We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday yet many disappointments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Stella Jandia

Save Saved
You added Villa Stella Jandia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Stella Jandia
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida El Saladar 23, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Playa de Jandia
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great holiday yet many disappointments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After reading reviews I had started the holiday without any big expectations. Me and my boyfriends and 2 girls age 15 and 10 arrived at 10.30pm so too late for any food, the restaurant closes at 9.30pm. We had booked a villa and weren't too sure what it would be like as it wasn't very clear when booking initiallly. We were transported to what looked like an apartment block and when we checked the map, thats exaclty what they had put us in. We were not too pleased, but reception staff were quick to help and sent us to the other reception who kindly offered us a villa, but as it was so dark it was hard to tell if it was suitable. We declined as the bed sheets were filthy and there was a spiral staircase on the OUTSIDE of the building leading to the bedrooms and bathroom, very bizarre and pretty dangerous for young kids. I won't bore you with the rest of our experience, but will try to describe the hotel and facilities. Be careful when booking as there are 2 different kinds of villas, apartments and 2 different hotels within the complex. I wouldn't say any were better than any other although I didn't view the hotels but some of the people we met had also had problems with accomodation on arrival and were put in the hotels, they said they were much better rooms.

The food was below average, at first we thought it was good, but it ended up being the same things every meal time, lunch and dinner - meat, fish, plain pasta, chips. Plenty of salad (uncooked pasta) and desserts. You can help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks in the restaurant.

Entertainment - there is a show every night, the staff are lovley and do their best to entertain, the shows we seen were the weirdest Ive seen and probably rated over 16, at one point a girl does a very provocotive pole dance all over one of the animation team!!! Every night was fun but the all inclusive stops at 11pm and therefore the lights and music get switched off too! There is activities all day too

Location - Excellent location, 2 min walk to the beach, restaurants and shops on the doorstep. There are some fab clubs 2 mins walk to the right as you leave the hotel, they even let our kids in on New Years Eve!!! A further 20 mins walk takes you to the most beautiful part of the beach with gorgeous restaurants and bars very well priced and right on the waters edge. We enjoyed watching a beautiful sunset from there.

Pools - 6 in total, one with a snack bar which was awful, burgers and chips one day, hotdogs and chips the next, pretty gross to be honest. But you can help yourself to beer, wine and softdrinks here too, also ice cream. The pools were way to cold to get in, there were complaints as the heated pool was switched off!! Everywhere seemed to be cleaned well tho.

Rooms - The apartment was spacious and clean, but very basic. We eventually moved to our Villa which wasn't much better, cold and dark, but we had our own private garden, 2 bathrooms and 2 big bedrooms, massive living area and dining area with kitchenette. We didn't get a towel change in the whole week we were there which disgusted me!!! The maid came in once but all she seemed to do was take the bins out and make the bed, not even change the sheets!!

Other facilities - There is a little train that runs from one end of the complex to the other daily. There is a zoo on site too which you can visit at a reduced rate for hotel guests. I would recommed only going when the show is on at 11am, fantastic show, the 2 guys that run it are hilarious. Be aware tho, if you are afraid of birds or snakes they just put them right on top of you, funny tho! The rest of the zoo isnt' that interesting.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they made our holiday along with the other english guests we met.

Room Tip: I think I would recommend getting a room in the hotel, everywhere else is a bit run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    20
    15
    10
See reviews for
22
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just had a very pleasant week here. It is a big resort with several hotels on it, make sure you stay in Stella Jandia hotel as the views are over the sea front and the hotel is nearer the reception. Room spacious, good shower, cleaned regularly, although not spotless. Comfy bed, no air con though so I can imagine the room gets very stuffy! Went half board but was offered all inclusive for €10 a day. Food was adequate, never struggled to find something tasty, wide selection of food at both the breakfast and dinner buffets, and the chefs also cook additional dishes in front of you.
It's a trek up many steps to the hotel from reception and a 5 minute walk to dinner in a nearby hotel, so not for the less fit or disabled. The lift was not working either, however I enjoyed the exercise and the walk through the pleasant grounds.
The hotel pool was great with an amazing view, and no kids so the poolside bliss was unimaginable.
Mostly German clientele so there is no yob element, and pleasant, respectful people made for a very quiet stay there.
The resort is huge, you need an hour or so to walk round it and find your way. There is also a zoo in there, which guests can visit for €3.50, and you get a ticket valid for all week. They put on daily shows.
The staff were really pleasant, always helpful and polite. I went to a show one night and really enjoyed it, the entertainment seemed pretty good.
I couldn't work out the half board set up for a couple of days but you go to the dinner room, show your room ticket and they give you a receipt and any drinks you have go on that, and you pay for them when you leave the restaurant. I would stay again for sure, I thought it was a nice hotel, relaxing & pleasant, some of the other buildings on the resort could have done with a lick of paint but the main hotel was ok, although cat mess in the corridors some days put me off a bit.
Jandia resort itself is lovely. There is a saltwater marsh nature reserve in between the hotel and the beach. If you like birds, take binoculars as there are egrets, ibises, waders and birds of prey around. The beaches are superb, and mixed naturist and clothed all the way along. You can walk to Morro del Jable along the promenade one way and to Esquinzo on the beach the other way. Take a look at the pics and make your own minds up. The most relaxing break I had all year and spent very little for it!

Room Tip: make sure you book a sea view, that way you will guarantee staying at Stella Jandia hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Returned on Tuesday 25th Sept from a 2 week holiday, just 2 adults no kids, at this resort which is vast, too vast! Booked a one bed villa got a two bed apartment, which was acceptable as we were half board, would not have been ok had we been self catering very minimal equipment not even a kettle, the villa's are derelict and have not been occupied for at least 2 years possibly more. The whole complex which incorporates, Stella Paradise, Dunas Apartments/Villas and a few others, is very tired, grounds not very well maintained, one whole block of the HOTEL was derelict and looked like it was ready for demolition. Food edible but extremely samey and boring, nothing to get the mouth watering. Would not recommend any of this complex to any one who is not extremely fit, who is elderly or infirm, lots of hills to get up and down with no choice as the buffet restaurant is at the top of a steep hill, there is a restaurant behind reception but it is closed and once again in a very bad state of repair. Entertainment very poor, if you remember Butlins and the Red Coats well they would have been better that what was on offer. Would not return or recommend this family of accommodation to any one. VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Enjoyed two really good weeks in Jandia. The apartment we stayed in was clean & comfy, but in need of updating decor- wise. Some of the sheets and towels supplied had seen better days and had small tears and old stains present on the sheets & pillow cases. Room service was a bit 'Hit & Miss' and the towels were not always replaced. The food in the Hotel restaurant was good if a bit repetitive and some of the food served at breakfast was possibly made up of leftovers from the previous evening. All the six pools on site are clean & well maintained The apartment we stayed in developed an electrical fault towards the end of our holiday with the electric regularly tripping the main fuse switch. According to maintenance this was due to a faulty air conditioning unit. This was soon fixed within an hour of being reported, however the same problem happened the next day & we were told the whole air conditioning unit would have to be replaced. It wasn't replaced, but we were given the opportunity to move to another room. But this was on the second to last day of our stay, so we decided it wasn't worth the effort of relocating. The beach is a few minutes walk from the apartments & is kept really clean & tidy. Be aware that certain parts of the beach are regularly used by Naturists who appear to enjoy wandering 'Au Naturel' The majority of the holiday makers are from Germany, with most of the locals speaking German as their second language. The only facility to change sterling into Euro is at the local bank which incurs quite a high commission. The hotels do not offer money exchange.
The resort of Jandia is clean & well maintained, with enough bars & restaurants, whilst remaining low key.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just returned from family holiday with 2 boys aged 13 & 15. Thoroughly enjoyed the week overall. Villas are dated and smelly but for the money overall ok. No aircon though and beds are like cement but you get what you pay for! They are roomy and back onto Palm trees with a feeling of being totally chilled out. Peacocks with babies roam around freely and were often on our patio - they are beautiful and tame and thoroughly made our holiday. The on site zoo is also good - show at 11am.
6 pools on site to choose from and a great beach over the road meant boys never got bored. Evening entertainment is by same entertainment team every night starting at 9.45 and finishing at 11pm. They are funny and work hard - really couldn't fault them.
There was only us and one other English family in the whole hotel - the rest were German.
Overall I did enjoy my time there. The resort as a whole needs a bit of attention appearance wise but it was clean. I would go back definitely if I wanted another 3 star holiday - food ok, staff nothing special but location great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having just returned from a week vacation to this destination, it almost felt like the hotel was being decommisioned. This is the list of what wasn't working: air con, small traim, lift, air con in gym, pool filter. The service man / technician wasn't even able to change a bottle of gas in the bar, and my partner saved the day by doing so. Aircon had been out of service for weeks, rumour has it, maybe all season. The food was very basic, and the same each day, hardly any variation. Maybe choose bed and breakfast which was reasonable. The hotel is nice, but without the facilities and services in place, it depreciates massively. And according to returning customers, it has declined a lot since last year. People were sleeping on the balcony to be cool and get some sleep!

Room Tip: If yo can't sleep in the warmth, don't go here til the air con is fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good break weather lovely, pool very clean, sheets and towels a lot to be desired, cheap Accomodation if that's what you want, generally decor a bit tired, but clean. Suited our needs, not sure if I would go back to this villa, loved fuerterventura might be worth spending bit more for Slightly better Accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Stella Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Stella Jandia

Address: Avenida El Saladar 23, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Stella Jandia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Villa Stella Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Stella Jandia Hotel Playa De Jandia
Dunas Jandia Aparthotel Hotel
Villa Stella Jandia Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Stella Jandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.