We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 lads 18-30's type holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kardamos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kardamos to your Saves list
Kardamos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“7 lads 18-30's type holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is clean, simple and what you would expect for what you have most probably paid.
It's a bit of a walk from Kardemena town/ beach (about 5-10 mins), however if its nightclubs you're looking for, the situation is perfect. It's about a minute walk to the nearest club 'Starlight' and about 5 minutes away from 'Status'.
If you're looking for a good, lively, cheap, hassle free stay - this is the place you'd want to go.
For families that don't enjoy teenagers messing around in the pool etc, this hotel probably isn't for you, but for groups of young friends this is perfect.
The rooms were basic, and don't include hobs or a kettle. You do however have a fridge which you will definitely need if you'd like to stock up on booze or water! I would advise getting air con at an extra charge of 35 euros per room. Staying for a week waking up in a puddle of your own sweat is not enjoyable.
The Supermarket is about the same distance as the town away from the hotel, although there is a smaller shop about 2 mins walk away.
All in all all of us enjoyed our holiday here and in Kos, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Air Con needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    15
    6
    11
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for two weeks, last week in June 1st week in July 2012. At first they tried to put us in the hotel part even though we'd booked a studio. Room and corridors stank of cigarettes. Room was extremely small. We had to stay the first night in the hotel room until they sorted a studio out.

The staff were very accommodating and pleasant, despite the 'exuberance' of the young(ish) barman who insisted on yelling everytime he opened his mouth and could be heard throughout the hotel keeping people awake all night.

We eventually got moved to a studio, which was clean but very dog eared. The chipboard around the sink and cupboard was falling to pieces and the surfaces unusable. The cleaner (Anna) was very pleasant and our room was cleaned daily. Sheets changed every three days or so and fresh towels provided at the same intervals.

The complex is a five to ten minute walk from the central square and despite it being situated near the resorts biggest nightclub, it was surprisingly quiet.

The complex is predominantly 18-30 but despite this, in the main, it was quiet every night with the exception of one when the usual idiots drinking on empty heads landed and managed to push all the parked scooters over, chuck their empty bottles and cans all over and leave piles of sick etc. However, the staff were extremely efficient and swiftly cleaned this up.

There is a reasonably sized pool with a pool bar/ snack bar at the side and plenty of sunbeds if that's your thang. We didn't spend long there as we prefer to hire a scooter and explore the island, but the short time we did spend there was pleasant enough.

The only reason this doesn't get a higher rating is basically because the place is in urgent need of renovation. Despite this, the staff managed to keep it very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the hotel bit. Get a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

After reading a lot of reviews on here about the hotel, I was dreading going however it really wasn't as bad as I expected! Our room was on the ground floor right by the pool, it was clean and tidy (we didn't have any insects or cockroaches in our room!), there was a little terrace that was by the gardens which had chickens roaming around in. The bathroom was tiny and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so inevitably the bathroom was always flooded!

There were a few bugs etc in the pool, especially by the steps but there is a net to clean them out with. The snack bar area is clean and the man serving in there is lovely! How he keeps so happy and smiley in the sweltering heat, I have no idea! Food and drinks are reasonably priced in there.

The hotel terrace is lovely to sit under the vines and have a cocktail; the drinks are fairly well priced as well. The hotel is loud as there are loads of people coming and going at all hours, but if you're staying at this hotel is probably because you want a fun place to stay! I found a man sleeping in the corridor one morning; people were walking past laughing at him! There is no air conditioning within the hotel rooms and it does get roasting in the rooms, sleeping at night can be tough!

We opened our door and managed to get some air moving, we didn’t bother with a fan as we were only there for a few nights. (Tip – if you wet a towel and cover your feet with it, you’ll sleep better!)

There's a little supermarket on the walk into and from town to grab more drinks and water etc, the supermarket in the main square is the cheapest place I found to get water, 60cents for a 2L bottle! One of the clubs Starlight is right by the hotel and the other club Status is about a 5 min walk from the hotel.

The Indigo Room in the main square is a great bar; you can get a fishbowl (which holds 7L of alcohol) and 6 vodka shots for 40 Euros. We also went to Marios which was fun and to the Garden Bar which was for more of a quieter drink!

We ate at Captains and Pegalos while there, whilst the food at both places was great my favourite would be Pegalos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

well first id like to start of with dont be silly people as some of these reviews, why would you go on this holiday for a honnymoon! i was scared of going to this hotel for some of the revews, but if your going with your friends for a big pissup its great, its a cheep hotel so what do you expect. there are a few inescts but what do you expect its greece, we had a crockroch called henry, the cleaner is lovely and comes in everyday but you might have to ask for towles, when youve been in the shower it floods your bathroom then makes your whole rooms floor dirty.. but get drunk and in the morning it be clean! the pool does have bugs in but it comes with a complementary net by the side of the pool. it is quite hot in the rooms and the fans dont do much but if you open your front door for a while its fine (or get drunk) id recomend buying a sponge to clean your pans and things cause you dont get one, it doesnt really catar that well for self catering but most of you going to this hotel are like 18.19.20 and the most you be cooking is pot noodles.. or live of tukks like i did and if you get really hungery there is chickens, turkeys that walk around the hotel and a really annoying loud dogs that live nearby that you can shoot, the location is great its not far away at all and from or room we could see one of the clubs. id recomend going the the bar called the bands, and do the jade dance, great music and people, and a bar that i cant rembber the day but it has harbios on the front, really good prices, a cocktail and 2 shots for 3 euro! Stay away from the annoying gay guy that asks you if 'your going staus tonight' hes annoying and rips you off, dont go out to sea on a pedal boat you get told off, dont sit on the jetty by the beach drunk you fall in and you may he rumours about a chlamydia pool thats open 24/7 yes you will prob get chlaymydia but not gonna lie its pretty dam fun jumping in a pool at 5 in the morning drunk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

LITERALLY INCREDIBLE!!!! went in a group of 3 to celebrate end of exams (like previous review) - they said it all; no need to repeat it but its such a good hotel. the only thing I would say is that it really is a hotel for groups, noise, fun, drink and music!! Its a noisy hotel that you cant get too much sleep at - but that was all the fun. The area is amazing - you can hire quads for 23 euros for a whole day, enjoy water sports, eat out everywhere and meet tons of amazing people. Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone that wants a good time. The owners are all lovely, as are the cleaners/maids - the pool bar is really relaxed and so cheap, as is the main hotel bar and anywhere surrounding it. If you haggle you can get like 11 shots for 3 euros in town (our proudest moment!). HAVE FUN AND GO TO KARDAMOS!!!!

Room Tip: Take ICE CUBE TRAYS for the freezer in the apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

To be honest, having read the previous reviews i was sort of fearing the worst upon arrival at the Kardamos....However.. IGNORE THE BAD REVIEWS I PROMISE IT IS ABSOLUTELY FINE
In fact i really dont have a bad word to say about the hotel. I went with 3 other lads, celebrating the end of our A Levels, and we stayed in the actual hotel rather than in the studios, which did look and sound a lot noisier than the hotel itself it has to be said. We didnt go 18-30's not many people that were staying at the same time as us did.The room was basic but adequate (pretty much what you expect in Greece) but very clean; plus all of them have a balcony and ours had a pool view! In a previous review i read that the woman owner was a witch? THIS IS NOT TRUE all the staff are very friendly and happy to help. The cleaner came in everyday bar Thursday <(not sure why) haha, and gave us fresh sheets and towels twice in the week we were there. As for the suggested influx of insects, we had two cockroaches in a week; again to be expected with the Climate! The rooms did get quite stuffy at night, but to be honest we got used to it, and didnt rent a fan from Reception for 15 euros. They also let out safe's for 12 euros, which we did get, they are located adjacent to reception.
The pool area is really nice with sun loungers aplenty and it has a really convenient snack bar selling a range of hot food and drinks-really cheap!

Kardamena itself is a lovely resort, buzzing at night, with a really friendly atmosphere. The main town is a 5-10 minute walk away, with one of the two main clubs Starlight, literally round the corner, so the location is ideal. Everywhere is so cheap, dinner and a drink for around 10 euros (give Captains and Pelagos a try) and if you look around the best bars have some really good deals, our faves were Brothers, Vibe (vodka mixer/2 shots for 4euros) , Indigo Room and the Jam.

The motto, you get what you pay for certainly springs to mind with this hotel and for what we payed which was £10 a night we couldnt really complain! If on a group holiday The Kardamos is perfect, as you dont really spend much time in the hotel, bed and thats it! You do have to bear in mind that it is a club 18-30 hotel, so you come to expect slamming doors and shouting at early hours, but if you're up for a laugh and with friends it's fine! Only minor complaint is that the shower flooded the bathroom, (really was no point in having the shower curtain!) but it dried after about 10 minutes haha!

To conclude, absolutely amazing holiday, Kardamena as a place has the perfect blend of sun, and nightlife to cater for your needs on a group holiday! Cannot fault the hotel and would love to go back!

Any questions feel free to ask!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last year end of August - beginning of September. It was really hot and we only survived after 2 extremely restless nights before upgrading to air-con. You need it the fans just blow hot air around! I feel sorry for those without air-con.
Overall the rooms are clean. Arnella the cleaner came everyday to clean and changed bedding regularly. She was really nice!
Beware of mosquitos there is loads! Do not leave balcony door open on a night because you will be greeted by a midnight hoard of bugs feasting on you! Make sure you take repellant and plug ins!
The hotel is a short walk to all the nightlife and it is always lively! We spent most of the time on daytrips which we purchased from local tourist shops. The reps are a rip off and you can tag along on bar crawls or meet up later for free.
This hotel is very lively so be prepared to party! If not the reps will gladly leave you to do your own thing and won't hassle you at all. The bar man Mathos is funny and a lovely person. We sat up late at night chatting and learning about Greek life!
Kos is ok but other Greek islands are much nicer. It's cheap to go here but I found drink, food and souvenirs expensive compared to other Greek islands.
Overall it is not too bad! Pool needs cleaning and if it was I would have gone in it! Never again will i go 18-30 I would come back here for a cheap getaway again with a big group of friends next time but I have more places in the world I want to see!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kardamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kardamos

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kardamos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Kardamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kardamos Hotel Kardamena
Kardamos Hotel kós
Kardamos Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kardamos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.