We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ... But too cold to swim !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Jandia Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Club Jandia Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Gran Canaria, 11 | Urb. Butihondo, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect ... But too cold to swim !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Club Jandia Princess Hotel 23rd - 30th January 2013 and was delighted to receive Champagne to the room from the owner for my Birthday!
After one hours transfer from the airport the hotel was immaculate, very modern and funky!
After checking in and receiving our blue wrist bands our room was NOT READY, which we found VERY STRESSFUL as we were TIRED after travelling and endured an early morning flight. The receptionist told us to go for dinner at La Choza Restaurant and the room would be ready in one hours time. So we found the La Choza restaurant with a paper map supplied and had a light lunch but felt dirty and tired after travelling (we just wanted to freshen up and rest in the room!).
After approximately one hour we returned to reception to be told that our room was STILL NOT READY! We demanded to see the Manager and insisted that we needed our room! After much persuasion we were given room 4107.....
Room 4107 was quite a long walk from reception and two flights of steps to carry suitcases, so we asked the porter to take our cases, he did swiftly!
We stayed in block 4 which had a sea view and was lovely to hear the sea waves, so tranquil!
The food was plentiful, good variety and fresh daily !
The rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily with clean towels, bedding and smelt nice upon return.
The room had a fridge, two bottles of water, mirrors , hairdryer , safety deposit box, fitted wardrobe and plug sockets plenty, Ideal for the female!
Our GHD's worked at full heat!!!
We were disappointed as the pool was far TOO COLD to swim in! We got in the pool at 3pm one afternoon and it was FREEZING! So was the sea! Was very quiet and relaxing though!!
The restaurant overlooking the Atlantic Ocean was called La Choza and was a pleasant atmosphere , open from 930am to have late breakfast!
The main restaurant was situated under the hotel and was quite spacious, however we preferred to eat in the sea air @ La Choza!
Take the bottles out of the room and refill @ the restaurants!
There was a lovely balcony where we sat most days, but it was quite windy... Cardigans and jumpers required on an evening!
Air conditioning was not required! We asked for extra blankets at night due to being chilly in the room!
I got bitten twice by Mosquitos ! Did not see any cockroaches or bugs at all! we heard crickets at night time!!!
Our toilet flush broke on the second day, it just wouldn't press in, so we rang reception and they sent a Technician to fix immediately. We were Impressed by the efficiency of this!!!!
We met some lovely people in the hotel and it was ideal for a quiet couples break!
The hotel was in a remote area surrounded by barren landscape near the sea.
We took a taxi to Jandia Town which cost approx 8€ and found a lovely Restaurant Steak House and English pub, called 'Boot and Ball' which had free pool opposite the light house!!
The beaches were beautiful like the Caribbean ...
At night it was totally pitch black!
There is an Internet area near the piano entrance bar with a cash machine ATM which we found extremely useful!
We had the blue wristbands for all inclusive, but was quite annoyed @11pm when free drinks stopped and you had to buy! This should NOT be allowed!!
On late evenings we had the 'munchies' and found out sandwiches were available late from behind the Bar, so do ask!!!
WORTH EVERY PENNY WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN IN THE FUTURE......Enjoy Folks!!!!!


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    599
    271
    92
    58
See reviews for
363
860
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After reading some bad reviews, all i can say is, This hotel is lovely. the staff are very nice and friendly.The food is good and so are the drinks. We stayed in the adults only side block7 the room was big and roomy and the bed was so big and comfortable . We only had one problem the noise from people walking about in the room above us. Apart from this.... Our holiday was lovely so was the weather

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel. we were a group of six all adults.
when we arrived check in was very quick but we were given blue wrist bands which restricted us to family places only. it would have been alright if we had children but we didn't.
my advice to anyone booking this hotel is to make sure you get a silver band if you are adults only. and of course blue if you have children.
The room was really nice and we had a great sea view. I was bitten a few times from the Mosquitos but didn't realise untill the last day that the reception would let you use there plug ins free of charge. all In all a great hotel and food got better as the week went on. this is not a UK only hotel. Also if walking on the beach it is a nudist beach so be ready for some sights.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely looking hotel beautiful location very isolated tho

Found the different coloured wrist bands a confusing concept felt like we missed out on seeing the whole hotel as were not sure where we were allowed to go or not

The entertainment was strangely captivating
So bad it was good , swing king was the best night , everything ending at 11pm Is a tad too early I found , midnight would be a much better time

Food was very nice and plentiful , did feel rushed at times tho


Pool FAR too cold , I love the water but only managed a swim once in a full week!! needs to be heated due to location and famous FVT wind !

Few niggles our room was not ready when we got there , we had a long early morning trip so were tired by then , sat and waited in the lovely reception only to be forgotten about :-/


AND finally our room was located right near the onsite kids farm COCK-A-DOOOODLE-DO not needed at all times of the day the farm also let off a bit of a pong which I imagine gets worst in the summer months

Overall a nice relaxing holiday but suggestion is take PLENTY of books ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Club Jandia Princess Hotel is brilliant. The reception is large and bright with a bar, lounge area and the staff are very helpful and friendly. They were a great help getting a bag to repackage some luggage for our trip home, they went above and beyond. The complex is very well tended, picturesque and very clean. The room we were in was in the family area it was modern, clean and had all the necessities you would want. The room had two twin beds, a sofa, chair, television, desk, armchair, many mirrors, a spacious bathroom with a bath and shower. We also had a balcony with table and chairs. The room was spotless, the maid service excellent. They even tided up all our daily mess and arranged our sons toys in his cot which I think is more than you expect! The maids were also very nice people and we had fresh towels daily.
The food was excellent. This was my first experience of all inclusive holidays and I expected boring fayre of burgers and the like but the food was vaired featuring a mix of Brisith, European and local dishes. There was a choice for everyone and basically food available all day long as breakfast was 7.30-10, and then a later breakfast was arranged in the poolside restaurant too and lunch gradually emerged about 11 with food til half five at which point it was almost 6 and dinner was on. Drinks were available at the bars and also to self serve soft drinks, beer, tea and coffee. There was also an ice cream machine 11-5.30 with sauce sprinkles etc etc. So basically it would be impossible to go hungry or thirsty!
The staff generally were excellent. I didnt meet a single person who was anything less than extremely friendly and helpful. Many took time to chat with us and assist us with carrying things and advice. The restaurant staff especially were amazing as we had to put our baby down at 6 a few nights so then went to the restaurant to bring some food to the room and they arranged a tray, helped get us drinks, napkins etc.
The facilities were perfect. We didnt have time to try any of the leisure activities like tennis, yoga and the like due to having our baby but saw people enjoying this and got a timetable handed out. There was one large pool with a deep and a shallow area, immaculatley clean. The shallow pool was great though in January the deep pool was a bit too cold for swimming. They were heated at 21 degrees (shallow) and 18 degrees (deep) and there was a kids paddling pool heated to 25 degrees which was perfect for little ones. There were tonnes of loungers and no need to do any of that stupid towel saving malarkey people do. I dont know if this was just because it was a quiet time but generally there did seem to be loads of loungers, shaded areas etc. There were also loads of tables and chairs at the bar, the restaurant etc where you could catch the sun. Temp varied from 20-26 degrees. There were a few days of patchy cloud and a breeze which was ideal for us (january). The beach a minute or twos walk down some steps from where you can head right and walk along the beach to Jandia the nearest town or left to some beautiful stretches of white sand. Lovely.
As for the adults only stuff the only things I could see that we did not have access to were a couple of smaller pools which I believe were nudist (?) and the wellness centre where the gym and sauna were. You could pay 5 euros for a day but to be honest we didnt ever feel like we were missing anything. There were also three shops, pool tables and an idoor bar with big tvs.
Basically we wanted a safe and clean place to take our 6 month old on his first holiday and this was perfect. It was worth every penny and I would really advise going out of season it was so quiet and peaceful. You really didnt need to leave the resort if you didnt want to and aside from a walk to Jandia we didnt. Also if you exclude a postcard and a tshirt souvenir for the boy we actually spend no money while there and all the euros we took came home basically which was an added bonus!! Really cant rate this high enough. Can't vouch for anything in peak time but if our experience was anything to go by I would say it would be brilliant :)

Room Tip: They gave us a room requring no steps because of our baby which was brilliant (we didn't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager De Vera... R, Gerente at Club Jandia Princess Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for the fantastic score we received. We are really pleased that the overall impression of the hotel has been so positive. On behalf of the entire team of Club Jandia Princess, we emphasize that we all enjoy our work and we think this is the key to making guests feel at home.

We want to facilitate an unforgettable experience for each of our clients. We see by reading your comments, that we have achieved our goal.


Kind Regards
The online manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Where do we start.........first off, we have stayed at this Hotel 4 times now and in the past been satisfied, but having just returned from a week there, really disappointing. No option on the the First Choice website for the 'Adult Only' section, which previosuly was always free; ie no charge for the nudist section, the sauna and lower pools etc.

Food was poor at lunch, as in the past it was always in the main restuarant......now warmed food in the snack bar. Poor selection and

Overall, despite the money spent on updating the rooms etc, this IS NOT a 4 /5 star hotel and the food and drink is poorer quality then previous years.

The bath still had rust around the plug hole, though tipex to try to cover up.

Food choice poor and cold

Drinks.....gin n tonic tasted like cleaning fluid!

Adult only not explained on website!

All told traveller beware and do homework!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4125 good room with sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appley Bridge, Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived home from this winter break after one week at the Jandia Princess on Sunday. The weather here for the week we had was really very good; sunny and warm but a little windy; that really did not bother us at all. We stayed in a suite 8115 which was really top class, very large bed, walk in wardrobe, lounge area own terrace with sun loungers and a bali bed to boot! If you want to use the safe in this suite, you still have to pay the 12 euros per week - a little bit 'stingy' we thought. The only other issue we had with this room was that this particular suite faced north easterly so you did not get a great deal of sun, this time of year, so we did not use of the loungers and bali bed which was a shame. The cleanliness of this hotel is absolutly top notch. The rooms are spotless and there are clean towels in abundance. On the down side, the general restaurant was ' canteen style' and not really what I would have expected for this class of hotel and quite frankly lets the hotel down, although the food was very good and presented very well, you did not feel you were going to dinner but just to eat which is certainly not what my husband and I like to do on holiday. The other two restaurants - as a silver bracelet guest you have one evening meal in each of these - are as a contrast much, much better. If you want to eat in one of these, you need to pay €20 pp per dinner. The local beach does not belong to the hotel and is a nudist beach and quite dissappointing. The location of the hotel is remote and quiet although if you want to go into Jandia, there is a taxi rank not far outside the front of the hotel and will cost between €8 and €10 Euros, one way, depending on where you want to go. There is no local bus service. If you want to buy Aloe Vera then there are better deals to be had in the town rather than at the airport going home. In general a good place for a winter break and we certainly did enjoy this holiday.

Room Tip: Suites in block 8 are very spacious and well appointed but those from 8115 upwards are set back a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Jandia Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Jandia Princess Hotel

Address: Gran Canaria, 11 | Urb. Butihondo, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Jandia Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Jandia Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jandia Princess
Hotel Club Jandia Princess
Hotel Jandia Princess
Club Jandia Princess Hotel Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Jandia Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.