We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views and position near beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of XQ El Palacete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added XQ El Palacete to your Saves list
XQ El Palacete
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Acantilado, s/n, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Riu Palace El Palacete)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey in the U.K.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great views and position near beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this friendly little hotel! Ok, the rooms are a tad dated, but they are clean and spacious. The hotel is on a great position near the beautiful Jandia Beach. We had amazing sea views from our balcony. The resort is a little hilly, so you need to be quite mobile on your feet. We stayed half board and enjoyed the buffet dinner, although I'm not a big fan of buffet. Also, it was great drinking complimentary Cava with breakfast every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at XQ El Palacete. We are glad you enjoy our services but we will take deeply in consideration your opinions to improve the hotel quality. Thank you for pointing out our buffet dinner, specially because your are not a big fan of them. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The XQ El Palacete is a fairly small hotel but it has a very warm and caring atmosphere. Upon arriving we were met by a very friendly polite and professional reception team who allowed us into our rooms early. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. We asked for a quiet room in the booking and we got this. The hotel was mostly adult which gave it a classy air, no screaming kids to ruin the sun drenched relaxation. All rooms also have sea views and balconies.

The food was excellent. It has a German bias but since the majority of customers are German it makes sence. It was still very delicious. Served in a buffet format with a grill for fresh steaks and amazingly flavored fish. I always looked forward to meal time and with the heat half board was enough. There was a nice snack menu if you got hungry. If you get bored of the bar there is an excellent cocktail bar just around the corner.

The location is the best. The side gate is on the ramp to the main beach. But with the excellent pool that always has a spare sun bed and the view there isn't really any need to venture down there but if you do you will see crystal clear see, clean golden sand and a short walk from the lighthouse with the main shops. The east side of the island is too windy and from the other complaining Brits on the aircraft the north is too British with lots of rubbish on the beach and cigarette ends. Stick with the civilised Germans you cant go wrong.

The only negative was slightly average water pressure in the shower and if that's all I have to moan about then it shows what a great place this is.

I will definitely be back to this gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the wondeful place where we are located and we feel very honoured to have been your option for these vacations. Thank you for pointing out our delightful breakfast and generally the high quality of our gastronomy. We will take in consideration your opinion to improve our services, and offer you a better experience in your next visit.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Feel compelled to write my first Trip Advisor review. Perfect location right on the beach (and what a beach with crystal clear water) with a beautiful pool tool. We loved the area. Everything we needed on our doorstop (not for clubbers though but we just wanted to chill out). Ate so well, with so much fresh fish available in the local restaurants. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we became obsessed with La Laja and felt local restaurants were better value but the breakfast was delicious with lots of fruit, crepes, fresh bread, hams and omelettes, loved the omelettes!
The staff were wonderful. So Helpful & friendly. They let us have a late check out so we could enjoy the last few hours in the sun. Not always possible I know but this was a wonderful end to the trip.
For the relaxed easy holiday we wanted, this was perfect. They should join the hospitality industry's move to free wifi but forced lack of Internet was probably good for us. Just a wonderful time and we want to see more of the island next time. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Emma,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review, about your stay with us, and for having chosen your stay at XQ El Palacete as your first review in TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the wondeful place where we are located, and that you are already thinking in coming back and discover more spots of Fuerteventura. We would also want to tell you that we have improve our services, and right now, you can enjoy of free WIFI in our hotel. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from this 54 room hotel which we have to say has the most perfect location. The hotel is about an hour or so from the Airport. Situated, we feel, in the most picturesque part of the island, this hotel is perched minutes from the beach. Being a small hotel you have much more of a personal touch..chocolates left in your room. chef bringing melon round when lounging around the pool, drink on arrival, a room to shower in before leaving etc... The staff are the most polite we have ever come across on our travels. mix of guest, mainly german and odd english, scot.. That didnt bother us at all as we came to get away from England ! Rooms were spacious, well needed air conditioning and ceiling fan and comfortable balcony. All rooms have sea views. Promenade just below leads you to stretches of golden sand and the clear blue sea. The path to the left takes you to jandia shops and bars and right to Morro Jable old town with restaurants, very authentic.. back to the hotel !! towels are given daily to bathe with and a sufficient pool (not ideal for children,but then the hotel isn't really recommended for children ). Food is buffet style, the choice is endless and they have thought of everything..My partner is vegetarian and never had a problem finding anything to eat and the chef would be happy to cook anything on request anyway. Breakfast, again choice is endless, hot , cold, cereals, meats, yoghurts, choices of breads and fruit. Entertainment is kept to a bare minimum so dont expect live acts daily. you'll likely get singer/music twice per week.. This didn't really bother us as we just had quiet drinks outside after dinner or went for a stroll..Wifi was very reasonable or free in the foyer and we had access outside whilst lounging. If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with sun, sea and beach then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Stuart,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen XQ El Palacete as your holiday destination in Fuerteventura. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have notice our hard work to offer a high level of service and quality. Thank you also for pointing out that the hotel is faultless clean, that the staff is the most polite and that the food offer is superb. We feel very honoured to be rewarded with such a positive feedback and rest assured that a warm welcome awaits you anytime you decide to visit us again.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 day break staying at this fantastic hotel.I was impressed that all 53 rooms offer sea views at no extra cost, it was similar to being on a cruise ship. The rooms are spacious, very clean and pleasing to the eye.Towels and linen changed daily if required and the rooms always kept spotless.I was HB and was amazed by the quality of food ,buffet and show cooking,never repetitive. The restaurant staff are very polite, professional and always happy, especially Estrella. This hotel is not suitable for families and younger people who want entertainment.There are only 2 floors and a lift and suitable for those with limited ability.A 5 minute walk will take you down to the beach and the old fishing town of Morro Jable where there are numerous restaurants and cafe/bars. I had a relaxing stay and would definately return here in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor and not above the restaurant if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Daisy,

Thank you for review about your recent stay at XQ El Palacete. It is with delight that we read about your positive impressions of our hotel. As you mention the hotel team do a great work to keep all the facilities and services at the higjest level. Thank you for pointing out our delightful breakfast and generally the high quality of our gastronomy. We are looking forward to greet you again in the near future at your home away from home: XQ El Palacete.

Kind Regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a lousy wet cold winter and some unpleasant medical problems , my wife and I were desperate for some sun. The absolute requirements: not too long a flight; hotel not too big; good food; pleasant location; not too far from some sort of civilisation. We relied absolutely on Trip Advisor to help us choose our first package holiday in something like fifteen years and landed on the Palacete.
We were not disappointed on any of our criteria - under four hour flight; 55 rooms; AMAZING food; quiet location on a small cliff overlooking a seemingly endless golden-sand beach; and a nice one-mile or so walk along the promenade to the nearest shopping centre.
On the one slightly dull day out of fourteen we rented a car and toured the island and quickly concluded that the Jandia/Morro Jabre area is by far the most attractive part of the island, and would not be surprised if the Palacete was the best hotel.
Initially disappointed that dinner was buffet-style, we quickly realised this was a buffet like no other with a chef (or two) to prepare your individual fish or meat order, plus some very appetizing casseroles, pasta dishes, vegetarian, etc. plus a seemingly endless display of every variety of Salad, antipasto, soups...
In fact, for those who like us enjoy good food, this was a typical menu which we brought home:-
Starters: mixed salads, cold gazpacho and hot soups - chicken and zucchini; prawns, langoustines, Serrano ham; Gravlax.
Mains:Paella; Ratatouille Manchego; Spanish Omelette; Lamb chops; John Dory with green sauce;Loin of Pork; Canarian Potatoes; mixed veg. rice
Puds: Sweet pastries; ice creams; fresh fruit; mousses; crepes suzette.

The entire hotel is spotless, there are enough recliners and umbrellas for everyone. And it is QUIET! - despite a number of nice little restaurants just below the hotel which offer variety for lunch - though the bar does offer a tempting variety of snacks...
This probably sounds like an advertising spiel - it is not, we were simply so impressed by this thoroughly nice little hotel.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms face the sea. Although there are only two floors there is a lift (I am disabled and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make such wonderfull review about your stay with us, on Tripadvisor. We are very please to find out that you were able to offer you what you were looking for in Fuerteventura and we feel very honoured to have been your option for these vacations. It is very motivating to read that you particulary liked the way our staff was always helpful and accomodating as well as the XQ El Palacete cuisine offer. We appreciate your positive feedback and your recommendation to other travellers. We would love to meet you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are just back from a week at the XQ El Palacete and this is exactly what we needed! Jandia is about an hour away from the airport in the southern part of the island. It is such a lovely and quiet place when compared to the northern part (closer to the airport) which is more purpose built for holidaymakers. Jandia also seems to be a favorite with German/Deutch holiday makers!

It is a place where time stops. The XQ El Palacete is simply lovely. What we loved about it and this is also the reason why we picked it, is that, it is a small hotel. The nice thing here though is that all the rooms have seaviews and you are not paying extra for the priviliege! We checked in on Saturday 13th April and were welcome with a glass of bubbly. Our room was located above the dining terrace and overlooking the pool and with unbeatable seaviews. We were on a half board basis and I have to say, the food was great. The choice and variety of food offered was amazing. You would have to be quite picky not to find anything suitable! As mentioned above, it is a small hotel so if you are looking for entertainment around the clock or if you have young children, this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet: then you will not be disappointed. During our week there, we enjoyed music on two evenings on the terrace while sipping cocktails and gazing at the sea.

The hotel staff could not be nicer. While the receptionists may not come across as particularly warm and engaging, the restaurant and bar staff were a delight, an aboslute delight!

The clientele of the hotel would be in the 50+ bracket. We were by far the youngest people there! Also, access to the beach could not be easier! a 2 minute walk and you will be able to enjoy the lovely sandy beach which stretches for miles and miles! It is truly a stunning beach.
By the way: you will find a few nudists on the beach!

There is a shopping area is a 15 minute walk along the sea front and there are bars and restaurants 5 minutes away from the hotel.

Overall, a surprisingly lovely holiday (I was not too sure what to expect from Fuerteventura, especially when compared to the other islands) and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the pool and is above the restaurant/terrace area. No noise issue at all. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel X, Director General at XQ El Palacete, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Fuerteventura. Thanks also for taking time for letting us know your positive impressions about our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your detailed description of our services and facilites surely makes it more easy for other interested travellers to know what to expect when coming to our hotel. We would be very pleased to have you back on holidays, and we hope you find the opportunity!

Kindest regards,
XQ El Palacete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to XQ El Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XQ El Palacete

Address: C/ Acantilado, s/n, 35625 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Riu Palace El Palacete)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — XQ El Palacete 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 2-storey building. Located on the beachfront in Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 300 m from Morro Jable. 1 km from a shopping centre. 90 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your XQ El Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xq El Palacete Hotel Playa De Jandia
XQ El Palacete Playa De Jandia, Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage XQ El Palacete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.