We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Porto Bello Beach to your Saves list
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have recently returned from the Portobello Beach and could not of Been any happier. The hotel and its staff were fantastic. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic. We had booked a family room with a sea view and was not disappointed with either. The room was ground floor with a garden for the kids to run around in once we had returned from the beach or pool. The pool area was great, plenty of beds and shade for the kids. The Beach was also great with plenty to do to keep the kids busy. The food in all the restaurants was good and the choice of drinks for adults and kids were god too. All the staff at the hotel are excellent but we would like to say a huge thank you to Bea and Vivian on the animation team, Zanetta in the hotel bar, Maria in the pool bar and Pavel and Egor in the restaurants. They are a credit to the hotel. . We will definatley be returning

Room Tip: Room 702, tucked away at the back slightly but the room is good, the view is great and there is room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
I appreciate your recognition of our working team and I will be sure to thank personally those you mentioned by name.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    236
    66
    12
    9
See reviews for
277
121
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with this hotel when we turned up we were met by the girls on reception who were very helpful, polite and courteous. The rooms are of good size and we had a nice sea view, downside to room was the tv which only showed one British news channel. The food was nice and recommend you book the fish, Greek and Italian restaurants these were fabulous you need to book a day in advance at reception. The beach is right in front of the hotel a much better beach here then the 5 star royal next door, fine sand and crystal clear water with plenty of water sports to keep the kids entertained and free padded sunbeds. Watch out for Mosquitos keep your doors closed and air con on or they will be having a feast. The weather was 27 most days and I have to say we enjoyed every minute of this holiday they take excellent pride in keeping the hotel well maintained and the staff would go out of their way to help. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your interactions with our reception team.
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you while you were in our hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really would say we had the perfect family holiday at the Porto bello beach. We had a family room with sea view which was huge with a divider to keep the kids slightly separate. You also get 2 balconies and an area of grass in front. Pool was great, although it is salt water and does sting your eyes a bit (probably the only thing I would change about the holiday), loads of sunbeds and plenty of room to spread out, def no need to get up early reserving beds. Beach was lovely, plenty to do from sunbathing to fishing, crabbing, pedalos, very child friendly with gentle slopes into the sea. Food was great, amazing cakes, ice cream for kids all day long. And most importantly they do the most amazing choice of cocktails all included!!!!! The Porto bello beach really does strike the perfect balance of a relaxing holiday but still with plenty to do and keep the kids occupied, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.
We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

+: spacious room (303), very kind and helpfull staff, enthousiastic animationteam, beautiful garden, large swimmingpool, hotelbeach and bar, good food, shuttlebus to Kardamena.

-: the beds where very hard. Location is a bit far from the town of Kardamena to do by foot (no pavement, so you have to step aside often for passing cars and busses). Fortunately the shuttlebus can bring you and pick you up several times a day.

Room Tip: Our room 303 had a beautiful sideview of the sea and was very spacious with a double terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloBeach, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to provide the review and your comment.
I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel in generally.
I understand your opinion about the road to Kardamena, it is quite uncomfortable, but we are providing the shuttle bus several times a day.
Thank you again, and looking forward to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here last week of September 2012, on arrival the reception recommended going straight to lunch as it finished soon even though she had not had time to check us in, the whole time staff were polite and helpful and the entertainment team kept us amused even when off duty, sitting with us learning bad English from us in conversation

Whilst there it was my birthday and when we got back to the room there was a bottle of sparkling wine in the mini bar for us to enjoy

Food and local brand beer, wines, spirits and cocktails plenty to choose from so no danger of going hungry or thirsty. The down side of mass dining was people queuing up at 6p.m. when the dinning room opened most nights we ate at 7:00/7:30 and still plenty to choose
The hotel also puts on a shuttle bus that ran hourly into the local town if you fancy a change of scene from the food and drinks in the hotel and if you miss the last bus a taxi was only 8-10 euro

The only downside from this hotel was the bathroom needed some maintenance but this didn't spoil the holiday as the shower was always warm/hot enough ready for the morning or night out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 1 week from 28th Sept. The reception & the grounds are lovely. The rooms are clean & spacious. The pool looked ok although I didn't use it as I don't swim. The beach was good, plenty of sun beds & free pedalos. The food was more quantity than quality, don't understand why so much choice, there was always something that appealed (just) but the amount of waste must be tremendous, really not necessary for so much choice. Ate at the taverna once, was pretty much the same as main buffet, ate at fish restaurant a few times mainly for the calamari!
The staff were generally excellent.
Entertainment not so good although 2 good shows, Greek dancing & a guitarist (member of the animation team but q good)
Planes do fly over fairly frequently but they have to fly over somewhere ?!?! They were not a problem/nuisance to me.
British were the minority, mostly Russians, German, Belgian, maybe this explains the vast food choices
All in all I would go back for a week of relaxation in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

i spent from the 19th of september to the 26th of september 2012 here at portobello and i can honestly say it was my favurtie holiday ever!
the food was great, the facilities were great, staff were always so polite, the animation team were the best part they made the holiday so great, they were always getting you up and getting you involved in things and they were so nice!
i went with my family, and there was always something for all of us! the beach bar was open till late which was so lovely to sit around and talk with a drink, the beach was amazing! the pool was lovely (it was salt water but it made no difference), the rooms were really cosy and lovely!
me and my family just enjoyed the whole holiday!
but a really big thankyou to the animation team as for us they were the best part! we hope the same people are there next year!

we will definatley be going back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Beach

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Hotel Porto Bello Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Beach Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Porto Bello Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.