We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 or 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Salinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Salinas to your Saves list
Melia Salinas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not a 4 or 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Travelled with my wife and friends to what we expected to be a 4 or 5 star hotel.As other reviews have stated this hotel is in need of a major refurbishment around the pool area, but our major complaint is with the restaurant.Each morning and evening we had to wander around the restaurant looking for a table for four, trying to decide which tables had been vacated or were waiting for the dirty dishes to be cleared.There is no attempt to escort you to a table and although the staff are excellent they are seriously undermanned.This hotel has all the facilities, but senior management is letting down the staff and customers by not addressing these simple constructive comments being repeatedly mentioned.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking some of your valuable time to write your opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas.

We would like to inform you that we have taken note of all your comments and we already reported them to the General Manager and the head of the Departments involved, trying to improve our services for the next future.

We wish to receive your visit in the near future here or to any of our establishments of our Chain, Meliá Hotels International, again. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    470
    248
    89
    38
See reviews for
245
1,029
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good Hotel on the edge of this purpose built resort. Don't come with too high an expectation this is a Spanish island and may not be perfect in every way. Yes some painting and repairs required, but you get what you pay for. Buffet breakfast and evening meals are varied and good quality.

We stayed on B & B basis so only ate in once, plenty of choice of very good restaurants within a 10 min walk. (repair work been done on promenade and this did cause problems).

Entertainment on an evening was very good.

I would point out that this is an older hotel and therefore walls are thicker, we weren't disturbed by neighbours at all which was a bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

at the beginning, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write a comment about your recent stay at out hotel Melia Salinas.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with our gastronmoy, the entertainment at night in the Onix Lounge and also with the room you were allocated in. Moreover, we are pleased to know that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your vacation with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to give you a new welcome at our hotel. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just back from a 7 night break at Melia Salinas. As some previous reviewers have mentioned there are some areas that are looking a little tired, eg paths around the pool area, but all in all we found it to be a very friendly & comfortable hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful, the food was excellent & plentiful & much of it was cooked to order. The restaurant service did detiorate somewhat towards the end of our week as the hotel got busier & there seemed to be a lot less staff. Our room was comfortable & kept spotlessy clean. If I have to be picky the only thing I would mention is the fact that we were supplied with a kettle in the room but no tea or coffee sachets. We were informed by our rep. that we could buy a package from reception for 20 Euros a week & we would be kept supplied with these. We noticed that most people helped themselves from the breakfast buffet to take to their rooms anyway so they might aswell make them complimentary. Drinks were expensive so would recommend All Inclusive if you like a drink. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, thank you very much for taking your time to write your valuable opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you were satisfied with the service of our staff, our gastronomy and also with the room you were allocated in. Furthermore, we have taken note of all your comments and we have reported them to the General Manager and the head of the Departments involved, trying to improve our services for the next future. Overall, we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as guests at our hotel. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel has definitely seen better days and is in need of a total refurbishment. The foyer is very impressive, with palm trees and a garden "indoors", exposed to the open air (the joys of living in a warm climate....) although the concrete construction is a bit dated (think a luxury version on 1970s multistory car parks in England).

Our room was alright. The furnishings were relatively new, and the balcony was nice, though once again the room itself could have done with redecorating.

The pool looks fantastic... from a distance. At the pool, you can tell how desperately it is in need of repainting - there is so much peeling paint, your feet are white from walking around!! And of course there's the issue of "beach towels at dawn" here, though that can be expected most places.

The breakfast was very good indeed, with a huge choice. The coffee machines (bean to cup) were excellent.

Overall, I'm sure this was once a genuine 5 star resort, though it's in need of work to return it to that standard. As things stand, a modern 4 star resort would definitely beat this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

we would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel Melia Salinas.

After reading carefully all your comments, we have reported them to the General Manager and the head of the Departments involved, trying to improve our services for the next future. Moreover, we are glad that you were satisfied with our gastronomy and the room you were allocated in.

We wish to receive your visit in the near future here or to any of our establishments of our Chain, Meliá Hotels International. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent a week here in March. Its a really funky looking building in the quite quiet resort of Costa Teguise. The rooms are ok size with balconies, all facing the water and/or pool area. I would strongly suggest that if you want to avoid the screaming children you find in any hotel to upgrade to the rooms which offers you access to the Level wich is an adult pool only - soo worth the money! For us it was really woth is as there were loads of kids due to the spanish schoolholidays. Both pools are great, although a little cold, but you get used to it. Also good with beeing by the adult pool are the free snaks and not having to fight peopple for sunloungers.
We had a package deal which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the food is fabulous. Great selection and really tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a comment at tripadvisor about your last stay at the Melia Salinas.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our gastronomy and also with the pool areas, especially with our exclusive The Level part of the hotel. Furthermore, it is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as our guests here. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just back home after 4 amazing days @ the hotel. wow view from the balcony, spacious and confortable room, nice bars and restaurants, genuine warm assistance from all the staff
anything you need they were always more than happy to assist you
I had breakfast every day..great assortment ..also italian coffee was good not so easy to find in Spain..I had also 2 dinners at the Hotel restuaruant great fresh fish and local dishes very well prepared. After dinner nice music & cocktails at the bar if you do not want go out to enjoy the island nightlife
The perfect place for one week holidays and even for a short break.
The lobby is something spectacular...perfect fusion between nature & hospitality exactly the spirit of the great Cesar Manrique. For sure I will find the way to go there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to write a comment at tripadvisor about your recent stay at our hotel Melia Salinas.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our gastronomy, the service of our staff and also with the room you were allocated in. Furthermore, it is a pleasure for us to hear that you have totally enjoyed your holiday with us.

We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you as guests at the Melia Salinas again. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my partner got back from Melia 5 days ago, We enjoyed every part of our weeks holiday here..
We arrived at this hotel with our hire car and were immediately able to park in the car park (which was a good thing) , as we approached the check in desk we was given a iced tea drink by the porter which was a nice surprise after a dash from the airport.. We payed for a sea view balcony room but unfortunately when we arrived,all rooms of this type were fully booked, They told us they have to honor what we paid for so therefore they would find us an equivalent standard of room or above, they gave us our own private villa which had own small pool, patio area, sun bed and bali bed, it was just beautiful! ..thanks to the head receptionist (name began with M can't remember his name).. along with the private villa we had private access to the ''level'' only pool which was stunning!.. along with a bar that served all inclusive drinks/mini snacks, a very good branded variety of drinks was included in the all inc.
We ate in the restaurant most mornings, lunch's and evenings apart from when we was out during the day, the food is freshly cooked in front of you by the chef such as chicken ,steak,fish.. you could have it just how you wanted it! ..they had a wide variety of foods each night (i enjoyed the fajita night as they tasted amazing and were cooked in front of you).. The breakfast was nice although they had no hash browns, english sausages or large bacon rashions each morning, the bacon was mostly fat.. The desserts each night were lovely although they had nothing to go with the cakes etc like runny cream or custard only ice-cream which was in a tub and hard to get out onto your plate,other than those downsides the restaurant food was nice, The service was great! your plates were literally taken up within 2 seconds of leaving your seat to go up to get your next course, the waiters/waitresses were very friendly ,you do have to sign for each drink you get which is a bit annoying! but can't fault how much the waiters are try to help you. My partner was Spanish speaking,which was making orders and conversations a little easier with hotel staff.
The hotel itself is nice inside especially the indoor gardens and waterfall such a nice idea to set the hotel around it,had a nice few photo's here.
Had an amazing week here and would definitely return in future, thanks to all the staff for making our holiday great!

Room Tip: choose the villa! it's amazing like your own personal retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guests,

first of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time to write your valuable opinion about your recent stay at the Melia Salinas and also for recommanding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel, especially at your own Garden Villa in the exclusive The Level area. We would like to assure you that your comments have been sent to our staff, and it’s in their effort and dedication that we are able to achieve customer satisfaction.

We hope to get another opportunity to give you a new welcome in our hotel Melia Salinas. If you need any information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Vanesa Regueira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#1 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north of the Lanazarote Island, Gran Meliá Salinas, a leading luxury Lanzarote hotel, is in close proximity to the architecturally historical capital of Teguise, as well as Arrecife airport, Jameos del Agua, and Cueva de los Verdes. Guests delight in Costa Teguise's green spaces and placid beaches, as well as the region's superb golf courses, water sports, and marine life activities. Gran Meliá Salinas offers its discriminating guests first class service and unparalleled luxury. Its comprehensive ensemble of top-tier restaurants, accommodations, event facilities, and leisure activities renders Gran Meliá Salinas the only 5-star, deluxe resort on the island of Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.