We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Lanzarote Beach to your Saves list
Luabay Lanzarote Beach
Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is only a 3 star but the staff are 5 star they are the nicest staff i have ever seen at a hotel and they are what makes this hotel a good choice. The rooms are a good size with walk in shower, the complex is a lot smaller than it looks in the pictures and the negative is the restaurant due to its location which is like going down into the basement and the tables are all very close together and it feels really cramped, but it is very reasonable to eat out so during our 10 night stay we ate out 4 times so be prepared to do this and you will have a great time. The safe is 2.1euros per day and the pool towels are a deposit of 15 euros each for the duration of your stay, internet cost us 20 euros for 3 days but most of the local bars have free wifi. The hotel is located right in the centre so if you go out the front entrance you are in the square and if you go out the back you walk along past the bars and the beach. When you check in at the hotel be sure to book for the spanish and mexican night which you can do once a week, this is a set menu with table service and it is in the pool bar so another 2 nights you will not have to suffer the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words for our staff and are proud that they made your holiday special. Your feedback about the restaurant is being passed on to the responsible persons and will give them a chance to discuss ways of improvements. We would be very delighted to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    446
    200
    42
    14
See reviews for
234
697
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel itself was clean and rooms were serviced every day, although the "mini bar" in the bedrooms left a lot to be desired...... not a lot of variety......." a bottle of water" replaced every day though!! There was a safe in the room but a charge to use it.
We had one cockroach in the bathroom one morning, but that could have been down to me leaving the bathroom window open.
As to the rest of the hotel.... Pool area was clean but the beds were way too close together,
The restaurant was down an iron staircase into the basement, and the first thing to hit you was the most horrible smell, like sewers. Really bad.... I hated going there. The only pleasant thing about it was the waitress called Elizabeth, she was always smiling and greeting everyone.
The pool bar did good food at lunchtimes so we ate there in the afternoons. Although a cockroach ran over my foot one day yuuuuuukkkkkkkk!!!!!
All inclusive, I don't think so, If you like a cocktail in the evening, forget it, they won't serve them unless you pay, You can have two drinks in the glass but no more, The first night I ordered vodka, peachsnapps, grenadine, and pineapple juice, I got a disgusted sort of look from the waiter and he told me "you can only get two drinks in a glass" so I said "then give me a vodka and pineapple juice and give me peachsnapps and grenidine" he gave me them with no pineapple juice. When I asked for it He said "Madame, you have enough drinks, I am serving someone else. He was quite rude. The entertainment started at 9.30pm and finished at 10.30pm.
So all in all, I wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely holiday despite the negative points you are mentioning. The smell in the restaurant does not result from within our hotel but we are doing the best that we can to get rid of it and have a lot of positive feedback so far. We apologize for the inconvenience you had at our bar and that you were not satisfied with our all-inclusive program. Your feedback is much appreciated and will help us for the future. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel and have a chance to convince you of our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we visited luabay 10/10/12 and first impressions were great,the hotel is spotless rooms are large with loads of cupboard space.it was just the dining room which is down a set of steps,i,ve hnever none one to be below the hotel.its the smell that hits you,we asked a waiter who said he could,nt smell anything so i asked another who said it was when the tide changes it brings sewerage up into the kitchen.our party of nine refused to eat there,we complained and had to eat out bfast and evening meal for the whole week.they wanted us to move 30mins away out of the centre and we refused,currently have a claim in with thomas cook,they,ve know about the problem for sometime but fail to tell you before you book beware,would you take your wife for a meal in a toilet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear John, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you liked out hotel in general and hope that you had a good holiday despite your complaint. The waiter you talked to already gave you the information but we would like to repeat again that the smell in the dining area does not come from within the hotel. We are trying our very best to get rid of it and to keep it from coming in. From other visitors we had the feedback that the smell is getting notably less and that it is completely gone in most areas of the restaurant. However, please accept our apologies, if this was an issue for you. We hope that the rest of the hotel convinced you enough to visit us again once the smell is completely gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from 7 nights - Hotel extremely clean/ staff so friendly/ plenty to eat and drink. We upgraded our room which was lovely. People love to moan about the smallest thing - there was the slightest smell by the restaurant but nothing like people had written about. anybody that goes all inclusive must be aware that after a few days the food does get slightly repetitive but there is an amazing Chinese buffet just over the road if you fancy a change. Only slight criticism is the bar area is not very comfortable/friendly but guess they don't want to encourage people to get settled and drink too much.

Room Tip: Suggest you upgrade to a bigger room - we found Block 1 perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went to this hotel in September and was not dissapointed the hotel was fab, great rooms, big swimming pool plenty of sun beds,And I have never done All Inclusive before and I was glad that I did it was really good value for money. The only fault I found was the entertainment was not on long enough. I would definately recommend anyone to try it. I would go back again. Personally the hotel and place I would give a 4* Plus. The staff was really friendly and made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor great for access to the swimming pooland also some have sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Luabay Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Rita, thank you for your review and your kind words for our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and had a great time. Your feedback about the entertainment hours is very much appreciated and we will pass this on to the responsible department and suggest a change. It would be great to see you again soon in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Only been a week and I want to go back already!

Lovely hotel, very clean, plenty of sunbeds staff friendly and helpful. We went all inclusive lots to choose from although towards the end of the week can feel a bit repetitive, at times the food could have been a bit warmer I did mention this once and they warmed it up for me. Two special theme evenings a Spanish Night and a Mexican evening the staff wait on you, and you have several courses the food was fantastic!
Entertainment was provided each evening but only lasted an hour. However hotel is close to plenty of restaurants and bars so no problem.
Rooms either face the sea (lovely view) but more breezy or pool view which get the sun more.
Worth upgrading for a larger room which includes a hob, fridge and microwave and kettle and sofa. all rooms have a flat screen tv and air conditioning.
Two negatives were that we got the wrong room for the first two days of our holiday but this was the fault of our travel agents not the hotel and also as mentioned in previous posts a slight smell near and in the dining room on a couple of occassions but not too troublesome.

Would definitely go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms either face the sea (lovely view) but more breezy or pool view which get the sun more. Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrewshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed here from 11th - 18th October 2012 our room was 2222n beautful view of sea and beach . After reading the many reviews here i was not looking forward to my visit but as a diabetic i did have plenty of choices to make yes i have never been offered sprouts for breakfast that was certainly a first.

SMELL ok only one day out of the seven was the smell bad enough to move me from usual table to another table yes its there but no where as bad as other reviewers have said perhaps the management are getting on top of problem.

STAFF they are wonderful helpful and polite very attentive

Bedroom Our room was ok for our needs cleaned daily to an order we went two days without clean towels.
We on tuesday of our week we came home to a a visitaion of ants called down to reception who sent a maid who left us with can of ant spray now folks it was not a few ants it was 1000 of them maid said somthing to do with tempture??? if as bad morrow move room that sadly did not happen in fact nothing happend .

Entertainment. Now what we saw was hit and miss the birds of pray show was fantastic, The songs form the shows again was outstanding as was the songs of swing and the lad who did the brat pack,there was others but the whole entertainment was fair.

Food ok where to start i think i can safely say you will not go hungry. There was only one day out of my seven i could not get anything to eat this would be the day smell was bad and i was heading out on a trip had to be at meeting point for 8.30 but resturant did not open till 8am. Breakfast has cooked eggs ham tomatoes mushrooms they have plenty of continenal stuff yes many not up to my liking but sprouts with breakfast.


Lunch Plenty of choice sandwich ice cream fruit limitless juice fresh cooked meat chicken and fish salads

Evening meal Plenty of choice i did hear afew complaints but really folks its what you make of it and if its not for you leave it . seating uncomfortable

Furniture in the upstairs bar is UNCOMFORTABLE to say least, Pool bar is certainly far from comfie.

I would personally say this not a hotel that caters well for children but entertainment staff do try

Close by the hotel is a pub called Bulldog pub and they have a drag act @10.30pm its a must mine host mike with his i think witty humour .

Room Tip: Try to get a room without the N as they are bigger my room 2222N had the most fantastic view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Lanzarote Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.