We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Lanzarote Resort to your Saves list
Barcelo Lanzarote Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Discount
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel from 21 March 2013 to 28 March 2013. We always read the reviews on trip advisor but only as a guide as we feel everyone will have different opinions on hotels. Having visited other Barcelo hotels we expected the same standards and level of service at this hotel, but we didn't.

Check in - this was long winded. There were only 4 couples checking in to this hotel when we arrived. 30 minutes later we eventually checked in. Prior to coming to the hotel we had e-mailed the hotel and asked for a room near reception as my husband had a knee operation a couple of months ago so we wanted to be near to everything, this was something they did for us which we really appreciated. Unfortunately, the part of the hotel they put us in had no lighting in the corridors until 10pm in the evening, so it was a miracle that my husband didn't have to have a second knee operation. Also no air conditioning/heating working in room

Restaurant - when we checked in we were asked whether we wanted an early dinner or late dinner. There were two sittings, one from 6.30 to 7.50 and 8.10 to 9.30 (have never heard of a buffet restaurant having different sittings - is the point of a buffet restaurant not meant to be you turn up when you want ?) Anyway, we opted for the later sitting. Before entering the restaurant you have to obtain a chitty to give to your waiter when you go to your table for drinks if you are on an AI basis. I have never heard of this when you are All Inclusive. We also wandered around the restaurant for about 10 minutes and we couldn't find an empty table. Half the restaurant was closed off. We asked one of the Managers in the restaurant where we could sit and he held up his hands. We eventually got a seat. This scenario was repeated for the rest of our holiday at lunch and dinner (breakfast time was OK). Food was not warm, the selection was not the best and some of the meat was not edible. Up until the day before we left, the restuarant only had food carousels at one end of the restaurant which caused congestion when trying to get something to eat. On the day we left, the choices of food suddenly improved and they also opened up the other half of the restaurant and installed more food carousels. They should have done this the week before and maybe our holiday would have been better.

Animation/Entertainment Team - the team were excellent. Activities during the day were fantastic. Evening entertainment was so so, but again the team tried there very best to put on a good show.

Would my husband and I go back to this hotel - absolutely not. Im not sure that this hotel is still part of the Barcelo Group as it does not come up to the standards of the other Barcelo resorts my husband and I have stayed in. This hotel was meant to be a 4* hotel. The best we would give this hotel is 3*.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 7 on the ground floor which is good for people with limited mobility (as long as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    795
    448
    215
    143
See reviews for
1,011
767
36
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The location isn't great but we knew that before we went and there is quite a nice walk you can do along the sea front with different exercise apparatus along it (which stopped the kids complaining about the walk!). Shuttle bus service to the beach was very prompt, make sure you get there early as if you get there on time you will miss it.

The food was pretty average but a good variety that is repeated throughout your duration.

The children's entertainment team was absolutely fantastic and worked tirelessly to entertain them all. Our children (son aged 10 and daughter aged 9) have never got involved with the activities before yet they couldn't stay away. Yusef was a star!

The hotel was average overall from an adult perspective, however, my children would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived home yesterday from Barceló and this was our 3rd visit here!!! We love it here and so do the kids!! My daughter talks about it for months after... An excellent hotel for family holiday. Will definitely be booking for next year again!! Well done Barcelo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Lanzarote Barcelo hotel is one of the nicest hotels I have been to. The check in is wonderful with no hassle. If you have booked half board and deside to have full board, it is very easy to upgrade as you check in. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Maid service daily; If you asked for something extra, there was no problem in getting it. The food was good with plenty of choice. The poolside bars and food were excellant and the pools had plenty of loungers to sit. No need to try and get a seat early.Brfeakfast ran like clockwork and the choice was very extensive. I would have no problem in booking this hotel on my own. although there are only 21 other hotel nearby, the bus went from the end of the hotel front and taxis to downtown were easy to get from reception and were very inexpensive. There are a few shops in the area of the hotel - enough to purchase provisions if needed and also a couple of souvenir and clothes shops. I have very fond memories of this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.My holiday was beforfe April last year but I am sure that the standard etc would still be superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went with mixed feelings after reading reviews. We could not fault the hotel, our only fault was the few clouds that kept appearing in the sky on a daily basis. Our check in at reception was smooth, and we had everything explained to us. The rooms were spacious, clean along with the rest of the complex and pool areas. Food plentiful and better than we expected in main dining room (again from reading negative previous reviews). the staff throughout all of our holiday were pleasant and polite. Complex big enough to have space around you when sunbathing and enough sunbeds to go round. We enjoyed the walk into the resort centre a couple of nights along the sea front. Taxi back really cheap 4 euros to include tip.

Room Tip: We were in Block 4 and it was quiet. We would have had a slight sea view but we were on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

excellent hotel checking in was so easy no hassel the staff were excellent they would do anything for you i went on my own and had a great holiday the room was spacious and very clean with maid service everyday the food was excellent i would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here w/c 17/3/2013 for one week and we was very surprised how clean everything was, the rooms are spacious and offer what you would expect for a 4 star hotel. The staff were great and could not do enough for you. The food was ok but better than expected so we was pleaently surprised.

The hotel is situated around a 30minute walk from town but there is a sea front walk all the way.

This hotel is great for familys and offers good wheelchair access.

The all inclusive is self service and works great, you never go without anything as everything is stocked up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Lanzarote Resort

Address: Avenida del Mar s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Barcelo Lanzarote Resort Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Lanzarote Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.