We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Guarapo Apartments

Save Saved
You added El Guarapo Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Guarapo Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tabaibas 10, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Costa Teguise
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We have stayed in this lovely little hotel twice now (Jan 08 and Dec 09) and I would definitely go back there. The hotel is very clean and the apartments have everything that you need. The price is also an absolute bargain. I recommend this hotel as a good base both in Costa Teguise itself and in Lanzarote. The area is quiet and very safe- we had absolutely no problems. The hotel is family run and therefore the reception is not open all day, however, this was not an issue for us because we had no problems to report. We didn't eat in the restaurant hotel (except for an omelette) but from what I can see it is a lovely little place very friendly owner and of course my omelette was nice.

I would 100% recommend this hotel for anyone like myself who loves an clean place to rest their head at night after a long day of exploring. It is by no means a 5 star hotel but it would be my choice again and again as it is perfect for everything I want from a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    109
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ginesio, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Very good location, nice and clean appartments! The restorant close to the pool offer to you good food for really low price! I ate there many times, Antonio is a great chef and a really nice person! He gave me many advise about the Island. Anna the blonde women was nice and hot heheeh I Would definately recommend to stay there!
Ciao Riccardo

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Was very pleased with our holiday in el guarapo. Very clean but basic. Bring your own kettle, but the microwave was very useful . Yes we were surprised when reception was closed when we arrived and had to phone to get security number to get in and obtain our apt no. But we loved the delightfully landscaped gardens the peacefulness of this complex and were well catered for by the maids. We picked the Guarapo because it was a smaller complex and its close proximity to all amenities and the beach. It also has a good restaurant. It also provides a luggage storagr room, kitchen and toilet in the pool area with coffee making facilities which I felt was very thoughtful. We would like to thank the staff for making our stay very pleasant
H and U (Northern ireland)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

Stayed here in January, ideal for a base camp for those who like to get out & about, price was great, rooms were lovely & clean, as well as being spacious.
Lady on reception was always late though! Good job there was no problems we needed to speak to them about!

  • Liked — How clean it was
  • Disliked — Reception opening times (actual not advertised!)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

After reading the other reviews we weren't expecting too much from El Guarapo.

Yes there is a slight issue that reception isn't open 24hrs so when we arrived we had to telephone the number advertised on the door and to collect the key from Antonio in the bar, yes there aren't enough utensils in the kitchens with no bowls, kettle or toaster and yes we had a solitary cockroach in our apartment which I bravely brushed outside whilst my husband looked on. After taking all of this into account we had a great few days at El Guarapo. We enjoyed the spacious apartment, loved the pool area and were very happy with the location of this little gem and with the service that we received whilst there.

We paid a paltry amount to stay here and got much more than expected for the money. We will be back.

  • Liked — Location close to Playa Bastain
  • Disliked — Lack of kitchen utensils
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

My husband and I have been to El Guarapo Apartments twice.
First we came with our 13yr old daughter. Both times we have had a good holiday. Apartments are basic but clean. We did notice that this visit we had to hire a kettle and safe which was free before. Also the area seems to have detieriated. The reception not being 24hrs is a real problem. We arrived early hours of the morning and had to find a phone box. Yes!! Anna the blonde lady was a bit grouchy but the next day she was fine . You should definately try Antonios food. What a lovely man, he will go out of his way to please you, just ask him and he will cook it for you if he can. We went this time in April 2008. It was sunny but very windy. Instead of booking excursion's , we caught the local bus everywhere which was quite cheap. We caught a ferry over to Fuerteventura for the day.
Would definately recommend Angelos restaurant just down the road on your right ( fantastic food).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited reception opening hours
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We booked our holiday through A1 Travel who were brilliant. First impressions of El Guarapo was not very good. We also arrived on a sunday and found reception closed. Saw notice on the door and luckily I had a mobile on me. Whilst trying to contact the owner a couple who were staying at the apartments let us into the the complex and then told us to just choose an apartment that is open as thats what they did!! Thankfully the owner called me back and told us pin number for complex and our apartment number (42). Must say I was worried in case someone had claimed our room, but nobody had! The apartment was ok, it was on the first floor with a balcony with views of the sea which was nice. Had sunlounger and table and chairs and also a handy airer for your wet towels. The bedroom was clean and basic with large wardrobe. Bathroom was a good size with toilet, sink, bath with shower. Shower was tempermental as it was extremely hot, so you had to play around with it a bit. We had small kitchen with 2 ring hob, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge etc. Was really pleased they had an oven as I have crohn's (bowel) disease and sometimes I had to stay in and cook for us. Basically you get what you pay for, the cleaners were very nice to us, towels and bedding were regularly changed. There is a pool and a small restaurant but we had one breakfast there and it was ok. Lady on reception was very helpful and her english is good. I would recommend you eat at Antonio's Italian which is on the way to Playa Bastian beach. To get to main square where you'll find Spar, and all Restaurants etc........you'll find a pathway that runs round the side and back of apartments follow this and you'll be ok, bit daunting at night as very dark. When in Costa Teguise go on a grand tour, it's fantastic to see the volcanoes and lava fields at Timanfaya national park. Also Cesar Manrique's house is a must see. We got a cab there and it cost around 7 euros. If you do go to Costa Teguise in Feb, take a coat or a thick cardigan as the nights were very cold at this time of the year and very windy! All in all though we had a great relaxing holiday!

  • Liked — It was clean near to all amenities and quiet!
  • Disliked — The shower, thought it would be dangerous especially for small children.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Guarapo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Guarapo Apartments

Address: Calle Tabaibas 10, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Guarapo Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your El Guarapo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Guarapo Apartments Hotel Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Guarapo Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.