We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas spent at the Sunrise Jandia Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SBH Jandia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SBH Jandia Resort to your Saves list
SBH Jandia Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Calle Biocho 4, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Ipswich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas spent at the Sunrise Jandia Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

I have just returned from a weeks holiday to the Sunrise Jandia Resort and wanted to write a review as the others on this page were so helpful in my decision to book.

We have been to Fuertventura over Christmas for the past two years staying in Calleta as it was nice and close to the airport and we didn't dare travel any further with two young children! We took the plunge and went for Jandia this year and it was our best visit to date. Yes, the onward journy of 1 hour 30 minutes was a bit draining following the flight, but when we got there we realised it was well worth it!

The hotel boasts a large complex with fresh and comfortable areas, both bars and restaurants where staff were friendly and welcoming. The main asset for us was the large heated swimming pool (There are three and from what we could make out this one was the only heated one) as the first day we arrived we were stuck with cloud, and even though it was still warm it was not beach weather - so the pool proved invaluable.

The pool was 1m80 deep and there was no childrens area, which may prove a problem for some. Luckily for us, although only being 3 and 5, our children can swim, but I must admit I would not have wanted them in there if they couldn't. Another favourable point was that due to the time of year we would sometimes be the only people in the pool, most of the other visitors were there for the sun and spent most of their time on the loungers around the pool. There were many sunbeds and a whole lot more on the roof terrace also so there was plenty of room for everyone but I can see it getting busy in peak season.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. It wasn't the best decor and maybe a little more room for the 4 of us would have been better, but it was definitely not something to spoil the holiday. The rooms were cleaned regularly, clean towels, they even did our washing up daily! We were lucky to have an apartment close to the restaurant and pool, but we could have been placed on another floor, and as I said it boasts a large resort, which has many many steps. There were lots of older couples who struggled getting around due to the steps.

We went self catering but decided to go for the all inclusive breakfast each morning which was lovely. Plenty of choice, fab food, good service. I couldn't comment on lunch and dinner as we ate out.

There was a small shop selling gifts along with the essentials - bread, water, milk, etc and we also made use of the gym and playroom which included air hockey, table tennis and pool etc

The beach was fantastic - again, maybe it was due to the time of year but it was empty. The surf is quite rough, but there were lifeguards on duty everyday. The current was strong but my kids loved it and it was so beautifully blue. Lots of surfers which was fun for them to watch and they even tried body boarding! Be warned that the beach is heavily frequented by older nudist couples!

A five minute walk in the direction of the 'strip' we found lots of restaurants where, even though the exchange rate is pitiful, good value food of a large selection could be found. We tried a few but happily returned to 'La Isla' night after night due to the friendly staff, excellent food and value. Were were paying around 40 euros for the four of us with plenty of alcohol to wash down the fillet steak and delicious pasta dishes.

All in all the week flew by and we were all sad to leave. I will definitely be booking up to go again next year and would recommend the resort and hotel for a value for money, family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    101
    71
    35
    30
See reviews for
88
115
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

The rooms were clean but were in serious need of updating. There were scuffs on the white walls. The furniture and bedding was from 1980's. There were tiles that had been chipped and cracked in the bathroom and a bodge job done on them. I had asked for a quiet room as had driven down the Island in 4 hours and needed a room just for 1 night. They gave me a room facing the pool and could hear the entertainment from the bar area, instead of a garden view that I'd booked. I couldn't be bothered to change rooms as I was so tired. My earplugs did the trick! The communal areas definately, big, bright, airy and clean. Makes a difference to a holiday.
1 female staff member from reception and a few at dinner were friendly and polite. Very welcoming.
The hotel is full of older german tourists. Didn't bother me but some people prefer to be surrounded by English speaking guests.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Nice hotel, AI the best , food / drinks , nice beach and pool

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic, all-inclusive week at the Sunrise Jandia Resort in Fuerteventura.

When planning our holiday we used Trip Advisor, so we thought we'd give some feedback.

The hotel had excellent reviews and we weren't disappointed - although of course there were always going to be one or two things that were not that great. So, here's our thoughts:

Bad points:

* Transfer distance from airport - not the hotel's fault of course, but it is a long way from the airport (90 minutes). It was baking hot when we arrived at 10.30pm and a trip in a minibus in our travelling clothes wasn't much fun. But its remoteness was an attractive reason for going there so you have to put up with the transfer to get the benefit.

* Air conditioning in bedrooms - not very good, but this was based on our expectation that it would be up to UK standard - a bit unrealistic. The room was hot at night but we managed to sleep well every night.

Good points:

* Food - superb choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner, even with one of us being a very fussy eater. Hot and cold food available on a self-serve buffet and snacks/drinks at the pool bar.

* Drinks - great selection of soft and local alcoholic drinks. Soft drinks were the real thing (Pepsi, 7-Up etc) and we can thoroughly recommend the sangria!

* Pool and facilities - there are two pools across the complex. We kept to the one near our room and it was clean, well maintained and open from 8am to 7pm. Plenty of loungers although it was low season so we could see competition being fierce in the middle of summer.

* Location - across the road was a stunning beach, there was a supermarket within five minutes walk one way and shops/bars/cafes within 10 minutes walk the other way. Plenty of choice for eating if you're not all-inclusive. And a great zoo next door with a show featuring audience participation - including alligator wrestling! If you buy a zoo ticket, it's valid for a week.

* Entertainment - or animation, as they call it. There was something on every evening and we went to a DJ night, a parrot show and a music variety show. There were also activities during the day and a kids' club. Most of the music was English and mainstream, which was amazing considering the guests were almost all German.

* Rooms - quite basic but perfectly adequate. Similar to UK Travelodge rooms but with a balcony - ideal for enjoying the cooler temperatures in the evening. Good shower and bath and regular room service. Only two English-speaking channels on the TV - CNN and Eurosport.

* Weather - Average temperature was 29 degrees Celsius (take high factor sun lotion as it's expensive in the shops over there) and it was sunny all week. Before we went everyone told us how windy it was in Fuerteventura but there was only a light breeze when we were there.

A few things to mention:

If you're eating in the restaurant in the evening, trousers are required (jeans are fine). The vast majority of guests are German (if you want English company then north of the island is better) but they were friendly enough and we enjoyed the peace and quiet.

The beach opposite is lovely but popular with nudists and you have to pay for the loungers - if you sit on them, the staff (not in the nude!) come for your money pretty quickly.

While the shopping centres contain what you need, don't expect them to be like the ones at home.

The Spanish like the Brits to have a go at the language (although they speak good English), so don't forget your 'holas', 'por favors' and 'gracias'!

All in all it was a brilliant, very relaxing week featuring plenty of food, drink and lounging by the pool and we'd definitely recommend it to people.

Adios!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

we have just returned from a fortnights break at the sunrise jandia resort and have never felt so relaxed as when we where there. The hotel is really clean, the food is fantastic, there is always something for the kids such as pizza, chicken nuggets etc. Nothing is too much trouble for the team of pople whom work there. our room faced on to the beach over the road which is a very quiet road. if you are looking for a lively hotel then please do not go to sunrise jandia and for the kids the childrens club is hotel run and quite basic from 10.30-12.30 and then 3.00-5.00pm. also has kids disco at 8.30pm.
on a negative note, we where one of only 2 english families in the hotel and the rest is mainly german and spanish, had we not met up with a lovely dutch family, we would have been without decent conversation for the whole two weeks.
in summary, if you like peace and quiet and can put up with the germans for your stay then get booking as all else is spot on.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

My friend and I along with our wives decided to celebrate his birthday and our wedding anniversary by going on an all inclusive trip. We chose the Sunrise Jandia on the strength of the reviews we read and we were glad we did. We had an excellent time but as with any holiday there were a few problems.
On arrival at our room my wife and I were amazed at the size. We expected the usual twin bedded hotel room but we were delighted on seeing a kitchenette, sitting area, a huge balcony, seperate bed and bath rooms. Unfortunately the bathroom floor was wet and there was evidence of some form of maintenance work by the debris, plaster etc on the floor. The disconnected water inlet pipe to the cistern was another give away. I used the wash hand basin to wash my hands and was assailed by a stench of sewage coming from the plug hole. I phoned through to reception, was assured it would be fixed then left for dinner as the restuarant was due to close shortly. We returned to a clean and connected bathroom. It was only in the night when we used the WC that we discovered that the whole thing including the cistern rocked alarmingly. First thing in the morning I reported it to reception, their instant and sympathetic response impressed me as on previous holidays I've had to ding on about a problem for days before anything was done. I was told there and then that we would be offered a new room once the cleaning staff had finished getting it ready.
That afternoon after a trip round the market we moved into another room.
Overall the resort was very good with plenty of food, well presented and replenished frequently as our continental friends made inroads into the intial offerings. The restuarant staff were sometimes lax at clearing used crockery from the tables usually at breakfast and lunch when there appearred less staff on duty than at dinnertime (allocated tables and 2 sittings for this meal)
The whole area was kept very clean but we were suprised that our beds were not made, the bed cover was pulled straight but the bed linen, which wasn't changed for the week we were there, was not straightened and tucked in.
In the evening the senior barmaid, Maria, ensured that the barstaff only gave minimum measures of spirits etc. despite us trying to convince her that receiving a large measure not only reduced the number of trips to the bar but reduced the queues.
The evening entertainment wasn't very good and several nights advertised acts didn't show up but it didn't detract from our holiday.
Yes the British are in a minority but we were with friends so didn't feel it as much as other couples we spoke to.
One thing that I failed to pick up in the reviews was that the resort is built on a hillside and the lifts which are isolated from the main building and connected by gantries at different levels do not travel all the way to street level. There are a lot of steps which my newly replaced knee often complained about. There are slopes and ramps but the majority are very steep and I personally wouldn't want to propel a wheelchair up them. A bonus is that the swimming pools have either ramps or steps both with handrails going down into the water.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — All those steps
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I booked a cheap week in the sun - self catering - at Sunrise Jandia, having read good reviews on Trip Advisor. I don't usually stay in resorts but I was very pleasantly surprised by this one. Our appartment faced the beach/sea (admittedly with a road in between but it was never so busy as to be a problem). We had a terrace and a 1 bed appartment - much more than we expected. The kitchenette was a bit limited but the staff were always very helpful if we needed a sharp knife or anything else they could find for us. The pool was lovely - perfect for swimming lenghts and the pool surroundings were very civilised - spacious and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were always very helpful. The beach was what we really went for and it was breathtaking - absolutely enormous and very clean. Right on our doorstep. We weren't there for the nightlife - but there were plenty of bars and restaurants if you wanted it. No need a for a car - everything was within walking distance. We were VERY pleasantly surprised and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH Jandia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Jandia Resort

Address: Calle Biocho 4, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Jandia Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resort offering rooms and apartments. Situated right at the long white beach of Jandia, just separated by the natural protected area of the "Salar de Jandia" and close to the little harbour town of Morro Jable. Discover the beaches of Fuerteventura, the sea and the natural environment staying in Sunrise Jandia Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your SBH Jandia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Jandia Hotel Playa De Jandia
Sunrise Jandia Resort
Hotel Sunrise Jandia
SBH Jandia Resort Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH Jandia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.