We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sands Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the sands beach and i would thoroughly recommend it to anyone! It was just me and my mum that went and we had booked a studio room and requested single beds, when we arrived into our apartment we discovered that we only had a double bed and a sofa bed which isn't what we wanted, after going to reception that were happy to assist us, when you get to reception they have a board with the prices of upgraded rooms, we was given the keys to two apartments so we could go and look at them and decide which one we wanted, we decided to go for the superior apartment on Plaza de sol which was i think the busiest pool as it had lots of things for children to do including a park for them. It was a one bedroom apartment with a fold away double bed in the living area which was very nice, full kitchen. The entertainment at the hotel wasn't great for me as a 20 year old but my mum loved the Motown night, We was only self catering and found the supermarket very expensive compared to the supermarket 5 minutes away.

There was a lovely bar that we went to which was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel call The Dolphin, the food was amazing, and one of the only places that seemed to keep their happy hour on past 7pm!! They are always playing the Live football and have a quiz and raffle every night which was great! Every night they have a different food theme (steak night was the best on Wednesdays)

Overall the week in Lanzarote was really good despite a few days being very very windy and would definitely recommend it to any type of party going whether its couples or familes!! Would 100% go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your Mum got the room you wanted sorted out. We are pleased your Mum enjoyed the Motown,
We are happy to report that the wind has died down and normal 30º weather has resumed. We look forward to seeing you back again at Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    598
    197
    97
    80
See reviews for
795
543
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had a fantastic week at Sands Beach Resort over Easter. Our duplex apartment had everything you could wish for--dishwasher,full oven and hob and large fridge/freezer--even had our own sun loungers on our patio.Everywhere was clean and tidy,nothing at all to complain about.Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great holiday and you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Beach Resort soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked a superior beachfront apartment, self catering, and were glad we did. We were in BF42 and couldnt have asked for a better spot. Straight off our patio area and onto the man-made lagoon, which was a great depth for our toddler, and had plenty of fish and marine life. The apartment was clean, though the tv could do with updating, its the 21st century guys, invest in some LCD tvs! The kitchen area was well equipped, with a great massive fridge freezer, very useful for all our cold drinks and ice creams. The beds were ok, but the sheets were a little bit stiff, could do with using some fabric softener! Bathroom was large and clean, water was piping hot if needed for a bath.Would definately go again, and would recommend asking for Beach front 38-44 as they are in the best spot on the whole lagoon. Was a 10 minute walk to the nearest decent restaurants, or another 5 minutes and you were in the main resort. The only negative on the whole stay, was on the last day. We paid e20 for a late check out at 3pm, and two cleaning staff were hovering around at 2:30 constantly bothering us asking if we were leaving, and at 2:45 one even knocked on the door and said come on are you leaving yet and had a surly attitude! This episode almost made me knock a mark off to 4, but we didnt let it spoil a great holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfront 38-44 if you can get them, all ground floor and get the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We will begin by apologising for the behaviour of our cleaners towards you and we can assure you this matter has been dealt with following your complaint.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and its facilities.

We are happy to read that your unpleasant experience did not spoil your holiday and we can assure you this will not happen to anyone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent 2 weeks in this great hotel. The very friendly staff, accommodation, kids entertainment were really good. Our 6 year old spent every day in the kids club and didn't want to miss any mini disco. They kept her very happy. And kids are still singing the songs they learnt there. Especial thank you to the entertainment team.

I would recommend to book the rooms with the hotel directly - you will get a better choice, free WiFi (normally 25 euro per week) and free check out.I also think its a bit cheaper.Plaza Del Sol is the best area for families with kids - do ask for the rooms with the sunny terrace - in Plaza Del Sol they are starting with N1 - probably until 10-12. We were on the other side of the pool and it was too cold to sit outside in the afternoons as there was no sun. There is also a nice playground and if you are lucky to get one of the Sol 1 to 5 apartments you probably can sit on your terrace and observe the kids on the playground from there.

No need to bring your own beach towels - you rent them for free from the shop opposite the reception. Restaurant on site is brilliant, has plenty of choice (about 11 euro for breakfast/ 20 euro for dinner for an adult - kids eat free). Don't go there if you are on a diet - too much food. You can also get a take away from there if you don't feel like going out. Mai Tai food bar is only ok but handy and not expensive.Don't buy the kids toys (buckets,spades,water guns ets) for the beach when you arrive - first check the green boxes near the kids club. People leave lots of stuff behind.

Brilliant hotel for families with kids - parents will have a real holiday.The only problem we had was the wind. We are not sure if we were just unlucky or that area is very windy.
We would also like to mention that the pools were cold, even the ones that were supposed to be heated. Again, possibly its because of the wind it was hard to keep them warm but we would prefer them properly heated.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for free WiFi,late check out and other perks( see their website) Plaza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your very comprehensive review. It is all of the things we have been saying for years. There are many advantages to booking direct and great money saving advantages.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us. We can only apologise about the wind. Lanzarote is a windy island but really not as windy as it was for some of the days last month. The breeze is welcome on current 30º sizzling days. You were just unlucky to encounter the bad wind. Unfortunately, the winds make it nearly impossible to keep the heat in the pools.
We are delighted the children enjoyed the Buddy Club. We will pass your kind comments to our hard working Animation Team.
We thank you again for taking the time to write your review and suggest you visit in September/October to avoid any winds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to this resort since 1987, previously it was lanzarote beach club and mainly time share ownership. After my brother went 2 years ago with his family I was keen to go back. In general it hadn't changed much. I was slightly disappointed with the accommodation as it only had a kitchenette and I was expecting a full kitchen.
The staff were friendly and helpful, daily maid service ensured clean towels and refuse collection.
The best part of our holiday was "buddys kids club". Our 4 year old absolutely loved it! He went everyday, 10.30 to 15.30, his choice. They gave him lunch (€6) activities were varied and fun. They provided sun hats, t shirt, sun cream and plenty to drink. The staff were friendly and child orientated. My son was safe and well cared for. If your kids like clubs then this resort is highly recommended. 10/10

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is important to say again that research before your holiday is important in order to book the correct room. If you have booked a holiday directly with us or with a tour operator and the type of room is important to you please feel free to contact us and confirm that you have booked the room that is suitable to your needs. We have full kitchens in our superior apartments with dishwasher and ovens. Our Standard apartments have only a half kitchen with a hob and no oven and no dishwasher. Therefore if a full kitchen is important to you and your family then please feel free to contact us to confirm the room type and facilities you have booked. You can contact us through facebook or our website.
Our Buddy Club is now recognised as one the best Childrens clubs and is very popular. Many children wanted to stay with their friends for lunch and parents can pay for the children to have lunch with Buddy and their friends. We will pass on your comments to the hard working Animation Team.
We thank you for your review and we do hope you will not leave it so long until you return to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

excelent for the kids buddy's club kept them busy
complex very big and dependant on your location could involve a lot of walking either to the one and only night bar or the beach.
entire complex was spotless which was good.all staff were very good but they worked non stop Restaurant was small but managed suspect most people ate out or in their rooms,The food was not the best we,ve had. choice rather limited and some items only warm.although breakfast was very good
best option would be to have bed and breakfast and then eat out,there was plenty of choices
in the centre only 10 minutes walk away could well go again next year but would not use jet2 again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the choices as we have a very big choice for dinner at night. We do provide a microwave at the end of the counter for those that prefer their food piping hot.
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The 1st room they gave us was awful. Very old, smelly and dated. But I asked to be moved and they did. 2nd room was still dated but was clean and had everything we needed.
The resort is great for kids, lots of pools to try and the beach lagoon is fantastic. My 9 year old loved playing with the football and goals on the beach, and with the free rowing boats.
Close enough to walk to nearby restaurants and bars.
Entertainment was terrible but this didn't bother us.
I would definitely return, but would maybe request a room that had been refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the start of your holidays and we are pleased that you got a room that you were happy with.
We have our kayaks at the lagoon which are free for the use of our guests.
We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.