to everyone was absolutely brilliant already booked to go back in september ! So please dont be put off by some of the reviews also my fiances parents went half board but didnt eat there as the food was not great apparently the breakfast was cold and was obv cooked just before openig and left there all morning but thats their view i never saw it so cant really comment anyway i was very impressed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good morning dear Sammyjo121,

All the Galeon Playa staff thank you for your nice reviews about our complex.

It helps us to work very hard every day and also it´s a great reward for the effords we all do day by day to make our guest to feel like at home!!

We really hope to have you and your family back soon!!

Best wishes !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been coming to costa teguise now for 22 years and decided on this hotel for its heated pool for my 5year olds 5th birthday 28/4/2013 1week flying with jet 2 789 self catering just my son and I (yes they took my eyes out ) upon entering the hotel it looked ok staff were friendly pool area look amazing the heated pool however was not (heated that is ) it was Baltic blamed on weather as was raining !!! The room however was abysmal shabby without the chic ! Falling apart mouldy bathroom stunk of damp bath was stained and rusty and shower curtain after it fell on my head was stained and mouldy ! My son has Asperger's syndrome and Wundt even use the bathroom ! Sockets were taped up and the built in wardrobes were held together with 6inch nails very worn and in much need of a full referb ! We had to change room the next day as smell got worse and my son still Wundt use the bath or loo !!! New room was better but not by much no matress protectors and they were stained mine was covered in blood yuk ! and very very hard ! I upgraded to half board as I thought it would save me money as my son went free fab yes ? No breakfast was ok but evening meal omg salad with bowl tuna dripping in oil a couple of meat dishes bit veg and new pots which were dry nothing for my son at all ...... So refunded for evening meal , pub on site expensive but friendly as we're all staff to be fair , kids mini disco was at 9.30 far to late if u ask me and consisted of 3 songs by a cool mad guy one of which was Italian !!!! Shabby apartment stinky bathroom cold pool expensive bar crap kids club zero entertainment no kids club at all and crap food 2/10 !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,
I regret that your stay was not satisfactory, but we are happy with our work as you can see in the other comments of Galeón Playa. Kind regards and we try to improve your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

what more could you want from these apartments, they are spotlessly clean, central & the staff are wonderful. I emailed the hotel beforehand to request room 320 as a previous reviewer had rated it, it was ideal, in a great spot & had the sun ALL day & the bonus of "2" balconies.

On looking round the complex it is made up of all shapes & sizes of rooms, some with balconies, some without, some are studio, some are 1 & 2 bedrooms, the balcony is not a bad size & the bedroom 1 was even bigger, we had a pool/sea view & whilst waking up in the morning you had a view of the sea from your bed :-)

The apartment was well equipped, kettle, microwave, toaster (which we had to use on the table as there was only 1 socket near both the kettle & toaster) & the socket was loose from the wall so i didn't want to keep unplugging it as it looked a little dangerous. Ample cutlery & crockery although we only cooked breakfast, (bacon & eggs) it had your basic holiday apartment cooking facilities, ( 2 rings ) & you are spoilt for choice on where to eat & after all you d'nt go away to slave over a hot stove :-)

The room was cleaned all bar 1 day out of the week, clean towels & there was even complimentary shower gel etc, T.V had limited channels, again, we were not there to watch telly, it has BBC news & a kids channel in spanish which the grandson didn't mind, he still watched it.

There was ample hot water no matter what time you decided to bath/shower, although the water was overly hot, so be careful with the children. There was extra blankets if needed which are kept in the double wardrobe, the wardrobe has plenty of space & drawers & ample hangers, bedside cabinet each with its own reading light.

We could not have asked for a better position, we overlooked the pool, sun terrace , the sea & the bar, the bar has free Wi Fi for customers, the code they gave us on the 1st day stayed the same all week, you can get the signal by the pool as well if your near enough the bar, it is switched off at night from inside the bar so it cannot be used out of bar hours.

We decided to pay for the hotel Wi Fi, we had 2 youngsters with us & thought it would be worth every penny just to keep them amused at night & we also caught up with our T.V catch up on you tube once the kids had gone to bed, it cost us 15Euro for the week but bear in mind, this is NOT PER APARTMENT which i thought was quite naughty, (we didnt know until later that night) it was per device, so once we tried to connect the ipad it knocked the phone wi fi off etc, the 15Euro is per device, not very good when you have the kids arguing whose turn it was to watch "their" programme, this was the whole point in getting the wi fi to STOP them from arguing.

Besides the pool you will see when entering the complex from reception there is another 2 around the back as well as a little kiddies play area, this is almost right on the sea front & so you get the brunt of the wind, this is why its not used much i assume, i think we did it for half hour & moved back round to the main pool which is quite closed in & a sun trap, but i suppose if its really really hot in the summer you will be glad of the wind, although we were lucky & it was scorching whilst we were there.

We didnt try the food on offer at the hotel, preferring to get out & about & try the local eateries, there is many to choose from & all very reasonable, including the chinese buffets all you can eat is a bargain at just short of 5Euro, if you come out of the hotel & turn right all your restaurants & bars are along that stretch, but if you carry on up a little & take i think is the second right turn AFTER you have passed all the rerstaurants & bars there is a square which is buzzing both day time & night time, its full of bars & restaurants, they have live music on the bandstand in the middle & prices are very reasonable around this area. Also if you come out of the hotel, turn right & 1st right after the galeon restaurant it will lead you to the beach & there is some lovely restaurants down there, the waterfront does some lovely breakfasts & themed food nights, the fish & proper chips are to die for :-)

further along from the strip, i think its the 3rd right turn (supermarket on the corner) you will find Tekkers bar, this is used by ex pats & locals, its a lovely little bar which also has live singers, sports & their food is delicious, we have friends who live in costa & out of all the bars this was the 1 they told us for the best sunday roast & we were not disappointed, it was lovely & they do gorgeous home made desserts, but at 8Euros a go i think is a bit steep for cake.

If you carry on that same road, along from Tekkers about a 10 min walk, there's another little shopping area, but there is also Lanzarote Gardens Hotel, it has a good kiddies club & on a Friday they have a show, Grease one week, Lion King the next, its really good & its all geared towards the kids, everyone is welcome, you dont need to be staying at the hotel, i think the mini disco is at 7.30 & the shows around 8ish i think, get there early for a seat, the kids loved it.
you can also get to it along the beach front, turn left once you reach the barriered off section which they are working on & its up on your left.

We did not see 1 cockroach all the time we stayed there, we did however feed the cats, but i think they were being fed before we arrived as they were outside our apartment twice a day, i didnt mind, 80 cents for a tin of meat & they got my leftover steak from my meals out, so i think they were the best fed cats in costa that week :-) & they helped to keep our 3rd floor free of creepy crawlies :-) "bargain"

I have included some photos of the apartment & complex as i know i like to see what the inside is like, most reviewers photos are of "us in the pool" "our dinner" "us walking"!

I hope i have covered what you wanted to know on the Galeon, i would not hesitate on recommending this complex & i would return. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: like i said, some are studio, some have no balconies, so ask for 1 with a balcony near the bar pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Good morning dear Batts13,

Thank you for your nice comments about our complex!!!
It help us to work harder everyday to fulfill the expectation of our customers and it also help us to know that we are doing a good job.

Thank you of all our staff and we hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have just spent a couple of weeks in sunny Costa Tequise with my family and have enjoyed every minute at the Galeon Apts.

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment overlooking the sea, which was amazingly big especially with being located on the end of the hotel we had a long balcony with a sunny patio and could see the cruise ships passing around 6.00 p.m.(winter months only)

Now, down to business. We could not fault the cleaners or the clean sheets and towels provided. The rooms were a little tired, but the hotel is huge. There is everything you need for children around the pools, and also quiet areas for adults without children.

The staff were very helpful, and did their best for everyone.

The dining room overlooks the bay (wow what a view), I don't know why some people complained about the food - we found it really really good

We decided to have bed breakfast and evening meal. In the morning we had continental breakfast and/or/bacon eggs etc with lots of fresh products. In the evening we had soup, pork chops, beef, fish, steak, brisket, fresh salads etc etc. It seemed endless The chef came out and asked people if they had enjoyed their food - of course the answer was yes.Nothing was too much bother for anyone.

OUR LOVE IS SENT TO SANTI AND OLIVIA WHO work in the dining room. The laughs we had with them was so good, and they are so busy in their jobs. We have decided that they should have a wage rise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My mum came with us who is aged 85 and just loved it, so don't hesitate to take an older member of your family with you.

Plenty of superb shops, don't forget to take a look in the Spar shop - yes the spar shop - the gifts are superb.

Try Arrecife for a day out - beautiful on the sea front & try the local buses or should I say coaches, which are air conditioned and comfortable to ride on. When arriving on the sea front, there is a large hotel which just looks like a block of flats. Take a lift to the top floor and their is the most exclusive Cafe, with windows from top to bottom for the view.

and remember a holiday is what you make of it, the apartments are very good value for money, and just 100 yards from the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Good afternoon dear Blackpool065,

Thank you for your nice comments about Galeon Playa !! All our staff is working hard everyday to make customers feel like at home in our complex!!
One of the best rewards we can have are the warm, friendly and nice comments about our complex, our staff and the customer care, just like yours!!!
We will tell Olivia and Santi to read your comments !!!!

Hoping to seeing you again sometime!!!

Take care and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Address: Peninsula del Jablillo s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Galeon Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.