We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but not gold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coronas Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Coronas Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Coronas Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av del Mar 26, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burry Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel but not gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Fantastic staff in reception, bar and restauarant. Very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was excellent. Lunch and evening meal poor most days (lacking in meat dishes and fresh fruit). Had much better and larger selection of food in Hotel Angela Fuengirloa in May which is not a Gold hotel. Location is a 15 minute walk to the town centre/main beach, but this is a pleasant walk on the flat along the coastal path. For the beer drinker ask for bottle of Dorada (much better than the standard offering of Tropical larger which had a bitter taste. Hotel needs quite a bit of maintenance/updating, e.g. bath in our room had 4 holes filled in by a silicon. Beds very comfortable. Would stay in resort again but in a more central hotel with better food.

Room Tip: We had a standard room (which was huge don't bother paying extra for larger room) overlooking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    461
    191
    49
    26
See reviews for
98
1,196
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DOVER
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from Hotel Coronas Playa after a 14 night stay on AI package. This was our ninth visit to the hotel since 2006 and was just as enjoyable as our first. We traveled as a couple, meeting up with other longstanding guests who meet at the same time and have become known as the 'November Gang'. Yet again a great time was had by all tempered slightly by the unusual weather for the time of year - hardly the fault of the hotel!!!

There was little in the way of change from our previous visit. The hotel is still maintained to very high standards by a staff so friendly and committed to ensuring your stay is both comfortable and enjoyable. This commitment is seamless from the reception staff, through the restaurant and bar staff through to the room maids and cleaning/maintenance staff. It is a truly team effort headed by the manager Mario and his management team.
Clearly, the hotel aims to provide maximum satisfaction to all their guests but inevitably a very small percentage remain dis-satisfied. I would put it to that very small minority that any complaint should be raised appropriately at the time through reception or the Management Team for resolution. The hotel depends upon feedback and can hardly be expected to resolve issues they are unaware of. Allowing an issue to fester solves nothing when an obvious potential solution is on hand.

The main change we noted from our previous visit entailed an expansion of the lunchtime service arrangements. A more extensive buffet service was provided in the Crown Restaurant for those seeking a more substantial meal. A range of both hot, cold and salad options were on offer. We preferred a slightly lighter lunch option and chose the reduced snack menu option offered from the Pavilion Bar. Toasted sandwiches, burgers and baguettes were all cooked to order as required. The Crown lunch service was between 12.00 and 15.00, the Pavilion Bar between 11.30 and 17.30. The split option seemed to resolve issues of overcrowding and long delays experienced previously. Pizza was still available from the Azul Bar at all times.
Clearly the new Head chef and catering team appear to have solved the earlier issues.

Food at breakfast and dinner were of high quality and standard. A good selection of both hot and cold options were available with a 'rolling theme option', vegetarian and show-cooking in addition. It was noticeable that guests seemed more satisfied with the food available this time.

The AI package offered is superb. Good house wine selection, branded international spirits and soft drinks are included as standard which I believe is pretty unique. We now always take the AI option and have saved on our earlier Half Board visits.

The Thomson entertainment team of Nick and Jenny provided a varied style of daily and evening activities ably supported by stalwarts Les and Leslie as 'The Score' resident duo. A varied selection of entertainers were flown in by Thomson for the evening cabaret. Some we have seen in then past and decided to watch the 'Monkey Bar' entertainment as an alternative.

Obviously, Lanzarote and the hotel are not isolated from austerity measures. The island is doing its best to maintain its stance as a popular holiday destination although there are obvious difficulties being experienced. The resort of Costa Teguise is trying to put on a good show although the empty shops and properties looking tired and dated are examples of how the financial crisis is biting.

Summarizing, we had a really nice holiday with old friends. Shame the weather was a little off key. We still highly recommend this hotel and resort and intend to return again in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not long back from two weeks at this Thomson Gold Hotel. This was our first visit and it will not be our last. We booked a superior room with a sea view and it was just what we wanted. The room was HUGE and the balcony (with our own sunbeds) overlooked one of the two pools and then a view out to sea.

Just a couple of minutes out of the main entrance and to the left is a very well stocked supermarket and right next door to the hotel is a newsagent.

The centre of Costa Teguise is only about twenty minutes stroll along a lovely wide paved promenade.

The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are all so friendly. Our waiter, Jose and the room maid, Luisa, were first class.

Our weather was a mixture of sunshine and overcast with the odd light shower but this suited us as when the sun was shining it was really hot.

The only negative comment I would make is that the layout of the hot food counter in the dining room needs to be looked at. Guests were joining from both ends of the counter and bottlenecking in the middle where there was a carvery. Move this to one end and that should relieve the congestion in the middle.

All in all an excellant holiday. We will be returning for some sunshine and relaxation next November to set us up for the winter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great hotel for couples. The hotel facilities were excellent, large clean rooms with spacious balcony. The hotel and Thomson Gold staff were the best i have come across anywhere. Nice gentle walk into the resort along a paved coastal path. The food was lovely and varied. The entertainment was good especially the Beatles tribute act. If you do not intend to stay up for the entertainment ask for a quiet room as the noise does travel from the Pavillion where it is held. A fantastic place would highly recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went on our twice yearly visit here, never let down. The hotel was full and it was interesting to hear that November has the most repeat visitors.
Met a lovely couple from Ellesmere Shropshire, Glynn and Vera who were spending 3 weeks at the hotel.
Will not repeat what has been said before other than we will be going back, god willing.
Only down side for us - the change in lunch arrangements were not to our liking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a weeks break at the Coronas Playa and it was just as good as our first time five years ago.Hotel is fantastic,so spotlessly clean and the staff so friendly.Food was very good and varied.Jose the waiter is so friendly and welcoming and Nany our room maid was always so happy.Costa Teguise centre is only a 20-25 minute stroll away.Evening entertainment was good apart from one night when the singer was doing songs swing style(how can you do Oasis,Bon Jovi or Michael Jackson swing style?)For a good holiday... Book this hotel. Chris and Sheila from Reading.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed hear in October 2012 plenty of choice of food the staff were excellent the hotel was very clean but ??? We did kill a few cockroaches in our bed room the entertainment team les and Lesley are ok if you like the same songs night after night the same patter night after night and the same wip it up in a frenzy and how meny can we get dancing tonight and the same how much is the cocktail of the night one euro nooooo it's fore euros twenty never ?? Outside the hotel it's a nice short walk to teguise lots of shops taxi was 2.50 euro if you get tired in all nice hotel nice pools good food no kids but not for the young set a nice relaxing stay in the sun

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Address: Av del Mar 26, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coronas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.