We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite its 5* rating, but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikri Poli Kos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mikri Poli Kos to your Saves list
Mikri Poli Kos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not quite its 5* rating, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped here as a family of 10 with my niece of 22months. On arrival the hotel looked amazing, great appearance in both the light and the dark. We were greeted pleasantly by the reception team who got us checked in and to our rooms quickly and efficiently. Our rooms were very spacious and featured all the things you needs inc tea and coffee facilities which is unusual for an all inclusive property.
Our 1st few days on the island we cool and windy and as the main restaurant is exposed at one end this caused a few issues. The food was not always hot and as a result we opted to eat out on several occasions. The selection of food was good but the breakfast was the same everyday, some variation would have been nice. The BBQ restaurant was better as the food was was fresher as tables had to be booked here. The downside was due to low season this was only open until our 4th day there, so made sure we ate there as much as we could.
The pool and beach areas were great and if you needed a sunbed there were plenty this time of year. The downside of the pools was that the kids pools were like ice, and this was a real disappointment as my niece loves swimming, in fact the sea was a lot warmer. Maybe these would get more use if they were climatised, something Sentido resorts should look in to.
The bar staff and animation team were an asset to the resort. Valentina made all the kids feel special including my niece who loved the mini disco.
The bar staff were great and from what other reviews say the soft drinks ain't that bad. They could maybe offer some all inclusive cocktails and towards the end of our stay they tended to run out if stock quickly and struggled to replenish this as they should, at several times they ran out if beer which for an all inclusive hotel is unheard of.
The biggest downfall by both the hotel and Travel Republic us the fact they forgot to inform anyone that the hotel was closing down on the 16th Oct, therefore throughout our stay, the pool bar was never open, the evening meal times changed, the main restaurant closed 4 days before we left, the BBQ restaurant closed 4days into our 13 day stay. Our last day we were moved to the sister hotel, Carda beach which you could tell was an adults only and worth it's 5*. At no point were we given the option to eat there which may have made up for the lack of service at the Mikri poli.
Apart from this we have and enjoyable stay and would like to visit the island and maybe this resort again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    154
    67
    27
    8
See reviews for
192
106
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went in may so sorry for the late review..

But what a fantastic hotel. 2 adults and 2 children. ages 5 and 3. Animation team fantastic. Food brilliant. Clean and definitely a 5*
Would recommend again and again.

Room Tip: pool side is best as it could take a while to climb the step after a few beers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for seven nights in June with my boyfriend and we had a fantastic time.

The animation team were friendly and enthusiastic and the hotel staff dealt with any problems/concerns swiftly, in a good manner.

The variety of dishes as an all-inclusive hotel were very good. Plenty of vegetarian dishes and fresh salads.

The evening entertainment generally starts at 9pm, which might be a little late for little ones.

Plenty of sunbeds, nice size swimming pool but also very close to beach.

You can obtain complimentary Wi-Fi in the reception area, which was useful.

The rooms tend to be up quite a few steps, so not ideal for elderly, infirm or disabled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

had a nice time overall untill stuff got stolen out of our room which spoilt the whole holiday !!! most of the staff are friendly and helpful other half are miserable as sin.... Animation team were fab!!!! food is basic and seemed to serve same stuff everyday!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have just returned today from a week all inclusive at Mikri Poli, its a nice modern hotel by the the beach, the staff were very polite and the hotel was very clean and hotel area is very pleasent & welcoming, the only down side were the meals there was too much repitition and the food was only luck warm even at the start of the meals, also the satilite tv had no english programs apart from bbc news and after a nice day out and an evening in the well stocked bar a bit of tv finishes off the day and Im affrayed most of it was in german.

Room Tip: ask for low block if you have walking problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear wally h

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

The issues you pointed out "meals & Satelliet TV" are our first priority for improvement.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

We hope they will give us both another chance to be their choice in the future and we will try to meet their expectations as we get better and better by time.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

my husband and I have just returned from a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel. Very clean throughout, the bedrooms are cleaned daily by a very happy lady from Bulgaria. We did find the beds very hard, you got on the bed not in it !!.Not many tv channels available in English just bbc world news but we enjoyed several films which were subtitled for arabs.The room was very spacious with a screened off area with 2 beds if you had children with you. There were no normal tea bags in room (it had a kettle which was good ) or none in the restaurant so tea drinkers pack your own PGs , I don't think it would be good to go any later than this in October it was beginning to close down, the pool bar had closed so no free ice creams in the afternoons. The food was good, a good range of dishes, lovely salads. the fruit was rather under ripe and the desserts although yummy were your typical Greek bright coloured gateaux, cakes and pastries.It all did get rather similar by end of the week so i advice don't try everything on the 1st day !. It seemed by the meal timetable you could eat all day if you wanted to go home rather larger than you arrived !!. There seemed not many guests in the pool swimming all week, on the last day I thought i must have at least one dip ( I prefer to swim in the sea really ) and i found out why it was Freezing like ice, a quick in and out for me, it was warmer in the sea which was a shame. . Kardamena town was about 15min walk along the sea front a small town with supermarkets and tourist shops quite interesting. I would hire a car to get the most of the holiday in Kos exploring the lovely beaches and Kos town, ( we used International from the hotel who were very good and gave us an extra day free , probably as it was out of busy season. So i would recommend this hotel for a comfortable hotel near the beach.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view although it isnt a close view. and if you like a bit of quiet maybe not by pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Rayflower

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality was so much appreciated by yourself.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

I will personally make sure to load all rooms next year with PGs tea bags as you missed those :-( and make sure that we develop our TV channels list as these is in our programm & Technical List for 2014.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 3rd-10th October. Our stay here was great and the staff were really helpful and accommodating, Kostas one of the managers was particularly helpful. My boyfriend had a broken foot and on our arrival the receptionist staff were able to rearrange our rooms and put us on the ground floor which was perfect. We had two rooms which backed onto the pool and they were lovely.

Food at the restaurant was buffet style and we had no trouble finding something good to eat every breakfast/lunch/dinner (including my 4 year old daughter). We ate once at the BBQ restaurant which wasn't very different to the main restaurant but a nice change of scenery and good service by the wait staff. The only downside were the drinks which weren't great it would have been nice to have some real Pepsi! But this wouldn't stop me visiting again!

We visited end of season so there wasn't much going on in Kardemena by way of nightlife so we stayed in the hotel most evenings. My daughter loved the kids entertainment and the animation team were great. They always had something going on each evening so didn't feel the need to leave the hotel!

The hotel itself is very nice and modern it leads onto the beach so the main dining room and some of the rooms had a great view. I would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in Kos especially families! I would also like to thank the staff who were very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Igc_9

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words regarding Mr Kostas & the Animation team have been passed on to them individually.

Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikri Poli Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikri Poli Kos

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mikri Poli Kos 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mikri Poli Kos is located on Kos island…amphitheatrically built on a rocky slope running down to the beach.This family friendly resort presents 175 guestrooms in two-level buildings, elegant, fresh and comfortable.Enjoy magnificent views from your balcony or simply open your door and dive into the pool! Warm blue waters, intoxicating sea views, relaxed and stylish interiors, delightful dining, exciting family activities… a special place with a special kind of hospitality that welcomes each guest and creates everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mikri Poli Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Kos Hotel Kardamena
Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikri Poli Kos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.