We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Lanzarote to your Saves list
BlueBay Lanzarote
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
1 review
“Great relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After looking at some bad reviews on here We was worried what to expect ,,, nothing to worry about though was great , the food was a lot better than we was expecting , only thing was we ate too much lol
And if we wanted to get out for a while it was only a 15 min walk into costa teguise along the sea path ,
Only thing that ruined it a bit for us was the drunken Irish next to us in room c305 ,, the furniture being thrown around and the arguing ,, feel sorry for the others in that block ,, hope they did not ruin it for you all as we only had a couple of nights/ mornings like it
But would return and in fact we are talking about it already and only got back yesterday

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    741
    320
    91
    46
See reviews for
737
596
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Second visit to BlueBay, this time with family including 3 year old granddaughter. Staff were great many the same as first visit ,all made fuss of children in hotel. Entertainment staff very enthusiastic and seemed to be there from morning till late at night.
Mini Disco was loved by granddaughter and friend ,8.30pm was a little late for them so only went couple of times.
We had same rooms as before in e block which is away from the pool area over looking tennis courts with a view of the sea. great if you have children needing a sleep in the day. Sun most of the day.
Rooms were kept clean and were spacious, its handy having a kettle and fridge in the room.
It wasn't as busy as our last visit not sure why . It wasn't that busy around Teguise centre and beach areas .
Overall another great holiday, however pool area needs to be more inviting, new and brighter parasols and more of them . could do with mattresses on loungers, would not cost lot of money to do.
Food good plenty of choice, theme nights good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

for a start,totaly disregard the review from nick k from bath,unfortunately you occasionally get these strange reviews and they do worry some people.
heres some facts..
we have stayed at the costa calero many times and it is way more expensive than the bluebay.
drinking from plastic cups is normal and intelligent around the pool
also some people have said you cannot use the ai facilites after checkout..you can for the rest of the day
someone said icecreams are not included with the ai..wrong..ofcourse they are.
we payed 58 quid a day altogether which is excellent for ai hotel..yes the price does attract a few chavs(shorts and football shirts at dinner..kids running riot) but thats not suprising at that price.
overall cheap and cheerful and recommended for budget consious holidaymakers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived at the Bluebay on Sunday 29th April. First impressions of the reception were spotless and clean. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, and spoke good English. We were originally given a hotel room on the second floor, but without us even asking if we could move to ground floor the receptionist asked us would we like to move due to my disability. Of course we did and I am so glad we did. We were given one of the only two available disabled rooms. Nice and big with a wet room, great for me with not being able to lift my leg over a bath. Huge balcony with patio doors to the lounge and in the bedroom as well. The rooms were cleaned six days out of the seven. Clean towels every day, beds made and rooms swept and left smelling fresh and clean. there are safes in the rooms at a cost of three euros and thirty cents a day with a five euro deposit. I thought this was a little expensive, especially after being abroad three weeks earlier, and all we had to pay for our safe then was a ten euro deposit, which you got back at the end of your holiday. One other good thing about the room are the fact they they all have a kettle in and a fridge. Our view was of the pool and pool bar. Nice to look out at. There are plenty of sun loungers, and the one thing that I did like was the fact that if people went and put towels on sunbeds they were removed and taken to reception. The lifeguard checked the water every day and was constantly cleaning out the grids/grates that the pool water spilled over into.

The hotel also boasts a spa, which unfortunately we never got chance to use as we were so busy throughout the week. There is also a shop where you can buy water, milk etc.

The drinks were fine from the lager to the spirits. Yes ok they are not as strong as the labelled stuff, but come on for free you cannot complain. I did pay for the original Baileys as found their own version of it to sweet. However it was only two euros and ten cents for a glassful, nobody can moan at that - can they? Service was quick and efficient. Now to the food.......this was not the best alot of the time. I cannot complain about the breakfasts at all. Plenty of choice including English sausages which were a bonus! Fresh bread to die for as well at breakfast. We never ate lunch in the restaurant as we would either be around the pool or on the beach. When we did eat at the pool bar it was hot dog sausages, burgers, salad and chips. We did eat our evening meal at the restaurant for four nights but then chose to eat out for the remainder. There was not alot of choice at all. Yes plenty of salad stuff to go with your chicken, pork chops, paella (not nice). One night I chose to have the chicken breasts that were being cooked as you went up. I started to eat it and then as I went to cut off my third piece it was raw inside! Not on one piece but two. I do not think though that you should let the food put you off staying at this hotel. We would return but just eat out in an evening at many of the lovely places there are to eat in Costa Teguise, and all at reasonable prices as well. The entertainment in an evening was not the best, but then again its usually the same in alot of other hotels. The entertainment staff during the day though did do plenty of things for the younger ones. You could always hear cries of laughter and cheers coming from wherever they were. They even did a Treasure Hunt one day.

The walk to the square from the hotel is a fifteen minute stroll there and back, so I really don't understand why some people are complaining about this. If you do your homework before booking, then you would know that the hotel is not surrounded by shops and bars. Again though if you ask at reception they will call you a taxi, and they are there within minutes, and only cost three euros each way.

As I have said we would not think twice about booking to go back here to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have any disabilities especially where walking is concerned ask for room A110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in early May for short break and couldn't really fault anything.

Rooms very clean and well maintained, - definitely ask for A or B block as some other reviews said as it does have good views of the pool and gets sun all day.

Pool nice - very cold when we were there and plenty of sun loungers - never had to reserve but hotel was very quiet and not many guests staying .

Food ok - ranged between repetitive stuff and very good - chinese theme night when we stayed , and all inclusive drink good too

Entertainment was ok but we often went out on the night where there are more lively bars and places to drink (cheap as well)

Resort ok , and nice walk to both Playa Bastian (10 mins) and main beach - (20 mins)

Would definitely reccomend getting a taxi from the airport as we waited about hour on the coach waiting for other flights to arrive and others to get to bus - very tedious - it's only about 15 mins from airport to resort so wouldn't have thought transfer would be too expensive but after 4 hr flight it's not what you need to be sat on hot coach ,

All in all it's a decent hotel , bit out of the way from the centre but relaxing and did the job

Room Tip: Block A or B top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

First let us say that the plus points of the hotel are still the same - lovely staff, especially in the restaurant and behind the bars; clean and functional rooms, well manicured grounds.

The big let down for us this time was the continuing deterioration of the quality of the animation team (Lucilla excepted). We noticed a change during our stay at Christmas 2012 (see previous review) and this time it was even worse.

First of all there was no water based activities - no water polo, water volley ball or aqua aerobics - during our week (first week of Easter) because, we were told by Salva the leader of the Animation Team, the previous week a person cut their foot where the tiles are missing from the floor of the pool and so all water based activities have been suspended indefinitely. This was a big disappointment as this couple in their 50's really enjoy the fun and laughter of these activities, especially when the afternoon sun was beating down, and when we compare back to our first stay this lack of water activities is a big issue for us. The irony is that we witnessed a teenage lad exit the pool with a bad cut to his foot from just swimming and we know from previous reviews that this is not unusual. The hotel really need to resolve the long running issue of tiles coming off the walls and floor of the pool, and just to stop the organised water activities whilst continuing to allow feet to get cut from just normal activities is not right. We have made our feelings known to the hotel both whilst we were there and also since coming home, and also reported it to Thomas Cook.

The second issue with the day time activities relates to the lack of variety, and also lack of enthusiasm from Salva. You can only take so many games of killer darts and killer pool - we only did archery, rifle shooting and french boules once each during the week, and the only advertised session of basketball and one game of table tennis never took place. Also, at the start of our stay Salva was not walking around publicising the events and only because we knew the routine did we spot him with a few teenagers gathered together for the activity. The whole attitude was very disappointing when we remember what it was like for our first two stays.

The third issue is with the attitude of the Animation Team when 11.00 pm comes around at the end of the main evening entertainment (excepting Lucilla) - as we first found at Christmas there is now a distinct choice of music (and loudness) which is designed to clear the room as quickly as possible. Again, our first two stays let us enjoy the last hour with some dancing but this pleasure has been removed. When we complained to the male Animation Team member playing the music we got one decent tune and then back to the dire music and he was not interested when we pointed out that no one was dancing to the dire music. The male members of the Animation Team seem not to care about making the customer's experience an enjoyable one.

So, from having been a staunch supporter of this hotel, and having held back at our review of Christmas we very reluctantly submit this review because there are still the positive points noted above which we still value about the hotel. However, once disappointed by aspects which are important to us the other irritating aspects magnify themselves i.e.
- the hard sunbeds - we have learned to take our lilo's with us but otherwise you will feel the need, like most other guests, to go and buy one, in which case go to the row of shops on the road at the bottom end of the hotel where you can pick up a cheap one for c. €6;
- the TV only has BBC world News and NBC business channels in English which is poor when you consider that 90%+ of the clientel are English speaking, yet there are loads of German speaking channels;
- the showers pool side were not working this time;
- there was no pool side music from the portable equipment used by the AnimationTeam as it was apparently broken, which also meant no load speaker announcements of day time activities;
- the vast majority of the pool bar area has been designated as no smoking when it is all open air.

The up shot is that, having already booked the hotel for Christmas 2013 before traveling in March we have since cancelled and booked alternative accommodation, a sad decision for which we say sorry to all the hard working and friendly staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: We like A307 which overlooks the pool and sea and close to amenities. Alternatively E228 is tucked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading some mixed reviews we were a little nervous before arriving, however we could not have been more wrong.
The Hotel is lovely, we arrived and were checked in immediately, The room we had was very modern and possibley the nicest we have ever stayed in while on a package holiday.
Plenty of sunbeds, so no need to rush on a morning, even going round the pool in the afternoon you wil find spare sunbeds. Pool bar is great and not having to queue for coffee, beer or soft drinks is great tho you do have to ask for spirits. There is only a few cocktails that are included in the AI option but there is a few options and the blue bay is lovely and lethal!
The food at the pool bar is good mainly chips, burgers and stuff to make sandwiches and is the same everyday, but there is lots of choice in the restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner.
The food was better than we expected the mojo potatoes were amazing!! There was also themed nights to mix stuff up.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic holiday and would not hesitate to go back, we are looking at booking to gon again next year.
There is wifi available but you pay for in on a day to day basis and its a code they give but you can only use the code on one device but wasnt really a problem we went in Jan and there was a few days bad weather when we could have been doing with watching something on the net!
As some people have said the beds do move but we got around this by remaking the beds with the sheets going width wise which stopped them moving and the cleaners made up the bed that way for us everyday!
Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBay Lanzarote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.