We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is not for familys anymore” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari to your Saves list
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it is not for familys anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

i stayed here 4 years ago. it was very clean and had a brill time. i have just returned 2 days ago i was glad 2 get home. the pool is very dirty, there were a lot of people who got ear infections. The room are never cleaned properly no more, the balcony was filthy. there were ants in the room and a massive cockroach. the staff are still rude. This hotel was full of young people, it is the hotel across from here that is now the family hotel. The air conditioning wasnt free has stated we had to pay for this. we had 2 rooms so it cost 60 euro each room 4 the 2 week. I would not recommended this 2 any one who has a young family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    62
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
52
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

kris mari great place to stay clean tidy and a good continental breakfast coulsn't ask for more close to the beach shops and some fantastic restaurants and cafe bars , paradise bar on beach front a great place to snack and free sunbeds all in all a great holiday in kos, perfect in every way.

Room Tip: great swimming area quiet and very clean and tidy at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manovrb9, General Manager at Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
many thanks for your kind words ! it means a lot to us, hope to see you again soon in the future !
all the best
Manos Hatzikonstantinos
Cleopatra Hotels general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Have just come back from a weeks stay and loved the hotel. All staff so friendly and always happy! room was decent size with large balcony on the 1st floor other balconies did not look as big on other floors. We had a pool view which we had requested and was very happy with. The only thing I could find a problem with was the shower but then they have all been pretty similar in Greece so can't really let this put you off. There was some noise some nights but I did hear them being told to keep it down. I only went to breakfast a couple of times and it was just basic but enough for a nice snack. Ate at the pool bar a few times and always enjoyed the food there. The hotel is at the end of the main bars so in a good position we thought as it was a nice stroll down for tea and bars in the evening. The closest beach is only a minute if that from the hotel and sun beds are free the restaurants own them but do not pester you to buy food/drinks from them. Snack attack is just round the corner and open til around 6/7 am for any late night snacks :-) Our favourite bar was The Stone Roses bar situated in the square, we also enjoyed every meal we had on the dock front I can't remember the names apart from the Blue Note which was lovely! We used to go where ever they looked busy! We purchased the air con for the week and could not have done without it, you could feel the heat as soon as you walked out of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our second holiday in Kardamena (Sept 2011 & July 2012).
Kris Mari is a nice hotel in a good location with excellent sea views if you get the right room. Pool area is good and rooms cleaned most days.
Negative points are the lack of any power in the shower or the air conditioning.
We stayed in the Cleopatra classic last year and the rooms were much better however the pool area wasnt.
We spent time with friends whom were staying at the Cleoptara Superior which we feel is probably the best of the three hotels which are all within a stones throw of each other.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Kris Mari, the first was 20 years ago. Little has changed in that time; the hotel was very good then and still is.

Plus Points:
- Friendly staff could not do enough.
- Rooms clean.
- Room service good.
- Excellent sea views from the front high rooms.
- Excellent location.

Minus Points:
- Can be a little noisy due to the open atrium which runs right up all floors.
- Water pressure average.
- Poor breakfast spread (But what was there was good)

I would use this hotel again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor sea view - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here with my colleague for a week,we chose this hotel as it was close to the beach(2mins walk)and for a reasonable price. At first we were happy with the choice,however we have changed our mindes very quickly. The breakfast was the poorest we have ever seen,toast,cheese(only!),mixed fruits and a youghurt. there were some cookies as well(with a hair on it).Not even tomatoes or ham were there,so we went to a shop to buy it and eat something different than cheese,which was melted before you put it on your toast(35°C). I would advixe you to do the same. Also they stop serving breakfast at 9.30,which with clubs closed at 5-6am is not practical.Although our room was cleaned every day,i found a lack of clean towels,we put all 4towels with a bathroom mat in the bathroom sink,thinking is obvious we want them to be changed,when we came back to the room we found them folded up and put on the barhroom chair!!!Absolutely unacceptable! The swimming pool area is ok,the stuff there very,very friendly and with a good sense of humour:) Lovely music and a variety of food available there as well for a good price,however you are not allowed to bring your own beverages to the area,which we found unfair since you pay to stay at the hotel. You need to pay €30 for an air con in your room,which wasnt mentioned on the website,and having a tight budget I ended up sleeping on the balcony(which I actually enjoyed!).The reception service is ok,one of them very,very friendly,however the other guy fricked me out,seemed to stalk me all the time!!! A woman at the recwptikn seemed to be moody and not saying even "hi",which we found rude.
Kardamena is definetely for a party people,not a family place. A night life is amazing,quiet cheap as well. It was very nice to find the streets very safe,there were no fights,no thiefs etc.We came in July so the average of age was 18,hence we felt a bit too old for the place(we are about 30).Its our fault for booking at the school break times though. The best restaurant we went to was Captain,with amazing stuff and food.The best pub is The Bands and Chilli Pepper.Status and Starlight are 2the biggest clubs in the area,which will not dissapoint you.
The beach is lovely,but with lots of puebles,found it hard to walk on the water.Beach close to the harbour is much more enjoyable that the one close t ok the hotel and only 7-10mins walk.
The overall experience was good,its a good place to be if you are a party animal. I would have rather chosen a different hotel since we found it very poor(exclidong bar stuff and swimming pool area).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel lots of times and the only bad experience we had was last year when we came in peak season (very noisy). However we have been back 'out of season' and it is by far the BEST HOTEL in Kardamena, it is soooooo clean, the maids come in every day, really, the staff are the best, soooo friendly including Magda!!!! Also they can't do enough for you, you want extra pillows etc you get it, we've been coming here for 6yrs and already booked for next year, the hotel itself is in the perfect position right by the beach and lovely little bars. I know Kardamena like the back of my hand and I would seriously say stay in this hotel if you are thinking about coming here, it is the best place to stay in Kardamena, see you all next Sept guys !!!!! xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel in the quiet part of the village but still within walking distance from the centre of Kardamena, with great tradition in customer satisfaction. Friendly local staff ensure that your holidays will be unforgettable. Guests of Cleopatra Hotels have free access to the facilities of all hotels of the group. Pool bar serves food, lounge bar with satellite tv, games room, swimming pool, 24 hrs reception, all rooms with sat TV, air conditioning (operates 15/6 -15/9 centrally controlled), safety deposit boxes (payable locally), hairdryers. Free wifi available in lounge area, internet access point available (payable for those who will not use their own computer). Our Hotels are ideal for couples of any age and families. For people that want to be near the center, where everything is happening, but also want to relax and get a good night's sleep. Large groups of youngsters should reconsider before booking in our hotels. Manos Hatzikonstantinos, Cleopatra Hotels General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari Hotel Kardamena
Cleopatra Hotel Kardamena
Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Hotels Kris Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.