We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation, very poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luabay Lanzarote Beach to your Saves list
Luabay Lanzarote Beach
Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Costa Teguise
bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodation, very poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week AI at the Luabay and I have to say I was overall quite disappointed with the hotel. In terms of the cleanliness and newness of the rooms and pool you cannot complain. This is obviously because it is newly refurbished and they have done a good job. We were confused as to why they bothered to put kitchenettes in the rooms and not provide a single pot/pan/cutlery etc. There wasn't even tea/coffee facilities. On the plus there was a generous fridge so you could keep bottles of water etc nice and cool. We had booked a standard room and upgraded on arrival to a sea view. We got room 2122 which was an adjoining room but we appeared to have no neighbours so this was fine. The view was fabulous over the beach 'Cucharas' but unfortunately for us the weather was poor and it was so windy we could never use the balcony. Also it does seem that most, if not all the sea view rooms will only have limited sun in the mornings and shade all afernoon, purely because they face east. The room was kept beautifully clean and there was a few little pots of toiletries etc (shampoo, soap, comb, shower cap, tissues, shoe shine and sewing kit). Shower gel provided in the shower too.
It was a little hard to get information without going to reception. For example we wanted to use the safe. It wouldn't work. Turns out you have to pay 2euros a day for this facility. The info sheet they give you on arrival just says you should use the safe, not that you have to pay for it. Also says that wifi is available, again missing that it is chargeable. I do not mind to pay for these things but it would be nice to have all the information to hand so that you are fully informed.
Location wise the hotel is perfect. You can exit straight onto the promenade where there are bars and restaurants or exit through the main entrance onto the 'high street' where there are a few shops and more bars and restaurants. Unfortunately due to the recession a lot of the bars are shut, though this seems to be a theme throughout the island not just Costa Teguise.
Food at the hotel was pretty much inedible. We ate there on our first evening and found it all luke warm and not labelled. There was also an awful smell of sewerage in the restaurant. There appeared to be a leak on the ceiling that was 'concealed' by the staff pinning a white sheet up! The restaurant was in the basement and hence had no windows and was like eating in a school canteen. Its decor left a lot to be desired - just white paint and cheap plasticy type tables/chairs. The only edible meal was breakfast, and that was only because there was toast and croissants which we grabbed and ate upstairs due to the smell. We found that with the evening meal you could not get a hot drink because they turned off the vending machine. So only wine, beer and fruit juice were available in the restaurant.
As for drinks, the pool bar had red and white wine on tap and beer too, hot drinks and a variety of fruit juices and slushies. This shut at 6 and after then you had to go to the bar or restaurant to get drinks. The bar is above reception and this is where the entertainment was. We never went as is sounded so bad as we walked through that we didn't bother. It was a shame that if you wanted a cup of coffee after your meal you had to trek to the bar to fetch it.
This hotel would be better stayed at on a SC or BB basis as in terms of facilities it is good and location wise is excellent. But sadly as at the moment it seems you have to go AI we paid for food and drinks that we never consumed and as a result feel somewhat ripped off!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    446
    200
    42
    14
See reviews for
234
698
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend the last week in May. We had read some reviews on here, and were a little bit weary. There was no sewage smell in the hotel while we were there, just a slight smell on the seafront one evening. We loved Costa Teguise, there was everything you could need for evening entertainment. We hired a car to see the rest of the Island for two days, as otherwise it could get quite boring just visiting the beach or sitting round the pool. One trip was Puerto Del Carmen, where we only stayed 30 mins as the sewage smell was so awful there.
Luabay had friendly staff, was very clean with an abundance of sun loungers. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner, and even lunch considering it was a much smaller space than the main restaurant. They have roller blinds so no birds went near the food while we were there. We didn't find the entertainment to our taste so left the hotel after dinner for some drinks by the seafront. This place will be even better once the mexican restaurant and pub is open. I've even looked up the prices for a long weekend to go and see what it's like.
Overall, people that are complaining on here I feel are either nit-picking, or finding minor faults as everything else is so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We got home from luabay lanzarote beach last night, and we had a fantastic time.

So everyone understand what type of holiday maker we are I will let you know a bit about us. We are a 31yr old couple with a 14 month old little boy. We have travelled a reasonable amount across the world, and I would say we are particular in where we stay, has to have white bedding , nice food and be modern and fresh! We use trip advisor ourselves for reviews to help us decide if hotels are worth spending our hard earned money on. My thoughts are you only prob holiday 2 - 6 weeks of the year so that trip has to be the best for the money your spending as you can get. So now for the review ......

We paid £995 for 10nts - inic flights and transfers and we genuinely were thrilled with the hotel.

We arrived at 12.30 noon and our room was ready for us and was asked if we would like help with our cases, we said we would be fine but thank you anyway. We found our room easy from the little map given to us. 1st impressions were a modern and contemporary reception. Immaculate grounds and beautiful bedroom. We had a standard size room and we were given a seaview , which was lovely with a child safe balcony which was completely enclosed. Great white bed sheets, Brand new travel cot with lovely bed linen. Ultra moden bathroom with POWER shower being no exaggeration.
We then had a little walk around and decided to head to the pool bar, which has had some roller blind dividers recently fitted to stop the little birds trying to get to the food. The food was similar most days but the choice was vast so you could choose if you wanted to eat the same everyday or vary it. All food and drink is self serve apart from spirits which someone will serve you. Amstel , red wine (one tap was nice the other bitter) and white wine - which I did not sample. There was also 4 different flavors of slush puppies, and branded soft drinks coke a cola, fanta, sprite etc. There is a Nestle hot drinks machine which served nice coffees hot chocs etc.
Below is roughly how we saw the food availability
Breakfast - 7 - 10 in the restaurant
Lazy breakfast 10 - 12 pool bar
Lunch - 12 - 2.30 - full lunch menu lots to choose from. Pool bar
Snacks 2.30 - 6pm - pastries - fresh to order burgers , chips, small pizza bites sandwiches icecreams etc .. Pool bar
Dinner 7pm - 10pm restaurant

The food was good, pleanty to choose from, fresh and hot. One night I was pasta and the one out looked slightly dry so I asked if I could have a fresh portion please, again no problem. - Great service ! I just think you have to remember you are at a self service all inclusive hotel, there is always something to eat, yes most things are repeated but the choice is so vast you can vary what you eat. So from us no compliants there . I just think if its home cooked meals you are after then go self catering and eat out ... rather than be unhappy when your not getting fillet steak with chunky chips and onion rings or a full roast dinner , at the end of the day you get exactly what you would expect from a buffet style all inclusive... good food lots of choice!

During our stay gentleman were being turned way in the evening if they had shorts on, they are trying to keep a smart look at evening, however I think this is sometimes a little naughty when you have some men looking really smart in dhorts but cannot eat until they wear trousers but football shirts jeans and trainers are allowed. In general most men looked really smart.

WOW the staff are ultra friendly amazing with our little boy who was enjoying all the attention. We were overwhelmed with how understanding the waiting staff were with our little monster . The cleaning staff worked really hard, still cleaning at 10pm at night walk ways etc. In terms of cleanliness it was brilliant !

Always pleanty of sunloungers and direct access to the beach from the hotel with your room key swipe, this is not very well sign posted so ask where to go, we walked around the front only 10 min walk for the 1st 3 days until we were told by some people.

Entertainment we cannot really comment on as we usually had dinner then went for a walk and came back for drinnks later. I heard mixed reviews I think some nights were better than others.

When we were there , there was no kids club, or other restuarants open I believe these are coming in future months, this did not worry us but some guests were dissapointed as the brochures from tour operators stated different .

Costa teguise its self could do with a bit of money spending on it, slightly tired in places.

Top tips -
Visit the beach infront of the occidental hotel- little bay perfect aqua water
The main beach infront of hotel- walk the full length to the very end past the selina melias hotel I think it was called very quiet and perfect again for relaxing.
If you have children walk along the front past the occidental and you will come across a brand new play park, we went there twice a day with our little boy he loved it.


Bits that could be slightly improved

Food labels - so you dont have to keep asking what this please?
Blinds in bathrooms
Wardrobe light as once the doors are open in standard rooms it is pretty dark
Sign on front of hotel - needs to be put up as its nameless at the minute

but nothing that will ruin your holiday.

All in all after a feeling nervous about the reviews We had a great time in great surroundings. I am not saying there was not problems previously as I spke to the manager when we got there who said he was relieved that the smell issue had been resolved and it was pipes infront of the hotel near the sea that had caused the problems but these has been repaired about 2 weeks prior to our visit, so NO SMELL you will be pleased to hear !

Enjoy your holiday xxxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Just spent long weekend here and cannot fault anything
Food was excellent
Hotel was spotless
Rooms were immaculate

I was here years ago when it was the Puerto Tahiche and the difference is night and day

Cannot understand any previous comments about food or service there are lots to choose from and it was always hot and very fresh

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We travelled to Luabay Lanzarote Beach in April, weather was sunny with a breeze but warm enough to sunbathe, the evenings were cool so light cardigan etc were needed. We had flew with Jet2, which I reccommend for the excellent flight times, service is always very good, flights prices are always cheaper than Thomson and Thomas Cook and your luggage allowance is 22kg and 10kg hand luggage per person so when only going for a week we only need to pay for one suitcase, still works out cheaper than other companies. We had booked a transfer with resort hoppa, had no problems with this company, handed over our paperwork at the desk in airport then shown to minibus, waited 5 minutes then headed off and we were frist dopped off, only another group of 3 people on minibus.

On arriving at Luabay there was no signage up with the Hotel name on. We immediately entered the reception area and were checked in. Then we were shown where to go to find our own room, this was not what I had expected thought there may have been a service provided where your luggage is delivered to your room, so we had to pull our luggage all the way through the pool area and pool cafe, no other way to go to get to any rooms and this goes on throughout the day holiday makers coming and going, not ideal.

After carrying our luggage up 3 flights of stairs,( no lift on our block ) we entered our room which was pool facing, block 3. Room was small but everything was brand new so all looked nice. The sun was always on our balcony on an afternoon/ evening so that was nice when we returned to our room each day. We took our own kettle as I had e-mailed the hotel to ask a few questions and one was to find out if there were kettles in the rooms which they are not. There is a fridge in the room, the hairdryer is the bathroom which is attached to the wall, this is also where the only mirror exists. Walk in shower, always plenty of hot water, there is however a window in the bathroom, didn't affect us as we were on top floor and very little traffic walked past our window but as we made our way several times a day up and down the stairs you can see through these windows, enough to make out what people are doing in their bathroom alot of people had towels up at their window. The hotel told us that this was a problem which had to be rectified in due course.

The breakfasts were good, always plenty to choose from, got tired of the tinned fruit which was out every meal time. Lunch and Dinner in the restaurant was ok, there was something there to eat. Nothing was labelled so apart from the obvious it was all guess work what you ate. Grilled meats, fish, pasta, veg and salads was more or less the same each day. The restaurant did have a smell as you first entered via the tin stairs, people were still sitting here but the further you went in it tended to disappear. The restaurant is in the basement it has no outlook, windows or personality to it. I always look forward to spending time eating my evening meal in a nice restaurant on holiday, spending time enjoying a bottle of wine but this was not the place to do that, you just ate and left.

The pool bar area was ok plenty to drink. The food at lunch time around the pool was not to my taste, burgers,chips dried up pizza, etc this food could be there for a considerable length of time and not covered up.

The pool was nice I did swim in it and yes it was icey cold when I first got in but you do get used to it remember I was there in April.

Staff were all friendly and polite. When we travelled we got a good deal as the hotel was offering discounts as it had just re- opened on 1st April had we paid full price for this hotel I would have been disappointed but we hadn't so we were ok about this and we were only there for a weeks break before our summer holiday. There is plenty of bars and restaurants outside the hotel which are reasonably priced, the promenade is quite nice. there are a few walks which are reccommended, beach is also nice.

Luabay will have to work hard to keep their 4 stars as when we were there everything was new but in those short weeks you were able to spot where furniture was starting to get grubby looking especially round the pool bar area as the table and chairs are white. Our shower head was starting to rust, just small things like that all add up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

just arrived back from a weeks stay in the hotel.first impressions very smart hotel and friendly staff also very clean.food leaves a lot to be desired caters more for the continentals not clearly marked and there could be far more choice.also entertainment at night very average.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfriesshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Arrived at quarter past two to be told our room wasn't ready but would be half an hour. We were given our wrist bands and shown to the pool snack area where we had lunch. We went back to the desk over an hour later to be told it still wasn't ready. After phone calls and staff being dispatched to check rooms we were given our keys. I was beginning to think there had been a mix up and we weren't booked in! The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean and new.I was disappointed there was no mirror in the main bedroom. The bathroom had a decent hairdryer which was good as I had forgotten mine!
We had read on Trip Advisor beforehand that there was a smell of sewage round the restaurant area. We did smell this during the holiday periodically and on one occassion we did smell it in our room via the airconditioning system but work was going on while we were there and hopefully that problem has been rectified.
The food was OK. It was a bit repetitive. The food in the snack bar area needs to be fully covered in my opinion as birds were helping themselves from time to time. The bar and restaurant staff were very good at clearing tables quickly and wiping them down.
Work was still going on at the hotel at the finishing touches, which when done I think will make this hotel will be a comfortable place to stay. A trip to the volcanoes is a must.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luabay Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luabay Lanzarote Beach

Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luabay Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luabay Lanzarote Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.