We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mastil Restaurante

El Mastil Restaurante
Apartamentos Tahiche, Calle Las Olas, Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
928 34 62 62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 147 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best steaks in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time this year and ended up going there three times during our holiday. The steaks cooked on the stone are great value and very tasty. The menu selection caters for all tastes, the service was excellent. Overall value for money was excellent. I am at a loss why it is so low down in the ratings

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food great - service awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Always visit El Maestro when in Teguise. The food is always great and on this occasion we could not fault it. The men had the steaks which you bake on a hot stone very enjoyable. Unfortunately, there appears to be a change in the waiting staff. The male waiter was more interested in telling jokes than getting the order correct (was given salad instead of vegetables...). He half cleared the plates from the table and left the rest. We were never asked if we enjoyed our meal, There was a long wait for replacement drinks. The waitress seemed new and kept delivering food to the wrong tables. I had to ask three times for French mustard and ended up just going to the servery for the jar myself. This was all rather disappointing and staff like this will drive regular customers who enjoy the food away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was probably the nicest place we ate on our holiday. My husband got a t-bone steak on the stone which was huge and well worth the price compared to what you would pay at home. The staff were lovely and very friendly and excellent with kids. Good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good food, friendly staff, reasonable prices.
Never had a bad experience in the El Mastil. Fillet steak always very good and seafood
for my wife well worth the price.
Leisurely pace of life seems to be order of the day with no rush.
Just go relax and take it easy.
Gerry 186621

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate here on the first night of our holiday. Our tired two year old absolutely loved it. Our waiter, Joseph, was a lovely chap and was really attentive towards our daughter, which she absolutely loved. It put a smile on our faces on the very first night of a great holiday.

The food was top notch too. The menu is varied and you won't fail to find something. The Canarian potatoes and Mojo sauce were the best we tried during our trip too. Superb experience all round!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mastil Restaurante also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Mastil Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mastil Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.