We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Save Saved
You added Luabay Lanzarote Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luabay Lanzarote Beach
Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the luabay for a week from the 21-28 march. On check in which was great quick and friendly was upgraded to a superior room with kitchenette and sofa bed which was huge. I had asked for pool view and low floor due to no lifts which we got and was great. Room was ready and was very clean had everything U needed including kettle fridge and lots of hangers. the only gripe no mirror in bedroom so if one getting ready in bathroom the other had to wait for mirror. We unpacked and set off to explore hotel. We had lunch in the snack bar which was fine and tryed the drinks which was also fine good selection of cocktails and spirits. We then had read bout back gate which lead U on to a row of cafes and English bars which had boards out with entertainment on for evening. Entertainment hit and miss in hotel but depends what U like I suppose. Lovely beach right on doorstep and your usual trinket shops. We went back to hotel had another look around and was pleased with what we had booked. Staff friendly and they work hard esp in restaurant clearing tables etc. We didn't notice a smell in restaurant only when U got out of hotel threw back gate which was nothing really. The hotel is definitely worth a visit. We had a couple of cloudy days but cant blame hotel for that. Well done luabay!!! I wanted to write a review as I work in a hotel myself and know how hard it is to please everyone and people are quick to say negative things but are not so quick to praise. Keep up the hard work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    368
    173
    35
    14
See reviews for
189
571
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We only booked two days before we left and only had chance to have a quick scan of the reviews whilst in the travel agents but looked all ok and to be honest it was fine. The rooms were very modern and clean and we were lucky to be upgraded to a sea view, so had a fab view from our balcony. The staff were really helpful, especially Ines on reception, who checked us both in and out and was lovely. The food was what you would expect from an all inclusive, although the desserts could be improved. The restaurant lets this hotel down, not so much the smell, that has been commented on in previous reviews, which too be in honest I didn't think was too bad, but the positioning, felt more like a works canteen and there is a line of tables that nobody sat at, due to the gale force wind from the air conditioning! Two slight annoyances was there was no mirror in the bedroom, only the bathroom, so you had to wait half an hour for the mirror to clear after a shower before you could do your hair and make up but the one thing that did drive me mad, was although the shower pressure was great, (possibily one of the best in any hotel I have stayed in), the shower tray was so shallow and the drains so slow to clear, unless you stopped the shower every 15-20 seconds to let the water drain away, you ran the risk of flooding the bathroom! Overall, a good hotel for a break by the pool, would recommend.

Room Tip: A sea view room is better in the summer for a cooler room at the end of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Cazee, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our staff and the room you were allocated. Your feedback is very important for us and will help us spot weak points for further improvement. We will therefore forward your comments about the dining room, additional mirrors in the room and the shower flooding to the respective departments. We hope these issues did not spoil your holiday and you enjoyed a great stay at our hotel. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel was brilliant, stayed for 9 days with our friends, booked two standard rooms but was given two big rooms with kitchenettes, which gave us more room.Food was brilliant, lots of fresh food being cooked in front of you by chefs.Different flavored Pizzas cooked in oven and cut for you to take.Lots of choice for every taste and all diets.
Cleaners are non stop cleaning throughout the day.
Staff are brilliant, entertainment staff are fab giving you encouragement to join in all activities throughout the day. Sammy is wonderful and the other girls.
Entertainment every night with good acts.
Hotel is in great location, so you can get to every where from either end of hotel.
There is a back gate through bloc 2 where you can virtually walk straight onto beach and to shops and bars.
We hired car when we booked our holiday, which was very good value £87 for 9 days this was through travel company www.travelrepublic.com and as the island is small it was a great way to travel around and see all resorts and places.
Weather was amazing for time of year.
Be careful if buying electrical equipment, some shops get you in with very cheap items and then show you upgrades in a very clever way, which in the end are not any cheaper than in U.K. So my advice is only visit shops recommended by your hotel or holiday reps, or wait and buy in U.K. remember if its too good to be true it usually is.
All in all fantastic holiday and hotel.

Room Tip: Room with kitchenette is very big which gives you more room to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Kevin, thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad to hear you were satisfied with all parts of our hotel and especially our hard-working staff. It is always great to know our guests feel comfortable and get to enjoy their holidays. We will share your praise with our staff and would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from luabay and the place is spotless,i have never seen harder working cleaners and you can watch them from the pool polishing the life out of the balconies,the staff are extremely nice and helpful good beach,food was fine lovely room,good pool great weather,mid march,don't mess about just go there.

Room Tip: We needed a wheelchair broken ankle prior,u can hire one 60 euros pw,this meant ground floor"ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked a 4 night short break at the last minute via Teletext. Deal came in way above the advertised price but due to the overall reviews i had read decided to book. Arrived at Midday on Monday 18th and the room was ready well ahead of the 1500 booking in time. Bonus start to break. Room 4102N allocated which as already described appears to be the annex type smaller room. Not to bad for 4 nights but would have struggled for a full week. Only real problem with room location was the fact it was ground floor and permanently in the shade. Room itself was very modern and clean.one mirror in the bathroom was a slight problem, wife would have liked to have had an option in the main room as bathroom was steamed up for some tiome after shower and she had to wait to do her hair.TV showed limited english speaking channels and was predominately for the German speaking guests.
Food was decidedly average and a real let down, the previous reviews about the good food was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel above others in Costa Teguise. Always plenty of dishes but very little taste and sometimes hard to distinguish what it actually was. Chefs special salads were a source of entertainment as often unable to tell what was hidden in the lashings of mayo. As other reviewers have stated there are loads of really good restaurants within minutes of the hotel and all at a very good price.
Pool was lovely and never any problems getting a sunbed. The staff were absolutely fantastic and cannot be faulted for their enthusiasm , politeness and total professionalism. Nothing was too much trouble. The first night i asked for two additional bath towels and also mentioned that the modern shower head appeared to be blocked as only half the jets were working and this caused the water to hit the skin like needles. Within 30 minutes maintenance had been and changed the head and two towels were delivered by a cleaner. this at 10pm at night.
Overall an enjoyable break. Hotel excellent in its design and amenities, and only negative was the food. The general area around is lovely with a real feel good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 2 pool facing rooms appear to be best for daily sun on balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, Mark, we are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay and your kind words will be forwarded to our staff members. Your suggestions about our food service are very much appreciated and we hope you visit us again and see the improvements we have made thanks to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a four night stay at Luabay. I cannot sing its praises high enough. We were in room 1312, pool view. Food was fab, room was amazing, entertainment was of a high standard, drinks were free and of good quality! Ther Ewan's nothing that I could not nor did not want to eat. Food was plentiful. There was no smell so don't now what those comments are about. Special mention to Joel and angel. My only "criticism" would be that there is only one mirror in the room and that is in the bathroom, not good when two girls on a mini break and needing to get ready in the evening, this could easily be resolved if the management put a mirror either in one of the wardrobe doors or on a wall. I will definitely be back x

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Is nice to know you enjoyed your stay and your review is very much appreciated. We are glad that our food service found your taste and we will be forwarding your suggestion about mirrors to the corresponding department. We will be glad to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was kept very clean and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. Yes there is a smell of drains as you go down into the restaurant, but this is only noticeable by the door; it certainly didn't detract from the overall eating experience. The food was plentiful and varied. The only slight negative point was the lack of sun loungers, you had to get down to the pool early to get a lounger. Overall a great holiday and would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear you were satisfied with your stay and had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We will be sure to look into your comment about the lack of sun loungers and hope you will not have to be bothered with this issue on your next visit. It would be a great pleasure for our entire team to welcome you at the Luabay Lanzarote Beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luabay Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Lanzarote Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.