We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikri Poli Kos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mikri Poli Kos to your Saves list
Mikri Poli Kos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Seaford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and stayed for 10 nights at the beginning of September. We stayed at several all inclusive hotels on Greek Islands in last few years but have been disappointed on last few occasions. I appreciate that 5 star accommodation in Greece is not the same as UK but I think there are some issues that need to be addressed.

There are a number of positives. The hotel is modern and is clean. The pool area is pleasant and spacious. There were plenty of loungers and parasols. We had a room with a land view but were pleasantly surprised that we could see the sea. The shower worked well and there was always hot water. The food for an all inclusive hotel was fine.

The all inclusive drinks were not very good. At times the wine tasted like it had been watered down but perhaps it was just the quality. The beds in the room were uncomfortable. I like a firm mattress but they were lumpy and the mattress protectors did not fit properly and bunched up overnight which made things worse. There was a lack of service in restaurant and bar areas. While all inclusive means self service in restaurants we have been to other hotels where you are seated and your drinks brought to your table and there is more interaction with waiting/bar staff. Staff were pleasant and polite but there was a total canteen feel where you just ate your meal and left. We ended up eating elsewhere half the time and most days walked into Kardamena to use the beach there. For us, this was enough to make us decide all inclusive won't be for us again.

There is a lovely taverna down the road, towards Kardamena town, called Liotrivi, which has great views, lovely food, which is reasonably priced and good service. There is also a bar nearby called Casa Rossa which do fab cocktails. The Fat Olive is near the beach and they do a nice Greek salad with caper leaves. There is also friendly service at Crossroads bar in town.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear AKG664

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We do appreciate comments from our guests and use this information to improve upon our services and facilities.

I am sorry to see that very few aspects of our services made you unhappy during your Holiday. Our team members do make every effort to satisfy guests as no business can survive on poor service.

This is evident from the overall majority of happy guests who have posted their comments on this site.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 Carda Beach will be a SENTIDO Adults Only Hotel - We will also have our own Water Park in the premises of SENTIDO Carda Beach so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332

We hope you will be staying with us in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    154
    67
    27
    8
See reviews for
192
106
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went on 7 September for a week, the food was great, there was some thing for everbody. The rooms were clean and the pool was spotless.The staff were very helpful, I would go again tomorrow if I got the chance, brilliant holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear David Y

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay and we are happy to have provided an enjoyable experience.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was appreciated by yourself.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel in good location, short stroll to Kardamena. Very nice clean, modern hotel, staff are very friendly and cheerful. Food not 5 star but quite good. Alcoholic drinks fine, although a couple of
cocktails should be on the all inclusive list and the soft drinks were awful and spoilt the alcoholic long drinks. Main bar for evening was too small and closed at 11pm, not enough bar staff which
resulting in long waits for drinks, especially just before 11pm. I have stayed in 4 star hotels and the drinks provided were much better. Would not return unless these problems were rectified, which is a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor as there is no lift to reach higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear zoeKent

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback

As you have mentioned, - Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

Issues such as the drinks and the times of the bars are our first priority for improvement.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

We hope they will give us both another chance to be their choice in the future and we will try to meet their expectations as we get better and better by time.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The complex is situated in a stunning location just a short walk from the lively resort of Kardamena.The place is spotlessly clean centred around a very big and inviting pool.There are 2 restaurants, both serving lovely appetising food with plenty of different choice and variation, especially on the theme nights.Our room was very spacious with a excellent bathroom and was cleaned everyday but one, which was the cleaners day off.The alcoholic drinks available were fine, but i found the soft drinks never tasted nice and tended to stick to the water.
I found all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and despite their long hours always polite and respectful, which with some of the ignorant Russians they have to deal with, must be really difficult.
Now the negative points, and unfortunately there were quite a few.The hotel has a habit of double booking rooms, and on our first night we had to bunk up with friends and family we had arrived with, and didn't get in to our room until gone 3 o'clock the next day.There are only 2 bars, but they are never open at the same time.Plus there is never enough bar staff on at anytime, and people often had to wait up to 10 minutes to get served, despite the staff working their socks, espeically the lovely Karolina and Katerina.Beach towels cost you £5 a week to use, with another £5 deposit for them which was redeemable.All the animation team were really nice and non pushy, but their shows were really really corny and just so outdated, depending often on guest participation.Personally i would prefer just to have varied singers and groups on instead, but the majority of the east European guests seemed to enjoy the shows, well that is, if sitting there looking miserable all the time is enjoying it.Because of our late flight home on our last day, i had twice E-mailed the hotel about keeping our room on for a few extra hours, but hadn't received a reply.Then from the middle of the week kept on inquiring about this, but was constantly told to come back the later, then later, then later again.
Overall i found the resort, complex and staff were great,but jaded, and Kos, though lovely, just seemed so has been, and not a patch on what you can get for the same price in Turkey, the Red Sea resorts or even Tunisia.
And please be warned about the terrible time you will experience at Kos airport when leaving to come home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear skybluedes

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services. We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value were appreciated by yourself.

As you have mentioned, - Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Your good words about our Kitchen, Housekeeping and Karolina & Katerina were passed on to them individually.

As far as the double bookings are concerned it happened only once and it was beyond our control. Please accept our apologies as it is not the norm.

it is in our intension to enrich the animation team with a lot more members so as to perform shows and not sketches and also enrich the nightly program with more varied singers and groups as you pointed out.

Day use of the rooms depends on availability the last day so this is the reason that we couldnt guarantee your late check out until the last minute.

We improve contantly, taking under consideration our guest comments and needs.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---


With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We staid in Mikri Poli on the 1st of September 2013 for a week.
It is not a 5 star hotel, however it is good for families that come with children.
The rooms are not fancy and not as clean as I would expect from a 5 star hotel.
The biggest disadvantage of this hotel was the fact that the water in all the swimming pools was very very cold (it is sea wather that is being pumped). And also it is very windy. Children can't swim normaly in the swimming pool as the water is very cold and when they get out of the pool they receive a big amount of wind (so a child can get immediately sick).
The food is o.k, many things that you can choose from. Not 5 star food, but good food.
The staff and especially the manager was very nice.
The beds are terrible. You can't sleep normally as you feel pain in your back.

Room Tip: The rooms 1210 and 1211 are very good (no stairs at all) perfect for strolers with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear mauka

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback about our staff and services.

Guest comments are taken under serious consideration for future improvement.

It is our first priority to improve the beding by adding a another extra mattres on top.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pec pod Snezkou, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week on September.Lovely,clean, nice hotel.The meels were super.Brilliant animation team!! Only beach is for so many people to tight and a little deckchair. We recommend this hotel for family with children. Have a nice time.Blanka

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Blanka S

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

--- Just for you information, next year 2014 - we will have our own Water Park in the premises of Mikri Poli Kos so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned for very relaxing stay at Mikri Poli, as other reviews have stated, great and varied food, staff friendly, polite and helpful, rooms and pool etc kept clean. Animation team do wonderful job without being pushy, creating a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Only downside was young children playing den's with bar furniture at 11pm!!! not hotels fault but parents. Adult bar would be good. as children have their area, adults should have one too in the evening.

Would return, but for Kos airport. Horrendous experience there. If Kos wants to keep the tourist's coming they should look at the cattle like systems at the airport. It's put us off coming to the island again, even though we enjoyed the holiday itself, and therefore would warn people of the airport experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear DeeP P

Thank you for awarding us such a positive rating for your recent stay.

As you stated this is exaclty what Mikri Poli Kos Hotel is all about :

"as other reviews have stated, great and varied food, staff friendly, polite and helpful, rooms and pool etc kept clean. Animation team do wonderful job without being pushy, creating a friendly relaxed atmosphere. ""

Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

--- Just for you information, next year - 2014 in Mikri Poli Kos will have our own Water Park in the premises so all guests will be occupied sliding down and enjoying themselves.---

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await for your next stay in our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikri Poli Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikri Poli Kos

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#13 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mikri Poli Kos 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mikri Poli Kos is located on Kos island…amphitheatrically built on a rocky slope running down to the beach.This family friendly resort presents 175 guestrooms in two-level buildings, elegant, fresh and comfortable.Enjoy magnificent views from your balcony or simply open your door and dive into the pool! Warm blue waters, intoxicating sea views, relaxed and stylish interiors, delightful dining, exciting family activities… a special place with a special kind of hospitality that welcomes each guest and creates everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mikri Poli Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Kos Hotel Kardamena
Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikri Poli Kos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.