We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Bonita

Isla Bonita
Avenida Del Mar | Playa Bastian, Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 140 restaurants in Costa Teguise
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have visited this restaurant several times over the many years we've been going to Lanzarote. Kept going back thinking we were picking an off night as some reviews were glowing! However, no more! Staff generally grumpy and favouring Spanish and local diners to a degree that was almost insulting to us. Food has always been at best ok and overpriced. Certainly not welcoming to children, unlike most of the restaurants on the island. Really can't recommend it. If you want a typical Spanish, slightly upmarket restaurant, try La Jordana. It's just round the corner from Isla Bonita but a million miles away in quality and friendliness!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    40
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants with local foos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Amazing food and service. It's a bit pricey but if you want to escape from burgers and chips this place is a must. I would definitely go back there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OKish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Not sure whether we just picked the wrong things on the menu (mixed fish and mixed grilled meat) but I was disappointed with the mix of meat (included a rasher of bacon) and the cooking of the fish (grilled and included a kipper out of a packet-it didn't have a head and tail on like the other two)
The children's portions were too small for our human dustbins (8 and 9)-a frozen burger each (cooked fine) and a few chips
Could be writing a totally different review though if we had all decided to order Italian
The waiters were friendly, service was prompt enough, prices fine and atmosphere felt authentic (although I never feel that comfortable mixing my children and white table linen)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly Spainish Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate at Isla Bonita twice in early March, the food was quite basic which I enjoyed more than my wife did. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere good with local people eating there as well as the tourists.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definetly one to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

They specialise in using local foods which gives you the chance to try and enjoy. Waiters were very attentive and willing to give advice on the local delicacies

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Bonita also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Isla Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.