We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL REVIEW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Salinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Salinas to your Saves list
Melia Salinas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
GreenLeadersBronze level
ROESELARE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HOTEL REVIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came for 3rd time to Melia Salinas Costa Teguise. The previous times we booked in Master Suite. Now we have staid in a private Villa.with garden and swimming pool..
Everything was excellent and the service was impeccable.
We did organize a barbecue in the villa for our friends which was very tasteful and very well prepared by the hotel-staff.
We enjoyed very much our stay in the villa.
Only 1 remark : the water in the swimming pool is not heated and although we had beautiful weather, the water wat too cold to swim in.

Besides this remark, we have no complaints at all.
We recommend this hotel as it is a beautiful and nice hotel, very well positioned and a great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for publishing and sharing your coments about your recent stay in the Hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holidays in one of our Garden Villas. All the staff did an impecable service in order to provide you with an unforgettable barbecue in the Villa.
Once more thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon again in the hotel.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    412
    227
    83
    37
See reviews for
230
911
46
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Melia Salinas in Costa Teguise. We arrived late at night and our first impressions of the hotel from the outside were quite favourable.
The hotel receptionist was extremely helpful, as was the porter who took our luggage up to our room on the second floor. This room was described in the advertising literature I had viewed beforehand, as a 'classic' room. We were extremely disappointed to see how small it was.The bathroom, although clean and well equipped with towels etc was equally as compact and bijoux as was the tiny balcony with its very weary looking wicker chairs so we decided to express our first impressions to the front desk lady who had booked us in. We were shocked to learn this hotel has been open for 35 years no less.

We were offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra £650, but declined due to our belief we had already paid enough for our 1 week's stay on a half board basis.

On the positive side, as the week progressed our little room was cleaned well on a daily basis, toiletries replenished and towels replaced so we had no complaints on that score.

Similarly the wide variety of buffet food was beautifully presented.Fish, meats, etc were cooked to order and the service was excellent. The restaurant staff were all extremely attentive and welcoming.

The salt water pools looked inviting, but understandably in January they were freezing cold so no-one took advantage of them during our stay. The sun beds were in plentiful supply and were extremely comfortable but in the days we were there, although we did see the sun, the weather proved very windy with abundant cloud, so sitting outside for any length of time with no real shelter wasn't too pleasurable.

We resorted to our little sheltered balcony to sunbathe when possible.

The resort at this time of year was quiet. Thankfully we found a nearby bar 'Cactus Jack's' which was well frequented and we thoroughly enjoyed evening's spent there, joining in with the quizzes and karaoke sessions, as well as watching the acts.

Amy Winehouse and Whitney Houston tribute acts were excellent. Both girls could give X Factor winners a run for their money. The drinks prices were also reasonably priced ( cheaper than the hotel !) with happy hours daily on selected wines and spirits.

All in all whilst we did enjoy our week's holiday I feel I have to warn potential visitors to the Salinas not to expect the 5* luxury U.S. hotels afford clients. I personally think a star rating review is called for re this particular hotel, either that or a complete refurbishment of the lower floor rooms and corridors. They are definitely showing their age.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a junior suite. All day refreshments are included in the price, the rooms are far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in providing us with your feedback about your recent holidays in our Hotel Melia Salinas & Garden Villas.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our food and also the Lanzarote island.
About your comments of the room, let me inform you that our hotel is provided with different categories of room with differents sizes and these rooms have another prices.
Once more, thank you for your comments and we remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Best regards,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas. The food was good and the hotel is well positioned. However, the price is very high for what is basically a 4-star hotel. The rooms are supposed to have air-conditioning but it wasn't operational when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for publishing your opinion about your recent stay in our Hotel Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.

We would like to inform you that during the wintermonths we have heating and during the summermonths air conditioning. We do apologize if this may not have been suitable for you.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our food during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we remain at your disposal for anything you may need

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband , myself and a friend stayed two nights at the Melia Salinas. Even if the the hall and the gardens are beautiful, the rooms and bathrooms need a much better maintenance .The hotel was far from being full and we got a 2nd floor room - the last room of the long corridor, No 264. The bathroom marble floor was brown, it looked dirty even if it was probably uncleanable stains such as rust. As refers to the elevators I was choked to notice how dirty the doors and walls were. Cleaning has nothing to do with the star category but is part of the general maintenance of the hotel. However I must say the breakfast buffet was very good especially with fresh fruits and juices.
The huge swimming pool is beautiful but not clean and I would never have taken a swim in it.
We stayed in Fuerteventura for 4 weeks and this was an exploration trip to Lanzarote in order to see were our next stay would bring us and it is definitely not to the MElia Salinas,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in publishing your opinion about your recent stay in Hotel Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.

We really do apologize if we could not meet your expectations during your holidays. Your comments about the cleaning of the common areas as lifts, lobby or the corridors are very important for us, but we also would like to inform you that those areas are always cleaned several times a day.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet and remain at your disposal for anything that you may need.

Yours sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked the Melia Salinas for the two weeks over Xmas and New Year. The brochure stated it was 5 star but given its age it should probably now be rated 4. Apart from that the hotel is very clean, & the rooms are kept spotless. We were staying B&B as we like to investigate local restaurants, but we had the gala dinner on Xmas day at the hotel. The amount of food available and the quality could not be faulted. Similarly the breakfasts deserve 6 stars! The pool areas were kept clean and tidy despite what some other reviews have reported and we never had any delays at the poolside bar & restaurant. Our one criticism was that the rooms are described as having air conditioning. It seems that this means in the winter there is heating and in the summer cooling! When I queried with the reception however I was told that the rooms do NOT have air conditioning! Very confusing! We found the staff very friendly and helpful especially when we tried speaking Spanish with them.
On the whole I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: For best sea views select 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time in publishing your review about your last stay over Christmas and New Year.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food, our pool and the service of our staff.

About the rooms, we would like to inform you that due to climate in winter, the weather may refresh in the evening. For this reason we are offering heating. We of course do understand that it may not be suitable for everybody and we do apologize for the inconvenience you have had.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again, we remain at your disposal
Yours sincerely

Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at the Melia Salinas for the first time this Christmas and New Year. I went with a friend and it was really lovely. The staff were all polite and helpful, food was good and the New Year Gala Night was brilliant. My friend had a birthday while we were there and a bottle of sparkling wine in an ice bucket and a card from staff and management was delivered to her room that afternoon. The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable and sheets changed every other day. Towels which are good quality and fluffy are changed daily, Toiletries are provided in the bathroom and I found them to be very good and they were replaced when needed. I reported a light bulb not working at the reception desk and it was seen to right away. There needs to be a little bit of updating but all together it was a very pleasant stay in this Hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We travelled with Sovereign and were given sea view rooms on the third floor. Views were lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time in order to post your comments on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you have had an enjoyable Christmas and a Happy Birthday in our Hotel.
We hope to have another opportunity to give you a new welcome in Meliá Salinas & Garden Villas.
Yours sincerely,
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Salinas for a week in December. We had been at the hotel before so decided to go back and celebrate our early retirement. When we arrived at the hotel we were told our room was ready and they started the check in process. Towards the end of the check in process the receptionist asked if we were interested in an upgrade to a suite as they had a “very, very special price” for the upgrade at this time. We asked for details of the upgrade and was told that the standard room was 60 euros a night and the suite would be 80 euros per night therefore only 20 euros a night more. I must admit I found this strange as this was not the price I had booked the hotel for but the receptionist kept on saying this is a very,very special price. I asked the receptionist 3 times to explain the upgrade and each time were told the upgrade would cost us 20 euros per night for the 7 nights. We agreed to the upgrade and were asked to sign a form which was for 560 Euros, as the form was in Spanish I asked what I was signing and was told this was the amount we would pay when we left. On the day we checked out we were given our bill and we had been charge 80 euros a day for the upgrade and not 20 as we had originally advised, so a difference of 420 euros. I asked to talk to the manager who i felt was very dismissive, uninterested and rude. When I returned I also sent an official letter of complaint and to-date have not received a response. My husband and I have travelled extensively all over the world and most of the time we have travelled independently and have never been in a situation that our bill was not what we had expected. Melia Salanis is a nice hotel but not sure I would return and would certainly tell people to make sure in future if they sign anything get it translated into English before signing. There was certainly a push to get people to upgrade when we were there as we saw various people being shown round and staff trying to persuade them to upgrade. For us it wasn’t the money it was the principal of being lied to and felt we had been conned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanesa R, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Salinas, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time in writing your impression about your last stay with us.

We really do apologize for the misunderstanding about the information about the price of upgrading to a superior room.

At the moment in time we still did not receive any letter as you are mentioning, but we will be pleased to handle this matter personally with you as soon as possible.

Look forward to welcoming you again in Melia Salinas.

Yours sincerely
Vanesa Regueira Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Salinas

Address: Avda. Islas Canarias s/n, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Salinas 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north of the Lanazarote Island, Gran Meliá Salinas, a leading luxury Lanzarote hotel, is in close proximity to the architecturally historical capital of Teguise, as well as Arrecife airport, Jameos del Agua, and Cueva de los Verdes. Guests delight in Costa Teguise's green spaces and placid beaches, as well as the region's superb golf courses, water sports, and marine life activities. Gran Meliá Salinas offers its discriminating guests first class service and unparalleled luxury. Its comprehensive ensemble of top-tier restaurants, accommodations, event facilities, and leisure activities renders Gran Meliá Salinas the only 5-star, deluxe resort on the island of Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Salinas Hotel Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Costa Teguise
Gran Melia Hotel Salinas
Melia Salinas Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.