We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Lanzarote Beach to your Saves list
Luabay Lanzarote Beach
Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here.The staff are all very friendly,Jose on the reservation desk was very accommodating and helpful.
The rooms are of a high standard and all have balcony area. The hotel is recently refurbished therefore the rooms were modern,clean, light colours used and all everything is new .Flat screen tv,kettle , microwave & kitchen sink ,sofa & armchair.Huge wardrobes and a lovely shower.
Food was good and the smell in the dining area isn't anything to worry about.
Had an excellent Christmas meal. Two theme nights on offer Mexican & Spanish within the all inclusive price was excellent food too.
Negative would be no free WiFi (which would have been useful to stream a movie as limited English channels )and the freezing cold pool. Also the entertainment was poor but better than nothing although this seating area wasn't the most comfortable and a little basic.
The plus side is the hotel location as you have so much on offer within short walking distance. Lots of bars underneath the hotel which look onto the bay do offer free WiFi and reasonably priced drinks & food. The Square one minute walk offers various quality restaurants and local singers.
It was a very relaxing holiday and very reasonably priced.The hotel was nice and quite ie the bar closed at 12am but even when it was open our room was in view of reception and bars but wouldn't have disturbed us. The beach was lovely and the whole resort was very clean and felt safe.We will definitely return. The resort was good for adults which suited our age range, it wasn't full of noisy gangs of youths or parties ,maybe it was the time of year.
We looked at other apartments and hotels in the area and were more than happy with our selection. Around 10- 12 Euro for approx 20 mins airport transfer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without n as a prefix as they are smaller than non n rooms. We had 6208 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    450
    200
    42
    14
See reviews for
234
703
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just spent christmas at the Luabay(23rd-31st)and can not realy fault it.The room was spacious,clean and modern with a large shower room/bathroom.All the staff were polite,friendly and helpful.The food on offer was good quality with plenty of choice,Breakfast was excellent,with almost anything you can think of on offer they even had H.P.sauce!.The only negative regarding the food wes as with all buffet style meals it could have been hotter.The entertainment was varied some nights good, some not so,The African acrobats were amazing,give "dinner for one" a miss.There was plenty of choice of all inclusive drinks which were served in glasses(except around the pool).Hotel is in a great location too right next to the main beach. would definately stay with this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: Pool veiws are good,sea veiws are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from an excellent holiday. We stayed from 22/12/2012 to 02/01/2013 and had a fantastic time. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely receptionist. When we were allocated room no 2206N we asked if we could view the room first as we had read the comments on trip advisor saying that these rooms were very small, however we were pleasantly surprised the room was big enough for us and beautifully clean and we certainly did not think it was worth upgrading for an extra £32 euros per night to get a superior room. We had a problem with the card that opened the door and within 5 mins we had a technician to rectify the problem and ladies if you need more coat hangers just ask. There were only 10 between the two of us and again as soon as I asked for some more, they were brought up tom us within 5 mins.
We found all the staff so friendly and lovely, but a special mention must go to our waitress Elizabeth who looked after us so well during our stay.
Yes there is a slight smell in the restaurant but it certainly did not put us off our food and most of the time we could not smell it anyway. We found the food to be of excellent quality and the gala nights at Christmas and New Year was amazing.
The entertainment could have been a lot better, there was only a quiz on both Saturdays but some of it was OK and the Starman show was brilliant. We used to stay and watch the shows most nights but we always went out afterwards. There are loads of bars within 2 mins of the hotel and most have entertainment which we found was great. Our favourite bar was the Waterfront which is just out the back door and turn right and go round the corner. They have acts on every night which include Elvis and Neil Diamond Tributes both were fab. On New Years Eve we went to the Inn Place and saw the Jaegar Brothers they were fantastic and I would certainly recommend that you see them if you can.
The locality of this hotel could not be any better and with the beautiful rooms and friendliness of this hotel I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we would definatley return. DO NOT let the bad reviews about the smell put you off

Room Tip: Block 2 got the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

just returned from our stay here 19th Dec to 26th Dec and we loved it. Rooms are excellent and very clean. Staff are amazing, very polite and friendly and helpful. Location is excellent.
Entertainment is very poor in my opinion, it would be better to have quality entertainment a few nights a week rather than poor entertainment every night. I loved the orange chairs, very comfortable.
A heated pool would have been great.
Yes, the smell in the dinig room is there but we knew about it before we went and it didnt bother us at all, you honestly dont notice it once you get seated. The food is great quality and plenty of choice.
Definitely going back next year, cant wait

Room Tip: blocks 1 2 and 3 are best for getting the sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Marion, thank you very much for your review and your kind words for our staff. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday. Your feedback about the entertainment at night will be forwarded to the responsible department and taken into account. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to lanzarote on the 18th December for one week to the luabay. Me and my partner don't really do all inclusive as we like freedom so it's our first time, the hotel is so modern inside looks very swanky reception checked us in and upgraded us to a superior pool view room, what a lovely room lots of space flat screen tv, the shower was amazing like a wet room was cleaned every day, drinks were good lots of choice in the day and lots of cocktails, breakfast was abit naff very German frankfurters and stuff but I'm not a breakfast person we only eat 3 meals in hotel one was Spanish night which was excellent, it's was Mostly fish though, and we had Mexican night lovely nachos, you have to book this at reception, and one night we just went to the restaurant, Did get the occasional wiff but nothing to get worried about, lots of choice of food for lunch and dinner, the resort is excellent far too much to eat and drink out of the hotel for us to make the most of it lots of lovely bars *snug bar in the square was our fave, weather was fantastic and we took at day trip to Carmen it was 28 euros each way in taxi nice for a change of scenery, this hotel is like 10 mins away from airport which was great!!
Would go to the resort again 100% but self catering not because of the hotel cause it was fantastic!!! Just not for us!!
Also the pool is FREEZING!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Merseyside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from the Luabay having spent 24th until 31st December there. Great location only seconds from the lovely beach and plenty of bars and Restaurants. All inclusive was good with plenty of choice. Great room, very comfortable with huge balcony overlooking the pool. A few things we thought could be improved upon though. Why is there no tea or coffee making facilities in the room? The tea available was shocking, a jug of cold milk should be provided alongside the machines instead of using hot, yuk!. Did not like the entertainment or the room it was in. I felt like we were sitting in Ikea with the plastic orange chairs. The lovely space downstairs could be better utilised, maybe more chairs and tables. It did seem like a waste of space. Also the pool bar area could be open of an evening for anyone who wanted a quiet drink. Some Hotels heat the pool in the cooler months and this would have been great as the water was very cold and therefore we didn't have a swim. Comments we read prior to our visit regarding the smell in the Restaurant were true but it did not spoil our eating there. The Hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. All in all we did enjoy our stay and will return to Costa Teguise.

Room Tip: Pool view room was great and although a sea view was preferable it was quite windy right on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and are glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our staff. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will help us improve in the future. We will therefore pass your comments about the entertainment and the seating, opening hours of the pool bar and the temperature of the pools to the responsible departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again and present you an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from our stay here 25th to 30th December, we thought the hotel was beautiful and the food was as good as any other hotels we have stayed at in other countries. Weather was good although a little windy some days. Would definitely stay here again, good location, good pool area and an all round lovely holiday.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Lanzarote Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.