We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel fantastic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikri Poli Kos

Save Saved
You added Mikri Poli Kos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mikri Poli Kos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
oswaldtwistle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lovely hotel fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hi there I travelled with my Mum and Husband both pensioners, me 36 and my children aged 6,7 . The hotel was very spacious , rooms also very spacious the pool areas had lots of sunloungers we didnt have to fight over them , english wasnt the predominant nationality which wasnt a problem , and the food was excellent , the only let down was entertainment was same every week so 2nd week didnt bother with it , but kardemena was only a 10minute stroll which there were lots of bars and restaurants to if you want a change . Katrina on reception was fantastic, exceptional i have cancer and she was so wonderful with us , an excellent member of staff so loving and caring alongside the restaurant manager and the poolside bar girls all of which were so friendly and wonderful people , made your holiday feel more relaxed.
there were 2 childrens shallow pools one covered that the kids loved and spent every day in and a large pool split in 3. Then a walk way to the beach , there you could get in and see all the fish the water was that clear they swam around your feet and you could snorkel for a good few feet out . It was very hot so take shoes to walk on sand .
food was lovely even bacon , lunch and evening meal there was always something to eat meat and fish and salad, potatos rice pasta chips lots of choice , ice cream from 2-6 but you could get a bowl at dinner .
now the reason i have scored this 4 not 5 and im not nit picking but the room never had the tea coffee sugar replenised , now sometime the children would still be asleep and i really wanted a brew in the morning but had to wait , if it states brewing facilities i expect it to be replenished. the only other thing and the snack bar had the same everyday german sausage hotdogs which my kids hated but im sure the other children loved , cheese and tomato sandwich , ham and cheese sandwich , cucumber tomatos and cakes that was it , so expect to eat in the restaurant after a few days .
overall i would go back the views are amazing and there darts , bowls , childrens club and things going on throughout the day , also cleanliness is excellent , my room was laways thoroughly cleaned xxxxxx

Room Tip: higher floor have sea view unless in front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear lisaOswaldtwistle

Thank you for your recent stay and POSITIVE feedback about our staff and services. We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value were appreciated by yourself.

As you have mentioned, - Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

Your good words about "Katrina" have been passed on to her .
Your good words regarding the food have been passed on to the Chef .
Your good words regardinghousekeeping & cleanliness have been passed on to the Housekeeper and her staff.


All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    112
    52
    24
    6
See reviews for
138
82
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great Hotel. Very spacious room with enormous balcony. Very good choice of food and lots of it. No scrambling for sun beds - plenty of them. Good place for chilling out and doing nothing. Also if you wanted to do anything there were always options for this. Quite a lot of steps up to our room which made us struggle for breath at times. Staff were very nice, friendly and chatty and all seemed to speak English. Would go again but for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Susan C

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay and we are happy to have provided an enjoyable experience.

We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

As you have mentioned,all our staff try their best for our customers, there is a great variety of food always freshly prepared, and the hotel is a good place for chilling out.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a very good holiday - all inclusive. The hotel is very nice, modern and clean with a good variety of food on offer. Only a couple of issues, 1 of the reception staff was particularly rude and unhelpful unlike all of the others. Also it is very irritating that on an all inclusive holiday package that the beech towels are at a charge especially as for the most part one doesn't aim to carry cash around. These 2 problems apart the holiday was very relaxing and the weather was kind to us as well!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear iansquash

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our Hotel and Services.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

We are sorry that you had to come around a rude attitude from one of our Staff. We strongly believe that our staff is a great asset of our hotel. Please accept our apologies as this must have been an exception and not the norm.

Our team members do make every effort to satisfy guests as no business can survive on poor service.

The main aim of our efforts is to make every single guest of ours happy, a good friend and a repeater client.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Reading a few reviews I was a little apprehensive travelling with my fussy 9 year old. I can honestly say that from start to the end of the holiday all of the staff members were very helpful and were happy to be at work. The staff work very hard and always have a smile. Although we all have our own likes and dislikes I find it hard to believe some people did not think there was enough choices at meal times, there was lots to chose from and it was very nice. what I particularly liked was how child friendly the hotel is. The animation team do work hard & I did join in the Pilates group which was a great start to the day. Lots of sunbeds and was great that we could have great choice even at 9am, unlike some resorts where the sunbeds are gone at 6am I realise this may be different in high season as we were there 29 May for a week. I would definitely return to this hotel. Worth hiring a car for the day as you can manage to see the island and there are some lovely places to see. Car hire in the hotel is very helpful and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had a sea view and were in room 1111 which our balcony was next to the shallow end of one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Donna 020

Thank you for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay and we are happy to have provided an enjoyable experience.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

Your good words regarding the food and the animation team have been passed on to the Chef and the Chief Animateur.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice spacious room with remote controlled air con. Hotel food is a self service bufet but there is plenty of choice. Hotel staff friendly and speak English. Large deep swimming pool with a seperate toddlers pool fully fenced off. The complex does have a lot of steps so would be an issue for people with walking dificulties. The nearby beach is narrow and quite stony although there are some patches of fine sand. If you want to go to a good beach it is worth travelling the few miles to Paradise beach. Expect to pay to use the loungers. It cost us 7 Euros for two for the day. There are many places to eat out and everywhere English is widely spoken.
Excursions can be booked in Kardamena for a fraction of the cost of booking through the reps, but check what is included.
Overall very enjoyable and would certaily go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Brian D

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services. We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value were appreciated by yourself.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

Your good words regarding the food - "there is plenty of choice on the buffet" have been passed on to our Chef and all the Culinary Team's members individually.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our week at the Mikri Poli was wonderful. We arrived very late on the Saturday night and the staff gave us a nice welcome. Our room (a family room with sea view) was clean and spacious and cleaned daily. (One of our cleaners also made bow shapes with the new sheets and my nightie which was a beautiful touch to the service!) It had a nice bathroom and shower and bath, as well as a good supply of towels, paper and soap etc. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but I greatly appreciated the air conditioning and extra space we had. In the second room we had a coffee table, so when we wanted some cool down time we whacked on the air-con and played cards in what we used as a mini "living room".

The rest of the hotel was spotless and enjoyed sitting by the pool side bar or the blue bar in the early evening before dinner. Though there are "premium" drinks available at a cost, there is plenty of choice with the inclusive ones, and people who moan about the so called "hidden costs" are expecting too mush as it's the same in any hotel you go to.

We are both eager foodies and were not disappointed as the food was wonderful - so much choice and the main meals and lunches were not repeated at all the whole week we were these (which occasionally was a shame as some things I enjoyed so much I wished they came out again!) There were traditional Greek foods mixed in with the standard things you would expect, and the dining room was kept very clean. Endless supplies of salads, cheese, hot meals, deserts, ant-pasti, drinks, breads, olive oils and herbs to add to your food should you wish. We ate twice down at the BBQ (which is free but you have to book) and very much enjoyed that experience. The choice of food varied there too and those chefs really know how to cook meat properly. They offer you the option of buying wine down there, as well as the included drinks, a on both nights enjoyed a superb bottle of relatively cheap yet delicious wine. One night we decided to eat in town and had a wonderful meal there too.

We spent a couple of days by the pool and there was no rush for the sunbeds, with some always available. The pool was very large and clean, as were the facilities (showers, bar). We didn't join in with the animation team, but you could see there worked tirelessly to keep children and adults alike entertained all through the day and evening, without being intrusive. They remembered who you were and were always pleasant and polite. I was upset we missed the Greek Night on the Tuesday evening as we had been on an excursion and were too tired to make it - I am sure it would have been very entertaining. You could tell the entertainment would be of a good quality, and not tacky like many Spanish hotels provide.

The walk to Kardamena was short and pleasant (walking along the coast) and it's not overly touristy. It gives you bars restaurants and tourist shops, without people pouncing on you and harassing you at every turn. It still seems to be an active fishing town and the offer of sea food is endless. We found a very nice shop run by a local olive farmer and purchased home grown olive oil and other bits and pieces from him as gifts. Kardamena is also very close to the airport (though with very little noise) and so we were one of the first to be dropped off, which is great as it made the transfer under 30 minutes.

We also took advantage of the spa facilities at the sister hotel next door which was nice and very relaxing. I had reflexology, a massage and a facial which was a lovely treat. Next door seemed to be an adults only hotel, but equally as nice as the Mikri Poli. We also did a couple of excursions and were picked up and dropped off at the front of the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to other people, with or without a family, as both it and the location was excellent. The staff were very helpful and we came home feeling incredibly relaxed!

Room Tip: I was glad we had a first floor room as you got a balcony and we had a lovely refreshing sea view (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear LondonGb_gb

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay and we are happy to have provided an enjoyable experience.

We are happy to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was appreciated by yourself.

Your good words regarding our Housekeeping Staff ''The rest of the hotel was spotless''
and the Cullinary Brigade ''as the food was wonderful - so much choice and the main meals and lunches were not repeated at all the whole week''

have been passed on to them individually.

As you have mentioned, - Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

Your good words regarding our Staff have been passed on to them individually.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

We are so happy that you reward in such a way the efforts of all our staff in providing a great experience. They all work very hard to do that.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.


With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For anyone who's ever come across one of my reviews before you will know how I'm always banging on about finding a hotel in Europe that comes up to scratch compared with our longer haul destinations. Since having a family we don't feel like tackling a long flight and have been scouring Greece and Spain for good AI resorts.

Anyway, the Sentido ain't bad. But it does fall short. It's clean, the rooms are nice although noisy and it's fab for the little ones with lots of little people things like tables, pools and playground. As usual though 'the rules' or 'extras' grate you a bit. So here goes: tea & coffee in your room on day of arrival only. Real fruit juice, extra. Bottled water, extra. Cocktails, extra. Beach towels, extra plus deposit. Safe, extra. And so on.

In short, it cost £500 for a week here. Caught right, it costs £900 for a fortnight of real AI luxury in Mexico. I know where my money's going next year. I know it sounds a lot, but there really is just no comparison.

Which is a shame because I want to spend my money in Europe. Just Europe doesn't seem to want to give me anything in return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Mikri Poli Kos, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear bassetlawbadger

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback. I am sorry that we were unable to meet with your expectations due to the extras as they do in all AI .

AI basis is described in the brochure or at the descriptions - Our focus remains on practicality and affordability and offering all the essentials for todays' travelers at a value.

We do sincerely regret that you were a 100% happy with us. This was due to reasons beyond our control and not the norm.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We do appreciate comments from our guests and use this information to improve upon our services and facilities.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

*George Vassilopoulos, Hotel Manager, gm.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
*Kostas Zois – Front of House Manager, info.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
*Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager, reservations.mikripolikos@sentidohotels.com
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mikri Poli Kos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikri Poli Kos

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 853 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#11 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mikri Poli Kos 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mikri Poli Kos is located on Kos island…amphitheatrically built on a rocky slope running down to the beach.This family friendly resort presents 175 guestrooms in two-level buildings, elegant, fresh and comfortable.Enjoy magnificent views from your balcony or simply open your door and dive into the pool! Warm blue waters, intoxicating sea views, relaxed and stylish interiors, delightful dining, exciting family activities… a special place with a special kind of hospitality that welcomes each guest and creates everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mikri Poli Kos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikri Poli Kos Hotel Kardamena
Mikri Poli Kos Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikri Poli Kos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.