We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Forres, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a fairly cheap week in the sun, and were very impressed overall.

The Family Village is one of 3 hotels in the complex, and is at the top of the resort, which is up a hill - but it was no problem walking up. The resort sprawls overs many acres and has been finished to a high standard, with lovely terraces, gardens and walkways all over the place. There is a lovely, although pretty crowded, beach at the bottom of the complex where you can get all inclusive drinks and snacks all day. The water is crystal clear, warm and shallow out for quite a distance, with lots of little fish swimming about.

There are about 20 swimming pools scattered around the hotels, all of which appear to be available to use no matter which hotel you're booked into, some of which are quiet, some lively, but all of them bar one are saltwater, and a bit cold, which is different! There were plenty of sunbeds, plenty of parasols and plenty of space. There is also a mini water park with a few slides, into the only freshwater pool. There is so much choice though, you'll find the one you like best.

The Family Village hotel is probably the least impressive of the 3 hotels, the Norida Beach at the bottom of the resort being the most grand, but it was still a lovely place to stay, and had the best food out of all the hotels. The place was spotlessly clean, and the staff were probably the most cheerful and helpful out of anywhere I've stayed. The food was excellent, with plenty of choice daily, but after a week or so it may get a bit repetitive. The evening entertainment in the complex theatre varied from quite good, to pretty ropey - but always done with a smile and was fun. Kardemena town is only a few km away with lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs and there are both free hotel shuttles daily, as well as a more frequent and later running bus service which only costs E1.60.

Our room was lovely and spacious, again spotlessly clean and cleaned daily. We had a nice size terrace overlooking the mountain and the rest of the complex. The room was tiled and freshly painted, with a marble bathroom - pretty impressive to be honest.

Overall we thought it was an excellent place to stay and would not hesitate to recommend it or go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    167
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
217
154
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We were slightly disappointed on arrival with our room as it was very basic however this is often the case in Greece compared to Spanish hotels. We had the bonus that there was a pool by the room and we had fantastic views too.
We found the staff were wonderful and everywhere was clean. The food was good and varied.
Yes, the hotel was full of different nationalities as a hotel obviously is likely to be! We found that we liked this and In our opinion it was on occasion the British that were loud and embarrassing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Excellent room service, good choice of food,
The all inclusive works out excellent value for money
Entertainment was aimed for young children, hotel in general caters for families not for young people looking for a good night. Quiet in the evenings unless you go into kardamena.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Just arrived back yesterday from Mitsis family village.
Overall we gave the place 7/10.
It is a huge complex on the side of the mountain there are 3 hotels in the group built on the side of the mountain, the family village is the highest up so when we read the comments about the hill climb we thought it was a bit picky however we were wrong it was hard work and we are both quite fit.

The hotel itself is nice spotlessly clean and all the staff are extremley friendly and helpful the rooms are spacious and cleaned daily, however the cleaners start as early as 7am and we were woken most mornings before 8am when they were cleaning other rooms and the stairs outside our room.
Some of the rooms have a pool running alongside which allows direct access ( like having your own private pool )
The main pool is lovely and has nice views plenty of sunbeds available the pool however is salt water so not the best.
There is a water slide pool near the theatre ( down the hill! ) which is fresh water but not facilites for sunbathing.

Food is a good standard most of which is cooked infront of you and there is a good choice, as im a fussy eater especially on holiday i found the food great only negative point is that 80% is the same each day so by the end of the week we were a bit fed up with it.
Drinks, plenty of choice but as with most all inclusive set ups its local quality and very weak , the white wine was nice which is surprising as that normally tastes like vinager!

Entertainment - the theatre is down the hill shared by all 3 hotels and erm well i think the phrase they " tried" would describe the efforts by the staff . They cater for a large varity of nationalities and as a result we found a lot of nights very non british and left to go back to the hotel ( back up the hill! ) The entertainment staff tried really hard throughout the day to get people to participate in various activities but not in a mithering way and always had a smile on their faces.

It is about 10-15 mins outside of the town Kardamena there is a free bus that runs from the hotel 4 times a day last bus back is 10pm after that its a taxi which can be pricey. There is not much to do in the town unless your into drinking and nightclubs.

Trips- We found that booking through agents in Kardamena worked out about 30% cheaper than booking with the rep for the exact same trips. Can be a massive saving if in a family or booking a number of different trips would advise KOS town and Day trip to Turkey.

Overall we had a good holiday and felt that a week was about right, wouldnt recommend to family and friends but if you have already booked then there is enough for you to have a good holiday so dont worry.
On a final note, if you, like we did, travel through the night and arrive at 5am then be warned this is classed as your first night and as a result you will be asked to pay a further 40 euro to keep your room until 10pm on your last night otherwise you are roomless from 12 pm until your transfer collects you at 2am the following morning (14 hours is a long time if its not sunny !)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The previous review will save me writing loads as I agree with it 100% We were after an extra holiday in Sept and this fitted the bill entirely. Food was excellent especially the Pizzas and salads. You would have to be very picky to not like the food. Yes the main problem with the hotel is that it is built on the side of a mountain so the climb from the beach is a bit of a gasper and if you have one of the high number rooms it is a bit of a hill from the pool. This hotel is really not good for anyone a bit poor on their feet or not used to walking. The other thing is it is no use for young people looking for nightlife action as lively Kardamena is 5 kilometres away, very few buses and so 1 hours walk but if you don't want to go dashing off clubbing every night then it doesent matter. Sitting on the terrace have a drink with spectacular views was all the entertainment we needed. The entertainments team do activities during the day but they are limited to around the pool, the area of which is really slippy, take care!! I never understand why people want to race around doing loads of things like water polo, table tennis, darts, stretch aerobics etc all day, I do sport all year and want a break from activity but if you are looking for running around like a headless chicken all day then this is not the place for you. As you will have gathered this is very much a relaxing holiday with excellent value. we went on a couple of excursions at 10 euros each which were great, to Kos town and a brilliant mountain village called Zia then Tingaki. You see the thing about all inclusive not being traditional Greek is that trad Greek is now expensive compared to UK. because of the 1 euro = 1 pound! A greek salad will set you back a fiver Mousakka 6.50, dips 3.50 each, ridiculous when you think of what they used to cost. So would definitely recomend here to friends but not to young people or people with mobility problems. I hav'ent mentioned young children much cos I don't have any. There were lots there but the kids club did'nt seem that good, it boils down to the beach being a bit of a hike which is where kids are best off (the beach) although they seemed to be having fun at the slides near the theatre. I'm not a 'Strictly' or X factor person so did'nt go to the shows as I suspect this would have been the theme so could not comment I hate 'shows' so not the right person to ask. We had a great time and would go again although like the previous review there is lots more to see in the world. We thought we might stay at Tingaki B&B and see more of Kos and Greek food, Kos is more old fashioned and traditional in places than alot of Greece but I've just checked the prices and All Inclusive is massively better value. Hope this helps, cheers Allan.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

As you will see from other reviews this group of 3 (soon to be 5) hotels has some definite drawbacks. Mostly these are due to the location: the complex is on the side of a mountain, the rooms and facilities are on a series of terraces; there are lots of steps to climb / descend wherever you want to go! There is however a lift for the steepest part of the route to the beach.
The ethos here is definitely on relaxation; the animation team are enthusiastic, but not pushy.
Each of the guest facing staff that we encountered was unfailingly polite; almost all spoke anything between perfect and fairly good English with some German and/or another European language as well as Greek.
The food is served in buffet style with a fresh, plentiful, and a good range of choices. If I have a little complaint it would be that I would have preferred a more Greek emphasis rather than the safe choice of Italian/Spanish inspired meals. Having said that even with all the hills and steps I have put on more weight than I should have for only a week’s holiday!
Drinks are the standard A.I. Beer is cool and refreshing, soft drinks are a bit insipid, but fine during the heat of the day. Sticky cocktails are fun, but don’t expect the Ritz and local wine is…. best avoided.
The rooms have an air conditioning unit. This will bring the temperature to a comfortable level in a few minutes; there is no need to waste power by leaving your key magnet in the room whilst you are not there.
The hotel is good for families with young children and active middle-aged people; due to being perched on the side of a mountain it is no good for people with mobility problems. If you are looking for somewhere with varied night-life you would probably be better off booking one of the hotels in the town centre.
A few concerns or suggestions I would say are:
1. Salt-water pools can be harsh on the skin = put lots of after-sun cream on after swimming either in the pool or sea. Children’s eyes in particular are very sensitive; always make your kids use goggles when swimming.
2. The climate and area are attractive to flies and, although the hotel makes an effort to keep them away from food, an investment in full-length net curtains would make siesta time in the bedrooms less annoying.
3. Smooth stone paving is very attractive around the pools, but can be treacherous when wet. A non-slip walkway around the pools would be a good idea.
4. Not something that the hotel can take effective action on but the sea shelves very steeply on Norida beach, this is great for reasonably strong swimmers and anyone wanting to watch the fish, but is less good for children wanting a safe splash-around.
5. I know that children are ultimately their parents' responsibility; but lots of kids running around the pool in the evening is ‘an accident waiting to happen.’ The hotel would do well to put a barrier across the pool steps after dark.

All in all we had a great holiday here. Would we return? Probably not: There is still far too much of the world that I still want to see. Would we recommend it to our friends? Yes, given the warnings of lots of steps and little nightlife. It is a good, clean, well-run hotel. All of the staff here are genuinely interested in making your stay as good as possible. Kos has lots to offer whether you are looking for sun and sea, exciting nightlife, ancient culture or indolent relaxation.
P.S on a clear evening take your camera to the high point and record the fabulous sunset.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Having just returned from family village i would'nt recommend it. Staff were very friendly in bar and restaurant, rooms were basic but clean. Entertainment let the hotel down, there was none, we were bored stiff,had two 17 year olds with us nothing for them at all. The hotel bar was full of flies and i mean full there was even some in restaurant. Snack bar was a waste of time unless you like ice cream, we used main pool everyday but snack bar was on beach to far away to go for hot dog. Pool area very slippy. Not many british at hotel probably about 20%. You can use facilities in the 2 other hotels on the complex but you had to drink in your own hotel. Kardamena itself was about 10 mins in a taxi which cost 9euro each way or there was a free bus but didnt run very often only a couple of hours in morning then same again at night nothing in between.I won't be returning to any of the mitsis hotels in Kos

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.