We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Last minute holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked this holiday 10 days before our holiday, arrived on the 29th September for 1 week for a autumn sun holiday with my wife. Our arrival in the early hours of the morning we were welcomed into the reception and offered a ham and cheese roll and a drink if we wished. The staff kindly took our bags and lead us to our apartment which was only a short walk from the reception. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom adequate. The Balcony had plenty of room although was a inland view of Kerdamena. The all inclusive catering is excellent with plenty of salad's and freshly cooked foods (cooked in from of you) the pizza were brilliant although does get repetitive after a few days but there is enough to choose from if you are not a fussy eater. the staff here are first class, very friendly and welcoming and although we do not have children we noticed that they really do do out of there way with family's with young children. The main pool was clean and the water for the pool is salty from the sea water. Like many other reviews of this resort please note that there are a lot of steps and steep hills but this is no problem for an active couple, there is a beach hopper every 10 mins to save your legs. If you enjoy the beach and sea then take a snorkel and have a look what you would normally miss. I would highly recommend this and although we like to try different places we would go back.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to have a swim up room i would choose it, we had a standard room but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    167
    72
    30
    15
See reviews for
217
154
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to visit the mitsis resort in Kos, having stayed at the mitsis Rinela beach in crete last year. They have a very good all inclusive package and the food and drinks where excellent. But for us it was the staff who made our holiday one to remember last year ... thanks to Zulu, Mady, Una ,Andris, Alice Octavian, Boris and all the hotel staff x This year we booked a very last minute package via travel republic and flew with Thompson airways with a pre booked transfer with holiday taxis .The flight was fine, and transfer to the hotel went very smoothly. The hotel in about 2 miles from the centre and is easy to reach with a local bus 1.70 euros and taxi 10 euro. As we are a family of 4 we used taxis. The hotel was set within the mitsis world of hotels (blue domes, norida beach and summer palace) which has a beach front and mountain to the rear. We were surprised at how quite the hotel was and seen straight away by reception staff who said that lunch was on for another 20 minutes so we should leave luggage with them and pop and have lunch before filling out forms etc. l would now like to say the food is excellent and so long as you don't eat a bit of everything on your plate every day, you will not find it too repetitive. There is show cooking everyday with the chefs in there high hats and they will cook everything from delicious salads, soups and fresh meats to fish veggies in all manner of sauces spices and herbs and crepes scones fruits and desserts to die for. We returned to check in and where told we had been up graded from the double room i had booked to a Superior family swim up room!! Now this was amazing and i would urge all to book these rooms if you want amazing views and a private pool you can use anytime. Many thanks for this treat. Being the end of the season we were told the animation was finished at the family village but we would be allowed to use the facilities of the norida beach during the shows in the evening and the kids club 12-2 and 3-5 for our youngest daughter. At this point I would like to thank Marta, Katarina and the animation team for making our holiday so enjoyable. My 7 year old had the best time with them during her mini club visits and was very sad to leave. This was due to the amount of effort and fun they put into the sessions she would always have made something or had face paints and drawings to show to us and her big sister (15).Sadly the only issue with this was the hill we had to use that connected the 2 hotels. Now i enjoy a walk and would not have found it an issue if we only had to climb it say once or twice a day but due to the mini club and animation being at the norida we were climbing up and down up to 10 times a day!! And so asking the reception about the black band system we were told with these bands you can eat and drink at the summer palace and norida along with our own hotel and would therefore not have to climb the hill to get drinks etc. whilst mini club was on. I made enquires as to cost and was quoted 300 euro which was reduced to 220 due to the lack of animation. Well i could have paid an extra £50 to stay at the norida, when i was a booking stage in the UK. so decided to think about it, had we known the animation at the family village was closed for the season ( the hotel closed the day we left 13/10/12) then i would have booked the norida anyway as the children's happiness and entertainment is important for us. To cut a long story short whilst sat in the lobby using the free Wi-Fi, I overheard a very loud conversation taking place at the reception where another family was really kicking up a stink about the exact same issue and was promptly given free black bands for their entire family of 4 adults and 1 child. As soon as they left i went to speak with the guys on the desk ( also very helpful and work very hard to ensure all you need for you holiday goes amazingly well) who said this should not be a problem for me and gave me and my husband a black band each free !! This hotels service was totally amazing but it didn’t stop there!! we tried all the hotels for food service and drinks etc. and can say hand on heart family village excelled in every way, the norida was good , more verity of food as it’s a much bigger hotel , but with large queues for food and queues to get outside tables we preferred the quietness and friendly nature of the staff at the family village, we also tried the summer palace now that was a very nice hotel and the food good high quality but very busy and so we only went for a few drinks and spent most of our day time at the norida whist the mini club and evening entertainment was on and the rest of the time up at the family village. I will be writing to the manager of the mitsis family village as i believe they have some outstanding staff working there, from the daily room maids to the chefs and animation but one particular member of their staff went the extra mile ... on our leaving day we were given the option to keep our room on till we left for our evening flight for free!! They were closing that day and the transfer bus came to collect us as we had our last drinks and said our thank you and good byes. We left and where on our way to the airport when a red car was coming down the road after us and to my amazement it was Genatjan, he was one of the staff who would make us wonderful hot chocolate’s and cocktails. He had noticed that my daughter had left her handbag in the lobby when we had checked out and had got into his own car to try and reunite her with it before we reached the airport. Such honesty goes well above what would be expected from anyone. That act encapsulated the whole holiday for us really that people here look after you before check in (free upgrade) and even when we had checked out they still make 110% effort. I would recommend Mitsis resorts to everyone, they have got the set up completely right to make sure everyone has a memorable and enjoyable holiday. May I thank everyone, for we had fantastic time and we look forward to staying at one of the mitsis hotels again next year.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms and the pina coladas are a must :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at Mitsis family Village hotel,we were staying there as a group of 30 for my daughters wedding. We arrived early morning as the sun was rising to find we had the most amazing views and an immaculate swim up room!! The staff are lovely and friendly, particularly Nichol and Maria in reception who made sure all our group were staying close together and made the holiday extra special, nothing was too much trouble! Tolina our maid was lovely, we had lovely white fresh towels every day, the room was immaculate and she added her extra touch particularly on the wedding day. The food was freshly cooked with plenty of choice although there was only bacon on for breakfast twice, restaurant staff were always cheerful. It is quite a trek to the beach but we enjoyed the exercise, there is a 'beach hopper' for those who prefer a ride. Drinks were good, the beer and wine are nice and there is plenty of choice in cocktails. the swimming pools were clean & the water slides were great fun. our group ranged from age 1-73 years there was something for everyone, i would definatley recommend this hotel and would love to return!!!

Room Tip: Request a Superior family room with swim-up feels like you have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

just got back sunday morning from the mitsis family village .the room we had was very spacious very clean with a swim- up pool, the maids were in every morning with clean towels, the food was exellent a bit repetitive but very fresh ,the wine was spot on.the staff were second to none they couldnt do enough for you.we would recomend this hotel to anyone. it is located on a hillside but not a problem as they have a shuttle bus that takes you up and down the hill if you want to.it costs 10 euros in a taxi in to kardimena for all your gift shops and lots of taveras serving lots of different beers and food if you wanted it , They all show football in the main square,We are already planning going back next year first class holiday.

Room Tip: worth paying a little extra for a room with the swim-up pool the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from our last minute holiday to the family beach, and all I can say is ...WOW! I have done loads do last min hols and always expect to be in a slightly run down, ageing hotel, but the family beach is lovely, clean, all staff from cleaners to head chef always say hello and will go out of their way to make sure you are ok. Yes, the hotel is up the top of a steep hill, but there is a beach buggy service which will take you up and down to the beach, which was very useful in the 28c heat. The family beach is on a complex of 4 mitsis hotels, the family beach being the only 4 star, the rest being 5 star. Having compared the hotels the family beach is the older and perhaps poorer sister to the other 3 (being the blue domes, norida and summer palace) , but still had a level of service and cleanliness of the five star hotels.
The all inclusive food was excellent, plenty of choice, variation day to day, and all cooked freshly in front of you. Food was also available down on the beach, or if you we're heading out for the day you could ask for a picnic basket to take with you so you would not miss out on lunch. There was never any quibble over the amounts of drinks that you ordered, and the frozen cocktails available on the beach were amazing!
We travelled the last week before the end of the season so the hotel was reasonably quiet therefore would not be quite sure how busy it would be at full height of the season. We had no problems with queues, or getting a sunbed etc. the only downside was the lack of evening entertainment .... Non existent! We put this to being the last week of their season, but from having read other reviews this is probably a problem throughout the season. We ended up going to the other hotels to have a snoop and what was going on there, although of course we then could not get a drink as you cannot use the other hotel all inc facilities.
All in all, we had a fab holiday in a lovely hotel, with staff who always had a smile on there face and were always so welcoming. Would I go back? Absolutely! Already wanting to plan next years holiday back there!

Room Tip: If you can afford to up grade , go for one of the maisonettes with the swim up pool, they looked ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Mitsis Family Beach in Sept with 4 friends. We had two appartments which were spotlessly clean and very spacious. Some trouble with our air-con the first night but this was solved swiftly by the hotel staff. The staff are fantastic and seem genuinely happy to help - on one occasion even phoning our room having heard that our friend was not feeling too good, and offering food deliveries and water etc to the room. The family beach is the 4 star hotel in the complex and was fantasic- clean, quiet and great facilities. The food was incredible, lots of choice and both our vegetarians were impressed with the selection also. Cocktails and wine was also nice, and there is never a shortage of food- snacks available at the bar if you can't wait the two hours between meal times. The beach bar was a particularly nice addition and saved the walk back up to the hotel bar. Hotel pool is also very nice, and the views are excellent- rocky hills one side and the ocean the other. Pool with slides nearby was also great fun, and another pool mbar there. I'd definately book here again, and all inclusive is definately the way to go- bar menu's we saw stated 5 euro's just for a coke! I have already recommended to many people. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 655 and 657 - views are great! and rooms are close to pool, reception and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited Mitsis Family beach at the end of August and after the week was over we definitely didn't want to come home! We had upgraded to a maisonette with a swim-up pool for an extra 140€ and it was worth every penny. As you can see from my photographs, the views were amazing especially at sunrise.

The room was very spacious for two people (we even had a bathroom and TV each). The cleaner came every day and changed the sheets and towels, so the room was spotless. Also, the air conditioning was free of charge.

The food was very good quality and there was plenty of choice. You could easily have a different meal every night, so I don't understand the reviews saying that the food was the same all the time. I can only guess that the people that have written such reviews tend to stick to the pizza and chips counter. There was a wide variety over the week ranging from Chinese to traditional Greek dishes and there was also endless choice regarding the drinks at the bar and the queue was never too long.

All the reviews mentioning the steep hills are true to some extent, but as a couple in our twenties, we had no problems at all. We were even thankful for the exercise after overindulging at breakfast, lunch and dinner!

The only downside for me was the evening's entertainment. I understand that it would be difficult for the animation team to be able to put on a different top quality show every night, but the only thing live about the entertainment all week was me singing along in the audience to Mamma Mia. However the all inclusive bar in the theatre made it more bearable!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday here and would not hesitate to book again. The staff were extremely helpful and always there to help. We have already recommended the hotel to family and friends and may even book a visit again for next year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a maisonette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Family Village Beach
Family Village Kos
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.