We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, enjoyable and quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Porto Bello Beach to your Saves list
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, enjoyable and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Myself and teenager sons were booked for a week by Olympic Holidays to stay at Akti Beach but they were overbooked when we arrived. Olympic did not have to decency to inform us so they will not have my custom again.

We were transferred to Porto Bello Beach, what a blessing. It is a clean nice hotel. The food was good quality including the theme resturant, although it would have been better to space out the menu over the week rather than serving repetitive food in the evenings, however you can not fault the food. I loved the breakfast, natural yogurth with fruits, not just a fry up and crossaints. Staff were vey helpful and friendly. Reception service was great.

All inclusive meant all inclusive here! The beach was golden sand just at the back of the hotel with a bar as well. There is free bus that takes into the village , even though there is not much in the village.

Rooms have air conditions and safety box (latter at a cost), two English TV channels. You have your own balcony which is good.

One of the no so good sides was that thepool was salty water biut it did not ruin our holiday. It felt like mini Italy but it did not bother us. We have been to many places (22 countries), we tend not to go back to the same place so that we can see other places but we would go pack to Porto Bello Beach tomorrow. It was fantactic. If you are looking for a nice, comfortable hotel , then this is the place to go. It was worth every minute that we stayed in the hotel, do not listen to the bad reviews.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    236
    66
    12
    9
See reviews for
277
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

This Hotel was amazing, It is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in Greece and I have been to different Greek Islands. Its still Greece so can be a bit basic but for us we felt it was lovely. Everybody was so helpful and you were never left waiting long for a drink at one of the three bars, our favourite was the beach bar, just a really nice atmosphere, we use to go down there for a drink after dinner. The resturants were all very clean, we've never had plates taken away from the table so quickly! Breakfast and Lunch lovely, Monika and David were really lovely, also you could always get rolls, hotdogs, crepes and cake down at the beach bar until 4pm. Fish resturant only open lunchtime which is lovely, shame not open in the evening. Personally we did not really like the main resturant at night because it felt a bit like a really big school dinning room (although a lot nicer) We use to book into the italian resturant or the Greek resturant and these were both lovely and a lot more quite. The only thing we felt about the Greek resturant was there was not much variety of greek food mainly Mousakka and Gyros. They had great greek nights around the pool which were brilliant. There is a shop on site but be prepared to pay over the odds, I had to buy a pack of baby wipes and they were 4.50 euros, bucket and spade 8 euros and lilos between 14.00 - 18.00 euros.

The one thing we did not like about the hotel and it was not really them was the animation team for the children, when we were there it was aimed at the Italians and the French, my daughter was in the baby pool and they all came into play a game, they just ignored her and never asked would she like to join in. We were not told anything about the childrens club. There was no British people in the animation team they were all different nationalities and we felt that the British were in the minority and they were not bothered about us or our children. Luckly I have two little children who are quite happy just to play in the water or in the sand on their own.

I would really recommend this hotel its lovely and there are some really helpful , happy people who work there. If your idea of a holiday is lazy days by the beach or pool and then lazy nights eating and drinking,then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay at the Porto Bello in Kos.
We are a young couple with two children aged 1 and 3.
The room was very spacious but not up to a four star standard as they needed updating. we were on the ground floor so we had a patio which was fine but it had a 2 foot drop which was not ideal for children.
The food was of a high standard the only problem we had was the same type of food was on a 3 day turn around and in a week it already got repetitive. The down side of the hotel is the biggest clientèle was Italian. So everything was catered around them. The food was mainly Italian, all the entertainment team is Italian and there is even an Italian restaurant just incase you get bored of the Italian food in the main restaurant. So the down side of the hotel is I felt like I was on holiday in Italy and not Greece. not much of the local Greek food on offer unless you go to the Greek restaurant on site. There is also a little fish restaurant where you can have your lunch in the day. cant fault it. the pools are very big and clean and lots of shade and space around the pool. salt water pool as well. The beach is a walk down the bottom of the complex which is gorgeous, and there is a beach bar with drinks and snacks. sunbeds are free. so no hassle. playground was great for kids. my kids were not old enough for the kids club but again it was mainly catering for Italian children. The evening entertainment is some type of dancing every night. we were not bothered about the entertainment with having small children however there is no variety just dancing shows all the time. The theatre is 2 minute walk away from reception, and you have to get your drinks from reception and walk up. it is quite uncomfortable with plastic pads to sit on.
Its right on the flight path so the planes fly very low over the hotel. the kids loved watching them.
This hotel served its purpose for our family holiday as the rooms were spacious, the pools were big and the beach close by. I would recommend it for young families, but the food is just repeated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaylOz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I travelled with my friend to the Hotel last year and had a wonderful stay! The location is great, right on the beach! It is quite a long walk into town but it is walkable if not taxis are available from the reception.
The rooms are cleaned daily and we were provided with fresh towels.
There was free pedalos available as well as several other water sports.
All inc bar was great could go as often as you wanted!
the pool area was great and there was a kids pool away from the main pool to keep it quieter if you wanted to relax.
Food was ok there was a wide selection but mostly chicken and salad but there was a few restaurants that you can book that were beautiful!

I would recommend this resort mainly for young people or couples as the town is very lively and caters to people of a younger age.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is the second trip to this hotel this year.It has a brilliant friendly atmosphere and the staff will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable.The animation team work exceptionally hard and we have made some great friends.Can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks in June with husband and 2 children. On arrival our cases were taken to room by bell boy while we filled in forms etc. Was very pleased with room size as thought it was going to be a lot smaller. There was a decent size bathroom, 2 small single beds, large double, bedside cabinets, large dressing table, coffe table, tv on a huge tv cabinet and 2 massive wardrobes with plenty of space for all our clothes. We also had 2 setsof patio doors which made room feel light and airy.

Midnight snacks arent up to much but the rest of the food choice and standard were good. Some dishes could have been a bit hotter but they were few and far between. Itialan and greek restaurants were very nice with good service,

My children used the kids club which was very well run by the 2 girls. I am lucky that my eldest child is a girl of 10yrs asshe did not mind doing the little kids stuff but there is nothing to do for children, mainly boys between the ages of 8 and 11 as children are not allowed to take part in the activities during the day because of insurance purposes. This included things like darts and pingpong!!!!! Health and safety gone mad I think.

The apmitheatre entertainment we thought was good but there were a lot of people walking out saying it was rubbish. But to be fair the entertainment staff work really hard all day and I thought they deserved a bit of praise.

There is no other evening enterainment so had many early nights. We went into kardamena one night and quickly came back! Its scruffy and full of hen and stag dos doing things I didnt want my kids to see.

All in all the main aim of our hols was to relax and because the hotel is far out we managed to do just that. I would go back to hotel but not for a while. The main reason would be to see Monica and David again who work in the main restaurant they are a polish husband and wife, they made our day every morning as they were so cheerful and helpful. The reason not to go back would be the ignorant germans!!! God Ive never known them to be so rude, especially to children pushing and shoving them, so if you go beware of this though it was not as bad as disney land paris!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

stayed a week at this hotel and wanted to come home after 2 days the constant smell of sewers through the air con made me sick the drains were always blocked and you couldnt swing a cat in the bathroom meal times was like a load of pigs round a trough the same food every day it caters mainly for ignorant foreigners who think they can push in when they like nothing to do here except walk from the pool to the beach which is 2mins away across a little rd if you wanted a sunbed near the pool you had to be up at the crack of dawn there wasnt enough to go round all the drinks were watered down only time i felt a bit tipsy was when i want to kardamena but was payin alot of money which you shouldnt have to do when your all inclusive if your thinking of goin here think twice and go next door to the royal

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Hotel Porto Bello Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.