We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a week at the mitsis family resort, we chose to stay at this hotel after staying at the mitsis resort and spa in Rhodes last year. Although there was nothing actually wrong with the family village it wasn't as nice as the resort we stayed in Rhodes:( As I said there's nothing actually wrong with the hotel, it's just a little basic, but its clean and the food in the resturant, although often similar each day is freshly cooked and mostly very nice. The resort itself is very hilly, we went with two small children and had to push a buggy, which was pretty tough in the heat but it probably helped burn off some of those extra calories from all the tatziki and feta cheese! Not sure it would be a good place to stay if you had a wheelchair. We had a car so we were able to get out and about, which I would highly recommend, kos town is a lovely evening out, some really nice bars and restaurants, lots of great fresh fish! Kardamena is also a nice evening out, not quite as busy, not sure if places weren't open because its still early in the season or if they're permanently closed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    133
    64
    27
    14
See reviews for
184
130
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arrival looked stunning and to wake up overlooking sea it's just amazing. Food great, drinks too and service was fantastic - everyone so friendly. The only down side- not a sandy beach - apart of that can not fault it!!!! Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Upon arriving to the Mitsis on the 9th June 2013, whas quite impressed, until we were told that you were not allowed to use the sister hotels on the resort unless you pay 15 euros a day for an upgrade, i personall y found this an insult. The food was very beige and boring and the same slop every day and very repetative.
On the upside the bar (Tas)/reception staff could not do enough for you, so they are the one's that make that hotel. The restaurant manager was not engaging and quite frankly rude.
The rooms were kept very clean.
The manager actually asked us what we thought so we told him, but we were leaving the next day, however some friends we made whilst there that were staying for another week got an upgrade for the whole week and had food cooked especially for them from the chef, so that was good enough for us
If you go and you are not impressed then speak to Antony the hotel manager.
Would recommend a fantastic restuarant in Kardemnia The Alvi, fantastic food and service 100 percent.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the swim up pools are very cold, all pools were salt water and did not heat up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We didnt really like the hotel, very basic and the reception area is very shabby and small. I agree that the majority of staff, especially the bar staff and waiting staff are very friendly but one of the woman on reception was very unhelpful, boarderline rude on more than one occassion, which was disappointing. Our room was fine, we had one with the ladder down to the pool which was nice and the housekeeping team kept the room absolutely spotless, really impressed by the cleanliness. There were hundreds of Russians which was tiresome - the parents are louder than the children! They really monopolised the place. Our kids liked the disco in the evening and the shows. The food was fine - all seemed pretty fresh but it was the same thing day in day out. No fresh fish or seafood which you would have thought there would have been on an Island? It is perched at the top of a steep hill which gave us a good work out with the double pushchair but thats fine - it would be a problem for the elderly though. One thing that was a major annoyance is that for some reason they only have one person serving at the bar in the hotel and in the venue where they put on the discos and show. It was bizarre, there would be a long queue of people with one poor barman. Could not understand this - everybody was complaining about it but it never changed - always just the one. After a week we'd had enough so hired a car which was a great thing to do. The beaches down the coastline are beautiful and there's some nice towns to visit. Also a place full of roaming peacocks which was lovely. The Island is gorgeous and the climate amazing but I wouldn't go back to The Family Village. It wasn't an expensive holiday so I guess it was a case of 'you get what you pay for'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from here for a weeks break I found the staff so lovely the manager was always around and happy to help with anything you would need we have a swim up room was very much worth paying the extra as it made our holiday the food is great it does get a bit the same after a few days but it was all cooked lovely and plenty of it the only down side I could say about this hotel is the bar you do have a lot more choice then most other places but the hotel was full and only one bloke serving but besides all that I found this holiday great value for money and if you work out how much the hotel gets a night per person I really don't know how they do it !! I would say give it ago its clean the staff are lovely and lovely food and its bear the beach there's not a lot else to say xx enjoy x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just got back from a weeks holiday here with my boyfriend and thought I'd share what we thought!

Location- the hotel is on a hill but I honestly can't understand the complains about it! It literally takes 5/10 minutes to walk back from the beach and a bit of exercise never hurt anyone! There is also a beach buggy which we saw going to and from the beach and hotel all day. The hotel, being on a hill, has lovely views of the sea and mountains.

Room- we had a room with a ladder which was great fun! Definitely recommend paying more for if you can. The rooms were spotless everyday, had no problem with air con etc.

food- the main restaurant serves standard buffet food- salads, pasta, grilled meat and pizza. It's all made in front of you so it's all fresh. The pizza and pancakes are especially delicious. The restaurant is air conditioned so never gets too hot either.

Pool- we only ever used the main pool so can't comment on the pool with slides. The main pool is saltwater which was actually fine and was clean everyday. We never had any problems getting sun beds even when one day we missed breakfast and had a lie in. The pool tiles are quite slippy but we never saw anyone fall over and quite a few children were running on them, so I don't think they are that bad.

Staff- the staff are an absolute credit to this hotel. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make sure you had a great time. One night my boyfriend and I wanted to get the bus into town but missed it by a second, one of the staff who drives the beach buggy didn't hesitate in telling us to jump in and driving us to the next bus stop where we made the bus. I can't thank them enough for making us feel very welcome.

Overall I would definitely return to this hotel, for the price we paid we couldn't believe the quality of food, room, the pool and the staff that we received. We will definitely be returning to family village and thanks for giving us such a fun time!!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior family room with a swim up ladder! They're beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back after 2week break with husband and 8/12 yr old boys. Entertainment dreadful none what so ever at hotel . You need to be very fit as extremely hilly food only ok same every day. No animation for older children not even in norida beach hotel. Few issues at first but were resolved by manager agreeing to give bands to enable us to eat at norida otherwise it would be a huge track back for lunch.on the plus side very clean a few large ants in room though maid left us spray .would we go back or recommend this - no .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.