We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Holiday - June 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bello Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Porto Bello Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Porto Bello Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena Kos, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Holiday - June 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My Husband, our four children (aged 11,8,5 & 3) and my Mother-in-Law, have recently returned from a 7 night holiday at the beautiful Porto Bello Beach Hotel, located just outside the quaint little town of Kardamena.

First impressions of the Hotel were good, with a relatively quick check-in and a porter who showed us to our room. Having an afternoon flight from the UK, we didn't arrive at the resort until past 10pm, and were pleased to find bottles of water and baguettes in the fridge when we got to our rooms.

The rooms were spacious and had everything you need, they are also spotlessly clean.

Cleanliness is certainly not an issue at this Hotel! There is a huge team of cleaners who appear to work non-stop and all public areas, as well as the rooms, were immaculate.

We went on an All-Inclusive basis, as we always do, and I have to say that the Porto Bello Beach has a better selection of food than any other hotel we have stayed in - lots of variety, and all prepared to a high standard.

The hotel has its own beach, which is beautiful, and is also very safe for children. There is also a beach bar, which is part of the All-Inclusive, and they serve the most amazing cocktails!

Although we had a wonderful family holiday at this resort, there were a couple of things that could be improved, for example, there was very little for our 11 and 8 year old boys to do in the evening - maybe an air hockey/pool table would be a good addition to the area around the Beach Bar?

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would return if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed our spacious and well-stoked room, and that you recognize our working team- that’s a huge compliment.
I appreciate your opinion about the variety and quality of the food we are preparing for our guest.
Additionally, thank you for your suggestion regarding our entertainment in the Beach Bar; I will try to find solution for this issue.
Thank you again and hope to see you again in the near future.
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook!
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    147
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
175
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back from a weeks break. First impressions are breathtaking. Beautiful Hotel throughout.
The food was georgeous. Excellant buffet restauraunt, and delicious Thai food in another restauraunt downstairs. There is also an Italian & a fish restauraunt.
Top marks for cleanliness both in the hotel and in the pool areas. Even though the hotel was full there are so many pools in felt like the hotel was empty. Lovely peaceful enviroment.
Our room was a suite, but having looked round the hotel and grounds I dont think I would have been dissapointed with any of them.
Well worth a trip to this hotel, you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: I dont think you will be dissapointed with any of the rooms, although if you have mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Please note that this review is addressed to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel

Dear Guest,
I am truly encouraged and grateful for your review! ! I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and I hope you will return to us when your travels bring you back to Kos again!
Many thanks to you and please do stay connected…Find us On Facebook!
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very nice hotel in a lovely location right on the beach, basic room but like everywhere else in the Hotel is was spotless and well maintained. Lovely gardens and public areas which again are clean and tidy and very friendly staff. The food was good in all areas and a great idea for self service beer and wine in the restaurants. This is the first time I have come across self service in the al a carte restaurants but it worked and was no hassle and it meant that we could try little amounts of lots rather than order a main dish.

As for the things I was not happy about;
1) I took trousers for dining but found that some of the Eastern Europeans would not conform and dressed down and staff were afraid to deal with them. One guest even lit up a cigarette at dinner and the staff did nothing.

2) No tea or coffee for the room unless you paid 5 euros per day which i think is too expensive. There is also nowhere to get tea, coffee or water out of bar hours so for someone like me who wakes up early each day I had to wait a couple of hours until breakfast before I could get a coffee!
3) 25 euros per week for the room safe is a big cost, it should be around 10.
4) The hotel is situated on the flight path to the airport, the noise didn't bother me but it could be a problem for some.
5) only one bar in the main building/ reception so you had to queue for drinks which can be a real pain when people are ordering cocktails. Peak season is going to be a nightmare
6) If the hotel is full the beach beds, pool beds and seating on the main terrace will be impossible, too many rooms and not enough spaces
7) The main terrace is the main meeting place before and after dinner but it if full of smokers, smoking should be away from the main areas and families.

Last of all beware of rip off First Choice & Thomsons, I paid £70 for a late check out room as our pick up was at 1.00am only to find that the room was only ours until 6.00pm, that meant we had to come up from the beach earlier than we planned and then hang around for 7 hours. Friends of ours asked at reception and were quoted 50 euros for up to 10pm!!! Next time I will check what time prior to booking and check direct with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 800s are away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to receive your detailed feedback on your stay with us and will use it to help improve our product and service. We are happy you enjoyed your summer holidays in general and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have just returned from here. This is a great hotel staff was so friendly and food was the best I have ever had in an all inclusive resort. rooms where spacious and cleaned every day great views of the garden. pool area very clean, beach clean. I cant wait to go back to this hotel had an excellent time. the free bus to kardimina was a good bonus. The restaurant's where really good but we didn't use the fish one as we don't eat fish. wish we had booked for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite in the garden area it was lovely and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have recently returned from the Portobello Beach and could not of Been any happier. The hotel and its staff were fantastic. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic. We had booked a family room with a sea view and was not disappointed with either. The room was ground floor with a garden for the kids to run around in once we had returned from the beach or pool. The pool area was great, plenty of beds and shade for the kids. The Beach was also great with plenty to do to keep the kids busy. The food in all the restaurants was good and the choice of drinks for adults and kids were god too. All the staff at the hotel are excellent but we would like to say a huge thank you to Bea and Vivian on the animation team, Zanetta in the hotel bar, Maria in the pool bar and Pavel and Egor in the restaurants. They are a credit to the hotel. . We will definatley be returning

Room Tip: Room 702, tucked away at the back slightly but the room is good, the view is great and there is room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
I appreciate your recognition of our working team and I will be sure to thank personally those you mentioned by name.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with this hotel when we turned up we were met by the girls on reception who were very helpful, polite and courteous. The rooms are of good size and we had a nice sea view, downside to room was the tv which only showed one British news channel. The food was nice and recommend you book the fish, Greek and Italian restaurants these were fabulous you need to book a day in advance at reception. The beach is right in front of the hotel a much better beach here then the 5 star royal next door, fine sand and crystal clear water with plenty of water sports to keep the kids entertained and free padded sunbeds. Watch out for Mosquitos keep your doors closed and air con on or they will be having a feast. The weather was 27 most days and I have to say we enjoyed every minute of this holiday they take excellent pride in keeping the hotel well maintained and the staff would go out of their way to help. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your interactions with our reception team.
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you while you were in our hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really would say we had the perfect family holiday at the Porto bello beach. We had a family room with sea view which was huge with a divider to keep the kids slightly separate. You also get 2 balconies and an area of grass in front. Pool was great, although it is salt water and does sting your eyes a bit (probably the only thing I would change about the holiday), loads of sunbeds and plenty of room to spread out, def no need to get up early reserving beds. Beach was lovely, plenty to do from sunbathing to fishing, crabbing, pedalos, very child friendly with gentle slopes into the sea. Food was great, amazing cakes, ice cream for kids all day long. And most importantly they do the most amazing choice of cocktails all included!!!!! The Porto bello beach really does strike the perfect balance of a relaxing holiday but still with plenty to do and keep the kids occupied, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Porto Bello Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Bello Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bello Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Hotel Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bello Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena
Address: Kardamena Kos, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Bello Beach Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Porto Bello Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bello Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.