We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such good VFM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Lanzarote to your Saves list
BlueBay Lanzarote
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Such good VFM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Meant to write this sooner as we stayed here last month and I can only say it was excellent VFM. The hotel itself is very clean, there is more than enough choice at each meal for all tastes and diets. The apartment we had was spacious and quiet, block E overlooking the tennis courts, it gets the sun all day and is not that far from the main hotel at all. Behind the hotel on the main road is where all the coaches leave for trips out and we booked in town as our Cosmos rep was not coming to the hotel until the Friday, we arrived Tuesday so decided if we waited we would miss out as we were only there for a week. So COSMOS you are not on the ball! We did a couple of day trips and found the island to be a really interesting place, the sunday market did not knock our socks off but it was fine to have a wander.....again do not book at hotel as the coach was 10 euros and we got the trip for 4 euros in town. Yes the wi-fi is very limited but that was actually quite nice and the free BBC world news channel is repetetive so we indulged our passion for books and really relaxed. A great winter break...hotel is a little way out of town but there is a hotel bus a couple of times a day that will drop you off. For what we paid I was very impressed. All the staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    739
    320
    92
    46
See reviews for
736
595
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a long weekend break. Spa was lovely, see Penelope for her special 10 minute massage followed by sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Will worth it for €10. Food was varied and tasty, not very good soups or choice of desserts, but plenty of salads and hot meals, also burgers, hotdogs and chips every day in snack bar, and if miss dinner at all toasties in restaurant 10.30-12 midnight. Never go hungry. Drinks all day in snack bar, help yourself to beer, soft drinks and tea/coffee, bar staff there for rest of drinks and ice cream. Pleasant hotel bar at night, or theatre if in need of entertaining or for children's disco, bingo. Large swimming pool and children's pool with lots of sun beds, which are not allowed to be reserved, which is always good.
Rooms are very large with lovely living area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom with walk in shower, cleaned every day.
5/10 minute walk down hill takes you to Bastian beach, then a walk along the promenade takes you into costa teguise, plenty of places to eat and drink at cheap prices. Very enjoyable break, only thing to spoil it was having someone try to break into our apartment one night, can't blame hotel for that,and the night time receptionist was great and called police immediately.

Room Tip: Not much sun on our balcony, would prefer a or b block for more sun with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Recently returned from a week at the BlueBay. Overall impressions were good. Spacious gardens and pool area - no rows and rows of tightly packed sunbeds at this hotel!
The choice of food was what you would expect for a hotel of this standard. It was varied every day with a themed dinner on some days. Mexican, Chinese, Canarian etc. Although not always piping hot - being a buffet style - there was a microwave available in the restaurant for guests use.
The staff in the dining room were super efficient at clearing and relaying tables. There was never any delay before you were shown to a free table by the waiter. There were still a few guests who can't or won't read the sign "Please wait to be seated" (in multiple languages), causing a bit of confusion when wandering in and sitting down at tables already allocated.
There was never any delay in getting drinks. The pool bar and restaurant provides coffee, soft drinks, wines and beer on tap for guests to serve themselves. The main bar and show bars, open in the evening, provides a bar service, but were also very fast and efficient with on queques.
Room were simply furnished but spacious, with good sized balconies. The only negative (voiced also by other reviewers) was the firmness of the mattresses. There were no mattress toppers available (being a 3 star), so all the hotel could do was put blankets on top to try to provide a bit more comfort.
We had a couple of issues with our room during our stay which were resolved very quickly by the maintenance staff.
Most rooms face between south east and south west so catch the sun for a good part of the day. Top floor rooms offer the best views and minimise the noise from thoughtless guests who insist on clomping around in heels or moving furniture on the tiled floors.
If you don't want to face the pool area there are blocks that face away but still face into the sun.
Be aware when choosing a room in AB block - the best block for sun and pool view , the rear of third floor rooms AB305, 307 & 309 have noise from airconditioning plant on the reception area roof. If you want to sleep with open bedroom windows don't choose these, as the noise may be intrusive.
AB block is the only block that has direct access into the reception area and is near the restaurant and bar etc.
Overall the BlueBay Lazarote measured up to our expectations for a 3 star hotel. You can't expect 5 star luxury at that price but it was a clean, friendly & relaxed hotel mainly frequented by, and catering for, British guests.

Room Tip: Rooms in AB block are closest to reception and facilities and catch most sun (face south). B block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from a 10 day break,20th to 30th march,and have to say that we enjoyed ourselves very much.We travelled with Travel Republic,everything ran very smoothly.As everyone says the rooms are large and well equipted,We stayed in E block 308 top floor nice and quiet ,with the sun, up to late afternoon.The staff work so hard and can be seen working in all departments,we found them all very friendly.The hotel restaurant caters for all tastes with plenty of choice ,unlike some guests we found the food hot and plentyfull I suppose it depends on what time you eat,The allinclusive drinks package is fine ,the top 5 cocktails on the list are free ,the rest you have to pay for ,the beer is on tap as is the wine in the restaurant . The entertainment is varied some very good some average ,we thought the dancers with the whip man great ,and the Paul Mc Cartney tribute also ,
We would also like to say thankyou to all the guests who made our stay enjoyable Phil and Phil who can talk for England,on any subject,and to Christene and Elizabeth for showing us around the island.

Room Tip: We chose a top floor room so it would lesson the scrapeing of furniture noise,also it gives a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at the Bluebay for a week in March, check in was quick & everything explained clearly, our room was on the top floor which was nice with a good outlook, rooms are spacious and functional, lovely bathroom, beds were ok comfort wise, nice touch to have the bottle of water & tea/coffee etc to put you on for your first cuppa in the morning. Rooms were cleaned daily & towels changed regularly.
Drinks are plentiful, spirits wise you're given a good measure & my other half loved the self serve beer pumps !! Food wise can't really comment as we don't do all-inclusive very well, we ate out most nights but what food we did have at the hotel was nice, not top cuisine but its catering for the masses and is of an acceptable standard, didn't really fancy the snacks at the pool bar to be honest.
As has been said many times before the staff here are the hotels greatest asset they're so hard working. Hotel location is slightly out of town but only a 10-15 minute walk or 3.5 euros in a taxi. The grounds of the hotel and pool area are well maintained.
All in all this is a good value hotel , would we return ? Yes for a cheap week in the sun it's ideal.
Costa Teguise itself is a lovely resort, nice bars and restaurants, beautiful beach, the carnival was on whilst we were there and that was an impressive sight, so much effort and enthusiasm went into that !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a lovely family holiday. was a bit concerned about the hotel due to the mixed reviews but I can say it's lovely!
There's lots of great facilities, 5min from the beach or town, not to far to go into old town Tegiuse!
The choice of food was huge and I'm the fustiest eater in the world so if i found something lovely to eat every night you should!
The staff are wonderful, they can't do enough for you, brilliant with kids, lots of fun, very friendly and welcoming, they learn you faces and your drink choice quickly!
My favorite thing about the hotel was the wonderful Bar man Carlos - He is the man!

Room Tip: The balcony's in block C are almost completely wind free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Blue Bay during March. The Blue Bay is situated at the top of a small hill about ten minutes walk from Costa Teguise Town. The Town was quite quiet when we stayed as it was out of season. We did find some nice Bars and Restaurants that were open. Please see my other reviews.

The Blue Bay is quite a large Hotel located on a main road and looks very nice from the front. The Reception area is very large and most facilities lead off this area.

Upon Checking in (which was very simple) we were offered a room with no Pool view (blocks D & E). This was not to our liking so I spoke the Receptionist who was very polite and helpful, however the decision to move our room was not hers. She referred this matter to a manager Sonia (Sonya). She was an Australian lady who was very Kurt to the point of rudeness towards me as I had dared to request a room change. I was sent away like a naughty schoolboy for 30 minutes while she looked into this. I was so angry at her manner that I sent my wife back later in case I blew a fuse.

Our room was changed and was very nice. It was located in Block A over looking the pool and the sea. It was very clean and tidy and every thing worked. The room included a fridge, cooker, sink and a Hair drier in the bathroom. The maid came everyday a part from Wednesday. This service was very good and the maid very friendly.

The dining room was very well laid out and the food was quite good as All Inclusive Holidays go. The Staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The drinks in the bar were local brands and were quite good. The Bar staff were very nice and entertaining especially Carlos, a very nice bloke.

Wi-Fi is not included and if required you have to pay 20 Euros for the week. I have to say it was rubbish and not worth the money. If you do require Wi-Fi I suggest going to the local Bars and Cafes in Town where it is free.

The Pool area was quite well laid out with plenty of sun beds, sadly no chairs or tables in this area. The tables and chairs are confined to the shaded outside bar area. The internal grounds were very well maintained and looked very pleasing.

As a new guest you are given 1 free pass to the Steam and Sauna Rooms. I paid (10 Euros) for my wife to have an introductory Massage, which included the steam room etc. She was very pleased with the massage and told me how relaxing it was. You can have other treatments but they are quite expensive. There is a cheaper place not far from the Hotel I was told.

To some up we really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. We did go out of Season so some of my comments maybe in correct during the main season.

I WILL GIVE A WORD OF WARNING DO NOT PUT YOUR CASES IN THE CASE ROOM. My Wife had items stolen from her Case. Sadly we did not realize until we got home. This did spoil the ending of our stay.

And my closing message to the Hotel I feel Sonya needs some people skills or a new job.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool blocks a and b the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBay Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.