We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only to your Saves list
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo La Galea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Having read previous reviews, the hotel was pretty much as I expected. My husband and I booked a late all-inclusive 7 day holiday with the intention of relaxing in the sun. We arrived late in the evening and checked-in without any problems. We were given a map to find our room, and left to our own devices as there was no porter service. As mentioned in other reviews, there wasn't a kettle or toaster in the room, but a polite request was made at reception and they arrived in our room within the hour. We also had to pay 5 euro deposit for a tv remote. We had requested a quiet room, and with sea view if possible. We had a 1st floor room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Initially the room appeared quiet, however this changed later that night when the bars which we overlooked started their music. This kept us awake until about 1am, then all went quiet.

The restaurant was self-service buffet, with plenty of choice. The food tended to be geared more towards the taste of other European countries, with lots of stews, spices and a strange selection of soups. However, as a fussy eater, I always managed to find something to eat, even if it was pizza and chips. There was lots of pork on the menu, and usually freshly cooked meats and fish each day. These were cooked by a chef as you watched, using a hot plate, and this was also where the eggs were cooked for breakfast each morning.

My criticisms would be that the food was sometimes lukewarm (although there was a microwave you could use to heat it up), and very repetitive. During the week we were there the same soup was supplied for lunch and dinner the same day on several occasions, which wasn't really acceptable. There also seemed to be a shortage of crockery a lot of the time, and we had to wait for more cups, bowls, glasses etc to be brought out.

The poolside snack bar had burgers, toasties and other snacks available throughout lunchtime and until mid-afternoon, so you could stay outside if you wanted to. There were just about enough sun-beds to go around, although the hotel was not full while we were there. They have signs saying no reserving of sun-beds but nobody seems to take any notice of them, so we followed suit and put towels on our beds around 8-9am each day. For the first 4 days there was a lifeguard on duty, but not for the other 3 days. The animation team were around most days and organised various games to keep adults and children amused. Everyone was encouraged to join in but they weren't at all pushy, so we managed to relax in the sunshine without being hassled at all.

The entertainment was very basic, with a singing duo, 2 different acrobatic acts, and a few nights of the Animation team singing and dancing, which wasn't that great. There was only the one bar open in the evenings, and it was self-service which seemed to work very well. The unbranded beers and spirits were included, but if you wanted cocktails or branded drinks you had to pay for them separately. The hotel staff work very hard, and we found them all to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms with sea view may not be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    278
    198
    95
    41
See reviews for
264
321
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

In short: Good facility in a great location within the resort of Costa Teguise.
In detail: The friendly staff along with the high standard of accomodation created a relaxed atmosphere which made for a great holiday.
Would recommend all inclusive if you hadn't considered this before and will be going back.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was our 4th visit to la galea and again the hotel did not dissapoint on its friendliness and variety of choice of menu,since our last visit July 2010 ouite a few of the rooms have now been updated and visitors can now choose to upgrade to sea view rooms or suprier rooms, where you then become a pampered guest, as previously reviewed the self service on drinks for all inclusive guests is a definate winner no Qs at the bar serve yourself whatever you want from tea/coffee, soft drinks.beer,wine spirits and even champagne.with no limits,and still you dont get people abusing this and no drunks kicking off.
The area around the hotel is very pleasant with lots of friendly bars and inexpensive places to eat for those who wish to venture out.
A fab beach is right on the doorstep with great golden sand,and for the sporty type brilliant windsurfing.
Back to the La Galea if you whish to stay in the Disco bar the entertainment is a bit spasmodic, but most nights are quite enjoyable, the magic show is top class,and the home made entertainment from the animation team is quite enjoyable , dont miss the Miss Barcelo/Mr Barcelo show for a good laugh, my only grouse with the hotel this year was that the charge for the room safe went up from 10 euros on our last visit to a huge 21 euros,cost to keep late checkout room up from 18 euros to 35 euros when people are on a tight budget these increases can hurt, as we always book direct with Barcelo I have made this concern direct to them, but also stated it will not stop me returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our first visit to Lanzarote and we were not disappointed by the island or hotel. Some areas need a lick of paint, sure, but this is totally over shadowed by the friendliness of staff, fantastic food, cleanliness of rooms and amazing entertainment team...Roberto, Bego & Estephania. They are great fun and work very hard to provide good fun entertainment for both adults and children. We both enjoyed all daytime activities/games... darts, shooting, billiards, shuffleboard & cocktail games.. really added to the good fun element that the hotel boasts. Good evening shows a couple of times a week from the team.... apart from the regular uninspiring duo called Infinity....(but we christened them indigestion!)

Outside the back of the hotel there is a fantastic coastal path around the bay, great for walking. There are 3 circular walks for those who enjoy getting out and about. We did the green & blue route but ran out of time (or steam) for the 10k red route. Would recommend, but advise good footwear as some tracks are rocky!

The all inclusive is great with the help yourself bar. We took advantage of the gold band upgrade for 8 euros a day which allows unlimited branded drinks. Well worth it if you enjoy specific shorts, cocktails and real diet coke like we do! Bar staff are great and are happy to help. They even bought fresh mint especially to make us Mojito's.

The small bay to the right of the coastal path is wonderful for swimming & snorkeling. Golden sand, clear waters and plenty of friendly fish.

We had a fantastic holiday and was sad to leave at the end. We met lovely people and would not hesitate to recommend this friendly & clean hotel.

Paul & Cheryl
Sept 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

just spent 11 nights had a fab time our first room was fine but asked for a better view the manager could not be nicer we got a pool view room. the food was very good and help yourself bar and the staff cant do enough for you .would defo go back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was our first time in Lanzarote. We booked self-catering and had a great time!
The reception staff were extremely helpful with all our requests e.g. additional room keys and booking taxis.
Our room was on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the sea (there was no lift so we had to carry our cases up the stairs). The room was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds, television and the option to hire a safety deposit box. There's maid service every day except Mondays and Fridays. There was limited kitchen facilities, plenty of cutlery, plates etc but no kettle or toaster. But this didn't bother us because we ate out.
The hotel is roughly a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, situated near the beach and some lovely pubs and places to eat. The Cutty Sark does lovely food and, If you're a sporting fan. they show all the big matches at the Dolphin Inn. There's planty of souvenir shops and supermarkets a short walk away from the hotel.
If you haven't visited Lanzarote before, you'll notice the wind. It's not just a breeze, it's seriously (constantly) windy! Don't leave anything like towels or swimwear to dry unsecured on your balcony, there's a good chance they'll get blown away. It can also make sunbathing on the beach quite uncomfortable as you frequently get sandwhipped (which can sting!)

Overall, Costa Teguise is a lovely resort and we will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room. Our friends had a pool view room which was quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked this holiday only 6 days prior so were limited to what we could find not what we wanted. Decision criteria: kids club, great pools, all inclusive and didnt look chavvy. We have always booked villas and cars or self catering so all inclusive resort was a trial for us.

Overall we were very pleased with our holiday, would recommend it, and had a GREAT time.

Cons:
* Our friends apartment had ants - we didn't have any.
* mostly typical spanish tat shops (fine by me, but no good for shopping lovers, but huge market on sundays is aparently excellent)
* rooms are very very dated but very tidy and pretty clean but do need a bit of an overhaul but hey - how much time do you spend in the room.
* its cloudy most mornings (great for us, but for true sun worshipers beware) but this burns off by lunch for clear skies
* outside the complex it can be VERY windy, not breezy, windy - again great for us to stroll along the beach without overheating - dont think you notice it when you are on the loungers
* food was so varied in the restaurant that I ate breakfast + 2 meals most days cos I couldnt decide!!!
* pool snack bar food was not what we eat (hotdogs, burgers, lame sandwiches (left open so go dry pretty quickly), occassional pizza, occassional toasty, salad, same cakes, not keen - but wait til 1.30 and full choice upstairs was excellent always
* sea view rooms were very windy mostly so you couldnt play cards
* out facing rooms to front or side of hotel were noisy
* not enough parasols
* many background hotel areas in need of decoration
* no TV remote in room and no english TV (not problem for us cos we didnt want TV)
* no aircon in rooms but with no moskitos we slept with door open
* the 1 restaurant is a bit work diningroomish but we sat by the window and looked out over the pools or on the terrace

Pros
* Excellent Kids club every day between 10-13.30 3-5, they were excellent at encouraging kids to join in, wandering around the pool advertising what was happening next, varied activites for little ones and teenagers. activity schedule throughout day for adults too, we adults played games each day
very sociable and with a good mix of really nice people
* great kids disco every night entertainer led
* evening entertainment (apart from one act of a dreadful singing duo) was really really good, child friendly and safe so adults sit and chill and kids can run around or sit and watch too - I would normally avoid tacky inhouse performances but these were really good for a safe family orientated option
* great choice of good restaurants in walking distance (the nice ones bit pricey)
Good fun outside of resort (bungey trampolines, hamster ball, family quad cycles, trips)
* beaches lovely and smallish with rock pools, really lovely little bay is a short walk up the coast to the right which is less windy, has lots of stone edged sunbathing sections and great amateur snorkelling in rock enclosed natural bay
* excellent choice of food in our opinion if you put the right choice of things together - for change of scenery plenty of choice in local area
* pool view rooms the best
* not a single moskito bite on any of us
* pools excellent, in peak season just about enough loungers, they say dont reserve but everyone did
* main common areas kept well maintained and clean
* most staff very helpful
* self service food so not a single queue

I would say, if you have a young family freindly, want great all inclusive food, surprisingly good evening entertainment in a safe environment, want a place that is big enough to have your space and move around but not so big you can lose your children, enjoy the social element of a complex, love to join in with games, can look beyond of old and tired parts want beaches on your doorstep, like plenty of sun but dont like to melt, like a clean well managed local area, then you cant go far wrong with this place.

Room Tip: pool view and off the ground floor best, sea view is great view but can be windy chilly
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo La Galea)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo La Galea Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults Only Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.